5 Star Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 day Tour Reviews — 1 to 30 of 36

Yellow tulips in the Netherlands! Photo via Flickr:stokesrx

Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 day

11 days from €2475

4.8 out of 5

Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 day

Easy Bike + Boat Tour in Netherlands, Belgium

We have been told many times, by clients and captains alike, that the usual eight days allotted for a bike and boat tour from Amsterdam to Bruges (or reverse) is simply not enough. We think that this…

 Stars:  5     
4.8 out of 5

 


Ivy J.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

The tour was wonderful and our guide, Francine, was terrific. This trip was well organized, the equipment was first rate. The bikes and helmets provided were wonderful. Our guide categorized this trip as a "sightseeing by bicycle" adventure and that is a perfect description. There are fast-paced bike rides if that is what you are looking for, however, we thought this pace was excellent for seeing the countryside, taking photos, and visiting smaller towns/cities that we would have otherwise driven past.

The barge we were on, the Merjlin, was amazing- first rate service and food. The rooms were very comfortable and quiet. The common area was a great place to relax before meals and converse with our fellow travelers. The food was amazing and the service was great.

One thing we were not prepared for is the issue of tipping- the suggested tip was for $10/pp/day for the ship staff and $10/pp/day for the guide- which would add $440 to the cost of the trip. Of Read More

Lori C.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

enjoying the beautiful countryside on bikes with friends .

Donna R.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

I cannot say enough great things about our trip from Brugge to Amsterdam! The Captain and Crew of the Merlijn were awesome, and our intrepid tour guide, Francien was great!
What a wonderful way to experience Belgium and the Nederlands; riding through the countryside, towns, polders, and along the canals on every manner of bike path.
We were spoiled by the food provided by Christina; a delicious breakfast buffet, tasty sandwiches in our packed lunches for the ride, and gourmet meals for dinner with a little bit of history about the dishes.
Our cabin was comfortable and cozy, and the dining room and lounge were always adorned with fresh flowers.
If you want to experience travel in a unique way, then this is the way to go:)

Donna B.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

The guides and crew were all wonderful and did everything within their power to make the trip as enjoyable as possible. The Iris was a very comfortable boat. The cycling took us through varied landscapes. Helmets waterbottles and panniers are provided so no need to bring with you.

Richard S.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

The cycling was the highlight of the trip for us, we thoroughly enjoyed the pace and travel through small towns and villages along the way. Of course the tulips fields are also quite a sight! Although the weather did not always cooperate - we like the motto “there is no bad weather - only poor clothing choices”. Be prepared.

Louise C.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

Great trip. The guides where wonderful.

GEORGE C.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

It was all perfect, a great experience and the Captain along with his wife and crew were superb

ELIZABETH B.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

The Keukenhof gardens were spectacular. The food was also far above expectations.

Steve D.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

Coan & Christina own and operate the 50 meter 1930 converted cargo ship Merlijn along with a crew of 3 and a bike guide. The attention to detail , ,new equipment and bikes. The difference is other tour vessels are owned by larger companies and hire a captain a crew with older bikes.
Our guide Francien was very good, had 20 years experience and took us places that you would not see on a self guided tour. In the evenings after our on board gourmet dinner she would take who wanted to go on a tour of the city or town.
The scenery was amazing and a boat canal side tour in Gent was arranged. Our groups average was between 55 and 73 and everyone was able able to keep up a good pass on regular and e bikes.
We will be taking another tour they offer in Germany next year

Justine F.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The staff on the Merjlin were fantastic
The bike seats were a bit uncomfortable but overall the trip was great. The tour guides were were great unfortunately they did not explain the route prior each day

DEBORAH D.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Outstanding trip. The Merlijn is a first class ship. The owners and the crew were just out of this world accommodating. The food was delicious, maybe too delicious. My bike was fantastic. Can’t say enough good things about the ship and the people that own it. Liked it so much, I’m going back on it for three weeks next year in Germany.

Carol S.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Great meals, excellent organization.
More substantial lunches would be good.
The tulips were finished by the time we got to the fields. I don’t think the May 2 trip should be advertised as a tulip tour.

Ingrid F.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The attentiveness of Christina and Koen and all the rest of the staff on the boat. The only comment i have is that with 24 riders and quite a varying degree of riding abilities, I think two guides and divide the group into two would have been better.

Brian K.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The Merlijn, the captain, chef, crew and guides were absolutely fantastic - our third bike and barge with Tripsite and by far the best. The most memorable part for us was riding into Ghent where we lived 15 years ago as a family for a year - spent the afternoon with the group showing off our home away from home.

Ed H.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

What a great trip. Would like to do another.

Kim K.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Everything was fantastic. It was the whole experience altogether.

Jody S.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The staff, food and barge accommodations were perfect.

Chuck P.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The entire trip was memorable. The boat staff was terrific, the meals from Frank our chef, were gourmet quality, the weather sunny tho a bit chilly first days, the tulips were in full bloom, our bike leader had contacts in many cities and we had private evening tours from local guides, the boat was comfortable and always well maintained. I think the only caution I might offer is we started the tour in downtown Amsterdam at the train station and for those of us with limited bike experience going thru the city was a challenge keeping the group together thru traffic, turns, bridges, stop lights. A more rural start would have been better was the general consensus, but that aside virtually everything well received.

Phillip R.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Whether it was the “barge”, the food or the bikes or the bike routes.....everything was thoughtfully planned for the best customer experience possible. Friendly family type atmosphere with a “flair”! Truly enjoyable!

Janice B.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The tulips and the windmills were awesome. Eight of us were on a bike barge trip from Bruges to Amsterdam. I would recommend you put it on our bucket list. We had a blast!

Karen G.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

I did a Brugge to Amsterdam, bike and barge trip. It was fabulous. Definitely one of my favorite Europe trips. Riding through the tulip fields during the height of the season was amazing. I love the windmills. The staff was perfect. Thank you for a wonderful trip.

Michael B.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

A lengthy bike trip through the Netherlands gives you an opportunity to drill down into their culture on a wider scale. It helps that they all speak English. The Dutch really seem to have figured it (life) out. We have much to learn from them and bring back their best practices...such as their capability to get anywhere in the country safely on a bike. How cool is that?

Laurie M.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The people who we met in the trip made it memorable. Cornel was a wonderful guide who made everything fun and interesting as we were biking. Everyone on the Quo Vadis made us feel so welcome. Food was fantastic. Loved meeting all the other bikers and had lots of great times together.

James K.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

My wife and I did a 10 Day Barge and Bike trip from Brugge to Amsterdam during Tulip season. The boat Quo Vadis was really excellent. The rooms were small but quite comfortable. The dining room and lounge were well appointed and welcoming. Everything was always spotlessly clean! The crew was incredibly hospitable catering to any need. Captain RJ was knowledgeable, experienced and and very approachable. The evening walks he led in towns were great fun. Also really enjoyed sitting in the wheel house and chatting as he navigated rivers and canals.

The food was basically gourmet with delightful surprises every dinner. Fresh bread was baked on board every day and breakfast was a mix of american style eggs, bacon, etc and European style meats, cheeses, fruit, veggies, etc. Chef Franco deserves many accolades for his commitment to healthy and delicious food.

Our bicycle guide was extremely competent. He knew the roads and towns well and was able to make changes to routes as Read More

Ronald R.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Memorable parts: The other guests, the scenery, and the barge experience. The Tulip time is also the rain time, so be prepared with proper clothing. Even though the weather may not be ideal, the experience more than makes up for it.

Alix L.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Qua Vadis boat, staff, tour route all exceeded my expectations. The food is fabulous and the chef, Franco, made me fabulous gluten free options. I loved the small group, our guide was knowledgeable and fun. He made sure to take us on loops that would show us major sights. R.J. And Ina, owners and captain, are personable and accommodating. I would recommend any tour on the Quo Vadis.

Rosann G.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Most Memorial Parts: the biking routes and scenery.

Beth P.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The first day was the best...but then the next day took over that stature and then the next day...and so on for all glorious 10 days of our sojourn. Around every turn was another beautiful vista, filled with the aroma of hyacinths, the colors of tulip fields, the beauty of windmills and the charm of 16th century villages. Our accommodations were impeccable, the captain, cook and staff were thoughtful, accomplished and accommodating. Did I mention the food? The food was deserving of a Michelin star! Our bikes were perfect for the terrain (the Netherlands is gloriously flat - for a biker from the hills of NEPA that was a treat!). Our fellow bikers were great company - everyone had a sense of camaraderie and fun. This was my second Tripsite excursion and it won't be my last!

Stephen R.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

It was a very well organized trip with no unexpected “surprises” at the end. RJ and his staff were very friendly and helpful. His barge was very clean and comfortable. The cabins are definitely small so pack lightly. The WiFi is slow but we were able to use Facebook and email. The bikes were all new. We found that the bikes are heavier than our hybrids. My wife used a ebike everyday and really enjoyed the trip. If your spouse isn’t a big rider, rest assured that the ebike is the way to go. The other guests were very compatible and most were repeat customers of Tripsite. We would definitely book with Tripsite again.

John G.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

A tour of the Netherlands has to be a "bucket list" item for any biker. It is a fascinating country with great history and scenery. Travelling on the Quo Vadis for the Tulip Tour was a great way to experience the smell of the hyacinth fields along the country roads.