5 Star Champagne Tour Tour Reviews — 1 to 24 of 24

Opera House in Paris, France. Flickr:alainlm
Summer discount

Champagne Tour

7–8 days from €1315

4.6 out of 5

Champagne Tour

Moderate Bike + Boat Tour in France

During this bike and boat tour in France, you will pedal through the beautiful Marne River Valley and the world-famous Champagne region, either beginning or ending in Paris, the city of light…

 Stars:  5     
4.6 out of 5

 


Therese M.
3 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

Very fun tour. The entire crew and guides were amazing, friendly , fun, and very helpful!
Saw some great sights I’m sure I would not have seen otherwise.
Also met great people from all over the world.
I would recommend this trip to anyone thinking of doing it.

Virginia V.
3 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

This was my first bike and boat tour. It was wonderful! From the daily biking through the countryside of France, the delicious, healthy meals provided on the boat, and the friendly, helpful staff and tour guides, I totally enjoyed the experience. Our last afternoon and evening was spent in Lagny-sur-Marne where the summer solstice was being celebrated - Fête de la Musique. We had our own private viewing/listening area on the sun deck and were able to wander the streets and enjoy the festivities.
Remember to take rain gear (including waterproof pants). Cycling in the rain is its own unique experience!

Jim M.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

Travelling through the countryside of France and the champagne house tur

Mary Ann D.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

For me the most memorable part of the trip was meeting all the passengers and crew and enjoying their company for a week. The rides each day that were planned were great and I can't say enough about the food we had on the boat. I would do another boat/bike trip again!

Sandra H.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

Seeing the beautiful country side of the Champagne region of France. The three course meals each night were spectacular! Great job Chef Frank.

Maureen G.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

The boat living area and dining room were lovely. The meals were SO GOOD and beautifully presented. The guides were great and I learned a lot. I appreciated being divided into two groups. Seeing poppies in fields as we biked along was delightful.!!

georgia p.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

We have been on 9 tours now - and this is definitely one of the good trips - why? the CREW!!!! Cpt Willie runs a great barge -that crew from the chef to the guides to the deck hand - all were involved in making our trip a success - and they were so much fun ....... the chef Frank definitely a big winner as well.
he ride was good - getting to see all the war memorials and WW1 battle regions - then on the champagne region .... very beautiful .... we had 2 tastings at 2 cellars - (what would have been nice is having a tasting at a champagne cellar - show casing a variety of labels and how the tastes vary .....this is the first time all were on electric bikes and they were definitely handy on the hills and handled Frances bike tracks and trails well .
The other passengers were alot of fun also and everyone got on well - but it was a good trip - good ride -good boat - good scenery - yep ready to book 2024!

Derek G.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

The food on board Zwaantje was the best we have had on the three trips we have now completed with tripsite. The use of e-bikes was a good decision it allowed us to experience the sometimes challenging climbs with ease.

Gillian H.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The daily bike rides were more than I expected through beautiful countrysides and charming villages. The staff were outstanding in their efforts to make us comfortable- loved the swim off the barge after a long days ride! . The cuisine was superb and reasonably portioned - loved daily fresh baguettes.

Cheree ONeill
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

What an adventure.. I loved it. My first bike/ boat tour and I was not disappointed.
Everything was top rate Martayn and Marjorie were excellent hosts and nothing was a bother. Marcel was a very knowledgeable guide and went that little extra to ensure we missed nothing. Frank cooked up a storm every day
The group blended well and I was sorry the trip had to end. Im already researching my next adventure.
The Zwaantje was great and I slept soundly every night.

Orest M.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The Champagne tour combined the pleasures of riding through vineyards, sampling champagne on both public and private tours, exploring out of the way gems that you would never find on your own, getting to know an extraordinary captain and crew of the Zwaantje, and meeting new friends, topped off with time to explore the City of Light. Although some of the daily rides were difficult, don't hesitate to join this tour because of the hills - get an e-bike and you're guaranteed the experience of a lifetime. It doesn't get any better than this!

Ray S.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Most Memorable Part? How beautiful the country looked. Our first time to Europe. France made a big impression and hope to return. Merci beaucoup

Barry B.
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

When a vacation is better than your expectations, as it was, it is vundarbar.

Karyn P.
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Most Memorable Part? Everything! The other cyclists, the barge crew, the food and of course the Champagne was all amazing!

Barry B.
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Crew, guide, staff were attentive, cordial and helpful. Barge was clean and comfortable. Bike routes were very scenic and interesting. Mary Ann, our guide was very knowledgeable, and simply terrific. Will we go again?....absolutely yes.

Martha Y.
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The most memorable part of the trip was the scenery and atmosphere.

Michael F.
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The Captain and crew were just wonderful. While the sights were certainly great, like cheese making, Champagne tasting, visitng the ruins and the WWII cemeteries it was the warm welcome from the Captain and crew that really made this trip. There was nothing they wouldn't do for us including getting fresh baguettes every day, finding out our personal preferences for drinks after a long day in the saddle, and in general giving 110% to keep everyone happy. I strongly recommend the Captain and crew of the Zwaantje! I also must mention a big thank you to Carla and her crew at Tripsite for their assistance in getting us additional e-bikes. Without the e-bikes some of us just wouldn't have made the hills, with them we enjoyed every minute. Thank you!

Jeff K.
8 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The boat staff was great. Food, service and cleanliness was excellent.

Paul L.
8 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The Zwaantje barge crew were most excellent - great accommodations, food and customer service!! I would take another bike and barge trip with this group....it was an experience of a lifetime!

Fulton A.
8 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Mega-kudos to the Zwaanje crew, headed by Martin. They're an extraordinary group.
Our guide, Mintje, was good and well-intentioned, but she sometimes didn't grasp entirely the group's priorities.
The route was fantastic -- scenery, length of rides, etc. The tours (champagne, brie, etc., were excellent, especially the family-owned company, Nowak. We learned things and had a lot of fun.
We appreciated how Martin and Mintje responded to our requests for flexibility in developing distance options for less- and more-eager riders.
Also, availability of electric bikes made it possible for spouses (of both sexes) to accompany on rides they usually wouldn't be able to do. We know electric bikes are controversial in some corners, but they made the trip possible for some of our group.
One last thing ... TripSite's PDF summarizing the ride, proposing packing lists, giving directions and tips, was excellent. Congratulations.

D. Power
8 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The staff on the Zwaantje made the trip!

M. Dumestre
8 years ago

Verified Reviewer

I highly recommend the Swaantje barge. The captain is both technically experienced and oriented toward customer satisfaction. The staff was very attentive to passenger needs.
The bike guide was competent, but needed a bit more familiarity with the routes.

D. Quigley
8 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Your tour was so damn good l find l'm getting naught done cause l want to go again - tomorrow. Seriously, l received courteous service that was pertinent and addressed any of the issues that l might have experienced. Personally, l think the whole Bike and Barge tour was run to the highest professional standards under what were adverse weather conditions. You can't plan for the tidal wave like flood of water that swept down the rivers and the very fact that you were able to 'tap-dance in the snow' and continue to operate at all does you no amount of credit. So from me, a big thank you to all the staff and keep up the good work. it was indeed a distinct pleasure for me to bear witness as other professionals surmounted adversity and came out on top.
D. Quigley - Melbourne, Australia.

D. Uram
8 years ago

Verified Reviewer

For the most part the trip was wonderful, I would like to put most of my answers right in the middle of satisfied and not satisfied, I just thought the scenery and the landscape etc. was not what I expected. That is not your fault, enjoyed my trips to Italy and Germany were much more scenic