Slovakia Bike Tour Reviews 361 to 390 of 413

 

 Country: Slovakia • REMOVE

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Lois Farmer 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    At times the trip leading gave incomplete information regarding routes, detours and conditions although the German speaking people received better information - he should use a specific outline when giving such information to be sure it is complete.

    The food was great except for the Wiener Schnitzel which was not interesting at all. A real disappointment in fact. (I have traveled to Austria often and know a less than impressive meal when I receive it.)

    I had booked an extra night in Passau but could not use it due to airline delays. I called Tripsite which could not reimburse me, which I understand. However, I have twice requested a statement from them that I cannot be reimbursed so that I can use it for my trip insurance - I still have not received it.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Don Beck 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Trip of a lifetime! My Story boat a bit dated, but the entire staff was wonderful!

    Boat: My Story

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Lori Cicero 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We enjoyed our trip immensely and recommend it to everyone! The boat was nice, just vintage. The bike routes were well thought out, relatively easy and well marked. Some meals on the ship were good and a couple were not. We preferred eating out on the sightseeing days anyways. Overall it was a great value for the overall price. Can't wait to do another one in a different country!

    Boat: My Story

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Don Hyland 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    A great way to travel on the Danube from Passau to Budapest and back. Our 4 days of biking were on well marked and scenic trails. Glad to have the opportunity to climb the hill overlooking the Danube Loop. Loved biking through small towns such as Melk, Durnstein and Krems. Would recommend this trip on the MS MY STORY.

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Kimberley McEwan 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We loved the Along the Danube cycling trip. The entire tour was very well organized and we really had no complaints. It was a great way to travel and sightsee several countries and the Fall was a great time of year. We are planning our next cycling trip already.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Deborah Stone 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Accommodations were too cramped. Our first boat trip had more adequate rooms.
    Breakfast was great but supper was so so. Not good vegetarian options .

    Boat: My Story

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Alan Robson 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Great tour down the Danube.

    Boat: My Story

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Ken Scheske 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We have recommended this trip to all of our cycling friends, it was one of the best trips we ever had in Europe - and we have had a lot. So far we have cycled in Scotland, Germany, Holland, Belgium, France, Denmark and Sweden and then of course the barge trip. Keep up the good work, would love to do another one.

    Boat: My Story

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Sue Ernst 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I've passed your site along to others.

    Boat: My Story

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Pam Davis 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Great trip!

    Boat: My Story

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Dennis Marshall 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Great value for money. Barge had broken airconditioning for 24hours+ so was unpleasant for a while. Highly recommend this trip to anyone as a great balance between active and passive holidaying. Stay overnight in key cities for 2 nights would be better, eg> Vienna. Thank you.

    Boat: My Story

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Janis Benedict 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Wonderful bike trip along the Danube. Have already recommended to several friends. Look forward to doing another trip. Prefer the self-guided, plenty of time to stop and take photos.

    Boat: My Story

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Carolyn Myers 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This was a wonderful trip - we took our 17 year old grandson and he had a great time with the bicycling and visiting the cities along the route. The staff on the barge was so kind and helpful and the food was outstanding!! The bicycle leader was very well versed in the route and explained the itinerary every evening. We love to take Barge and Bike trips and have taken several Tripsite trips - enjoyed them all.

    Boat: My Story

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Kathy Showers 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We loved the trip! The route and scenery was amazing and we will cherish the friends we made. This tour wasn't posh - it was an active tour - I'd rather get out and experience the culture from the seat of a bicycle than from the deck of my suite. The staff was first class, food was good and the room adequate. I couldn't ask for more beautiful and safe routes each day but got lost once. My husband, who was a bit hesitant about riding 25 miles each day, did great, and is ready to plan the next trip! Tripsite was very professional and helped with all questions and concerns. We will take our next cycling trip in the next few years and will use Tripsite! Thanks!

    Boat: My Story

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Claudia Bonomi 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The guide Mr. Leslie was extremely eficiente, the routes very thoughtful and well signposted. I considered it a fascinating experience!

    Boat: My Story

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Joyce Lear 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I thought we would bike every day, not a problem, but it would have been nice to know.

    Boat: My Story

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Susan Martin 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Upon boarding, there was confusion regarding our room assignments. All 12 of us in our party were assigned different rooms than our vouchers indicated, even on different decks. Fortunately, the cruise director was able to sort everything out, but not without some angst on the part of the hotel manager, who was in the midst of boarding all the passengers at the start of the trip.

    Boat: My Story

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Kathy Showers 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I felt bad the employees hadn't had a break since the beginning of the season. Leslie the tour director was burnt out. He was a little defensive when we mentioned some of the route was poorly signed. Many people missed some turns. Other than that we loved the tour, food, staff and have recommended this to many friends!

    Boat: My Story

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Terry Hill 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Excellent trip. Look forward to trying another one.

    Boat: My Story

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Linda Nicoli 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Only hitch in the whole experience was confusion when we arrived at the boat for check in. In our group of twelve, those who had paid extra for upper deck rooms were assigned lower deck rooms and vice versa, causing a few flared tempers and a less than welcoming start to our excursion. After that was sorted out everything went smoothly. We liked some of the extra excursions more than others but the biking was really the highlight of the trip. Biking through the Wachau Valley with vineyards climbing the mountains on either side, many with castles on top, through charming villages - priceless!

    Boat: My Story

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Beverly Rudeen 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    With 100 passengers & half German speaking/half English speaking I would recommend 2 guides instead of one. At times our guide seemed overwhelmed with questions, assistance, etc....

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Mary Anne Gilbert 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I had a good time on this trip, however, there was not enough time on the bicycle. As well, compared to the other biking trips we have taken, this one was very dependent on time. We did not have all day to get to the next spot. I felt rushed on three of the days, and we only biked on four. Also you lose the sense of discovery when every spot is picked out for you ahead of time, as to where to eat, shop, etc. The cruise staff were wonderful, but it seems to me that they think people only want to see cities, whereas I love the countryside and the villages. I would not do a combined boat and bike again.

    Boat: My Story

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Susan Viggiano 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Great way to do an active vacation. Will definitely book again!!

    Boat: My Story

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Kimberley McEwan 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The Bike and Barge cycling trip was a great way to experience new countries. The cycling paths along the Danube are excellent and the riding was very enjoyable. We will be looking at other bike and barge options through Tripsite.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Janet Humphrey 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    They need to provide better maps or route sheets. Manager of the boat (Peter) was very unfriendly and sometimes rude.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Brenda Alberico 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Would be helpful if bikes had water cages

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Merle Brinkman 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Thanks for providing us with a lifetime of memories.

    Boat: My Story

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Jim Watson 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Overall we had an outstanding trip. The boat was a little better than we expected but very well maintained and managed by the staff and crew. Leslie, our cruise director, was fabulous. I think we overwhelmed the boat with our large group and American ways. Leslie did a great job of balancing our fun trip and the ship's need to do their jobs in a certain way. We will definitely look to Tripsite for another boat/bike adventure in the years to come.

    Boat: My Story

  • Danube Bike Path - Vienna to Budapest
    by Lee Ann Gee 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The bike route and description was really good except on 2 occasions. First, riding out of bratislava is confusing. There is trail construction and NO sign saying where to turn for detour. The second poor section was the last 5 ish miles riding into Budapest. Route poorly marked. We ended up just asking how to get to our hotel since we couldn't find any signs.

    Countries: Austria, Hungary, Slovakia

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Marilyn Kerfoot 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Main reasons for not recommending: Too many people. I would prefer a smaller group especially for lunches and stops along the way. Too much time needed for logistics with such a large group. (That being said, Leslie and the crew did a great job being as efficient as possible with this given the numbers involved.) The trip was marketed as meals all included. However, it was clear that we were "expected" to eat lunch at restaurants during our biking days. That would have been okay except we were always at the same place as dozens of other people (mostly people from our own boat who had not elected to take the guided trip option) so that the experience was not at all enjoyable. The restaurant staff were obviously harried at having to deal with such a large group at one time.
    We always seemed to be in a rush to get back to the boat before its departure. I hadn't realized that the boat would have such a tight schedule to get from one docking point to another. I Read more… would have paid slightly more to have better food. There was way too much pork served; I felt starved for good quality, fresh vegetables by the time the tour ended.

    Boat: My Story

PWPC