Slovakia Tour Reviews — 391 to 420 of 426

4.6 out of 5

 


Kathy Showers
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  My Story Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

I felt bad the employees hadn't had a break since the beginning of the season. Leslie the tour director was burnt out. He was a little defensive when we mentioned some of the route was poorly signed. Many people missed some turns. Other than that we loved the tour, food, staff and have recommended this to many friends!

Terry Hill
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  My Story Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Excellent trip. Look forward to trying another one.

Linda Nicoli
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  My Story Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Only hitch in the whole experience was confusion when we arrived at the boat for check in. In our group of twelve, those who had paid extra for upper deck rooms were assigned lower deck rooms and vice versa, causing a few flared tempers and a less than welcoming start to our excursion. After that was sorted out everything went smoothly. We liked some of the extra excursions more than others but the biking was really the highlight of the trip. Biking through the Wachau Valley with vineyards climbing the mountains on either side, many with castles on top, through charming villages - priceless!

Beverly Rudeen
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Normandie Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

With 100 passengers & half German speaking/half English speaking I would recommend 2 guides instead of one. At times our guide seemed overwhelmed with questions, assistance, etc....

Mary Anne Gilbert
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  My Story Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

I had a good time on this trip, however, there was not enough time on the bicycle. As well, compared to the other biking trips we have taken, this one was very dependent on time. We did not have all day to get to the next spot. I felt rushed on three of the days, and we only biked on four. Also you lose the sense of discovery when every spot is picked out for you ahead of time, as to where to eat, shop, etc. The cruise staff were wonderful, but it seems to me that they think people only want to see cities, whereas I love the countryside and the villages. I would not do a combined boat and bike again.

Susan Viggiano
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  My Story Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Great way to do an active vacation. Will definitely book again!!

Kimberley McEwan
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Normandie Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The Bike and Barge cycling trip was a great way to experience new countries. The cycling paths along the Danube are excellent and the riding was very enjoyable. We will be looking at other bike and barge options through Tripsite.

Janet Humphrey
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Normandie Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

They need to provide better maps or route sheets. Manager of the boat (Peter) was very unfriendly and sometimes rude.

Brenda Alberico
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Normandie Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Would be helpful if bikes had water cages

Merle Brinkman
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  My Story Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Thanks for providing us with a lifetime of memories.

Jim Watson
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  My Story Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Overall we had an outstanding trip. The boat was a little better than we expected but very well maintained and managed by the staff and crew. Leslie, our cruise director, was fabulous. I think we overwhelmed the boat with our large group and American ways. Leslie did a great job of balancing our fun trip and the ship's need to do their jobs in a certain way. We will definitely look to Tripsite for another boat/bike adventure in the years to come.

Lee Ann Gee
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Vienna to Budapest
Austria, Hungary, Slovakia

The bike route and description was really good except on 2 occasions. First, riding out of bratislava is confusing. There is trail construction and NO sign saying where to turn for detour. The second poor section was the last 5 ish miles riding into Budapest. Route poorly marked. We ended up just asking how to get to our hotel since we couldn't find any signs.

Marilyn Kerfoot
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  My Story Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Main reasons for not recommending: Too many people. I would prefer a smaller group especially for lunches and stops along the way. Too much time needed for logistics with such a large group. (That being said, Leslie and the crew did a great job being as efficient as possible with this given the numbers involved.) The trip was marketed as meals all included. However, it was clear that we were "expected" to eat lunch at restaurants during our biking days. That would have been okay except we were always at the same place as dozens of other people (mostly people from our own boat who had not elected to take the guided trip option) so that the experience was not at all enjoyable. The restaurant staff were obviously harried at having to deal with such a large group at one time.
We always seemed to be in a rush to get back to the boat before its departure. I hadn't realized that the boat would have such a tight schedule to get from one docking point to another. I would have paid slightly more to have better food. There was way too much pork served; I felt starved for good quality, fresh vegetables by the time the tour ended.

Don Beck
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  My Story Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The crew on My Story were amazing! Lesley the cruise director did a great job as did the entire staff. Five star service!

Robert Vinton
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  My Story Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Food was only average. Breakfast buffet was good, but the dinners were mixed. If you could find a way to upgrade the dinners, that would be great and worth more money. For biking trips, given it is a healthy, active crowd, even more healthy meal preparations would likely be welcomed. We did appreciate the vegetarian options though Vegan would also be nice. Overall a wonderful trip though, we enjoyed it very much.

Peter Parnegg
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  My Story Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

I know you know this, but the My Story is an old boat. Our bathroom smelled really bad. The food was average. The staff was incredible. The biking was spectacular. Leslie, our tour manager could not have been better. This was an incredible trip and it was a great value because the boat was old it wasn't very expensive. The folks at tripsite we excellent as well.

Deborah Stone
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  My Story Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

We were to have 1 rest day in Vienna but had 2 rest days. The second being Budapest. We liked the city but would have preferred to see more of Hungary from our bikes. My husband is not an historic buff so was bored with sight seeing.

Joseph Hludzenski
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  My Story Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Our group was more than well treated. The staff and officers on the barge went out of their way to help us and make the entire trip one to remember. The tour director really put himself out for everyone on board. He even helped us to solve a problem after we had left the boat at the end of the trip. It was outstanding.

Diane Malone
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  My Story Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Yes, yes, I would and have recommended this trip to friends. It was very relaxing, fun, offering beautiful scenery, helpful staff! visiting the small villages was a treat. The route and route guide was user friendly. Hope to bike this way again soon.

Howard Christie
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Normandie Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Trip maps were difficult to decipher in some cases and needed more explanation. There were too many questions of ""which way do we go?, we must have missed our turn, where's the ferry?

Why couldn't we get a cup of coffee or tea before 7am or 4pm? Why couldn't we get a beer in the lounge right after returning from ride? Why couldn't we drop off our panniers before 4 on Friday when the man in charge was sitting at his desk doing nothing? The crew for the most part was accommodating but the Teutonic influence was in evidence too often, and I am 50% German. My grandfather having served for Germany in the First World War.

Patricia Scullin
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  My Story Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The food could be a lot better, and we would even pay more. Other than that the trip was lovely.

Joe Rine
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  My Story Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Wow! Last year we did a bike and barge; Koblenz to Saarburg on the Patria and loved it. This tour on the MV Story was even better. Boat was a bit more upscale, food and service was better; and the biking along the Danube was beautiful. The City visits were very good.
The hotel Manager on the boat, Paval, was tremendous. And under his leadership the rest of the staff was also very, very good.
My wife rented an E Bike which was well worth the money. The 21 speed I got was also very nice for a comfort bike.
The other guests were also great!

Tess Tholstrup
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Normandie Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

What I didn't like was the fact that the ships organisers would have known that the Water levels in the Danube would not be sufficient for the boat to moor in Budapest long before they told us. I feel that we weren't told as it would have put in jeopardy people attending the trip.

Otherwise everything else exceeded my expectations. The only staff member who could have done better was the guy in charge of the bike courses.

Nilton Araujo Alves
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Vienna to Budapest
Austria, Hungary, Slovakia

Ja conheco Budapeste e Praga.Em Budapeste(cidade linda e agradavel)fiz um tour de bike e agora gostaria de conhecer tmbem Viena,entao,gostaria de informaco sobre preco completo saindo de salvador,porem me deixando livre quanto a aida e retorno

Margaret Collins
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  My Story Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The four country tour on the My Story was an amazing adventure. From the time we boarded the boat til the last evening it was very well organized. The staff were friendly and fun and helpful. The bikes were comfortable and the staff made sure they fit each person. The bike rides each day were well planned with lots of information on the wonderful stops along the way. The meals were amazing with lots of choices.

Thank you so much to trip site and the staff on the My Story for making our holiday a very memorable one. We enjoyed out trip so much we are looking forward to doing another one in the near future.

Judi
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  My Story Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

If you want a great bike-and-barge trip, the My Story "4 Country Tour" should be high on the list for consideration. All of the staff are polite, courteous and helpful, full of energy and enthusiasm to help make your trip a pleasure. We didn't have the best weather, but even so, the rides were beautiful, safe and fun. They were accurately described as easy to moderate and the morning briefings with the maps were most helpful. As an American, I was so impressed with the European bikeways, which are well maintained in all the countries visited. The staff, cruise director and hotel director were terrific and ready to help with any concerns. They saw to it everyone had a great time! The bike tour of Budapest and the music concert in Vienna were our favorite extra tours. I would recommend this trip for anyone who would like a vacation with exercise to work off the great food and who wants to see a lot of country in a short time.

Jose Mª Duque Heras
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  My Story Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

* Impresión general: muy buena, satisfechos con la organización

* el equipo entregado y la infraestructura muy buena

* personal y atención : buenos

* régimen de comida muy bien

* rutas programadas: muy adecuadas, fáciles y atractivas

* como aspecto negativo: falta de guias en español

Gracias por todo

Wendy Davey
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  My Story Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

What a fantastic trip. From the moment we were on board we knew it was going to be well organised and professional. The barge "My Story" was always very clean and the food was fantastic along with the staff very helpful and accommodating. The cycling along the Danube was picture perfect. All the extra tours were well organised. Wonderful memories! Thankyou.

Marilyn Kuntze
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  My Story Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

I did the four country tour along the Danbue with 11 others. We booked through Tripsite. From the beginning I was impressed with the friendly and professional backup from the staff. The trip was better than expected. The boat "My Story" -friendly staff, delicious Food, nice atmosphere. We had good weather, tours well explained and organized with no time pressure. My husband and I did the trip six years ago and enjoyed it and recommended it to friends and Family in the USA. I believe that all were very pleased with everything, This is ideal for a bike that is doing something like this for the first time.

Dean Pond
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  My Story Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

We have just returned from your four country tour on My Story. We were very satisfied with the accommodation despite a malfunction the last night which resulted in our being moved to another room. Our accommodation was kept extremely clean and the staff were very accommodating. We enjoyed the cycling and found the day to day schedule manageable. Although this was only the second week of operation for the season with a new staff, the meals were well prepared and quite enjoyable. We were seated with other English speaking travellers and it was interesting comparing the day's cycling and sightseeing. We will certainly consider another bike-boat tour.