4 Star Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna Tour Reviews — 1 to 11 of 11

4.6 out of 5

 


Henk G.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Nature, food, organisation
Only BIG problem was engine trouble which delayed arrival in Passau by 5 hours and complicated the next part of our vacation

peter b.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Our trip was changed as the boat had a broken rudder and not able to be fixed by the time we started. The people involved int he tour then changed it to a bike and hotel trip which was great.
Memorable part of the trip was seeing all the small towns along the way. The bigger towns were ok but the smaller ones were better

Susan L.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The entire trip was memorable. Great scenery, small towns and villages, very friendly people. It's great meeting new people from varied countries and backgrounds. Having a guide and local tours really enhanced the experience.

Our only complaint is that our travel agent was very unresponsive to our communications. We had to call the company several times to get information. We booked transportation from airport to the hotel through Tripsite and were taken the wrong hotel. We had to find the correct hotel and get there on our own.

Don D.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The normandie boat and crew was well run and has a nice flow to the week. Most memorable moment was Vienna concert operetta

Karen F.
12 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The bike and barge tour was great! The bike route along the Danube was easy to follow but sometimes the days seemed repetitive. We found the last day of riding the most picturesque. The boat crew was awesome- everyone spoke English well except for the tour guide who struggled with communicating the day to day instructions. The food was very good and plentiful.

Pauline L.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

We really loved going through the locks on the Danube and the rides everyday were fabulous with the detailed instructions. There was a castle, ruin, vineyard or cafe around every bend!

E. Heide
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

We would have like more written details of the areas we were seeing. We also would have liked a stronger wifi connection. Food and service was excellent.

Brent McLean
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Would be nice to sit with other people at meals. Everyone was great and it felt like we were on a camping trip.

Sharon Cratsenberg
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Perfect weather, gorgeous scenery, wonderful riding--loved every minute of the trip.

John Bowyer
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Wonderful trip along the Danube. If you are biker you will find the bikes lacking. My wife with her spinal cord injury used an electric assist which worked very well.

Susan Knight
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Amazing scenery, great company, delicious food, kind staff and somewhere comfy to sleep - with no unpacking! However,the crux of these trips stems from the quality of the guides. Our first trip, to Vienna, Had a guide that knew the route well, but smoked at every stop, and wanted to always eat dinner at somewhere he could buy alcohol; we preferred to eat our rolls in the fresh air, which sometimes was tricky. He tended to ride off without checking we were all ready, leaving riders behind until someone caught him. Our second trip (Merzig to Koblenz) had a lady guide who was not at all familiar with the area, but used her GPS to locate landmarks and routes (sometimes taking the shortest, not the most scenic). She didn't give an initial safety talk, she changed the route from the easy one offered to a more scenic but quite difficult one, causing one older, inexperienced lady to fall (end of trip for her and her husband,, hospitalisation for almost a fortnight, skingraft). Our Read More