Along the Danube - Four Country Tour Bike Tour Reviews 91 to 120 of 327

 

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Faith S. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I was disappointed in this tour, the scenery was mostly uninteresting and much more difficult than expected due to high winds on 2 days. I am short and was given a crappy bike to ride, having been told I could not fit on the e-bike I wanted. However, after 2 days of suffering my tour guide was able to find me a bike that fit (even after the company itself said it could not accommodate). The ship itself was wonderful, with big bright cabins and excellent food. I was on the guided comfort relax package, and the tour guide was way too laid back for my taste. I thought we did not have much time in the big cities to explore.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Laura W. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The Along the Danube Four-Country tour far surpassed our expectations. The cabins on the MS Carissima are more spacious than large cruise ship cabins I've had in the past. The food was truly amazing, and the chef endeavored to offer the option of a dish native to the country we were in each night. The staff was wonderful and went above and beyond for us.

    And then there was the scenery! It was simply breathtaking! The comfort bikes are appropriately named; so much so that I would love to buy one to replace the bike I have at home. Riding along the Danube was such a spectacular way to really get a feel for the country.

    We had two people in our group who elected not to bicycle, for health reasons, and they loved the trip too. Apparently, relaxing with a drink on the sun deck was another very pleasurable way to see things.

    I highly recommend this trip!

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Kathryn G. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We had a great time. The bike rides were so much fun with ferry rides and beautiful scenery. The staff on board were excellent. Food, OMG, it was fabulous and served so elegantly. They very graciously accommodated my gluten sensitivity. And we had two great parties. I have recommended this trip to many friends. What a great way to see the country.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Jennifer G. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We had a wonderful time on the bike/boat on the Danube.
    The guide Axel was terrific. He took us to some out of the way places. He offered suggestions. The ride was scenic and easy to ride. 90% if the bike paths were paved which made riding easy. The bicycle crew was awesome. The bike were lined up and ready to go each morning.
    The accommodation and food exceeded my expectation. Rooms were clean but walls between rooms are thin.
    We will definitely do another trip with Tripsite.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Anita G. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The MS Arkona was a lovely ship, very clean and comfortable. Unfortunately The Danube River was low and we were bus to Budapest where we had a nice tour. The biking on the trip was scenic, and a lot of fun. Due to a change in itinerary we were shorted a day of biking but that was out of anyone’s control. The bikes could have been newer because they were not operating at their best.
    My e bike was wonderful but was grinding gears quite often.
    The food on the ship could have been better. Breakfast could have had more fresh fruit, granola, oatmeal with other breakfast specialties. The dinners lacked fresh salads. My favorite meal was when we were on the boat for lunch one day and had a fresh salad bar with soup and pasta.
    The tour guide on the boat could have been more communicative and answered questions more readily. The explanation of the bike riding should have included an overview map of the riding from point A to point B everyday.
    Overall the trip was Read more… good and the weather conditions with the Danube were out of the tour company’s control. The biking that we did do was spectacular!

    Boat: Arkona

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Lisa H. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The beautiful bike paths along the Danube and the great food on the MS Arkona. Found the unguided bike tour confusing. Comfortable beds but loud vibrating boat motor at night made it impossible to sleep. Yay sleeping pills.

    Boat: Arkona

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Kieron G. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    My wife and I just finished this trip with another couple. First of all, remember that you get what you pay for. This cruise is much cheaper than Viking or Avalon or some of the others so you can't expect as much opulence or fine cuisine. That said, everything was fine. The food was good but not great. The walls to the cabins are thin so if the person in the room next to you is a loud talker, you will hear every word. Also, try to avoid the lowest level of rooms - the windows don't open and are noisier as you are close to the engine. The trip it self was great. The cycling was easy and scenic. We had Axel as our guide, and seriously, he ruins you for any other guide. If we went on another cruise, it would have to be with Axel - any other guide would suffer in comparison I suspect. He is Austrian with a very keen sense of humour (He would have to be as he is an Arsenal fan). He went above and beyond.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Denise G. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We had a mixed experience on this trip, having completed two other bike and barge trips on smaller boats (and smaller waterways). This is a wonderful region for riding - much of the route follows bike paths that parallel the river and provide gorgeous views of river towns. Unlike our other trips, participants ride on their own without a guide, and this worked well for us. Because the boat travels from Passau to Budapest and back again, there is quite a bit of travel time on the boat. At times, we enjoyed watching the scenery, but this also meant that our time on land was quite limited. Food was decent and several options were available at each meal. The dining room was noisy and it does take quite a bit of time to serve everyone, with the staff clearly working hard! During our tour, there were engine problems which resulted in a change in itinerary. The company struggled to manage this and identify reasonable options. In the end, they have promised us a partial refund, which Read more… seems quite fair. We would have preferred that this offer had come sooner in the process, without the numerous conversations that were needed to help the company understand the concerns of passengers.

    Boat: Arkona

    • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
      by Carla - Partner at Tripsite 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Staff

      Hi Denise,
      Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback.
      It's unfortunate the ship had engine troubles during your tour. These ships are machines and sometimes things can go wrong. I know it is always a very stressful time for everyone involved. Our local partners work hard to make the best of the situation. I'm glad in the end everything worked out fine. Another adventure in the books! I hope you will be back for more....
      Thank you again! ~Carla, Partner at Tripsite

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Dan C. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Best part? The cycling along the Wachau valley

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Lori C. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I adored the trip from start to finish. The scenery, the towns and cities and of course seeing everything by bike. I met wonderful people who share a love of travel and adventure. The only problem with the trip was the tour leader. He was condescending and rude to several guests. The rest of the staff was phenomenal. I would do this trip again tomorrow.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Gail W. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Bike Boat 4 countries Germany, Austria, Slovakia and Hungary - most memorable part of the trip was experiencing the Danube River up close; boat was comfortable and so smooth sometimes I had to look out the window to see if we were moving

    Boat: Arkona

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Wendy T. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part? The beauty & grandeur of the Danube...and the ability to enjoy this while riding a bike!

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Susan W. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I would highly recommend this trip. The food was fantastic. The rooms were of a good size and clean. The staff were friendly and helpful. The cycle route were scenic and enjoyable. I would definitely do another.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Paul H. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    What an unforgettable trip! We were able to take our 75 year old dad and he cycled the whole thing easily. The touring days in the cities were full, overwhelming, and inspiring for someone who's never seen the rich history of Europe. Cruising down the river while eating a 4 course dinner was a perfect finish to cycling though forests and orchards all day. It was a perfect combination of cycling, cruising, relaxing and sight seeing. I would recommend it to anyone!

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Paula H. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This trip provides a chance to explore the rural areas along the Danube by bike and to visit the great cities of Budapest and Vienna. There is a lot packed into this trip.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Sherry D. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This was a perfect way to spend a holiday. The food was AMAZING! The staff was personable, kind, and so very efficient with all they do. I was pleasantly surprised with all the paved bike paths and the number of cyclists out traveling on vacation. It was inspirational to interact with them along the way. Thank you, Normandie and staff. We had a fantastic time!

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Sandi B. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Cycling past the remnants of the Iron Curtain. WOW!
    There were so many highlights, but having Axel as our guide certainly added a great deal to our daily rides. Thanks Axel!

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Ursula T. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Biking along the Danube and in the evening sitting watching the sunset on the top deck. I would like more time on the bike, but happy we got to see so much!

    Boat: Arkona

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Tracy F. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The entire trip was wonderful! The food was great, accommodations were perfect and the scenery is spectacular.

    Boat: Arkona

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Larry B. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Biking along river was the greatest. Budapest and Bratislava wonderful. Time in Vienna too rushed. Strongly advise participants to take an extra day or two in Passau before the trip—a lovely small town.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Dean Y. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Great bike routes. Vast majority on nice bike paths.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Donald V. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The staff on the boat were wonderful. Very helpful, friendly and hard working. The food on the boat was excellent. They consistently turned out perfectly prepared delicious meals. The bicycles were in excellent condition and performed perfectly. I thoroughly enjoyed this trip.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Mary Beth R. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Scenery was gorgeous, food was superb. Accommodations good.
    If you took Albert out of the equation I would give much higher ratings. He was inadequate with trail details. His info was hard to follow on the maps. Someone described him as a Peacock. Very apt. The rest of the staff was very good although you need another person in the dining room. Way to many people for the amount of people serving.
    Don’t advertise that you have WiFi....you really don’t .....

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Janet H. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Wonderful time with friends. The maps and route descriptions need to be more exact.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Sandra B. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Biking through Budapest was most memorable! We were amazed at the fabulous bike paths through the city. The car traffic was courteous to bikers and honored the cross walks. Biking through Vienna was great, too. Not quite as well defined, but it was so different to have the freedom to explore the cities, visit sites and landmarks via bike, and much more efficient than walking.

    Boat: Carissima

    • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
      by Terri 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply    

      Sandra B...Did you take the guide package or tour on your own.

      • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
        by Sandra Bersin 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply    

        Terri, We toured on our own. We wanted the flexibility of stopping where we wanted, for as long as we wanted. We ran into a festival in Vienna, browsed the booths, watched traditional dancing, had a beer and shared a regional dish. We then visited the Naschmarkt where I was able to find the only store with a full selection of Zotter Chocolates. We also had time to enjoy a slice of Sacher Torte at the Sacher Cafe.
        In Budapest, we pedaled up to Buda Castle, the Royal Palace and stayed for the changing of the guards. It's like a little city up there! After the palace, we visited the Great Market. The guide discouraged guests from riding independently in Budapest because of bike thefts, but we brought an extra lock. It was a busy time and place, so we weren't worried.
        In Budapest, we also visited the Széchenyi Thermal Bath in the evening on our own. The guide/cruise director never mentioned them, but we follow the advise of travel journalist Rick Steves where Read more… ever we go in Europe and he never fails us! It pays to do your own homework before going. Have a great trip!

        • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
          by Winifred 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply    

          Hello Sandra - your review is very helpful. Our family of 5 (3 adults and 2 teenagers) are planning to take this tour on the Carrissima in 2019. We hope to be able to do the self guided tour for flexibility and to save some $. (1) Did you have difficulty finding the route/signs etc? (2) Would we need to be able to speak local language to ask for direction? (3) Have you kept your travel notes and would you be willing to share them? Thanks much in advance!

PWPC