Southern Dalmatia Tour Reviews — 1 to 28 of 28

4.9 out of 5

 


Jean-Jacques T.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

Southern Dalmatia with the San Snova has been a unique cycling experience in terms of venue, the crew, our guides and cycling participants. The accommodation were great, the meals were excellent and the service outstanding. Our guides were exceptional in terms resources and support during our cycling rides and prepared for the trip. The islands provide an unique cycling experience and good challenge for road bikers and very enjoyable. Croatia is a very welcoming and safe country to visit and cycle. Strongly recommended to anyone.

Bonnie H.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

Excellent guides, fabulous food, breathtaking scenery, challenging, but fun cycling(no e-bike), and great camaraderie!

Malcolm H.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

My wife and I are biking enthusiasts and found this trip very exciting. But be forewarned it is a challenging ride and if your not riding a lot I'd recommend an e-bike. The guides were great, food was also great. We upgraded to a top cabin and found it very comfortable. Late Sept. weather was in the low 80's and sunny most days. My only negative was the bar bill and water bill were collected at the end of the trip and no credit card was accepted, cash only. I'd wrap the water bill into the price of the trip and collect the bar bill on a credit card. We also signed up for the "extension trip" which was two additional nights. We found this part of the trip poorly planned and a real disappointment.

Gary R.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The challenge of riding through Croatia whilst making friends with a wide range of people from around the world.

Katherine R.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The Adriatic was beautiful.

Maryanne & Greg M.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

An awesome cycling holiday
Great food delicious wine and stunning scenery!!! A really memorable holiday and a must do for any keen cyclist

Kurt W.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The crew, guides, boat, food, bikes were all great. The scenery was spectacular and the weather (end of Sept, first week of Oct) was ideal -- except for some heavy winds that caused the itinerary to be modified for safety (we never experienced the winds ourselves). Biking was really good -- lots of hills, steep and long, but I had an e-bike so they weren't a problem for me -- and others on the trip, even those older than I am (I'm 72) on "normal" bikes, did fine on them. The one thing I'd say was I would have liked was more biking -- longer routes, more time pedaling. We biked from 9 a.m. to lunch, never after lunch. Having said that, swimming off the boat or cruising after lunch were also very nice. Other guests on the trip were fun, interesting, and friendly. I was sorry to say good-byes.

Deborah A.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Most Memorable Part: The islands have breath-taking views of the blue Adriatic Sea and the red roofs of the villages.

Jeff W.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

There were so many memorable rides, islands, towns, meals and staff it is difficult to choose. This was our first bike and boat experience and it is truly memorable because it exceeded all expectations. Previously we have done sportiv tours and also cycling hotels. Bike and boat combines the best aspects of both- you only have to unpack once, as with a cycling hotel, but you travel to a new destination each day, as with a sportiv.

André G.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The atmosphere among the guests thanks to the two guides was exceptionally good. Congratulations to Tina and Lannis.

Constance R.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

This was a most memorable trip! Everything was truly top-notch! Especially loved the scenery, staff, food, company ... what more can I say! The only thing I'd like folks who are considering this to know is that the rides are hard. It was noted as moderate to difficult and most all of us would say it was difficult. But it was worth the effort as the views from the top of the mountains (not hills!) were incredible! And then I could reward myself with all the scrumptious food served at every meal. The camaraderie that developed amongst us travelers was truly a highlight. These are people I wish I could travel with again - so much fun! I know I can't count on this happening again but maybe...! I will definitely book another Bike and Barge trip!

Greg and Maryanne M.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Bike and Boat in Croatia is a must. Add it to your list today.

Nellie V.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Best parts: Relaxing and traveling on a boat for the week of the bike trip, no packing and unpacking!

Connie Ramsey
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

I did this trip in early Oct. 2017 and it was truly fabulous! The boat, Romantica, was very comfortable; our guides were wonderful; the food was great; our co-riders were the best; and the sights were truly to die for! What more can you ask for? Even our weather was perfect! Just know that our guide said this really should have been marked as "Difficult" as it's the most difficult one they do. Be prepared... or get an electric bike!

Claudia H.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Most Memorable Part: The beautiful scenery, the people and guides and the biking

Kathy H
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The Southern Dalmatia tour was the 2nd of a 2 week back to back bike tour we took in Croatia (first week was National Parks of Dalmatia). The cycling on this tour was considerably more challenging compared to our first week ... "moderate to difficult" is an appropriate descriptor if a non-electric bike is used. With more challenging cycling there less emphasis on site-seeing while cycling. However one hour walking tours before dinner at destination sites were interesting and appropriate.

The Croatian Coast and countryside is absolutely beautiful with it's small towns and marinas in every cove. Cruising among the islands in a beautifully clear sea was an unexpected highlight... and a welcome break after a morning or afternoon of strenuous cycling. The frequent opportunity to swim off the boat was amazing!

Romantica was a clean sailing yacht with good amenities. Although rated as "Comfort Plus", we would consider it on the lower end of that scale Read More

M. McPhee
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

A fantastic tour. Really well organised and the guides had great local knowledge. One of our guides even spoke 5 languages so he made everyone feel welcome. The scenery was amazing especially the island of Brac with the most wonderful early morning reflections of the beautiful village in the bay. The food was tasty and plentiful rivaling the odd episode of "Masterchef"
At the Captains dinner we also learnt that the boat was built by the captains family over 4 years with no design drawings. Amazing. We met some great people on board from Brazil and Germany. A fantastic adventure. We enjoyed the Croatian undulations!!! There are a few hills but it is worth it!!!! Enjoy

Valerie Purcell
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Our only real complaint is with the description of our South Dalmatia Island Tour. It was mentioned that the bike ride was moderate to difficult but we (and I speak for all 28 of us because we all thought the same and there were some riders that were very experienced) that the ride was mostly difficult. There was no mention of this in the description that it would be "mostly"! There were a lot hills with very steep grades that would go on for kilometers, something that I was not prepared for. I don't know if bike tours can be rated (perhaps like white water rafting) so that one can have a better feel of what the ride will be like or perhaps train or prepare for it. It was our first bike tour so we now know more of what questions we can ask so that we can see if the tour is the right one. Overall we really enjoyed ourselves and were proud of what we achieved (what a fantastic feeling!) and the views were awesome! Really appreciated having two guides one at the Read More

James Purcell
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

It was more challenging than expected, but very rewarding. Great value.

Nell Venir
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Overall we were very happy on this trip, it was a wonderful experience. Two friend have also taken the Croatia trip this year and they too had a great experience. The small boat, efficient staff, and great food made up for the killer hills. My only complaint was the quality of the ebikes, very poor!

Maureen Ryan
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Scenery was great! A few times the directions could have been more clear.

Margaret Pattison
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

My daughter and I had a great time.

Linda Hofer
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The "barge" (more like a schooner) and everything along with it was better than imagined. Thank you for a wonderful biking trip. We are already looking for our next adventure on two wheels.

Frank McDowell
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

My wife and I did the So Dalmatia tour aboard the San Snova in Sept '14. Beautiful country, excellent crew and guides and great group of bikers. It was a wonderful experience with good value.

Elize Steyn
8 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Our extended family of 7 did the cruise/cycle trip on the Romantica for a week in July. We all agreed this was one of the most successful family holidays we have ever enjoyed. Our boat, crew and Captain were wonderful. The guides were entertaining and always helpful and the bikes very well maintained. The food was excellent and much better than we expected. The wine was expensive and the variety limited. Since we sailed in very hot weather I think some salad lunches would be a good idea, instead of hot meals most days. The afternoon snacks were great. We quickly made good friends with other people on board. The cycling was not really tough, but we all cycle regularly. A lot of climbing and descending. We did get frustrated sometimes at the long waits in the middle of nowhere for some slower riders to catch up and our guide requesting us not to go ahead on our own, which we could have done quite easily. The white water rafting was a highlight. The views were amazing and the water Read More

Joyce Baiardi
9 years ago

Verified Reviewer

This was definitely a MODERATE trip. Biking was tough.The boat was nice, the food was fair at best, the wine on board ship was very expensive for a local bottle ($30). Croatia is beautiful, pictures of it don't do it justice. The seawater is gorgeous,clear, blue. The people are very friendly and speak excellent english. Overall this is the only way to vacation.

Deborah Conklin
9 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Very nice trip. The Romantica is a lovely boat with a gracious and accomodating captain and crew. All the cabins are quite nice but the upper deck cabins are worth the extra cost. The cycling was challenging but managable with great scenery , lovely villages and good food and wine as rewards. October weather was perfect. ...a highly recommended trip - for anyone up to a cycling challenge.

Chris Kocher
9 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Great trip. Wonderful accomodations on the boat, fantactic crew and guides. The Islands, ports and villages were all beautful with friendly people everywhere. Biking routes were well selected with many options for those who wanted to do more, or less. I'd recommend one of these tours to anyone who wants to get out and enjoy a great vacation with a little activity.