Primadonna boat/barge tour reviews — 31 to 45 of 45

4.7 out of 5

 


Anna A.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Primadonna Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Most Memorable Part? Cycling the afternoon around Vienna

Jeanne D.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Primadonna Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The serene beauty of the country side of Germany, Austria and Hungry. Riding a bike through these wonderful countries was very special. The barge ride was very relaxing after a day of riding.

Laney B.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Primadonna Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The scenery was beautiful and the accommodations were great. The riding was a pleasure start to finish. We loved it all and would do it again in a heartbeat!

Ken S.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Primadonna Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

We really enjoyed the Abbey in Melk, Tulln Gardens and the short walk about tour in Bratislavia

Mary B.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Primadonna Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The most memorable part of the trip was sitting on the top deck in the evening, wrapped in a blanket, watching the clouds sail past the moon as the barge moved on to our next city on the Danube.
Ensure you respond to the call to choose a table for meals on the barge if you wish to sit with or close to friends.
Stay an extra night in Passau if you have the time...there is a lot to see and do.
If possible, do some cycling before your trip to prepare you for the daily tours.
If you would prefer to cycle with a guide let your agent know and they may be able to arrange it. It may be an option and worth an extra cost if it would make your trip more enjoyable.

Jeanne D.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Primadonna Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The serene beauty of the country side of Germany, Austria and Hungry. Riding a bike through these wonderful countries was very special. The barge ride was very relaxing after a day of riding.

Jeanne L.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Primadonna Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
Austria, Germany

Great family reunion and scenic vacation. E-bikes made it easy for less experienced bicyclists to keep up with trained cyclists. Nice to hear all 8 of us laughing while riding!

David F.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Primadonna Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Breakfast good. Bagged lunches okay but not great and they only had sparkling water which I don't like and can't drink. No option to get still water without paying extra. Dinners good but not great. Only one meal very good. Most upset about not being able to drink the water from the room sink (which was announced over the PA system just before dinner after we had been onboard for a few hours)and then having to pay for still safe water for the cabin, breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Bike barge nightly talk about the following day was always the second talk of the evening (made for later evenings or no room in the bar). Would have liked to share the first time slot for half of the evenings.
Concierge staff outstanding and serving staff in the dinning room good.

Janet C.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Primadonna Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna aboard the Primadonna
Austria

Riding along the Danube river was fantastic! We loved all the port cities and the scenery was picturesque. Our favorite memory of the trip was being able to explore on our own each day. Guiding ourselves on the daily rides was challenging but very rewarding. Usually we saw our fellow shipmates along the way and had lunch companions for our daily Danube picnics!

Linda T.
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Primadonna Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Most Memorable Part? Cruising into Budapest at night. It was breath taking!!

Charlotte G.
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Primadonna Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna (old version)
Austria, Germany, Slovakia

Wonderful, unforgettable trip -- best part was biking into Vienna and spending the day hiking around seeing some fantastic scenery, buildings and people. Absolutely loved the boat. Some on our trip only spoke English and the staff on the boat quickly accommodated them when it became obvious those darn Germans (can say that being related and understanding what they were saying!) weren't going to shut up during the English trip briefing by moving the following days sessions into separate areas. I would certainly do another trip somewhere else sometime with this company!

Susan W.
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Primadonna Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The cruise was wonderful supported by a fantastic crew on the ship who went out of their way to provide a very positive experience.
I had left my phone at a restaurant on the bike route and it was returned to me within 3 hours...I was so grateful.
Having a tour guide would have been very helpful on certain days of the trip...ie Vienna.
I was very disappointed with the fact that the biking portion of the Wachau valley that was in the itinerary had been eliminated without our knowing until the night before.
it was to have been a highlight for our group and the cruise company said that it was Never a part of the biking route.!
We rented e bikes at an extra cost for the 4 of us because of the distance to be covered that day and otherwise would not have.

All of the cycling group received the same information from Tripsite about the Wachau valley and we were all disappointed.

Otherwise I would highly recommend this trip but do feel that you should update your itinerary so that people aren't disappointed.

York C.
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Primadonna Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Great trip. Boat and river cruise portion of the trip was more than expected. Service and the crew on the boat were excellent, including the food.
Quality of bicycles was excellent. They were mechanically perfect. The only down side of the entire trip were the nightly route planning meetings and the quality of the maps and route guides. It was obvious that the tour leader giving the route agenda had never ridden the bike paths. Her English was not very good which made it even more difficult to understand the route(s). We had to fend for ourselves (asking people on the street for directions) numerous times because the routes were just not made clear. Also, the route was not what was not the same as what was spelled out on the website.
Overall, we were very satisfied with the trip.

Carolyn H.
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Primadonna Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

We had a a great time . The only feedback I would give is that most of the passengers were German and there was very little information given in English.

Linda T.
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Primadonna Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

We really enjoyed our experience on the Primadonna! Food was delicious and staff were very attentive. Biking the countryside was a definite highlight! Our most spectacular and memorable part of the trip would be cruising into Budapest at night! It was breath taking!!
We really had a great time and look forward to doing another bike trip soon.