Slovakia Bike Tour Reviews 331 to 360 of 390

 

 Country: Slovakia • REMOVE

  • Kathryn Smith 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    The tour guide, Jan (not sure of the spelling) was amazing! He was funny, helpful and friendly. All the logistics with the bike stuff worked very smoothly.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Paul Finger 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    We couldn't be happier. Everyone from the trip "arrangers" to all the personnel on the barge could not have been more helpful. This was our first trip like this, everything was superb.

    Boat: My Story

  • Susan Joe 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Would have been nice to have a guide but our trip was the last of the season so no guide was available.

    Boat: My Story

  • Jill Roach 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    We loved everything about this trip. The bikes were in excellent condition, the cruise director was very helpful, the boat's staff was super attentive. The boat is definitely older but it was very clean and we loved having drinks on the top deck every night under the stars. My two teens had a great time as well and the staff was wonderful to them. The scenery was incredible and the tour excursions were a great value and well worth it.

    Boat: My Story

  • Diana Collins 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Even with the age of the boat (1970's!!), we totally enjoyed the cruise. The staff was great and the food was wonderful. The bikes were comfortable and in good repair.

    Boat: My Story

  • Maureen Molony 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    We had a great time, the staff worked very hard to please, and it was a very good trip.

    Boat: My Story

  • Janet Creighton 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Everything was great. The only thing we didn't like was the guide we had for our guided tour. All other staff were fantastic.

    Boat: My Story

  • Lois Farmer 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    At times the trip leading gave incomplete information regarding routes, detours and conditions although the German speaking people received better information - he should use a specific outline when giving such information to be sure it is complete.

    The food was great except for the Wiener Schnitzel which was not interesting at all. A real disappointment in fact. (I have traveled to Austria often and know a less than impressive meal when I receive it.)

    I had booked an extra night in Passau but could not use it due to airline delays. I called Tripsite which could not reimburse me, which I understand. However, I have twice requested a statement from them that I cannot be reimbursed so that I can use it for my trip insurance - I still have not received it.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Don Beck 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Trip of a lifetime! My Story boat a bit dated, but the entire staff was wonderful!

    Boat: My Story

  • Lori Cicero 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    We enjoyed our trip immensely and recommend it to everyone! The boat was nice, just vintage. The bike routes were well thought out, relatively easy and well marked. Some meals on the ship were good and a couple were not. We preferred eating out on the sightseeing days anyways. Overall it was a great value for the overall price. Can't wait to do another one in a different country!

    Boat: My Story

  • Don Hyland 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    A great way to travel on the Danube from Passau to Budapest and back. Our 4 days of biking were on well marked and scenic trails. Glad to have the opportunity to climb the hill overlooking the Danube Loop. Loved biking through small towns such as Melk, Durnstein and Krems. Would recommend this trip on the MS MY STORY.

  • Kimberley McEwan 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    We loved the Along the Danube cycling trip. The entire tour was very well organized and we really had no complaints. It was a great way to travel and sightsee several countries and the Fall was a great time of year. We are planning our next cycling trip already.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Deborah Stone 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Accommodations were too cramped. Our first boat trip had more adequate rooms.
    Breakfast was great but supper was so so. Not good vegetarian options .

    Boat: My Story

  • Alan Robson 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Great tour down the Danube.

    Boat: My Story

  • Ken Scheske 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    We have recommended this trip to all of our cycling friends, it was one of the best trips we ever had in Europe - and we have had a lot. So far we have cycled in Scotland, Germany, Holland, Belgium, France, Denmark and Sweden and then of course the barge trip. Keep up the good work, would love to do another one.

    Boat: My Story

  • Sue Ernst 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    I've passed your site along to others.

    Boat: My Story

  • Pam Davis 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Great trip!

    Boat: My Story

  • Dennis Marshall 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Great value for money. Barge had broken airconditioning for 24hours+ so was unpleasant for a while. Highly recommend this trip to anyone as a great balance between active and passive holidaying. Stay overnight in key cities for 2 nights would be better, eg> Vienna. Thank you.

    Boat: My Story

  • Janis Benedict 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Wonderful bike trip along the Danube. Have already recommended to several friends. Look forward to doing another trip. Prefer the self-guided, plenty of time to stop and take photos.

    Boat: My Story

  • Carolyn Myers 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    This was a wonderful trip - we took our 17 year old grandson and he had a great time with the bicycling and visiting the cities along the route. The staff on the barge was so kind and helpful and the food was outstanding!! The bicycle leader was very well versed in the route and explained the itinerary every evening. We love to take Barge and Bike trips and have taken several Tripsite trips - enjoyed them all.

    Boat: My Story

  • Kathy Showers 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    We loved the trip! The route and scenery was amazing and we will cherish the friends we made. This tour wasn't posh - it was an active tour - I'd rather get out and experience the culture from the seat of a bicycle than from the deck of my suite. The staff was first class, food was good and the room adequate. I couldn't ask for more beautiful and safe routes each day but got lost once. My husband, who was a bit hesitant about riding 25 miles each day, did great, and is ready to plan the next trip! Tripsite was very professional and helped with all questions and concerns. We will take our next cycling trip in the next few years and will use Tripsite! Thanks!

    Boat: My Story

  • Claudia Bonomi 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    The guide Mr. Leslie was extremely eficiente, the routes very thoughtful and well signposted. I considered it a fascinating experience!

    Boat: My Story

  • Joyce Lear 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    I thought we would bike every day, not a problem, but it would have been nice to know.

    Boat: My Story

  • Susan Martin 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Upon boarding, there was confusion regarding our room assignments. All 12 of us in our party were assigned different rooms than our vouchers indicated, even on different decks. Fortunately, the cruise director was able to sort everything out, but not without some angst on the part of the hotel manager, who was in the midst of boarding all the passengers at the start of the trip.

    Boat: My Story

  • Kathy Showers 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    I felt bad the employees hadn't had a break since the beginning of the season. Leslie the tour director was burnt out. He was a little defensive when we mentioned some of the route was poorly signed. Many people missed some turns. Other than that we loved the tour, food, staff and have recommended this to many friends!

    Boat: My Story

  • Terry Hill 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Excellent trip. Look forward to trying another one.

    Boat: My Story

  • Linda Nicoli 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Only hitch in the whole experience was confusion when we arrived at the boat for check in. In our group of twelve, those who had paid extra for upper deck rooms were assigned lower deck rooms and vice versa, causing a few flared tempers and a less than welcoming start to our excursion. After that was sorted out everything went smoothly. We liked some of the extra excursions more than others but the biking was really the highlight of the trip. Biking through the Wachau Valley with vineyards climbing the mountains on either side, many with castles on top, through charming villages - priceless!

    Boat: My Story

  • Beverly Rudeen 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    With 100 passengers & half German speaking/half English speaking I would recommend 2 guides instead of one. At times our guide seemed overwhelmed with questions, assistance, etc....

    Boat: Normandie

  • Mary Anne Gilbert 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    I had a good time on this trip, however, there was not enough time on the bicycle. As well, compared to the other biking trips we have taken, this one was very dependent on time. We did not have all day to get to the next spot. I felt rushed on three of the days, and we only biked on four. Also you lose the sense of discovery when every spot is picked out for you ahead of time, as to where to eat, shop, etc. The cruise staff were wonderful, but it seems to me that they think people only want to see cities, whereas I love the countryside and the villages. I would not do a combined boat and bike again.

    Boat: My Story

  • Susan Viggiano 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Great way to do an active vacation. Will definitely book again!!

    Boat: My Story

PWPC