South Holland Tour Tour Reviews — 1 to 30 of 69

Orange is Holland's signature color! Amsterdam, North Holland, the Netherlands. Flickr:Moyan Brenn

South Holland Tour

8 days from €698

4.7 out of 5

South Holland Tour

Easy Bike + Boat Tour in Netherlands

This bike tour in Southern Holland takes you along beautiful paths through Holland's most scenic rural region … This tour also visits the prestigious and historic towns of Haarlem, Leiden…

4.7 out of 5

 


Lynn A.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

Although my South Holland Tour was canceled and rerouted to North Holland, it was lovely. The tour guides, captain & staff were terrific and despite weather related complications, made the trip memorable. I will definitely be doing another - hopefully the Southern route...

Lisa S.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The beautiful scenery, wonderful camaraderie, and helpful guides made this a remarkable and enjoyable experience. For those not comfortable cycling who might be traveling with an experienced cycling partner, I highly recommend an e-bike. It took all of the stress away for both is us!

Johanna Maria V.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

This was my third Tripsite Barge Biking Trip and as good as ever again.
Highly recommended.
Excellent guide who ensured that everybody was happy.
Despite the large age difference from10-92 years, the group of 18 pax jelled well together.
A trip that combines nature, culture,exercise, education and relaxation in a most balanced holiday that one could wish for.

Lynda S.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Although we enjoyed the trip, there is no one thing that stands out as the most memorable. However, there are some things that need improvement:
- The food. This was a top-rated boat but some of the food was sub-par. For instance, you do not serve vegetables from a can!
- Having electric bikes and regular bikes in the same guided groups is a mistake. The regular bikes do not have a chance and the pace keeps getting quicker and quicker, pushing the ordinary bikes aside. There should be separate guides for the two types of bikes.
- Riding through the cities was terrifying, particularly in The Netherlands where everyone rides bikes. We have been on another boat/bike tour down the Danube (with RadReisen) and our tours of the cities were by bus with riding only on the fringes. It was much safer and you saw and learned about so much more.

Caroline Ann B.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Well organized boat and cycle tour through South Holland. The Poseidon was a super boat with great staff and great food. The tours were well organized by Ingrid. Ingrid is excellent, well informed and very helpful. She provided some assistance and guidelines for our self guided tour. The E bikes were very good. Highly recommend.

Douglas G.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Most Memorable Part: The many and varied biking routes on the tour. Our guide Ingrid van de Grint was fantastic.

Teresa L.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Bikes were top quality and the tour instructions were excellent. It was an excellent route. Food on the Normandie was good and the accommodations very comfortable.

Juliëtte S.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Finding out that using an E-bike is WONDERFUL (this was our first trip) and allowed us to bike must further and faster than we thought we were capable of. The daily tours were well set up - took us along the unbeaten (bike) paths and allowed us enjoy time with friends.

Mary Elizabeth H.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

I loved the first day biking through Bruekelyn, the day in Gouda, and the day we biked the dunes and tulip fields. Tinaka, the gulf was awesome. The food was mediocre but we went into town every night and had great dinners.

Lori V.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Incredible countryside! The boat was very clean and the staff was great. The evening food was a bit disappointing but the overall experience was fantastic and a great value!

Diane O.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Riding through such beautiful countryside...make sure to include a planned trip to Keukenhof when it's tulip season

C Kevin Armstrong
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

It was so nice to once again be able to travel. We joined a wonderful group of cyclists mostly from Germany on de Amsterdam. The boat was very nice with a great crew. Our guide gave excellent briefings every evening to prepare us for the next day and was helpful the whole week out on the course. The rest of the crew was equally prepared and helpful the whole tour from amazing meals to top-notch drink service to keeping the boat clean. While we were used to the smaller barges it worked out to the best because there were fewer than normal on this tour. It allowed us to get to know all of the fellow cyclists and to share a good beer and a stroopwafel with them. Making so many new friends is absolutely the best part of the trip. We look forward to our next adventure!

Judith R.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Very nice boat. We had a mildew smell problem with our room, and the boat crew acknowledged it and when they were unable to fix the problem they upgraded us to a nicer room. The crew was terrific, and the boat was very comfortable.

Gilberto M.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Unforgetable trip becouse this country is amazing! The boat crew and bike guide were also very nice! Thank you!

Pamela R.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Sailing on the barge through Rotterdam harbour. This bike and barge tour was amazing. The barge was so comfortable,the crew were wonderful,food was absolutely first class.Our guide did a fabulous job,and was so nice.We would urge anyone thinking about travelling in Holland to consider doing a bike and barge tour with this company.We are in the upper age group,and had no trouble keeping up.

Tracy v.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

This was a retirement celebration for my husband. We were a total of 8 family members. The Liza Marleen was a great boat- food was marvelous and our tour guide superb. Out 16 mo old grandson was accommodated for and I must say our fellow passengers were the kindest bunch we could have hoped for. It’s hard traveling with babies-but we could not imagine the vacation without him

Diane H.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

I was extremely disappointed in the quality of the bikes. I had assumed from what I read that the bikes were hybrid bikes similar to what I own: less than 30 pounds, gears, maneuverable, easy to ride. These bikes were very heavy, hard to pedal, hard to walk. No one got the bikes off the barge for us to ride or put them back on. That means I had to struggle with the bike up and down a steep and dangerous metal ramp. I was more tired from riding 30 miles on the flat on one of these bikes than I was after riding a metric century up some pretty big hills on a road bike. I do not believe that a bike and barge trip should emphasize the biking and provide such poor bikes. Electric bikes were an option, but I do not choose to ride one. I want to ride a good quality hybrid or road bike. Riding was so much work that it took away some of the pleasure of seeing the Dutch countryside. The rest of the trip was very nice, but the biking was a big part of why we went on the trip and it was a huge disappointment.

Abraham V.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

An amazing physical experience with 68 fellow bikers from Germany and the US. Dutch hospitality warmly visible on multiple beautiful biking paths. Well organized tour. Tour leader Magreet Klijn deserves kudos for leadership role.

James G.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Most excellent trip! Beautiful country, people, art, and delicious food and drink! I was most surprised by the amazing churches and the cycling culture! Our crew, captain, chef, staff and guide were very helpful and informative. Everything was on time! Even made time for swimming! The route map provided and GPS Tracks were great. I was the only person aware of the GPS tracks on the trip, not sure if others missed this or if their agents didn't provide -Thanks Tripsite. Also, Tripsite Support Agents via LiveChat were very helpful prior to the trip! The only thing I would do different is bring my own bike seat, just used to it I guess...

Jackie L.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

My wife and I had never done a bike trip before, let alone a boat and bike one. Our South Holland Tour turned out be fabulous that way exceeded expectations. The Dutch landscape was beautiful. Our boat, Sailing Home, was charming and immaculate. A daily highlight was getting to know our fellow shipmates over dinner. And what dinners! They were of varying cuisines lovingly prepared by Eline, our Cordon Bleu-trained chef. Some random thoughts: 1) we brought our own helmets, but it was unnecessary as the boat had helmets of varying sizes, 2) I was anxious about the quality of the bicycles on board which turned out to be needless worry; our 24-speed bikes were in great condition, 3) we had no idea who our fellow travelers might be, and strangers became friends who shared email addresses at trip’s end. We’ve had multiple vacations in Asia and Europe; our South Holland Tour was one of the memorable.

John S.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Great trip, beautiful scenery, terrific bike paths, good food, fine accommodations, no complaints! I would highly recommend this itinerary!

Kathie W.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Southern Holland Tulip Tour on the Anna Antal- small group, smaller barge, excellent guide/cook/staff, relaxed setting, comfortable room, clean, clear directions and guidance. Very affordable plus arrival city for us was Amsterdam so accessible from the get go. Perfect weather which is out of anyone’s control but it made the biking extraordinary. Highly recommend this trip.

Cheryl M.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Loved the little towns, biking through them. Really nice trails. Sadly rain a couple of days but can't control the weather.

Wilf C.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

In short, the South Holland boat-bike trip exceeded all my expectations. The routes, scenery and attractions were unbeatable. The boat cabins were small (akin to a university dorm room) but were extremely functional and comfortable. All of the staff did their utmost to satisfy our needs. We experienced windy days, a rainy day and lots of sun - the biking was always good. I'm typically a trip planner, so having all the logistics taken care of by the tour company made this an exceptional cycling vacation. I have already recommended the tour to many of my cycling friends.

Colleen S.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

I very much enjoyed the beauty of the Netherlands countryside. Amazed by the extent to which the country is so bicycle friendly!

Daniella from Tripsite
4 years ago

Tripsite Staff

This tour is incredible. It is all in one: beaches, dunes, historic towns, beautiful scenery, taste richness. Idyllic rides crossing the countryside passing by dreamy little towns while enjoying the caring of a dedicate and welcoming boat crew which felt like family. Getting up in the morning was a blessing. Every pedal took us to a new horizon of beauty, iconic landscapes and charming quarters which involved us in a good state of mind and body. Your whole self responds to this amazing atmosphere of enjoyment. History and culture just embraces you for the whole time. Meals are delicious; trying the local cheese, fruits, street food, or just finding a picturesque corner for a coffee is priceless. Getting back to our boat (Liza Marleen) was like arriving at home after an exciting and rewarding adventure. The captain and her crew knew exactly what we needed to replenish our energy while making every meal a pleasure. We were also lucky to get warm and long days, so as an extra, we got to Read More

Ronerto R.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Exciting bike and barge tour throughout Southern Holland. Definitely proclaiming a successful trip in a beautiful Holland. Safe and crew were very attentive and courteous.
Felt mislead by bike insurance offerer by Tripsite. Later found out bike staff on the barge that if the bike was damaged I would have to pay upfront the amount of damage that I caused to the bike staff and then I can put a claim to the insurance by Tripsite which I would be reimbursed at that time This was a minor snafu and I was very disappointed about the misrepresentation when I was told the insurance would cover everything upon needing the coverage for bike damages.

Donald B.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

South Holland trip was beyond what we were expecting in terms of scenery, trails and dedication by the Holland tour operators.

Rachel F.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

It was the trip of a lifetime!!! This was a trip on my bucket list and could not have asked for better!! Thank you!

Katie H.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

This was a very positive experience. Bikers of all abilities can participate in this tour. The navigation can be a bit tricky. I would definitely recommend using the navigation app in addition to the maps & briefings. However, there was usually a friendly local or another member of the group not too far away to help get you back on the route. The barge was very nice. We had an upgraded room. Plenty of storage space. The guides were excellent. The staff on the barge couldn’t have been nicer. The food was very good. The tour itself exceeded my expectations. Holland is beautiful. The route took us through a variety of geography. Lots of quintessential Dutch experiences, windmills, cheese, delft, etc.. The de Amsterdam is a larger boat than most so you have a large group. Neither here nor there, just a note if you prefer a more intimate group.