5 Star Fortuna boat/barge tour reviews — 1 to 17 of 17

4.5 out of 5

 


Catherine A.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Fortuna Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The most memorable aspect of the Danube River Bike and Barge was the incredible scenery that we experienced. Every day was visually stunning but varied from the day before. We biked through hardwood and conifer forests, vineyards, classic villages, wooded pathways always along the beautiful river. The people we encountered were friendly, helpful and fun. It is a treasured memory.

Gerilyn K.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Fortuna Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Vineyard ride thru austria

DORIS S.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Fortuna Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

A wonderful experience! Good food, lots of fun. Leslie the cruise director was phenomenal! I'm not sure its possible, but it would have been nice to have a little more time in the major cities. The bus trips were a great introduction for a return trip.

Donna M.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Fortuna Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

This was the best trip ever, which makes it hard to think of just one memorable part. Truly everything was memorable, the sights, the food, the experience of biking through small towns, the crew especially Leslie our cruise director. If I had to pick one special moment it would be while biking through the countryside we came across a quaint Food truck selling homemade lemonade. We rested, ate our lunch, shot some darts and drank the most delicious glass of blood orange lemonade.
When the trip was over, we all said “let’s do another one next year!”

Kurt S.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Fortuna Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Most memorable parts? Food, people, the rides through the country

Sarah S.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Fortuna Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

How can I choose a most memorable part? There were so many! Cycling across the New Bridge to Bratislava, and in the breathtaking cities of Budapest and Vienna, relaxing drinking wine with new friends on the upper deck of the barge floating down the Danube. The whole trip was filled with memorable and precision moments.every day.

Robert S
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Fortuna Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Wonderful trip. The crew of the Fortuna was wonderful along with the 5 course meal every night. Our guide, Axel, was a treasure. I cannot recommend this trip enough. The biking was lovely and not too hard. The countryside was beautiful. Most amazingly, the trip went off without a flaw, especially when you consider how many moving parts were involved to make this work. We were constantly going through locks, which was always interesting, while sipping beer or wine on the top deck after a day's ride. I just want to thank everyone who made this unique and luxurious experience possible.

Cristian B.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Fortuna Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Great tour. Helpful crew, accommodation and meals.

Julie T.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Fortuna Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

This trip was special because I was celebrating my 65th birthday and the anniversary of my husband's passing. I wanted it it to be something that I would always remember and it certainly will be!! My husband was scheduled to join us on this trip -- I'm sure he would have loved it as much as I did. The accommodations were wonderful, the food was great and the biking routes were fun, scenic and easy to follow. But what really added to the experience was the staff. Leslie is an outstanding tour director - he makes sure that everyone is taken care of down to the last want or need of every passenger. I want to give a special shout out to Cristian the bar tender who always kept us laughing and to Milos (from Montenegro) who made sure our group of thirsty Americans always had lots of ice cubes and cold water. There is no question that we will be booking another trip very soon!!

Yanil T.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Fortuna Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

If you seek an active vacation with fabulous landscapes, a safe environment, and good $ value, this trip should be on top of the list. Besides great value, good pace on the activities, good people, and a lot of fun. This was our second bike tour and the most enjoyable one. The group of 13 had similar skill levels in cycling, 10 - 12 mph, and a mindset of enjoying the cities, towns, and panoramas. The e-bikes were top quality and a breeze to use; we never felt discomfort. The crew was very hospitable, modest, clean cabins; dinner was the best meal of the day.

Of the 168 passengers, 140 were biking, and 13 were on a guided tour. The passengers at Fortuna will benefit from watching a video on bike etiquette, whether riding solo or as a group. Before taking off on the first tour, reinforce group riding behavior for safety for all.

Jules W.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Fortuna Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

We had a fabulous trip down the Danube on the Fortuna. The staff was excellent-attentive, friendly and knowledgeable. The biking was amazing, I am so glad I signed up for an e-bike, it made a big difference.
The one thing that I would caution to future bikers is that the time to get from drop-off to pickup is often tight and it can be difficult to get too far off the designated path to explore (which is something I expected more of).
My group of 10 all had an excellent time and I highly recommend this tour group and boat.

Karen G.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Fortuna Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

My favorite ride was through the Wachau Valley in Austria. We really enjoyed all the rides, but riding between the Danube and the vineyards, seeing the small towns speckled along the way, tasting wine and ending at the Abbey in Melk was the ultimate.

Javier C.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Fortuna Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Easy and Wonderful. Amazing destinations on a comfortable ship. There is no need to think. The staff does all the thinking for you so you can enjoy your visits and bike rides. The bike routes are well planned and explained, both in the guidebook and by the cruise director in his daily briefings. I highly recommend downloading the route for google maps so that you can trace your progress and find your location easily on your phone. The distances are reasonable and the sights beautiful. I rented a standard bike from the boat, and felt comfortable and secure. My travel companions rented an e-bike from a private vendor in Passau, and loved them (the ship ran out of e-bike rentals). Dinner was delicious. The ship clearly had a first-rate chef on board. The air conditioner in the suite worked very well (we like our rooms to get very cool at night)--so we loved the temperature in the room. The organized shore excursions were great, especially the city tours by bike. We had a Read More

Lawrence D.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Fortuna Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Most memorable part: Waking up to different cities. Tour director Leslie was very helpful and knowledgeable.

Farida B.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Fortuna Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The most memorable part was biking with new friends we made on this trip, also the 80s dance night was very very fun. I would suggest to not include every lunch in the package as usually we are out no need for sandwiches, and give the option to have dinner out when we dock in a city. The organization was great, the self biking part very easy as the cruise director was amazing. We felt safe and taking care off very well. I would recommend a longer time in Vienna.

Waltrud K.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Fortuna Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The Barge and Ride tour of the Danube was outstanding. Providing more detailed directions to the demarcation point in Passat would have helped. The staff were excellent as were the meals and the scenery.

Troy w.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Fortuna Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

It was fantastic. The tour guide was amazing and really connected with you so much that he would bike with you and converse with you on each bike excursion. the scenery was so beautiful and was the best trip experience we have every had hands down!