Czech Republic Bike Tour Reviews 61 to 77 of 77

 

 Country: Czech Republic • REMOVE

  • Tripsite Traveler: Golden City of Prague
    by Jan VandenHengel 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Staff

    Nice write up, brother. Give my best to Fengler!

    Countries: Czech Republic

  • Prague to Dresden - A Tale of Two Rivers
    by Carolyn Gammel 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This trip was FANTASTIC! As first time bike travellers, we elected to book the guided tour and it exceeded our expectations. Lukas and Honza were knowledgeable guides who attended to our every need. Cycling through the Czech and German Countryside was breathtaking and we learned so much about the history of the countries/regions. Cycling was broken up with other activities - hikes, boat rides, sight seeing excursions/activities. Our hotels and meals were spectacular -( we stayed one night in an 18th Century Chateau), the wine and beer - second to none, and the laughter and companionship was memorable. Would HIGHLY recommend this tour and this tour company.

  • Golden City of Prague
    by Jan M. 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Boat and crew were great. Biking and shore excursions were confusing. Explanations not always clear in English.

    Boat: MS Florentina

    Countries: Czech Republic

  • Moravia
    by DeeDee & Steve C. 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We've already recommended this trip and Tripsite when friends and family ask us about our experience.
    We'd also like to complement Bird Service--the Polish bike tour affliate who organized the trip. Bird Service did a great job arranging all transportation, hotels & dinners.

  • Golden City of Prague
    by Henk Vanden Hengel 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Wonderful tour through the northern part of the Czech Republic. The local people are quite reserved. The boat works well as a big floating hotel and the crew is well trained. Lots of people to meet on board or along the way. Prague really is the jewel in the middle of Europe. Pictures aplenty!
    I won't forget it.

    Boat: MS Florentina

    Countries: Czech Republic

  • Golden City of Prague
    by L. Tindula 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I think the most memorable part was all of the different people from other countries that we met on the boat along with meeting and learning about the Czech Republic and their people! Great tours offered as well!

    Boat: MS Florentina

    Countries: Czech Republic

  • Golden City of Prague
    by D. Dray 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Our first day was quite rocky… The directions were not good and the routes were not well marked. Everyone was frustrated. The guide promised to bike out again from Prague and redo it--hopefully that happened.

    Boat: MS Florentina

    Countries: Czech Republic

    • Golden City of Prague
      by Deena Dray 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply    

      I neglected to state how wonderful this trip was in my initial review, which focused on what was wrong instead what was right---which was everything else!
      We loved our French balcony room; though there were 75+ on board, one never felt it was crowded. The beautiful lounge at the front of the boat was often empty.
      The staff were great. Food just OK but still decent. The wine and beer helped! A diverse group of travelers which made it fun. Highly recommend this tour.

      Boat: MS Florentina

      Countries: Czech Republic

  • Prague to Dresden - A Tale of Two Rivers
    by Amanda Uthe 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Wonderful experience! We opted not to use the GPS and stuck to the maps. This allowed us ample opportunities to chat with locals and ask them for directions when we went off track to visit different areas of the towns on the route. Beautiful views and welcoming people made for a memorable trip!

  • Wine Trail between Prague and Vienna
    by Brandan Hardie 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Tough for an American who doesn't speak German... Our shortcomings, and the only reason I might not recommend it but nothing wrong with the trip.

  • Wine Trail between Prague and Vienna
    by Wallace Rowe 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    It was a tremendous trip in a place where we encountered NO other Americans--still clean and wholesome. The trip company was stellar!

  • Prague to Dresden
    by Mei Regan 4 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    We were told the distances we would ride each day but these did not match the GPS we were given. Each day was longer and harder than we were led to believe. You need to make it clear that the ride is not for beginners as there are many hills and long distances most days. I would rate this as a medium ride, not an easy/medium ride. Our group could not complete the ride as it was too hot.

  • Golden City of Prague
    by Becky Nuttall 5 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I have mixed feelings about this tour. The boat was nice- clean, and incredibly well run; the food was good. The Czech Republic was beautiful (albeit unusually hot) and we enjoyed the countryside and the towns. However, if you did not speak German, which was the native language of the tour guide, Hans, you were in for some difficult times. He was outwardly pleasant, clearly organized (although the trip sheets needed updating), and I believe he gave the updates to the German tourists. Unfortunately, he did not provide all of the info in English and it made things difficult for us. He said that the other Germans didn't like it when he gave the presentation and then gave it in English (to all of us together). At one point, we (Americans, Aussies and Swedes) took him to task and he had a meeting with us to discuss - but had difficulty accepting our point of view. Also, the tour excursions, which were supposed to be available in English, didn't all happen. So we missed some of Read more… the information that others received. Overall, we enjoyed our time but we had not expected this level of difficulty and I cannot in all good conscience recommend this one to English-speaking tourists. However, if the boat is contracted for anything else - you are in good hands there.

    Boat: MS Florentina

    Countries: Czech Republic

  • Prague to Dresden
    by R.M. 6 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    The Prague-Dresden trip is one of the best trips I've taken. The route goes along the Elbe to Dresden. It's much like the Danube with small towns and nice places to stay. The day we started (May 27th) was the first day of rain that tormented Europe for a week. One day our ride ended, we had just checked into the hotel only to be followed by all night downpour. For most of the ride we escaped the rain. I had a long trip back to Vienna by train because of tracks being washed out and the Austrian railways being shutdown. Quite an adventure. We had a blast… even in the floods!

  • Prague to Dresden
    by Ralph Cohen 7 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    We had a great time and were very happy with local provider, Ruckenwind, organization of the trip. Dieter from Ruckenwind reviewed the route before hand which was very helpful in keeping us on the best paths and he also was very flexible with our desire to use our own pedals. There were a few challenges with bike path construction that probably weren't known but we managed to trek through the construction sites. The only minor issue was whether we could have requested a derailleur bike rather than 7 speed with coaster brake. With cleats on bike shoes, the freewheel type drive train would have been easier to use - a couple of other people on the tour had 21 speed bikes (with cleats) but we didn't know it was an option. I guess I will ask next time. Otherwise, it was excellent. The hotels were lovely, hotel staff all very accomodating. The hotel in Prague was a bit removed from the heart of the city but easily accessible to the tram and convenient for starting the ride. Read more… The hotel in Melnik was a few kilometers from the old city but the hotel provided a free shuttle and we enjoyed the walk home (taxis available, too). Overall, very pleased with this tour (our third with Tripsite). Thinking about the next one...

  • Prague to Passau
    by Michael Kieda 8 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Beautiful routes and towns make this a "must do" tour that exceeded all my expectations. The routes were sometimes quite challenging, as I hoped they would be, but I always arrived in each town with plenty of time and energy to walk around and enjoy the fabulous sights, shops, and cafes. The hotels were all very clean, comfortable, and pleasant. The hybrid bikes are well suited for the route and were equipped with two particularly welcomed features: rear panier bags and a fresh pair of Schwalbe Marathon tires. A couple of absent features that also would have been very welcome are a cycle computer and clear sleeve on the handlebars for the route notes. I recommend bringing SPD clipless pedals and shoes. And I highly recommend allowing two or three extra days in Prague and at least a full day in Passau.

PWPC