4 Star Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova Tour Reviews — 1 to 18 of 18

4.7 out of 5

 


Charlotte S.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Being in Venice, great dinners, excellent staff, incredibly good background material and maps (wish we got this before the trip so we could have been better prepared). We would have appreciated “corners” and a “sweep” when biking.

Tina C.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

I truly enjoyed this tour that included daily rides through the picturesque Italian countryside. Each day we biked through a variety of landscapes, stopping in small towns along the way for cappuccino breaks, lunch and local tours. The bike tour staff was very friendly and knowledgeable. The boat crew was equally as wonderful, preparing wonderful meals each evening and serving them with a smile. Everyone bent over backwards to make this a once-in-a-lifetime experience.
As for suggestions, I think the last leg from Pellestrina Island to Venice could be improved. The morning was wasted in a small town that was not really open for business. Why not take an earlier Ferry to Lido and spend more time there before heading to Venice?

Matthew B.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The Crew on the boat (Captain Eduardo, Sylvia, & Barb) and our biking guide Antonella were all PHENOMENAL. The service and the food are first class.

Douglas Y.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

Our bike and barge from Venice was fantastic. The villages were quaint and the opportunity to swim in the Adriatic Sea was a great way to cool down and relax. Our trip aboard the Ave Maria was wonderful. Captain Connie, Enrico, Giuliano, Silvia and Helmut made our trip to be quite memorable! Giuliano and Silvia made fabulous gourmet dinners for us. Our only complaint would be that there were periods of riding on dikes/floodbanks but all the stops along the way were very interesting and full of character. The visit to a Grana Padano cheese plant was followed by a wine and cheese picnic and our ending destination, Mantua was beautifully surrounded by 3 lakes. We would definitely recommend this trip!

Kim F.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Mantova to Venice was wonderful. Very pretty scenery with lots of unique places to stop.

Rochelle R.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Most Memorable Part: Venice in the rain at midnight! Excellent food, great staff and guides.

Kristie J.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Most memorable: The scenery in Venice, Lodi and Chiogga.

Diane D.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Everything was great. I really enjoyed our guides, Tammy and Ronnie. The staff on the boat were great. Our bikes were top notch. The tour and countryside were scenic. I loved biking on the sea wall. I thought the other bikers were friendly and easy to get along with.

Earl D.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

I loved the small villages. The international mixture of the group made for excellent discussion among the group. Food on the barge was excellent!

JoAnn Grand
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The biking was not as scenic as other trips I have been on. However the food, staff and guide were excellent.

Alfred Lilly
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Understanding the trip was planned for little difficulty, expected that the terrain would be flat, but was hoping for more scenery and countryside to take in while biking. Perhaps if there was an option of having a sag vehicle for those who couldn't/didn't want more difficult terrain so the option was available for those who could do more ... and see more. Overall great experience, friendly crew and excellent food!

Mike Tansey
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Recommended for novice cyclists only. Not challenging enough for experienced cyclists.

Patricia Leigh Trivette
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

We should have trained more for endurance. The guides were wonderful and took such good care of us. The bicycles were amazingly comfortable. Beautiful dinners nightly. Thank you all.

Jennifer Scott
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Great guides made the trip for us. Allowing 2 bike groups with different strengths was the best way.

Katherine Graves
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

We loved this trip! It was so fun for our family of four. Our two boys, ages 11 & 14, enjoyed biking and stopping off to swim in the ocean, trying new delicious food, and learning from our wonderful guide, Fabio. The boat was very nice and the crew were lovely.

We had record setting beat the week we were there and yet still had a fantastic trip. The rooms stayed reasonably cool with the AC-- that was a life saver to have available.

If I had to change anything, I'd probably like to have the boat docked closer to Venice proper so it would be more accessible on arrival and through the first couple days. We made it work-- all a good adventure. The scenery on the bike route was relaxing-- not terribly dramatic, but really nice for small town explorers, birders, and those who enjoy farmland/pastoral scenery.
Pros: delicious food, easy cycling terrain, excellent City/town tours, comfortable rooms, great value, easy logistics when you don't have to move your stuff each day, meeting nice people from all over the world.
Cons: weather was exceedingly hot in July (but would do it again anyway!)

Richard Hoffmann
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

We had a fantastic time on the Ave Maria and we're lucky to have Hein as our guide.....great guy!

James Varah
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Our tour guide Marco was ok, but not outstanding. His commentary was adequate, but we got more from the notes provided.

Jim Sapp
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Guide stopped to much for cappuccino, kept us bunched up, which was unsafe, had a sick person that should of been hospitalized. Want more milage not museums.