Switzerland Tour Reviews — 31 to 60 of 90

4.6 out of 5

 


Andrea S.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

Most memorable thing from our Lake Konstanz trip?? How in the world do I pick?? The Biergartens? Picnics in medieval towns? Watching World Cup with locals in small family cafés? The acres of apple orchards? Seeing zeppelins flying over crystal blue water? Feeling the thunder of Rhein Falls? Getting lost and finding amazing parks and kind people? It was the BEST vacation we’ve ever had, and we’re already talking about which one to do next year!

Tama L.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

My dissatisfactions, two nights in the suburbs of Constance, out of the way, should not be used. Konono staff excellent, but cost us for taxi to get there and back to the train. Route book imprecise. What is the route sign we were supposed to follow? What good is a dotted line on a map when there are multiple routes? Which are more scenic? Less hilly? Passing by cafes? Unpaved in a forest? Exactly how do you get to the Rhein Falls ferry? Book never mentioned the three elevators that take you up and down. We had frustrations every day.
Is it a beautiful trip? Absolutely. The Mozart and Park Villa are beautiful hotels, although not air conditioned.

Peg Hanson
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

I did the 7 day Around Lake Constance. This was my 4th Tripsite bike tour. I will list the positive things first.
I booked the Category 4 hotel package and was extremely pleased with all the hotels. Location was good for all except the Park Hotel in Uberlingen. It is located at the top of a very steep hill and was very difficult to find even after you saw the sign pointing the way!!
The breakfasts at all the locations were amazing and so beautifully displayed. A wonderful way to start the day!
The bikes were comfortable and almost brand new. Panniers, front bag and trip meter were all very nice.
Now the not so positive...
I had read all the reviews before booking and noticed the negative comments about the bike route directions. Since these comments were from a year and 2 years ago I assumed they had improved this info. NOT TRUE. The book with the routes is almost worthless. Getting from city to city was not always the problem but once in a city the Read More

Manuel Pena
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Aare Trail
Germany, Switzerland

Wow. I would definitely recommend this tour to anyone who wants to do something out of the ordinary. Our tour started on June 3rd, and I selected the 6 day tour for my son and I and it was just the right amount of length. By the end of the last leg we were just about beat. This was an easy ride, but if you don't bike much I would recommend the E-bikes to give you a little boost along the way. The standard bike's that were given to us were in excellent condition and we had no issues throughout the trip. All of the hotels we stayed in were adequate for what was needed and were in great locations in relation to the sites of each town. Each time we arrived at our hotel we would ask the attendant for a good place to eat and they always had great recommendations. I would recommend that you ask each hotel if they have a garage to store the bike and if they don't that you definitely lock them up and remove ALL of the saddle bags from the bikes and keep the bags stored in Read More

Evan C.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Aare Trail
Germany, Switzerland

As with my trip last year, this trip was a smooth operation. Only a few navigation problems which are part of the adventure. I'll be looking forward to another ride next year. Many thanks.

Sara G.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Bike and Wine Basel to Strasbourg
France, Germany, Switzerland

First day ride and exceptional lunch along the canal. Recommend more info on options to stop, eat, etc along the routes. Also recommend better bike maintenance - both bikes had shifter/derailer issues. Transfer of bikes and luggage went very smoothly. Hotels were all great, except the one in Freiburg - run down and rude front desk staff.

The Doeys
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Four Country
Austria, Germany, Liechtenstein, Switzerland

Our first bike and barge and we are already looking forward to many more. We are two 60 yr old couple who all love the outdoors, adventure and travel. Our cabins were on the top deck of the Carissma, roomy enough, turn down service each night and big picture windows. Excellent food, especially the dinners. Albert was the tour guide on board and he was organized, knowledgeable and patient! No problems with the bikes or directions - we were self guiding, 21 speed bikes. Easy terrain. We highly recommend the city bike tour of Budapest and Vienna as you otherwise may miss great hidden gems, interesting stories and local guides. We stayed at Hotel Residenz in Passau for one night before departure and highly recommend the visit to this beautiful port city and the hotel! We could not recommend trying this style of vacation more. The staff on the Carissma did everything to make the week comfortable, easy and well organized. Wonderful way to see cities in 4 countries in a week.

Ronald Z.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

St. Moritz to Innsbruck
Austria, Switzerland

Most Memorable Part: The small towns set in the beautiful mountains with it clean air and pleasant residents.

John and Janet B.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance - 12 Day
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

The most memorable part was clearly the scenic routes, food, friendly people and cities selected for lodging. Great hotels! Tripsite delivered on services as promised.
We were disappointed/frustrated with the lack of route details and direction into and out of the cities. Despite the network of paved bike trails/paths, we spent too much time confused asking locals for direction to our destination. Perhaps for persons accustomed to biking in Europe, the vague directions presented no difficulty, but for persons from America not familiar with the signage and more accustomed to turn by turn cue sheets, we were frequently challenged to find our path. Asking directions from local residents did give us an interesting opportunity to communicate across languages. We would recommend you add more detailed directions into and out of cities.
Thanks for your arrangements to make our trip possible. We really did enjoy our bike tour around Lake Constance.

Larisa L.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

Most Memorable Part: Biking along the forested area near Minau, biking through cobblestoned streets, and seeing a wide variety of things in such a short distance (orchards, cathedrals, castles, swans, mountains, etc).

Ron Zauski
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

St. Moritz to Innsbruck
Austria, Switzerland

Wow....this is my fourth trip with Tripsite, this was the BEST natural scenery yet. The views of the mountains and countryside was breathe taking on every day. The hotels were very clean and well maintained; most hotels exceeded my expectations including the free breakfasts. Day #2 was the toughest day especially because the ascent was mostly on an unpaved surface, but the views on day #2 were the best. Switzerland and Austria are impeccably maintained countries; everyone was friendly and welcoming. With the main map in German, I appreciated the additional pamphlets in English in our packet.

Michael R.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Four Country
Austria, Germany, Liechtenstein, Switzerland

Cycling through the countryside, seeing Stein-am-Rhein, the Rheinfalls, taking the boat across the Wallensee, seeing the Schattenburg in Feldkirch, and visiting the Abbey Library in St. Gallen were all highlights.

Jeff B.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Four Country
Austria, Germany, Liechtenstein, Switzerland

Konstance was very bike friendly, and interesting.

Kristine C.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

Riding through the countryside, seeing the roadside farms along the way, was far and away one of the most beautiful parts of the trip. We enjoyed finding places to eat, visiting museums, taking an excursion to the monastery outside Stein am Rhein, and finding cool drinking fountains to refill our water bottles! We had some trouble finding the path at times, but the longer we rode, the easier it was to decipher the guide/route. We took one really long, uphill (very steep) wrong turn on day 2- at least riding back down to the correct path was easy. Overall, it was the best part of our trip! Would have loved to have seen Rhein Falls, but I think it may have been too far away.

Elyse Jacob B.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

St. Moritz to Innsbruck
Austria, Switzerland

Most Memorable Part: The 3rd day of riding downhill.
Tip: The first two days are difficult. When you train for this trip be sure to train on hills.

Marlene Z.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Aare Trail
Germany, Switzerland

Most memorable part: Having lunch on our balcony at Hotel Bellevue in Interlaken facing the Alps and the beautiful blue river roaring past our hotel.

Deborah F.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

French Alps Lake
Switzerland, France

Aside from the amazing scenery my most memorable experience was the night we stayed in a 12th century farmhouse that had been painstakingly restored to a grand chateaux complete with gardens and guest house.

Bill W.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

St. Moritz to Innsbruck
Austria, Switzerland

We are long time customers to Tripsite and have always enjoyed our trips. This year we did St Moritz to Innsbrook. It was an amazing trip with some of the best views we have ever seen. The ride was challenging for the first few days but then it got to be a typical river ride. We did a triple room package rather than paying for a single supplement and it worked great. All of the hotels were newly renovated and very modern. The people of Switzerland and Austria were very friendly and supportive. Again these trips in the alps are so spectacular! Looking forward to planning next years trip.

Will L.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Aare Trail
Germany, Switzerland

My wife and I have just returned from a fantastic cycling trip along the Aare and Rhine Rivers in Switzerland. The organization of our trip was great, bikes, luggage transfer and hotels. We were particularly pleased to stay each night either in or near to the old centre of each city. Thanks Tripsite.

Deirdre R.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

On the first day at the end of the ride, we tackling the "unpleasantly steep incline"(your words).....after going the wrong way at Stein am Rhein. We should have listened to the local 'angels' we met on the way! C'est la vie!

Deirdre R.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

The most memorable part was the beautiful scenery, because of the spring blooming and greenery everywhere. We recommend someone to go on the trial to prepare markings at every intersection. We had to guess which way to go many times. For international travelers, maybe one page in the booklet of the varied biking markings would be very helpful.
The law in all 3 countries does not require you to bring a helmet, but we recommend it.

Sally S.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance - 12 Day
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

This was the BEST bike trip! Lake Constance is a beautiful setting, lodging was terrific, loved my e bike and food was good. Thanks to you and Radweg-Reisin for making the arrangements.

Sinéad D.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

This was my 4th cycling holiday but this year the quality of bikes was poor, only had 7 gears, had 21 gears every other year and did not like the back pedal brake.

Most memorable part was Stein am Rhein, and also liked the fact we could stop cycling and jump into the lake whenever we wanted.

Shirley P.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

Hotels varied. My daughter stayed at Hotel Krenn-- not great. Food in Rhein am Stein not good. Hotel St Leonard and Hotel Cholsteroff had the best food. The rides were fantastic, would say the last day was a bit boring and less scenic (especially the second half). Would have been nice to include the Rhine falls. Would love to do it again as there were many sights we didn't get to see! Loved the trip and have highly recommended it back home.

Shirley Pollock
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

6 of us did this tour and pretty much have only good things to say about it. The scenery was breathtaking, the sightseeing good, although we didn't always have enough time to see everything recommended. The last day was a bit boring as we seemed to ride alongside the railway a large amount of the time. Our luggage was always at the hotel on arrival. Booking the dinner option was well worth it as after a long day one doesn't feel like having to find somewhere to eat that is agreeable to all. All in all the hotels were good. My daughter and niece had to stay in a different hotel on one occasion and it was not good. Breakfasts were generally good. Our hotel in Kressbonn was actually a little before the town and wasn't well described in the directions but 10km later we got there! We would like to do the trip again as we felt there is so much to see. I think one could spend an extra day in some places if time permits.

K. McKay
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Four Country
Austria, Germany, Liechtenstein, Switzerland

Ok so.... all the hotels were perfect and suited to the atmosphere of our biking trip except for the Einstein Hotel in St. Gallen which was not in keeping with the "atmosphere" of the trip...a little too fancy if you get my drift. Also some of the breakfasts left a little to be desired but this could also have been from us just getting tired of eating the same type of food every day. The people in the hotels were all so friendly and accommodating! The bikes were perfect especially for my 6'2" husband. I had trouble with my gears one day, the next day a new bike arrived. Best service! The first ride (I think 65 kms from Lake Constanz to Zurich) was long and boring! Bike path most of the way. Not sure what could be done about that. The rest of the rides were awesome through little towns, gorgeous scenery. We will be booking our next bike tour with you next year!

K. Hagan
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Southern Alsace
Switzerland, Germany, France

This is our third trip with Tripsite and this was our least favorite so far. The scenery was not particularly stunning and in France we were on more roads than we would have preferred. We also stayed in larger cities such as Basel and Freiburg than in previous trips. It is a personal preference, but we prefer the smaller towns such as the ones we encountered on our trip from Amsterdam to Brugge and from Prague to Dresden.

On the positive front, the lodging and equipment were the best that we have had from the three trips. The hotels were quite nice and truly were 4 star accommodations. The bikes had cushy seats and comfortable handlebars. Even the panniers were a step up with easy snap on and off functionality and very good water proofing.

We enjoyed the trip and it was high quality as we have enjoyed with Tripsite. The scenery just wasn't as nice and that's why we rank this as our least favorite of our trips so far. Have no fear, we will go again next year and are already looking at the Barcelona/Girona trip. We love working with Tripsite and will be long-term customers!

L. Zantingh
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

This was the most amazing vacation we have had. For our 40th we decided to do a self- guided bike tour around Lake Constance. The first day was a struggle due to many hills, but that was by far the most difficult day. The hotels were clean and the breakfast was fantastic. When biking you see so much more of the countryside, the historical towns were simply breathtaking. On one day we needed to take a boat from point A to B due to an injury and it was very easy to access. I would definitely recommend this trip to anyone.

Pilar Parra
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Four Country
Austria, Germany, Liechtenstein, Switzerland

Hice este viaje en septiembre de 2015 junto a mi marido. Fue un viaje inolvidable. Era el primer tour en bicicleta y nos encantó. El servicio de traslado de equipaje y los hoteles estupendos. Queremos repetir este año por otros paises.
Recomendaciones para futuros viajeros:
- La entrada a Zurich es un poco complicada, sí sería necesario un mayor detalle en las rutas.
- El trayecto en tren desde la estación de Gais se hace desde una estación que no está detallada en la ruta, sería necesario explicarlo mejor en las indicaciones.
- También sería necesario detallar la localización de salida del ferry desde Wessen.

hermann friedmann
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

Great trip, through beautiful area. No problems with bikes or hotels. Staff at all hotels was helpful, accommodations great and all our luggage was always waiting for us.

Strongly recommend emailing pdf version of bike route maps and direction two weeks prior so they can be read and the directions studied. This is especially important in the city of Konstanz and suburbs due to lack of bike route signs in those areas. Had it not been for some friendly English speaking locals, we would have been seriously lost several times.

Also would be a good idea to provide directions to the next bike path segment from the each hotel as well as the from the end of each bike path segment to the next hotel.