Along the Danube - Four Country Tour Bike Tour Reviews 61 to 90 of 356

 

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Lanette A. 8 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This was an absolutely amazing trip which exceeded all of our expectations. The food on the Carissima was wonderful, the trip overall was so well organized and the crew was helpful and professional. I would definitely recommend this trip to others.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Cindy T. 8 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This was our first bike & boat trip and we loved it. Each day was a treat with amazing cathedrals, quaint towns, and Budapest at night was gorgeous! The ship was just as pictured, the crew was very attentive and helpful, and we enjoyed our balcony room on the top level. We were slightly concerned that we'd be the only English speaking passengers, but were up for the adventure. However, most of the crew spoke both English and German and at dinner they placed us among about 8 tables of Canadians, Americans, and others who preferred speaking English to German. Each evening, about 80% of the passengers preferred the bike tour information in German, but they provided a slide show and directions in both languages. The directions were good, an there was only one day we all were a bit lost, but it was fun. With everyone on the boat having distinctive blue panniers, it was easy to follow each other and laugh at our attempts to navigate. We still had plenty of time to see everything Read more… and get to the ship.

    As far as the bike routes, I prefer dedicated bicycle paths (not "sharrows") and loved every ride. Most were on dedicated paved paths, but some traversed through villages on very quiet roads. A few tips: Breakfast was the best meal of the day. Check your packed lunch at breakfast, which typically contained a veggie (cheese) sandwich, a cold cut sandwich, fruit, sparkling water, and a pastry. From the breakfast buffet, you can exchange the fruit and add a slice of meat to your veggie sandwich. If you don't like sparkling water, they will exchange that for bottled water at the reception desk. Dinner was good and I thought the portion size was reasonable given the four course meals (the soups were yummy!). Watch the tightness of the breaks on the bikes (the front break can launch you if you're not careful) but the bikes were in great condition. Plan ahead for your massage (which was fantastic). One came with the room and we purchased a second. We chose to skip one day of biking along the Danube, and we're pleased that we had plenty of time to bike around the town in the morning before the ship left port, get lunch, a massage, and a nap, and then bike around the new port we arrived in that afternoon.

    Thanks to all the crew on the MS Primadonna, who learned our names and favorite drinks by the second day! We miss you already.

    Boat: Primadonna

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by ALAN B. 8 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The pedaling was easy, the landscape surreal, the beer was excellent! My wife, myself, daughter, and her boyfriend enjoyed the Austrian scenery the most. Wine country is not to be missed. The food on the boat at night was superb. Meeting people from other countries on the boat was a plus.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Terry C. 8 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This is the only way to do a river cruise. You are able to see and enjoy the country and at the same time stay active and get exercise. The bike paths were mostly flat, very few hills. The boat was very nice with good food and service. The highlight of the trip was entering Budapest at 10 pm. It was more than amazing. The bike guide really tried to prepare us each day for the following day bike ride, but it is easy to get lost and the maps we were given were not very clear.

    Boat: Primadonna

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Winifred T. 8 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Our most memorable part of the trip was riding with several other cyclists who had better directions, and hence did not get lost!!! We rode through rain and sun, cold wind and steep hills, chic coffee shops and picturesque towns together. This is a wonderful first time experience for our family.
    I'd suggest to get to know other cyclists as soon as possible and try to arrange riding together. This would make the journey more fun.

    Boat: Primadonna

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Steve F. 8 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Captain Dan and the crew of the Arlene II were fantastic! Great food, cozy accommodations, and really fun cycling.
    Would recommend the cycling City Tours in both Vienna and Budapest. We did not book these and I think we missed out.
    Our bike/barge holiday was well organized, super relaxing and tons of fun!
    We will definitely be taking another trip with Tripsite! You guys rock!

    Boat: Arlene II

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Scott A. 8 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Riding in the foothills/vinyards in Austria. Stopping for a beer and a slice of homemade cake at a hotel on the trail.
    The boat was too slow traveling upstream against heavy current. This meant we were late in docking for our next ride. Yes, the current was heavy but this is likely to happen every spring.

    Boat: Arlene II

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Dave U. 8 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We had a great time on the Danube four countries tour and it was great to bike and to get to visit 3 capital cities. Wonderful and I would highly recommend this trip

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Nancy U. 8 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Our table mates(who we had never met before) became our best friends for the week. We did all our rides together and had a great time visiting the different cities. We had brand new bikes of high quality that enhanced the experience.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Yvonne L. 9 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Wonderful group of people with extensive travel experience. Biking was fun scenery was great. Loved our farewell party dancing the night away with all our new friends.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Jeff F. 9 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    It’s hard to pick one thing only. I thought the last day of bike riding was the best route, though the first day was a great route, too. There were so many interesting stops along each days ride. A suggestion for others would be to skip the bus tour of Budapest. A walking tour with a guide is better.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Veronica M. 9 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    It's been a delight to bike around Europe

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Donna G. 9 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Best Part: Interactions with passengers from around the world

    Boat: Arlene II

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Michael H. 9 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Best Part? The nice people on the boat

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Lorne H. 9 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Earlier this year (May), my wife and I did the 4 country bike - barge tour, on the Danube. First I have to remark that everything "Tripsite" advertised was delivered at what we thought to be a reasonable price. In spite of unusually cold (damp) weather, our first experience (s) in Passau, Bratislava, Budapest and Vienna were very memorable highlights. However, aboard the "Normandie" we did have some concerns with the overall tour management. There were some particularly disappointing moments with an apparent strategy to keep the English speaking guests, and non-english speaking guests (mostly German) separated? For our part, we were keen to mingle - assimilate with all the guests aboard. That should not reflect our overall impression of the boat crew, who were very courteous and helpful.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Patricia C. 9 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Sailing down the Danube at night under the full moon we witnessed the beautiful lighted bridges and magnificent buildings of Vienna. It was magical!

    Boat: Primadonna

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Mark R. 9 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most memorable: guided bike tour of Vienna.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Tammy M. 9 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Having great weather was a real bonus. It was awe inspiring to float into the many enormous locks and envisage what the areas must have been like before harnessing the mighty Danube. The never ending beauty of this part of the world and appreciating the pride in property that shows up at every turn and in every village, is what leaves the greatest memories.

    Boat: Arlene II

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Donncha O. 9 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Best part: Cycling in dry weather; we got soaked one day

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by John W. 9 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    My wife and I completed the eight-day Danube Bike & Boat trip in June. Biking along the Danube through quaint villages and vineyards was a very special experience. Onboard our "floating hotel" we enjoyed the food, amenities, and camaraderie with like-minded and active people. If you are keen on an adventure, I highly recommend this one!

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Kathie W. 9 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Along the Danube- Four Country Tour aboard the Carissima- very large group on board and biking so lots of waiting and wading through the crowd. Cabin was clean and comfortable even labeled as ‘eco’ cabin. Food was excellent however many courses and supper would take up to three hours- too long. Drink package was highly encouraged but not necessarily economical. All coffee/tea was at a cost except for a brief time in the morning. Our guide was adequate however seemed to rush the biking limiting conversation and countryside observations. The tour director Albert was indifferent and not clear on what to do related to a tour bus that didn’t show up. It took quite a bit of arguing on my part to feel justified with the outcome to balance up the ticket cost as this was not made clear earlier. Staff seemed overworked and had favorites. I would recommend the trip as the countryside is beautiful but choose another barge/ship. Run by Rad/Reissen.
    All reservations Read more… and coordination through Trip Site- excellent in communication, coordination and cost information.

    Boat: Carissima

    • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
      by Mark 6 months ago     Permalink/Reply    

      Kathie,
      We are thinking about booking this trip for next summer and were wondering if noise was a significant problem in your cabin? How noisy was the eco cabin? Did it interfere with sleeping? And was your eco cabin on the lowest or middle floors.
      Many thanks for your help and advice!

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Nicole G. 9 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I loved the trip but would like to offer some feedback. First, the breakfast was not great. I would have liked more protein, certainly eggs every day, more cold meats, salad, and cheese, after all, this was also lunch. We all thought that water should have been complimentary at the evening meal - really surprised that we had to pay extra for water. I also thought the guide should have been more knowledgeable about each day's ride and what we should have taken time to see. Petra was really great and had a lot of duties but we were riding through some very interesting country and it would have been nice to have a more detailed lecture the night before on the important land marks. I would be happy to pay more for this trip if the guiding and food were better.

    Boat: Arlene II

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Jenny J. 11 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We loved the whole experience but one favorite highlight was the Hungarian Folklore show and being selected to dance with the troupe! We made great friends with our tablemates and are planning to visit them next year in Canada. We have shared our experience with so many friends at home that they want to do the trip too. Truly an amazing experience! I would be remiss if I failed to mention the value of the entire experience for the price paid. Very affordable!

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Johanne P. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    It is difficult to choose the most memorable part of the trip since the staff, food, guide, routes, and activities were without parallel! The Amsterdam /Bruge trip we took several years ago was outstanding and my favorite of all the boat/barge trips we have taken.

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Petra V. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The cycling and the amazing scenery. We opted for a local guide and Axel was amazing. We definitely would recommend this tour and already have.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Vera S. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I love everything... the routes in beautiful places, food, the freedom sensation. I already scheduled another trip for next tear!

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Frank V. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part: The bike ride every day the sites and beautiful churches

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Phyllis L. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The most memorable part of the trip was biking along the Danube River and visiting the small towns. We met many nice people from all over the world.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Patty S. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    What I appreciated was the response from staff when things went wrong. Which happens! It is how it is handled that matters. You will have my participation in any future trips! 100% satisfied with your service!

PWPC