4 star rated Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova Bike Tour Reviews 1 to 17 of 17

 

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Tina C. 5 days ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I truly enjoyed this tour that included daily rides through the picturesque Italian countryside. Each day we biked through a variety of landscapes, stopping in small towns along the way for cappuccino breaks, lunch and local tours. The bike tour staff was very friendly and knowledgeable. The boat crew was equally as wonderful, preparing wonderful meals each evening and serving them with a smile. Everyone bent over backwards to make this a once-in-a-lifetime experience.
    As for suggestions, I think the last leg from Pellestrina Island to Venice could be improved. The morning was wasted in a small town that was not really open for business. Why not take an earlier Ferry to Lido and spend more time there before heading to Venice?

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Matthew B. 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The Crew on the boat (Captain Eduardo, Sylvia, & Barb) and our biking guide Antonella were all PHENOMENAL. The service and the food are first class.

    Boat: Vita Pugna

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Douglas Y. 11 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Our bike and barge from Venice was fantastic. The villages were quaint and the opportunity to swim in the Adriatic Sea was a great way to cool down and relax. Our trip aboard the Ave Maria was wonderful. Captain Connie, Enrico, Giuliano, Silvia and Helmut made our trip to be quite memorable! Giuliano and Silvia made fabulous gourmet dinners for us. Our only complaint would be that there were periods of riding on dikes/floodbanks but all the stops along the way were very interesting and full of character. The visit to a Grana Padano cheese plant was followed by a wine and cheese picnic and our ending destination, Mantua was beautifully surrounded by 3 lakes. We would definitely recommend this trip!

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Kim F. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Mantova to Venice was wonderful. Very pretty scenery with lots of unique places to stop.

    Boat: Vita Pugna

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Rochelle R. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part: Venice in the rain at midnight! Excellent food, great staff and guides.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Kristie J. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most memorable: The scenery in Venice, Lodi and Chiogga.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Diane D. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Everything was great. I really enjoyed our guides, Tammy and Ronnie. The staff on the boat were great. Our bikes were top notch. The tour and countryside were scenic. I loved biking on the sea wall. I thought the other bikers were friendly and easy to get along with.

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Earl D. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I loved the small villages. The international mixture of the group made for excellent discussion among the group. Food on the barge was excellent!

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by JoAnn Grand 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The biking was not as scenic as other trips I have been on. However the food, staff and guide were excellent.

    Boat: Vita Pugna

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Alfred Lilly 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Understanding the trip was planned for little difficulty, expected that the terrain would be flat, but was hoping for more scenery and countryside to take in while biking. Perhaps if there was an option of having a sag vehicle for those who couldn't/didn't want more difficult terrain so the option was available for those who could do more ... and see more. Overall great experience, friendly crew and excellent food!

    Boat: Vita Pugna

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Mike Tansey 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Recommended for novice cyclists only. Not challenging enough for experienced cyclists.

    Boat: Vita Pugna

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Patricia Leigh Trivette 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We should have trained more for endurance. The guides were wonderful and took such good care of us. The bicycles were amazingly comfortable. Beautiful dinners nightly. Thank you all.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Jennifer Scott 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Great guides made the trip for us. Allowing 2 bike groups with different strengths was the best way.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Katherine Graves 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We loved this trip! It was so fun for our family of four. Our two boys, ages 11 & 14, enjoyed biking and stopping off to swim in the ocean, trying new delicious food, and learning from our wonderful guide, Fabio. The boat was very nice and the crew were lovely.

    We had record setting beat the week we were there and yet still had a fantastic trip. The rooms stayed reasonably cool with the AC-- that was a life saver to have available.

    If I had to change anything, I'd probably like to have the boat docked closer to Venice proper so it would be more accessible on arrival and through the first couple days. We made it work-- all a good adventure. The scenery on the bike route was relaxing-- not terribly dramatic, but really nice for small town explorers, birders, and those who enjoy farmland/pastoral scenery.
    Pros: delicious food, easy cycling terrain, excellent City/town tours, comfortable rooms, great value, easy logistics when you don't have to move Read more… your stuff each day, meeting nice people from all over the world.
    Cons: weather was exceedingly hot in July (but would do it again anyway!)

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Richard Hoffmann 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We had a fantastic time on the Ave Maria and we're lucky to have Hein as our guide.....great guy!

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by James Varah 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Our tour guide Marco was ok, but not outstanding. His commentary was adequate, but we got more from the notes provided.

    Boat: Vita Pugna

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Jim Sapp 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Guide stopped to much for cappuccino, kept us bunched up, which was unsafe, had a sick person that should of been hospitalized. Want more milage not museums.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

PWPC