Bike tour reviews with boat/barge Magnifique II 31 to 60 of 73

 

 Boat/Barge: Magnifique II • REMOVE  About Magnifique II

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Jeffrey W. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part: Riding through the Belgian countryside

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 5 day
    by Lyla C. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I have already recommended this trip to my walking and running friends as I am not a biker but found that it was very, very manageable with little current biking experience. I rode bikes a lot as a kid but just haven’t been on a bike much at all lately. This winter in Canada made it impossible to get out and get out on the bike ahead of time. Of course the flat Dutch terrain helped and I ended in the long group each day! The best part was that by being well looked after by the tour by way of food and the guides, the group came together in just a magnificent way. The days were laid out in advance for us and we were all quite comfortable. Everyone was relaxed and really good company. We soon were having a lot of fun!

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 5 day
    by Lorraine D. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Just one tip that we should have more of the history explain on the bike trip, not enough info on the places we were seeing.

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 5 day
    by Rosemary W. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Everyone associated with the barge was kind and personable. We met interesting people and enjoyed the 5 Star service of the entire crew. I’m sure all of our friends at home are tired of hearing about our amazing trip, LOL! We are already looking to book a future bike and barge trip and bring some of those friends along. The only thing that wasn’t perfect about this trip was the weather, but we made the best of it.

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Rebecca K. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The bike trip, the guide, the staff were all memorable. I'm not easily pleased. The trip was beyond my expectations. Loved riding through the countryside. Our guide was terrific while very responsible he was also fun and made everyone feel at ease. Although I was a solo guest he always made me feel comfortable. They staff was outstanding. Hard working and sooo nice. Again very friendly and just wanted everyone to be happy. Have shared my positive experience with so many friends, etc. I am happily considering another trip this summer. I'm an American and a somewhat simple/picky eater... at times I didn't care for what was served. Suggestion...Possibly more variety for lunch. It was the same everyday. Some type of luncheon meats and cheese.

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Carmen P. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The barge is beautiful & clean. The food fantastic! I totally enjoy the countryside & the cities we stopped at. I always recommend this trip from Bruges to Amsterdam.

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Amy M. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part: We went outside at sunset and saw a flock of geese heading overhead as the sun turned the sky to pinks and blues and cotton candy clouds.

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Laurie P. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    There was so much about the trip, starting with the wonderful food, great staff and our tour guide, along with the wonderful sights along the way!

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Susan H. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The chef we had on our barge made the meals memorable. This was an outstanding experience in every way except perhaps a few longer-than-expected bike days. However, we were the oldest and least prepared on the boat, so others likely found the distances just right.

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Lindsay B. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Riding our bikes through the towns and the countryside really get to see everything smell everything meeting new people it was a lot of fun. Been telling everybody about it would love to do it again.

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Debbie H. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Always have two guides. I can’t imagine having only one for such a diverse level of skills. We had one guide who lacked interpersonal skills. She lost her temper several times at several clients. I was one of those on the receiving end.

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Suki G. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Book from Brugge to Amsterdam to avoid headwinds. Expect riding in country with nothing special to see.

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Kathi T. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The entire trip was fantastic. I personally could have benefited with a few less km per day but that is my fault for not training as much as I should have. The chef and the guide, Leroy and Alfonse were amazing. The boat was comfortable and elegant. First rate all around!

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Kathleen H. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I loved every minute of it! :) Thank you so much for a great adventure!

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Diane B. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Every part of this excursion exceeded my expectations. The Magnifique II is a fabulous boat, with very comfortable accommodations. The staff was excellent, all worked very hard and the teamwork was amazing. Cycling routes were fabulous and Thomas was absolutely an excellent guide. The food was first rate, LeRoy did a great job. It was a fabulous trip.

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Susan H. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Everything about the trip exceeded my expectations. In particular, the dinners were truly gourmet. Keep that chef (Leroy)!

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Marcia B. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Highlights: Seeing these countries via bike paths. Going through small towns and villages with an excellent guide to highlight the history and out of the way places.
    Tip: get in shape! You will enjoy it more if you are fit to bike these distances.

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Brussels to Bruges Bike and Boat Tour
    by Dorothy M. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Wow, our trip was phenomenal! The barge was excellent, the food was gourmet (seriously) and the riding was great! Although rain was predicted everyday, we never rode in the rain. The weather improved and we saw rain twice while on the barge. The Magnifique II and the crew could not have been better. We are already looking forward to a trip next year!!!

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Belgium

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Joe B. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The biking part of the trip takes you through some of the most beautiful countryside in Belgium and the Netherlands. The tour guide is very knowledgeable about the history of the landscape. It's a very casual pace so keeping up is never a problem. There are many stops for coffee, lunch and afternoon breaks while biking.

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Rebecca K. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Having never taken a bike and barge trip I didn't know what to expect. Wow....it exceeded my expectations. Boat was luxurious for a barge, what friendly, hard working staff. Tom our tour leader was terrific. Other than the fact that the single cabins are really small everything else outstanding.

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Laura G. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    It was all very memorable. Wish the bikes had a water bottle holder and a map clip or holder on the handle bars. The tour info from Tripsite was not completely accurate as we rode a lot more than we anticipated every day. The barge was 'Magnifique'!

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Elizabeth L. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The staff was outstanding, everything on the barge was spotlessly clean, the food was delicious, the bikes were great! My husband and I had a terrific experience. We loved being able to bike with a guide or by ourselves. The guide was knowledgable and supportive. I would sign up for this bike and barge trip in a heartbeat, but at 72, I might get an electric bike. Wonderful balance of biking along canals in the country and through towns to see the sights. Hooray!!

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Teresa L. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed this trip. I loved biking through different scenery - quaint villages and towns, beautiful forests, farmland and countryside. It is the perfect way to see parts of Belgium and Holland. You can go at your own pace because the trails are so well marked. The barge is beautiful and the rooms are comfortable. I can't say enough about the staff, they were excellent. I definitely recommend this trip and can't wait to do it again!

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Arja L. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The Magnifique II and staff were more amazing than we expected! The bike routes were absolutely beautiful with very well planned and laid out maps. Overall a very memorable experience that I am highly recommending to every one I talk to.

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Bruce Reynolds 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Just got off the Magnifique II a couple of weeks ago and my wife and I along with three other couples in our group had a fabulous time. Captain Paul, first mate Kevin, Chef Leroy, and Tesa went up and beyond duty helping and serving all of us. With temperatures above normal and the lost of one additional crew member they never missed a beat. The meals were excellent,Tesa always had a smile on her face while pouring us a glass of wine,Kevin could be found helping dock the boat, getting a beer for someone,adjusting the height of a bike seat and many,many more duties. Capt. Paul not only guided the ship throughout our trip,but jumped right in to clear dinner dishes ,tend bar and always willing to answer questions we might have about the Netherlands and Belgium. Marcel our guide did just that,telling us about certain structures we passed by, folklore and tours on foot through some of the towns we stayed in at night. A great trip

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Claudette S. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The food was exceptional! The Chef put a lot of effort to please.
    Presentation was amazing.

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Lise B. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I thought there weren't enough safety precautions: riding too close, no warning of slowing or stopping. Would have liked more stops along the way for photos.

    Loved the Magnifique II! The food was spectacular! Variety of routes/terrains.

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by S. Lior 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The most memorable part of my trip were the small towns and villages that we visited. These are places where tourists rarely venture. The people are friendly and open for conversations; willing to share their lives and experiences with us. And curious to know about us as well. I have so many wonderful memories.

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by P. O'Hagan 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Having the map to tryi to not get lost was so much fun. Thank you to all the staff for making the bike barge a great activity vacation.

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by A & M Decourcy 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Great trip BUT.. We decided to cycle with 6 others because we are experienced riders. We were counting on the signage being much more complete and easier to follow. At times, there was no indication of where to go. Our path just ended! Also, the bigger group, of about 18, had some inexperienced riders and we felt that riding in this large a group could be dangerous...which proved to be the case.
    In one case, a previous rider had taken the liberty to use a marker to write our path number on a sign. Thanks to him/her we were able to continue on without taking out the GPS. Had this been done on several other signs, we would not have had to find our way ...using GPS..on many occasions. There were also 4 other Europeans, who cycled as a group, who experienced the same sense of frustration as us.
    We will forward a photo to the Tripsite website. Thanks for providing a most enjoyable and memorable trip.

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

PWPC