5 star rated Bike tour reviews with boat/barge Carissima 31 to 60 of 74

 

 Boat/Barge: Carissima • REMOVE  About Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Janet H. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Wonderful time with friends. The maps and route descriptions need to be more exact.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Sandra B. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Biking through Budapest was most memorable! We were amazed at the fabulous bike paths through the city. The car traffic was courteous to bikers and honored the cross walks. Biking through Vienna was great, too. Not quite as well defined, but it was so different to have the freedom to explore the cities, visit sites and landmarks via bike, and much more efficient than walking.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Thomas A. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The trip was beyond our expectations. We have taken other bike and boat tours and this was superior to the others. The food on board the boat was wonderful. The cities visited were beautiful and interesting. We took the guided bike tour and the guide, Jurgen Gehrke, was wonderful. I would encourage anyone interested in a bike and boat trip to seriously look into this trip.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Avace W. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Having a guide who provided all the extra touches for touring for our perfect sized group of 10. Dinners on the boat were very dragged out with no opportunity to change tables and meet other guests. Food was beautifully presented, but the petite portions left me starving after a day of biking. I made sure to stock up on a big breakfast. Director made a big deal of tipping whereas this could have been explained ahead of time, so more time could have been spent on what to see in the quaint, darling villages. More info on what to see along the way would have enhanced the adventure. We did a lot of homework ahead of time on what to look for in each village and that helped us to appreciate the history and stories. Highly recommend a guide, but keep groups small for safety and management purposes.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Barbara C. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Our private guide, Axel, was excellent. I strongly recommend a guide because it took away all of the worry about maps, directions and getting lost. He was also very knowledgeable about the history and geography of the areas we visited. I would definitely do another bike tour with Axel.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Lou Ann C. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The scenery was amazing and fortunately, the weather cooperated and made it even more perfect. My only “suggestion” (not complaint) was that coffee was not available in the rooms. Being an early riser, a lot of us “seniors” prefer to have our coffee in the room while getting ready for breakfast! :).

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Beverly B. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Most memorable part: Being on the water at night and looking out our bedroom window to see the Budapest Parliament bathed in a golden glow against the clear night sky.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Michael K. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The trip exceeded my expectations. The beautiful country side along the Danube River, the locks and dams, the wine county of Austria and Budapest were the highlights.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Isabel V. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The way the staff looked after us concerning our gluten and lactose free meals. No effort were to big for them!

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Heidi S. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Most Memorable Part? The excitement of the biking along with the relaxation of being on the boat and our awesome room and room tenant (Rory?) and of course the food!

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Edie D. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The most memorable part of the trip was riding through the small villages and seeing how people really live throughout the country. The shops they buy in, how they farm, the type of housing, some of their recreation. I also loved riding through trees and pathways and having the various scents surround me - it made me feel very close and intimate with the experience.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Leslie M. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The most memorable part of our trip were the friendships we made! The boat, Carissima, was outstanding, the scenery was amazing and the ride was very enjoyable. Most of the staff were exceptional and the food was adequate on board. We are definitely planning another bike trip in the future with Tripsite!

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Sidney P. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Best cycling ever. The price was very reasonable, nice boat, great food, and good bikes to ride on. Looking forward to doing another bike trip with this company.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Judith M. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Loved being in the beautiful countryside and then the relaxing atmosphere of going down the Danube on a river boat. If I did it again I would opt for being guided as the routes and directions were confusing at times.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Bev V. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Most Memorable Part: The friendly inviting atmosphere created by staff and participants.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Susan M. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Most Memorable Part: The last biking day on the Danube through the vineyards.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Elizabeth J. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The boat, the crew, the accommodations, the other cyclists, and the tour itself were all first rate. My own group hired, in addition, a professional bicycle guide (comfort guided option), who rode with us and provided directions, historical information, and additional short trips to fill out the schedule. I would go again with Tripsite in a minute!!

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Mary H. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Most Memorable part? Riding along the Danube!

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Laurence M. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The daily rides were the perfect combination of distance and scenery. The ship and staff were excellent as was the food served in the dining room. We would definitely recommend this ride and cruise to our friends.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Tammy K. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Visiting the Wachau valley was my favorite part of the trip. Entertainment on the ship was the only down side and that was just a small part of the trip.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Christopher 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The experience on the barge far exceeded the expectations for my wife and the other 6 members of the group. The quality of the food, the excellence (and friendliness) of service , and the outstanding visuals of the meal presentations were an absolute delight.
    If I were asked for recommendations (I left these comments on the end of cruise comment card), would be to improve internet service and to make sure there is at least one English speaking television channel available.
    Other than that, everything was wonderful.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Jenny K. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Most Memorable Part: Waking up each morning at a new port in the middle of no where with castles and beauty all around. Tip: Take all the bottled water you are able to as not freely available (although I drank the ship's water and it was fine). Don't rely on internet.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Joseph D. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    It was a fantastic trip. I will definitely recommend it to friends and family!

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Sidney P. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The whole experience was more than I expected. Just join in and enjoy life.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Elaine D. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    This was our first bike and barge trip. The 4 countries trip was awesome. Albert was an amazing tour guide and was available all the time to ask questions of and chat with. His info sessions were informative, we would have missed a great deal without his tips and suggestions. Amazing food. Friendly staff willing to do anything to make the trip memorable. No hassles ever! Wish coffee during the day was included but no big deal. We were on the top level with big picture windows. Immaculate boat, the Carissma. We booked the spa and enjoyed the expansive area, chilled fruit juices, robes and towels. Nice hot tub for two, romantic. We are already looking for another Tripsite bike and barge next year. This is an amazing way to see cities, get some exercise and fresh air, enjoy the countryside and visit little villages for coffee or drinks. We did city bike tours in Budapest &Vienna (booked on board) and they were well worth the money. Before the trip we had a number of questions and Mikky at Tripsite was great with answers. I was so happy she answered right away! Thanks for a memorable week.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Linda S. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    This was the second trip on the MS Carissma from Sept 24 - Oct 1- along the Danube. Great scenery- the best of the two trips. The river views of vineyards, historical sites were really beautiful. The staff on the boat were exceptionally customer focused and responsive to needs. The food was very good and well presented with the exception of the fruit plate which needed a little more imagination to meet the standard set by the other menu items. The hired tour guide for our group was not able to answer questions about the history or other information on some of the sites we spent time in or passed along the way. He knew the route well but other information was not forthcoming as he said "it did not interest him" when he did not know. Tips - do some research on some of the stops along the way to determine if the site is worth a stop along the way. Make good use of the extra time in Vienna and Budapest.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Dale B. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Best Part: The ride from Vac to Esztergom! Beautiful.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Barbara E. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    This was my first time to cycle by the Danube and it far exceeded my expectations. The whole experience was awesome. I loved to be able to exercise while enjoying the pretty scenery and exploring villages and meeting people from other countries. Such a wealth of history and culture!! Truly amazing!

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Byron E. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    I will definitely do another bike and barge, it was terrific. My only complaint would be that the food provided for the vegetarians was not well thought out. It wouldn't take much to make this a fabulous plant-based experience. The staff tried as best they could...but it was lacking. But, overall, the trip was fabulous.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Heather F. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    We really enjoyed the rides through the countryside in this trip. Our cruise director was fun and very helpful. He gave us many tips for the route and how to experience the culture of the places we went.

    Boat: Carissima

PWPC