Bike tour reviews with boat/barge Magnifique II 61 to 80 of 80

 

 Boat/Barge: Magnifique II • REMOVE  About Magnifique II

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Arja L. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The Magnifique II and staff were more amazing than we expected! The bike routes were absolutely beautiful with very well planned and laid out maps. Overall a very memorable experience that I am highly recommending to every one I talk to.

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Bruce Reynolds 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Just got off the Magnifique II a couple of weeks ago and my wife and I along with three other couples in our group had a fabulous time. Captain Paul, first mate Kevin, Chef Leroy, and Tesa went up and beyond duty helping and serving all of us. With temperatures above normal and the lost of one additional crew member they never missed a beat. The meals were excellent,Tesa always had a smile on her face while pouring us a glass of wine,Kevin could be found helping dock the boat, getting a beer for someone,adjusting the height of a bike seat and many,many more duties. Capt. Paul not only guided the ship throughout our trip,but jumped right in to clear dinner dishes ,tend bar and always willing to answer questions we might have about the Netherlands and Belgium. Marcel our guide did just that,telling us about certain structures we passed by, folklore and tours on foot through some of the towns we stayed in at night. A great trip

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Claudette S. 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The food was exceptional! The Chef put a lot of effort to please.
    Presentation was amazing.

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Lise B. 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I thought there weren't enough safety precautions: riding too close, no warning of slowing or stopping. Would have liked more stops along the way for photos.

    Loved the Magnifique II! The food was spectacular! Variety of routes/terrains.

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

    • Amsterdam to Bruges
      by Jehiel 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Staff

      Hello Lise,
      I can tell you that your safety is ours, as well as our local partners first priority. When you are on a tour we encourage you to express your concerns with your guide or others on the trip, this goes for safety as well you desire to stop for photos. Thanks for sharing this feedback!

      Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by S. Lior 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The most memorable part of my trip were the small towns and villages that we visited. These are places where tourists rarely venture. The people are friendly and open for conversations; willing to share their lives and experiences with us. And curious to know about us as well. I have so many wonderful memories.

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by P. O'Hagan 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Having the map to tryi to not get lost was so much fun. Thank you to all the staff for making the bike barge a great activity vacation.

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by A & M Decourcy 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Great trip BUT.. We decided to cycle with 6 others because we are experienced riders. We were counting on the signage being much more complete and easier to follow. At times, there was no indication of where to go. Our path just ended! Also, the bigger group, of about 18, had some inexperienced riders and we felt that riding in this large a group could be dangerous...which proved to be the case.
    In one case, a previous rider had taken the liberty to use a marker to write our path number on a sign. Thanks to him/her we were able to continue on without taking out the GPS. Had this been done on several other signs, we would not have had to find our way ...using GPS..on many occasions. There were also 4 other Europeans, who cycled as a group, who experienced the same sense of frustration as us.
    We will forward a photo to the Tripsite website. Thanks for providing a most enjoyable and memorable trip.

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by D. Pincar 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I would recommend it, but with reservations. I think there should have been two guides, one to take a faster group and one for a beginner group. A few people on the trip should not have been. They were not comfortable on their bikes, and were a daily danger to whomever they were near. Something should have been done about it.
    I also would have liked to ride faster, and spend more free time in the little towns.

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by L. Barker 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Had so much fun. Looking forward to doing it again. Been telling everyone they need to try it. Just riding your bike through the towns over cobble stone or brick. Just a great way to see a country.

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by R. Oliver 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We sailed on the Magnifique II from Bruges to Amsterdam, 25 June to 1 July, under the able command of skipper Paul, and ride leader Tom Tiedom. It was a magnificent experience in every way, even though we had a few odd showers to contend with. This is virtually a brand new barge with upscale accommodations and amenities. We had one of the four top-side suites, which are indeed larger, and with view windows that open as opposed to port holes. Tom, the ride leader and guide, was an extremely charming, knowledgeable and humorous fellow. He provided daily briefings on the next day's ride, all of which included ample coffee and food stops, as well as providing historic info. Indeed, the entire crew were extremely courteous and helpful in every respect, and the food delicious.

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by J. Backes 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Fabulous trip. Great, hospitable staff willing to please, answer questions, professional, share information. Boat was clean, comfortable, well equipped. Food was excellent and there was plenty to enjoy.

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by L. Messing 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Our guide Felix, was fun, knowledgeable and intuitive. His attitude and ease of being with people made even a horrible weather day endurable. The BIGGEST bonus was having Astrid along as a trainee. She added so much to every aspect of our journey and was a treasure trove of regional information.

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by L. Pope 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Had a fantastic time, would highly recommend it to others!

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by J. Backes 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Exceptional staff, welcoming, friendly, informative, knowledgable. Perhaps on the rides having a buddy system so the guide doesn't need to count all the people to make sure everyone is present would be my only suggestion. I sometimes got the sense that people wanted to stop more often to take pictures and no one told them not to but then it can take time away from getting to visit town at the end of the day. Perhaps that needs to be discussed in more depth. Sometimes some of the breaks were longer than necessary. Again they were fine but took time from visiting a town at the end of the trip.

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by S. Fryeskul 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The staff at Tripsite were amazing to deal with and very helpful about everything. I would recommend this company and biking trip to anyone.
    Thank you
    S. Fryeskul
    PS: We loved the new Magnifique II !!!

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by W. Staab 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Great bike leader. Have name tags for participants or for bikes to help us w names. Would like to have been brave enough to ride on my own! Some participants were not really regular cyclists. Would have been good to have a briefing re group bike rules, including spacing, passing, signaling, warnings, etc.

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by R. Ross 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Loved it! The crew was great, the boat was marvelously beautiful, the food was very good, and the overall atmosphere was perfectly casual and elegant at the same time. But: They should NOT charge for coffee/tea after 4pm. If the Bar Tab could be handled at the end of the trip by credit card it would be a bit more sophisticated, but not a deal breaker.

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 5 day
    by R. Vaughan 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The Magnifique II ship was beautiful and very comfortable. The ship's crew were outstanding and very friendly. We especially enjoyed touring with tour guide Tom. We would love to take another trip similar to this in other regions and countries.

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 5 day
    by D. Hunts 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Highly recommend this trip!

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 5 day
    by D. Keener 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We loved the entire trip. The bikes trips were great - always lots to see with just the right amount of time in the saddle. My sister (who is not used to much cycling) loved her electric bike.

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Netherlands

PWPC