Holland Southern Tulip Tour Tour Reviews — 1 to 30 of 53

Tulip fields in South Holland, the Netherlands. ©Hollandfotograaf

Holland Southern Tulip Tour

8 days from €1525

4.7 out of 5

Holland Southern Tulip Tour

Easy Bike + Boat Tour in Netherlands

This bike and boat tulip tour leads through some of Southern Holland's most popular cities and through fields of beautiful Tulips! One highlight, among many, will be the most extensive flower garden…

4.7 out of 5

 


Linda B.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

Great trip. The captain, guide, chef, and crew were wonderful. They made me feel very welcome and safe. While meals could be served earlier (breakfast at 8 and then heading out to ride at 9) and (dinner at 6:30 which lasted until about 8) the meals were very tasty. One thing I wish were different, we had our destination "tour" after dinner when everything was closed and often walking around in the dark. We didn't therefore get to really experience the lovely towns we were docked in because we left at 9 each morning and had little time to explore. It would be great to have a timeline and not just the riding itinerary because we could have gone faster through the open fields and farmland if we knew the plan for the day and seeing the towns, cities, villages. Our guide was very fun and made the days throughly enjoyable.

Kristina A.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

Bike tour through the fields of tulips was life changing. Our amazing tour guide took us through farmland so we could enjoy the tulips up close as well as see all the baby farm animals. Every aspect of the trip was fabulous. I highly recommend this trip to those who love being active outdoors.

Darlene M.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

The country side was breathtaking. The history of the country from the Middle Ages to post WW2 was fascinating.

Jennifer W.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

Absolutely fantastic crew and guide. The barge, food (chef Koen fantastic), and crew were amazing. Sailing Home Vessel very well appointed and kept up. Bikes were in great condition.

Mary P.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

The tour exceeded expectations from the guide, the staff, the meals, the group, accommodations to the daily activities of cycling, walking tours after dinner in the stopovers and 'inside info' about where to have coffee and apple tart, shop or visit e.g. the Sint Janskerk in Gouda. Already researching the next one.

Dress in layers and if you're of borderline cycling ability, book an e-bike. You will be glad when you cycle along the North sea.

Susan R.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

The after dinner guided walks through the various towns we stopped at were an added bonus to the tour

Janet M.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

This tour had so many highlights that it’s hard to pick just one. I fell in love with the Netherlands ! The variety of bike paths that our guide took us on was astounding. The history and the wonderful compassionate people were a huge highlight . The staff on the boat were fantastic, hard working but always found time to help us and answer all our many questions. One of the advantages of being on a small vessel is that you get to know the people that are working their and their personalities.
I also highly recommend an e-bike for those that aren’t big bike riders . We rode over 100 miles and I fell in love with my very comfortable and speedy 5 speed !!

Catherine B.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

This was a most beautiful memorable lifetime trip . I am recommending to all .all of the staff on the sailing home were superb. You felt most comfortable as if you are in your own home and the cycling tour guide was exceptional. The chef gave us such wonderful meals. The skipper and the support staff were so kind and superb.

Patricia B.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

Riding through the countryside and seeing all the baby animals and, of course, the tulips! The Keukenhof Gardens was absolutely spectacular. There is so much to see in Amsterdam, I'd suggest spending a few extra days there either before or after the barge trip-you just might want to avoid Kings Day! I also recommend using an electric assist bike-more enjoyable and less stressful.

Tammie G.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

Overall the trip was great! The boat was nice, the rooms had more space than I expected, and the boat staff were superb! My only "opportunity for improvement" comment is that for a group of 25, the cycle tour company needs to provide more than one guide. Though our guide was very nice and knowledgeable, he was not good at making sure all 25 of us stayed together, made it through red lights, knew where the rest of the group was, etc. On more than one occasion, we had multiple people get far enough behind that they got lost and didn't know where they were supposed to go.

Darlene M.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

The countryside was breathtaking and our guide Ed Kimmel was so knowledgeable about his country and so proud to be Dutch.

My suggestions are:
For people 5’2” or shorter need a better bike fit. The seat and handlebars must be adjusted so you can reach the seat with your foot on the ground.

Suggestion for peddlers to ride together and electric bikes together but all in the same group. The peddlers need momentum the e bikes do not so it’s difficult when the riders are mixed.

Cathy F.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

The barge, service, crew, meals & hospitality all exceeded my expectations. This was a very well planned itinerary and was implemented seamlessly. Riding past tulip fields and the amazing day at Keukenhof Garden is something I will never forget!

Lesley S.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

Boat and crew were great! Food was very good and overall I would recommend this trip especially if you are a skilled/avid biker. For me I only biked one day of the five, I had trouble managing the e-bike with the number of other bikers, people walking and cars especially in the cities. I would agree that the biking was easy because it was flat, but there are a ton of other people biking and there was lots of starting a stopping and others people, bikes and cars to watch out for. I also think there needs to be two guides, 25 riders is a lot for one person to keep track of and manage. On Multiple days riders got lost.

Kathleen J.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

the holland countryside and the professionalism of the sailing home crew

Jane W.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

The most memorable part of the trip was the vast beauty of the country: fields and fields of tulips, beautiful European architecture, and nature at its best with baby animals grazing in the fields. I was a bit anxious prior to the trip having never traveled much, but my advice is to relax and enjoy the new experience! I thoroughly enjoyed it!

Cathy F.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

The barge, the crew, the service, the hospitality were exceptional. The itinerary was well planned. The thrill of cycling by tulip fields and the amazing day at Kuekenhof Garden is something I will never forget.

Ronnie L.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

Our guide Ed was exceptional. His love of Holland and it’s rich history was evident. He took every opportunity to point out landmarks and explain their relevancy today and across the globe. Each evening after dinner he took us in walking tours of the cities we were docked in. His grasp and expertise of Hollands history added much dimension and interest overall to the cycling tour.

Bonnie P.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

We loved our day at Keukenhoff Gardens. We also enjoyed the amazing dinners on the boat prepared by our chef, Paulina. As for suggestions, the bike leaders need to understand vacation culture more. The bike leader seemed to be in a rush wherever we biked, and was not happy if we wanted to stop and take pictures of the countryside. Many people like to stop and take pictures!! We would pass by beautiful fields of tulips and hyacinths, but couldn’t stop to take photos (except maybe a 30-second stop to get one quick photo) because otherwise we’d be too far away from the rest of the biking group. We weren’t given any kind of detailed maps of where we would be biking, so if we did want to stop and take pictures, or drink some water, or grab an energy bar from our sacks, and we lost sight of the others, there would be no way to find or catch up to the rest of the group later on. One of the reasons why we liked Keukenhoff so much was because we were on “our own Read More

Sherry A.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

Gorgeous scenery and lovely people! I will say that we did not luck out where weather was concerned, but that’s Mother Nature for you! The crew on our boat was fantastic and made our stay very comfortable.

Cathleen O.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

I found the European bike very heavy to maneuver so I chose to stay with the barge rather than cycle on several days, and the scenery from the deck of the boat as we travelled was spectacular. Watching the houses, farms, tulip fields and other boats go by was something I will always remember. The architecture in Holland is so unique and easily observable while boating by on the canals. Our crew was so nice to spend that extra time with as well. It was a great option and I am glad I made that choice—I saw so much en route and had additional time to tour our destinations.

Diane C.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The crew on the boat made everything delightful !!

kevin e.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

We travelled with our adult children, another couple and my 83 year old dad who did not bike. We had a fabulous time, and still think about the trip even after some time has passed. It was a great way to see the country. Although billed as tulip tour, it was much more of a whole area tour. Yes, the tulips and other flowers were beautiful, even if we were at the end of the season, but being outside every day, riding bikes was a great experience. Our kids probably would have preferred a more high intensity trip, but the balance worked out well. Highlights for me included how the group as a whole gradually became a team. pushing into head winds through the dunes was the most challenging, and the last 2 days including the dunes, a few wrong turns and the amazingly easy bike back into amsterdam we probably my highlights.
suggestions for others: our guide, Pete, did his best to keep everyone happy in terms of difficulty. there were times that were seriously challenging for some of the Read More

Janet L S.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Pros:
The tulips were gorgeous, Keukenhof was a highlight and a nice break.
The bike paths were easy, fun and relaxing,
Food was plentiful and the chef did a good accommodating various diets and planned varied and delicious menus.
The other guests were friendly, fun, and interesting.
The crew were all kind and patient.
The hybrid bikes were comfortable.
The guide (Piet) was knowledgeable, and gave historic walks almost every night.

Cons:
Riding in the cities was stressful. There was too much urban riding with many treacherous intersections, bike and pedestrian traffic. It seemed very unsafe.
The e-bikes mixed into the group were a problem. Some of the riders couldn't control the e-bikes. Also, riding up and down hills through the dunes, with a strong head wind was gave the e-bike riders an advantage.
The size of the group (24) was too large for a single guide. He struggled to be present for everyone.
The large gap Read More

Brittany M.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

This is hands down, the best way to see Holland. Our guide Piet and the crew were amazing. My husband, brother and I (in our 30’s) as well as my parents (in their 60’s) all had the best time. The rides were relaxed and gave us a chance to really take in the incredible views. I would not hesitate to suggest this trip to anyone.

Christopher C.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

1. Kukenhof gardens was our favorite part of the trip- absolutely gorgeous.
2. The staff was awesome- friendly, cheerful, energetic.

Diane C.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The most memorable parts of the tour were the beautiful weather and camaraderie amongst the boat personnel and bike riders ….a pleasure to be around for the week . Very attentive to detail , boat spotless , amazing food and fun activities! Couldn’t ask for a better crew …

Stacey B.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Best cycling anywhere:wonderful bike lanes everywhere, gorgeous scenery always by the water. And don’t forget the tulips — stunning.

Patricia B.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The ship "Sailing Home" and it's crew were fantastic. The food each day was 5star healthy and plentiful.

Vivian M.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The Tulip Tour aboard Sailing Home was absolutely fabulous!! All members of the crew and the bike tour guide were amazing. The fields of flowers and overall scenery on the route were fantastic. One word of advice - if you’re not an avid biker, rent an e bike. The winds can be quite strong and just a little bit of power provided by the bike goes a long way. It wii help keep the pack together. This tour is highly recommended!!

Joel F.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The most memorable was biking through the low lands, seeing the difference in water / land level, local animals and how /where they built their homes. Riding through and around the Keukenhof was great for us tulip lovers. Also Windmills and more windmills at the Kinderdijk...fantastic scenic. This trip was well orchestrated and executed we had an unforgettable time.