Tijdgeest boat/barge tour reviews — 1 to 15 of 15

4.5 out of 5

 


Dane G.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Tijdgeest Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

Did the Amsterdam to Bruges bike & barge tour on the Tijdgeest. My wife & I had a great experience. Arje was a great guide & the entire boat crew made it a fantastic trip. The riding was quite easy & the evening city tours fun & informative. Would recommend to anyone
Thanks All
Dane & Kim

Shuhan M.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Tijdgeest Tulip Tour - 4 Day
Netherlands

Most Memorable Part: The tour guide!

Liz B.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Tijdgeest Tulip Tour - 4 Day
Netherlands

A wonderful way to see The Netherlands. Visiting the tulip fields and flower market was so colourful and informative. Very easy cycling on great roads.

Connie B.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Tijdgeest Tulip Tour - 4 Day
Netherlands

The two excellent guides, Anya and Age, made the trip fun and informative. We also had a very congenital group of bikers, which helped make the trip truly memorable! We had an excellent time!

Kim K.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Tijdgeest Tulip Tour - 4 Day
Netherlands

Most Memorable Part: The fabulous guides, scenery and staff!

Andrea R.
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Tijdgeest Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

Most Memorable Part: Riding through area of windmills.
We were frustrated by the slow pace of our group.

Kurt W.
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Tijdgeest Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

This was our first bike and barge trip, and we loved every aspect of it. Yes, the weather was a challenge, but even that was rewarding in retrospect. The guide and crew were great, the food was wonderful, and the boat was very comfortable (and a good size). We got to know all our fellow passengers and that was the icing on the cake. Now I'm spending way too much time, probably, reading about where to take our next trip!

Timothy S.
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Tijdgeest Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

Our guide was very knowledgeable and engaging. A suggestion for others would be to prepare for wind if going during that time of year. The route may be very flat but the possibility of a constant headwind can make it feel uphill. Knowing this, some guests may opt for using an eBike.

Esti G.
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Tijdgeest Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

The group was lovely, the guide knew a lot and explained it very good, (he shouldn't bring his 7 years old son with him!) we think that a biking tour guide must have good, modern flat-wheel repairing set!!!

Nancy W.
8 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Tijdgeest Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

A wonderful experience as my first bike tour. Enjoyed most everything about the trip, even with the boat breaking down and a new bike route added for the day. However, my first hour was stressful as I had been given the wrong pier to meet the boat. Fortunately, the sister boat was able to give me directions. Two other guest had the wrong directions to pier also.

S. Littlefield
8 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Tijdgeest Highlights of Holland
Netherlands

Holland has such fabulous bike routes and a tradition of bicycling. We left the boat by 9 am and reconnected with it by 4 at a new location. The cities that we rode to and through were old, small and quaint. The many stops along the way we're interesting and the people everywhere were wonderful. I highly recommend this trip.

Natadha Vickery
9 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Tijdgeest Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

Excellent guide, staff. Very friendly and helpful. No complaints.

Fiorindo Sinibaldi
9 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Tijdgeest Tulip Tour - 4 Day
Netherlands

Holland is beautiful. The bike route goes through too many urban areas and not enough countryside. The groups are too large. Our group had 28 people and only 1 guide. It was impossible for him to keep an eye on all the people. As an example, it would take 3 or 4 light changes for the group to all cross a main road. Sometimes the group would be spread out as much as 1 kilometer. My wife fell off her bike and broke her hand because the group was always speeding up and slowing down. One day we even lost a rider for a while. The tour guide seemed very informative, but did not explain much, and seemed cold most of the time. That is my honest opinion. Thank you.

Jonathan G.
11 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Tijdgeest Brussels to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

We just got back from Amsterdam on Saturday. What a fantastic trip. We actually did more miles of biking than the itinerary listed. But that was fine. We had a great group of people. You don't need to be in fantastic shape for this trip but you should brush up on your basic bike skills. If you have not ridden in 20 years you may want to ride on some bike trails. It's a leisurely pace but it's not the mileage but the time in the saddle. On our longest ride we went about 35 miles but probably spent over 5 hours in the saddle. How will your tushy feel?

Our boat was the Tijdgeest, Gerritt (captain), Franz (deckhand, waiter, dog wrangler, and all around good kid), Eva (if I could keep her she would be my personal chef) are the crew. They did a fantastic job and the service was great. Food was great. After a long day of riding if Eva would have cooked a sock I would have eaten it. Rooms are small but livable. Comfy place to take a nap, sleep and get cleaned up. Nothing Read More

Ed Groff
13 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Tijdgeest Brussels to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

Trip more than I expected. Rode through country and small towns really getting a good feel of the culture and traditions of the country. I was very impressed by the beauty of the countryside and the quaint country towns and villages. I had no idea the Netherlands was so rich in agriculture.

The Dutch and Belgium people are as friendly as I've ever encountered.. They will go out of their way to satisfy your needs and make you feel at home in their country. Please do not ask them if they speak English as most are offended, as all speak English.

Tour guide was outstanding puttiing in at least a minimum 125% effort. He had a delightful personality and offered a wealth of information and knowledge about the country and area we rode.

I would highly recommend booking a trip with Hennie and her daughters as they are wonderful people and really try to make your trip a pleasant experience. I might add, the price of the trip was very reasonable considering the decline of the US dollar.

Ed Groff

Souderton, PA USA