Along the Danube - Four Country Tour Tour Reviews — 271 to 300 of 337

4.6 out of 5

 


Michael Sudheer
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

A wonderful experience made even better by the friendly and so very helpful staff. Thank you!

Steve Slinkard
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Guides should have provided a little more detail (distance between turns, landmarks, areas to pay extra attention, etc)

Art Shotwell
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

My wife & I had a wonderful four country bike-boat trip on the Danube. Saw wonderful little towns, met good friends on the trip, and enjoyed good food and wine.

Gail Black
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

I enjoyed staying put at night better than the barge moving at night. We have done both and I enjoy walking around in the evening.I also would not have so many ferry crossings in the next trip. Puts a time factor in the ride.

Sandra Stocks
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Despite nasty weather conditions, which no one can control, the crew made our trip fun and exciting.

Kristi Sinkus
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

AC did not work
BargeBoat needed updating
Crew was accommodating
but moody
Overall my biking experience was terrific!"

Rafael Camarota
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

My wife and I enjoyed eating off the boat. It was our choice to have more local flare and maximize time off boat. It did feel wasteful. It would be great if there was a reduced meals option or an option to "donate" meals or value of meals to charity.

Gary Saelens
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Great bike/boat trip along the Danube!

Mary Anne Gilbert
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

This trip is for the person who does not want any surprises. There was nothing wrong with the food or the bikes or the staff. However there was also no sense of discovery, as every detail of your day was planned out for you, what to order when you stopped for lunch at the only place recommended, what sights to see in the cities, etc. I personally like to explore along the way and take my time in the countryside. This is the only Tripsite trip I have taken that has left me feeling a bit let down, and I have taken several.

Kathleen Josten
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The captain crew and trip leaders all went out of their way to make us feel at home and special. The bikes were ready when they needed to be. The dinners were ready on time. We were prepared for the next day's ride. I could not ask for a better experience! The My Story crew and Lesley as trip leader were the best!

Sandra Dusseault
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The guide was awful. We would only stop when he wanted to, and that was on the side of the path so that he could have a cigarette. When we suggested a stop in a small village, or somewhere interesting, he would say no. When I told him that I was going to go ahead on my own, he spoke to me like I was a child, telling me I was to stay with the group. The route descriptions in the evening were excellent...the main guide was fantastic, it was just the guide that we paid extra for that soured our trip.
The boat was great, the staff was phenomenal. Our rooms were really good, an incredibly clean.

Joseph Rine
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Boat and staff were fantastic. Daily rides were good, but routes could have been better. The Devlin loop circled us around several gravel dikes for about 10 miles. Trails were rough and not well marked. But there were miles of great bike paths along the Danube that we motored past on the boat....

Kathryn Smith
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The tour guide, Jan (not sure of the spelling) was amazing! He was funny, helpful and friendly. All the logistics with the bike stuff worked very smoothly.

Paul Finger
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

We couldn't be happier. Everyone from the trip "arrangers" to all the personnel on the barge could not have been more helpful. This was our first trip like this, everything was superb.

Susan Joe
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Would have been nice to have a guide but our trip was the last of the season so no guide was available.

Jill Roach
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

We loved everything about this trip. The bikes were in excellent condition, the cruise director was very helpful, the boat's staff was super attentive. The boat is definitely older but it was very clean and we loved having drinks on the top deck every night under the stars. My two teens had a great time as well and the staff was wonderful to them. The scenery was incredible and the tour excursions were a great value and well worth it.

Diana Collins
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Even with the age of the boat (1970's!!), we totally enjoyed the cruise. The staff was great and the food was wonderful. The bikes were comfortable and in good repair.

Maureen Molony
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

We had a great time, the staff worked very hard to please, and it was a very good trip.

Janet Creighton
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Everything was great. The only thing we didn't like was the guide we had for our guided tour. All other staff were fantastic.

Lois Farmer
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

At times the trip leading gave incomplete information regarding routes, detours and conditions although the German speaking people received better information - he should use a specific outline when giving such information to be sure it is complete.

The food was great except for the Wiener Schnitzel which was not interesting at all. A real disappointment in fact. (I have traveled to Austria often and know a less than impressive meal when I receive it.)

I had booked an extra night in Passau but could not use it due to airline delays. I called Tripsite which could not reimburse me, which I understand. However, I have twice requested a statement from them that I cannot be reimbursed so that I can use it for my trip insurance - I still have not received it.

Don Beck
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Trip of a lifetime! My Story boat a bit dated, but the entire staff was wonderful!

Lori Cicero
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

We enjoyed our trip immensely and recommend it to everyone! The boat was nice, just vintage. The bike routes were well thought out, relatively easy and well marked. Some meals on the ship were good and a couple were not. We preferred eating out on the sightseeing days anyways. Overall it was a great value for the overall price. Can't wait to do another one in a different country!

Don Hyland
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

A great way to travel on the Danube from Passau to Budapest and back. Our 4 days of biking were on well marked and scenic trails. Glad to have the opportunity to climb the hill overlooking the Danube Loop. Loved biking through small towns such as Melk, Durnstein and Krems. Would recommend this trip on the MS MY STORY.

Kimberley McEwan
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

We loved the Along the Danube cycling trip. The entire tour was very well organized and we really had no complaints. It was a great way to travel and sightsee several countries and the Fall was a great time of year. We are planning our next cycling trip already.

Deborah Stone
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Accommodations were too cramped. Our first boat trip had more adequate rooms.
Breakfast was great but supper was so so. Not good vegetarian options .

Alan Robson
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Great tour down the Danube.

Ken Scheske
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

We have recommended this trip to all of our cycling friends, it was one of the best trips we ever had in Europe - and we have had a lot. So far we have cycled in Scotland, Germany, Holland, Belgium, France, Denmark and Sweden and then of course the barge trip. Keep up the good work, would love to do another one.

Sue Ernst
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

I've passed your site along to others.

Pam Davis
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Great trip!

Dennis Marshall
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Great value for money. Barge had broken airconditioning for 24hours+ so was unpleasant for a while. Highly recommend this trip to anyone as a great balance between active and passive holidaying. Stay overnight in key cities for 2 nights would be better, eg> Vienna. Thank you.