5 star rated Bike tour reviews with boat/barge Carissima 1 to 30 of 74

 

 Boat/Barge: Carissima • REMOVE  About Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Yvonne L. 1 week ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Wonderful group of people with extensive travel experience. Biking was fun scenery was great. Loved our farewell party dancing the night away with all our new friends.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Jeff F. 1 week ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    It’s hard to pick one thing only. I thought the last day of bike riding was the best route, though the first day was a great route, too. There were so many interesting stops along each days ride. A suggestion for others would be to skip the bus tour of Budapest. A walking tour with a guide is better.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Veronica M. 1 week ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    It's been a delight to bike around Europe

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Mark R. 1 week ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Most memorable: guided bike tour of Vienna.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by John W. 2 weeks ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    My wife and I completed the eight-day Danube Bike & Boat trip in June. Biking along the Danube through quaint villages and vineyards was a very special experience. Onboard our "floating hotel" we enjoyed the food, amenities, and camaraderie with like-minded and active people. If you are keen on an adventure, I highly recommend this one!

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Kathie W. 2 weeks ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Along the Danube- Four Country Tour aboard the Carissima- very large group on board and biking so lots of waiting and wading through the crowd. Cabin was clean and comfortable even labeled as ‘eco’ cabin. Food was excellent however many courses and supper would take up to three hours- too long. Drink package was highly encouraged but not necessarily economical. All coffee/tea was at a cost except for a brief time in the morning. Our guide was adequate however seemed to rush the biking limiting conversation and countryside observations. The tour director Albert was indifferent and not clear on what to do related to a tour bus that didn’t show up. It took quite a bit of arguing on my part to feel justified with the outcome to balance up the ticket cost as this was not made clear earlier. Staff seemed overworked and had favorites. I would recommend the trip as the countryside is beautiful but choose another barge/ship. Run by Rad/Reissen.
    All reservations and coordination through Trip Site- excellent in communication, coordination and cost information.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Jenny J. 2 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    We loved the whole experience but one favorite highlight was the Hungarian Folklore show and being selected to dance with the troupe! We made great friends with our tablemates and are planning to visit them next year in Canada. We have shared our experience with so many friends at home that they want to do the trip too. Truly an amazing experience! I would be remiss if I failed to mention the value of the entire experience for the price paid. Very affordable!

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Petra V. 6 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The cycling and the amazing scenery. We opted for a local guide and Axel was amazing. We definitely would recommend this tour and already have.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Vera S. 6 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    I love everything... the routes in beautiful places, food, the freedom sensation. I already scheduled another trip for next tear!

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Phyllis L. 6 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The most memorable part of the trip was biking along the Danube River and visiting the small towns. We met many nice people from all over the world.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Doug N. 6 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The accommodation and the bikes were great and the trip was very affordable. Our server for the week was terrific.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Wilma C. 6 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Most Memorable Part? The bike route and tour help from the staff

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Brian K. 7 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Wonderful trip with a nicely balanced pace to the days varied activities: tasty breakfast followed by several hours of scenic easy cycling; back to the Carissima for a little deck time, beverage or two; good food, good company at dinner; perhaps up to the lounge for some entertainment or nicely tired back to the cabin to sleep. What’s not to like?

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Walter Z. 7 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Most Memorable Moment? Late afternoons on the sundeck after the bike ride. Watching the castles and quaint villages on the shore as the boat glided by. Perfect end to a great day.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Edie D. 7 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    I loved riding through the little villages and getting a sense of how people actually live from day to day. All the senses are stimulated- smelling the fruit trees, feeling the wind, hearing the laughter and different languages, touching the handcrafted cloths, and of course experiencing all the sites and lights as you float along at night.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Jacques B. 7 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Tripsite made our first bike tour so memorable we have booked another one for next year. It was perfect!!!

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Vern O. 7 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The most memorable part of the trip was "The Entire Trip"!!! We met so many wonderful people. Our guide Jürgen Gehrke was "The Best"!! So much fun and really went above and beyond taking our group on special tours and always knowing the best Pubs for "The First of The Day"!!!

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Margaret B. 7 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The scenery along the Danube was beautiful and we had lots of fun. Two things I would mention to people planning to do the trip 1) Realize that there is only time to see 1 or maybe 2 of the many sites listed for any given day. There is a small window of time that the barge will be in dock. We had envisioned having a leisurely ride seeing all these great sites and getting back to the barge by the end of the afternoon but thats not how it works. 2) Pay attention to whether you bought bike insurance through Tripsite b/c the barge staff will also sell it and they don't seem to know whether you have it already. We couldn't remember and the wifi was so bad that we couldn't verify so we ended up double paying for it.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Deborah A. 7 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    I wanted to see quaint villages and remote hard-to-get-to places. I was able to do that and pleased with our itinerary. Bike was awesome and made me want to change my bike at home. I had non- electric.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Sheri S. 8 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    My most memorable part of the trip was traveling with friends who have different cycling abilities. There was a something for everyone. The staff was helpful and very professional.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Stephen G. 9 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The food on board the ship was amazing, and at a higher quality more expensive competitors. I would definitely consider Rad und Reisen again.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by William G. 9 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The Carissima had nice cabins that had ample room. The staff were truly amazing with their customer service. The daily briefings provided us with most of the information that we needed for the ride and Albert was excellent at answering all questions for those of us that needed extra help. We only had a few issues with directions. The bikes were in great condition, shifted easily and not as heavy as I expected, we used regular bikes. The cycling paths were filled with beautiful scenery and easy cycling. Touring in Vienna was much easier than expected. It was unfortunate that the water level was too low to take the boat all the way to Budapest but Rad Reisen did their best to make sure that their customers had a good experience and provided a tour bus to transport the people to Budapest, providing them with a nice lunch of traditional Hungarian food. The food on the Carissima was very well planned, their chef was excellent in his food preparation. I personally would have preferred a lot more vegetables but overall was very happy with his meal planning. The dining room was a bit noisy with all the people chattering so this made it difficult to converse with some of the other people at our table. The waiters were outstanding in their hard work. We will definitely go on more of these trips as we enjoy being active on vacations. This trip was a wonderful experience and so enjoyable.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Kathryn G. 9 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    This was the 4th of the boat bike trips we had done with Tripsite and I would say the best. Our guide Axel was amazing and being able to visit the many little villages along the Danube was wonderful. We had two rainy days right at the start but we all came prepared so was still great rides. Biking around Vienna was really incredible as there are many good bike paths however one had to watch carefully as there were also many tourists. Our visit to Budapest was also a major highlight. Our guide Axel walked with us up to Buda Hill to visit the Fisherman’s Bastion for the most amazing views of Pest at night. The Bastion was also a beautiful sight at night.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Maria Tereza and Arturo 9 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    This trip was much better than we expected. The service on the boat was one of the best we have experienced. The food was very good. The cabins confortable, very good shower. Good and very well adjusted bicycles. Precise information each day of biking. Scenery gorgeous. Completely safe even for children and older people. The cycling distances were appropriate for all. Very tasteful sandwiches for those who were biking. The cities we visited are amazing. Congratulations to the team working on Carissima.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Laura W. 10 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The Along the Danube Four-Country tour far surpassed our expectations. The cabins on the MS Carissima are more spacious than large cruise ship cabins I've had in the past. The food was truly amazing, and the chef endeavored to offer the option of a dish native to the country we were in each night. The staff was wonderful and went above and beyond for us.

    And then there was the scenery! It was simply breathtaking! The comfort bikes are appropriately named; so much so that I would love to buy one to replace the bike I have at home. Riding along the Danube was such a spectacular way to really get a feel for the country.

    We had two people in our group who elected not to bicycle, for health reasons, and they loved the trip too. Apparently, relaxing with a drink on the sun deck was another very pleasurable way to see things.

    I highly recommend this trip!

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Kathryn G. 10 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    We had a great time. The bike rides were so much fun with ferry rides and beautiful scenery. The staff on board were excellent. Food, OMG, it was fabulous and served so elegantly. They very graciously accommodated my gluten sensitivity. And we had two great parties. I have recommended this trip to many friends. What a great way to see the country.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Jennifer G. 10 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    We had a wonderful time on the bike/boat on the Danube.
    The guide Axel was terrific. He took us to some out of the way places. He offered suggestions. The ride was scenic and easy to ride. 90% if the bike paths were paved which made riding easy. The bicycle crew was awesome. The bike were lined up and ready to go each morning.
    The accommodation and food exceeded my expectation. Rooms were clean but walls between rooms are thin.
    We will definitely do another trip with Tripsite.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Dan C. 10 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Best part? The cycling along the Wachau valley

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Wendy T. 11 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Most Memorable Part? The beauty & grandeur of the Danube...and the ability to enjoy this while riding a bike!

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Dean Y. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Great bike routes. Vast majority on nice bike paths.

    Boat: Carissima

PWPC