Istria Tour Reviews — 1 to 18 of 18

Old Town in Rovinj, Istria, Croatia. Flickr:Marco Verch 45.082107, 13.634165

Istria

8 days from €1395

4.3 out of 5

Istria

Easy–Moderate Bike + Boat Tour in Croatia

On this bike and boat tour, you will cycle in the most popular part of the Croatian coast, the Istrian Peninsula, and its surroundings. "The heart of Europe" is what the Istrians call their land, not…

4.3 out of 5

 


Michael D.
2 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

The towns we visited were great. If you do this tour get the e'bike. We were the only people on regular bikes. The e-bikes had shocks, we did not. It was a constant battle on hills as everyone left us behind. We were ok on flat roads but the hills and rock and gravel trails without shocks were terrible. E-bikes should be required.

Martha M.
2 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

Istria is gorgeous, The guides, the food, the crew, and the other bikers were all outstanding. One caution: the description calls the biking easy-moderate, mostly flat with some rolling hills. That is absolutely not true. I rode 152 miles over six days and logged 10,650 feet of elevation gain, with 20-25 percent being on gravel or rocky trails, some single track. Istria is rocky, and much of the gravel was actually imbedded rocks that had to be maneuvered. We did have some modifications due to weather, but the hardest day was as scheduled. Two days had grades up to 14 percent. I planned to book a hybrid, but decided on an e-bike because of another person's review. I bike a lot, but I would have been unable to bike some days if I'd been on a hybrid. Seasoned mountain bikers were better able to handle it, but typical bikers, I think not on a hybrid.
We happened to have a small group with only ten guests. With a capacity group, the boat might seem very crowded. It was very nice with the small group.

Catherine A.
4 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

Amazing rides, guides, guests, sights and food - and oh yes, the crew! This was an extraordinary week filled with splendid rides through the countryside and small villages, wonderful food on the boat and in restaurants and laughter every time we got together. The guides were our coaches and resources - sharing their knowledge and perspectives on all aspects of Croatia. We had opportunities for language lessons, geography/historical insights and town walks with locals. The boat provided everything we needed and the crew make sure that we were comfortable and well cared for. Great value also!

Dorothy P.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The people made this tour. Some of the cycling routes were on major roads. Others were on gravel. Our guide Christopher was wonderful. Boat was ok. We had a room that had not been refurbished. Most other rooms had been updated. The main course of each meal was good but the vegetables accompanying them were overcooked and mushy. I would give the food a 5 out of 10.
Bikes were in great condition and repaired by the guides quickly if needed.

Marijane K.
11 months ago

Verified Reviewer

My daughter and I had an incredible time! The crew and the guides were amazing and skillfully managed any complications that arose. Despite weather complications and a variety of skill levels every day was wonderfully executed and incredibly enjoyable for all! The food was delicious and served in portions that ensured no one was leaving the table hungry

Patsy V.
12 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Most memorable were the seaside and inland bicycle and leisure experiences: swimming the Adriatic was a surprise along with the picturesque medieval coastal cities and medieval hilltop towns. All in the company of fun staff and other bikers, despite the fact that there were only 2 of us from the US. Almost everyone on board spoke English. Mid-June was a great time to go, with lovely green vineyards and olive groves, lots of blooming flowers, more moderate air temperatures with refreshing water temperatures for swimming. E- bikes made the otherwise challenging uphills easy.
Patsy Venema

Denise and Wayne G.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

The old cities and the Adriatic coastline were amazing. The food was fine but not as good as on other bike and barge trips we have done.

Paul P.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

the beauty of Croatia was stunning . Everything about the trip was simple and very basic in all of its beauty. The fact we had good weather made all the difference because had it been all rainy it would have made things a lot less enjoyable . Outstanding crew both the 4 guides and the inside crew. They could not have been better !

Anne Marie D.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Great tour leaders and staff on the boat!! We really enjoyed the trip!!!

Patti S.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Our guides Ina and Alvin were fabulous and we loved the staff on the boat.

Carl W.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Bike tour guides OUTSTANDING. Tarins crew accommodating! Food four stars!

Joseph T.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Everyday's ride was fun and full of beautiful sights led by terrific guides. The routes took us along the incredible Adriatic coast and to charming interior villages where we mingled and laughed with local folks while enjoying delicious food both on and off the boat.

Kenneth S. K.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The trip was rated easy to moderate! I would rate it moderate to hard! If you do this boat trip- get an electric bike! Parts of the bike riding were on roads with traffic and on gravel roads!

The guides were great and fun! The scenery and town were wonderful!

John C.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Istria trip was excellent with beautiful seascapes, winding roads through the unfolding countryside. The attitude varied from sea level up to a max of 420m and was very manageable, as the bike were in good working order.

Our guide Ina was very informative and attentive and provided updated advice on eating options. The crew of the Taron was friendly and the meals were delicious.

Susane R.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Dinners on board were amazing! Our cook, Kuki, was creative and as gourmet as a fine restaurant would be!

Yolanda J.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The trip on Tarin was fantastic! Very relaxed atmosphere on the boat and during the tours. The best sceneries and the tour guides had a lot of knowledge about the places.

Mike Tansey
9 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Croatia and the scenery were beautiful. However I felt the description of the bike ride was misleading. Most of the trip was on gravel roads, quite a few hills and biking in more traffic than I anticipated. The staff was great and the barge was great.

Joyce and Denis Smith
11 years ago

Verified Reviewer

We really had a great time on this tour. Our young guides did a fabulous job, we enjoyed the Tarin and crew, and Cookie's food was terrific.