Along the Danube - Four Country Tour Bike Tour Reviews 91 to 120 of 356

 

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Dean P. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This was our first bike/barge trip and it opened a whole world of adventure for us. We have introduced this form of travel to many friends.

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Doug N. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The accommodation and the bikes were great and the trip was very affordable. Our server for the week was terrific.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Michael D. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The route was well planned. The views were spectacular. Couldn’t have imagined a better place to have done this (Austria). We biked approximately 50 miles a day. It was exceptional.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Wilma C. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part? The bike route and tour help from the staff

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Anna A. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part? Cycling the afternoon around Vienna

    Boat: Primadonna

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Brian K. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Wonderful trip with a nicely balanced pace to the days varied activities: tasty breakfast followed by several hours of scenic easy cycling; back to the Carissima for a little deck time, beverage or two; good food, good company at dinner; perhaps up to the lounge for some entertainment or nicely tired back to the cabin to sleep. What’s not to like?

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Walter Z. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Moment? Late afternoons on the sundeck after the bike ride. Watching the castles and quaint villages on the shore as the boat glided by. Perfect end to a great day.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Eliz P. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most memorable was the experience of the bike and barge itself, as well as the scenery, the evening dining, and the fellow bike travelers. One tip would be to do your research ahead of the trip for cities where the boat docks (as in Budapest & Vienna) to be able to make the most of your time there. Overall, great experience; would definitely recommend this bike & boat trip along the Danube...

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Edie D. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I loved riding through the little villages and getting a sense of how people actually live from day to day. All the senses are stimulated- smelling the fruit trees, feeling the wind, hearing the laughter and different languages, touching the handcrafted cloths, and of course experiencing all the sites and lights as you float along at night.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Jacques B. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Tripsite made our first bike tour so memorable we have booked another one for next year. It was perfect!!!

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Vern O. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The most memorable part of the trip was "The Entire Trip"!!! We met so many wonderful people. Our guide Jürgen Gehrke was "The Best"!! So much fun and really went above and beyond taking our group on special tours and always knowing the best Pubs for "The First of The Day"!!!

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Margaret B. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The scenery along the Danube was beautiful and we had lots of fun. Two things I would mention to people planning to do the trip 1) Realize that there is only time to see 1 or maybe 2 of the many sites listed for any given day. There is a small window of time that the barge will be in dock. We had envisioned having a leisurely ride seeing all these great sites and getting back to the barge by the end of the afternoon but thats not how it works. 2) Pay attention to whether you bought bike insurance through Tripsite b/c the barge staff will also sell it and they don't seem to know whether you have it already. We couldn't remember and the wifi was so bad that we couldn't verify so we ended up double paying for it.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Jane F. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Every minute of this trip was amazing. Would do it all over again!

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Nita W. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    My sister and two friends are not hard core cyclists and found our jaunt down the Danube, from Passau to Budapest just the right degree of difficulty, enjoying the Hospitality aboard the My Story when not exploring by bike. Sufficient time was allotted to get to the next boarding spot and it was wonderful to compare the days adventures with our English speaking table over a tasty dinner. I loved not having to pack and unpack as one does on many tours. Our berth was tiny, but not much time is spent there besides sleeping.
    My low point for the trip was the onboard entertainment. Then again, I’m just not a big ABBA fan or fan of one man band keyboards. Others seemed fine with it. The staff created a fun international atmosphere and pirate night was a blast. We Canadians were largely responsible for that. One of us in particular.
    The additional excursions were worth it. I’ll not forget the schnapps and goulash and wild dulcimer music in Budapest!
    I did Read more… fine riding Vienna somewhat challenging as I’m not used to city cycling, but it was optional. I loved the hop on hop off in Budapest. Loved the quaint statues and architecture of Bratislava. Loved riding the wine region in Austria.
    We four talk gloat about this trip with such fond memories, it was a truly amazing, friendship time -literally!

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Deborah A. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I wanted to see quaint villages and remote hard-to-get-to places. I was able to do that and pleased with our itinerary. Bike was awesome and made me want to change my bike at home. I had non- electric.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Suzanne B. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The incredible scenery and the wonderful people. We met some incredible new friends on the trip.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Sheri S. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    My most memorable part of the trip was traveling with friends who have different cycling abilities. There was a something for everyone. The staff was helpful and very professional.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Jeanne D. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The serene beauty of the country side of Germany, Austria and Hungry. Riding a bike through these wonderful countries was very special. The barge ride was very relaxing after a day of riding.

    Boat: Primadonna

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Laney B. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The scenery was beautiful and the accommodations were great. The riding was a pleasure start to finish. We loved it all and would do it again in a heartbeat!

    Boat: Primadonna

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Ken S. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We really enjoyed the Abbey in Melk, Tulln Gardens and the short walk about tour in Bratislavia

    Boat: Primadonna

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Mary B. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The most memorable part of the trip was sitting on the top deck in the evening, wrapped in a blanket, watching the clouds sail past the moon as the barge moved on to our next city on the Danube.
    Ensure you respond to the call to choose a table for meals on the barge if you wish to sit with or close to friends.
    Stay an extra night in Passau if you have the time...there is a lot to see and do.
    If possible, do some cycling before your trip to prepare you for the daily tours.
    If you would prefer to cycle with a guide let your agent know and they may be able to arrange it. It may be an option and worth an extra cost if it would make your trip more enjoyable.

    Boat: Primadonna

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Jeanne D. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The serene beauty of the country side of Germany, Austria and Hungry. Riding a bike through these wonderful countries was very special. The barge ride was very relaxing after a day of riding.

    Boat: Primadonna

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Stephen G. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The food on board the ship was amazing, and at a higher quality more expensive competitors. I would definitely consider Rad und Reisen again.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by William G. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The Carissima had nice cabins that had ample room. The staff were truly amazing with their customer service. The daily briefings provided us with most of the information that we needed for the ride and Albert was excellent at answering all questions for those of us that needed extra help. We only had a few issues with directions. The bikes were in great condition, shifted easily and not as heavy as I expected, we used regular bikes. The cycling paths were filled with beautiful scenery and easy cycling. Touring in Vienna was much easier than expected. It was unfortunate that the water level was too low to take the boat all the way to Budapest but Rad Reisen did their best to make sure that their customers had a good experience and provided a tour bus to transport the people to Budapest, providing them with a nice lunch of traditional Hungarian food. The food on the Carissima was very well planned, their chef was excellent in his food preparation. I personally would have preferred a lot Read more… more vegetables but overall was very happy with his meal planning. The dining room was a bit noisy with all the people chattering so this made it difficult to converse with some of the other people at our table. The waiters were outstanding in their hard work. We will definitely go on more of these trips as we enjoy being active on vacations. This trip was a wonderful experience and so enjoyable.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Kathryn G. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This was the 4th of the boat bike trips we had done with Tripsite and I would say the best. Our guide Axel was amazing and being able to visit the many little villages along the Danube was wonderful. We had two rainy days right at the start but we all came prepared so was still great rides. Biking around Vienna was really incredible as there are many good bike paths however one had to watch carefully as there were also many tourists. Our visit to Budapest was also a major highlight. Our guide Axel walked with us up to Buda Hill to visit the Fisherman’s Bastion for the most amazing views of Pest at night. The Bastion was also a beautiful sight at night.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by David F. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Breakfast good. Bagged lunches okay but not great and they only had sparkling water which I don't like and can't drink. No option to get still water without paying extra. Dinners good but not great. Only one meal very good. Most upset about not being able to drink the water from the room sink (which was announced over the PA system just before dinner after we had been onboard for a few hours)and then having to pay for still safe water for the cabin, breakfast, lunch and dinner.
    Bike barge nightly talk about the following day was always the second talk of the evening (made for later evenings or no room in the bar). Would have liked to share the first time slot for half of the evenings.
    Concierge staff outstanding and serving staff in the dinning room good.

    Boat: Primadonna

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Maria Tereza and Arturo 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This trip was much better than we expected. The service on the boat was one of the best we have experienced. The food was very good. The cabins confortable, very good shower. Good and very well adjusted bicycles. Precise information each day of biking. Scenery gorgeous. Completely safe even for children and older people. The cycling distances were appropriate for all. Very tasteful sandwiches for those who were biking. The cities we visited are amazing. Congratulations to the team working on Carissima.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Estela B. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This is a great tour, with wonderful cities to visit and scenic bike rides. The barge was perfect, great food and service. We enjoyed the evening music and dancing very much. A heat wave happened while we were there, so we had a great time on the sun deck
    I was not as happy with the bikes. I was in charge of a group of 25 and at least 6 of them had bike issues: brakes that worked only in the front or back, e-bikes that only assisted when pedaling at full throttle, and more. Even though we reported this, and we were told they would fix the bikes, in reality the bikes were not repaired by the next day, and it took time and effort to get them replaced. I expected more from Rad & Reisen, the bike company. Also there was very little instruction on how to use the e-bikes. My suggestion is to have a person at the dock on the first day to give a 10 minute one-on-one instruction on the e-bike and make the person do a little test ride. It was not as intuitive how to use them if you Read more… never have done it.
    Another issue that could have been better is a bigger, clearer map on how to get to the path from the barge location. That part is usually the hardest.
    All that said, it was still a nice, memorable trip.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Valerie P. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This was a terrific trip. The scenery was outstanding and the bike trails were great fun. More biking would’ve been even better. The MS Arkona was a very nice ship, all recently remodeled and the staff all did a great job. I enjoyed all the breakfast choices. We would make our lunch at breakfast time to take with us for the day. Dinners were good but more salads would be a nice addition.
    Our boat was unable to reach Budapest due to low water levels. We were however taken by bus to Budapest and enjoyed a city bus tour. It made for a long day but at least we were able to see some of the city. This gave us more time in Vienna and an opportunity for a really fun afternoon bike ride there. Our tour director gave us excellent instructions for this ride since it was not part of the original tour itinerary. It offered shorter and longer distances that seemed to meet everyone’s needs.
    The directions in the map and narrative book were often lacking. I would Read more… recommend having turn by turn distances Incorporated. Generally, the morning briefing by the tour director was not much additional help. Questions by us to the tour director were often answered by “it’s in your daily program".
    It would be nice to have newer bikes. They were fine for the flat biking paths but would have been very challenging for anything with hills. They were heavy and some didn’t ride very smoothly.
    The optional Vienna concert was a bit of a disappointment. Although the music was nice I didn’t care for the venue. It was hot inside, the seats were very cramped and this particular theater was not very impressive.
    There is no free Wi-Fi despite an email from Tripsite confirming that there was.
    We were offered beverage packages which included bottled water.
    I drank the tap water on the boat and had no issues. I do feel that on an active trip such as this, unlimited chilled water should be available. We opted to forgo the beverage package and found the beer and wine reasonably priced.
    Laundry service on board would be a nice option.
    Having said all of the above, I would still recommend the trip and I would use Tripsite again.

    Boat: Arkona

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Faith S. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I was disappointed in this tour, the scenery was mostly uninteresting and much more difficult than expected due to high winds on 2 days. I am short and was given a crappy bike to ride, having been told I could not fit on the e-bike I wanted. However, after 2 days of suffering my tour guide was able to find me a bike that fit (even after the company itself said it could not accommodate). The ship itself was wonderful, with big bright cabins and excellent food. I was on the guided comfort relax package, and the tour guide was way too laid back for my taste. I thought we did not have much time in the big cities to explore.

    Boat: Carissima

PWPC