5 Star Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna Tour Reviews — 1 to 30 of 55

Wachau Valley vineyards along the Danube River, Austria. Flickr:alchen_x

Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna

8 days from €813

4.6 out of 5

Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna

Easy Bike + Boat Tour in Austria, Germany

Beginning in the German town of Passau, this European bike and boat tour quickly crosses the Austrian border, following the mighty Danube downstream. The relaxing Danube Bike Path is your route as…

 Stars:  5     
4.6 out of 5

 


Cindi S.
3 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

My most memorable part of the trip was the biking route each day; riding along the Danube, passing through old towns filled with rich history. The scenery was incredible. Austria was so peaceful, lush green surrounding our ride. I appreciated how the guides made sure we were ready and they were always available to assist if needed. It was fun to take the ferries across the river. The guides were very patient and knowledgeable.

Karin S.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The Danube River and scenery around it was spectacular. Seeing it from the bike paths, or on board the ship was very special. My husband didn’t cycle, but was well taken care of by the wonderful staff aboard the Swiss Crown, and enjoyed the trip as much as we did on the bikes.
Food, accommodations and service was first class.

Sandra S.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Tripsite gives you an opportunity to explore a new region by bicycle, meet new people who share the same goals, a chance to be physically active, and have lots of fun.

Deborah D.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The scenery along the Danube River was just spectacular. The little villages along the way were so beautiful to photograph. Traveling on the Merlijn is like being in a 5 star hotel. The ship is just beautiful and the food is downright amazing and delicious. The crew members are like your family. Love the Merlijn!

Anne C.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Biking thru the small villages of Austria, enjoying their beautiful, clean lifestyle and the magnificent Danube was memorable. Our guide was quite capable and knowledgeable adding to the experience. Would recommend this trip highly!

Mark S.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The crew and our guide were very friendly and knowledgeable. We had a great time biking through beautiful countryside and learned alot about local culture and history. The food was great.

Shirley Donna S.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The route and itinerary were perfect. It was a great balance of visiting small villages and seeing highlights of Vienna and Linz. The crew on PK were very friendly and helpful. The buffet Bfast had plentiful selection and dinner options were delicious. The Chef met my gluten free and lactose free requirements

the Route Maps were Very good but confusing for day 7. daily programs very informative and kept everyone on schedule

PK had a lot of charm and although dated it was clean, functional and great floor plan.
PK did not provide free water and Coffee n Tea. It was very hot during our week so buying water on board got expensive. Or buying on shore very cumbersome and not easy to carry after long day cycling.

Overall excellent trip. Highly recommend it.

Shirley Donna S.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The route and itinerary were perfect. It was a great balance of visiting small villages and seeing highlights of Vienna and Linz. The crew on PK were very friendly and helpful. The buffet Bfast had plentiful selection and dinner options were delicious. The Chef met my gluten free and lactose free requirements

the Route Maps were Very good but confusing for day 7. daily programs very informative and kept everyone on schedule

PK had a lot of charm and although dated it was clean, functional and great floor plan.
PK did not provide free water and Coffee n Tea. It was very hot during our week so buying water on board got expensive. Or buying on shore very cumbersome and not easy to carry after long day cycling.

Overall excellent trip. Highly recommend it.

Israel A.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Fantastic tour, suitable to me and my wife. The boat "Swiss Crown" was luxurious, and we loved the real outside small balcon of the room. All facilities (meals, bar, crew service) were very good. The "social" part, include meeting of varios kind ol people, was very interesting. The tour organizer' (Yorgen) was one of a kind!!! We are planning our next tour in Holland (Tulip Tour).

Fred and Kathleen I.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Using Tripsite to book our bike/barge trip took a lot of stress off of our trip planning especially during the pandemic. Whenever I emailed, I got a quick response and I was able to rebook easily more than once. The boat, Princess Katherina, was well run. We met many new people and even though we were the only USA participants, we were seated with other English speakers who became quick friends and travel mates. I was always pleased with the vegetarian options for dining and all food choices overall were exceptional. The 34 staff onboard contributed to efficiency and support whenever we had questions or needs. The bike routes were well marked and the panniers and front pack for holding the map worked perfectly. I would definitely get an e-bike next time as I struggled a bit with rainy weather but as seventy and seventy-two year olds exploring a new country, the trip was flawless. If you like castles, abbeys, river trails, this trip is perfect! Don't miss the pear cider at Read More

Josephine S.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The route, the people we met

Sandy
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

We just returned from this cruise less than a week ago. I cannot express how wonderful it was. The scenery was breathtaking, the staff outstanding. The Swiss Crown was a beautiful boat to call home for a week. The staff on board were delightfully pleasant and accommodating. They made every effort to make it a positive experience for everyone. The dining room was beautiful, and our table had a great location. It wasn't too loud, we could easily hold a conversation with our fellow travelers. We had previously taken this trip on the Charissima and found the dining room was too noisy. The food was tastefully prepared with many regional dishes. At 1600 hr everyday they had a dessert / coffee hour that was very special, the staff were readily available for more coffee.
Though there were only a handful of English speaking travelers, Jergen was an enthusiastic program director. He was very accommodating to locate a bicycle that would fit our very petite daughter, even getting extra Read More

Jessica B.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The biking! Loved being able to be mainly on a proper bike path and not on roads. Freedom to explore along the way and take your time getting to the next destination by bike.
Last bike day through Wachau valley was very rushed to have to make it to the boat before 3:30pm. So much to see we were scared to miss the boat and skipped a lot of experiences. That section would be better down downstream than upstream!
Better, detailed maps would have been nice.
Wi-fi on the boat was terrible or no-existent!
Food was acceptable but not fantastic.
Thank you for always having vegetarian option!

Rose P.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Most memorable part of trip was seeing the Lippizon horses in Vienna.

Marcia Regina L.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

I and my husband loved the tour. Everything was perfect, the barge, the meals, all the staff was kind and we had now new friends that we knew in this tour.

Karen P.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

I loved bike riding along the Danube, through the little towns and country. We had a great guide who biked with us, although lots of people just followed the daily maps. Very well organized! Our boat was a nice size, just over 100 people so it felt cozy. The workers kept the bikes perfectly maintained and organized too. Hope to do another ride next year!

Mary P.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Excellent trip on the Theodor Kondor. Great staff, great food, great scenery. Juergen was the perfect goodie for the Comfort Package.

Rick C.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

All of the biking was fantastic. The time in Vienna was a close second.

Michele C.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

We very much enjoyed our guided cycling tour. We have done several self guided cycling tours, it's just very pleasant to never look at a map or gps. Will definitely repeat that kind of experience.

Robert L.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

We had never done a Bike & Boat tour before so were hoping it would all work out. And it did fantastically! Ours was a family trip and even our 9-year-old son completed the entire bike route no problem. Such a pleasure to be in the country biking through fields, along the river, even on narrow roads through the small towns and villages we passed through. It was an amazing way to really see the countryside and interact with local people to briefly get a glimpse of their way of life. And the scenery was beautiful and peaceful. An amazing experience for our family and we look forward to doing more trips like this in the future.

Susan E.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Bike/Barge was a great way to spend time with family and see the sights of the Danube. Accommodation on the boat was comfortable, staff friendly and it certainly made for a very relaxing & easy holiday.

Lynn F.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Our second trip ( the Danube to Vienna) was different, but equally as nice. This time the “barge” was a huge river boat (a la Viking), but that was OK. The scenery was lovely, the little towns quaint, they could have done better with the information about our route, but I guess it was OK. A bit different in that the boat traveled at night and moved us up the river to our next starting point. Again, the food was great, the passengers friendly... only one rainy day that time... not bad! I’ve told friends about this company and I look forward to our next trip with Tripsite!

Martin K.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Most memorable part? Biking the Danube with castles on the hills

Allison B.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Most Memorable Part? Quaint towns, lovely countryside, old world charm. Our trip will linger in our minds.

Jeanne L.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Great family reunion and scenic vacation. E-bikes made it easy for less experienced bicyclists to keep up with trained cyclists. Nice to hear all 8 of us laughing while riding!

David R.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Hard to pick one part...The cycling and scenery each day was stunning. Vienna must be experienced. The staff and the food on the Arkona was outstanding.

Michael S.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

There were so many great memories, but I really loved the town of Melk and all the little towns in the Wachau area that we passed through our last day. It was like biking through fairy land. Fall is the perfect time for sampling the local new wines. And our guide, Regina, was tops!! Can’t imagine a better tour guide!

Cheryl H.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Wonderful trip. Beautiful scenery and the boat staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful.

Phyllis C.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Very pleasant trip. The route included portions along the river as well as through picturesque villages, farmland, and vineyards. Daily mileage was perfect for us casual riders. The last day of riding through the Wachau area was the most enjoyable; we wish there would have been more time to explore the tasting rooms and shops in Dürnstein.
There was only a minor problem in communication with the tour director over the the time of an optional paid activity that several members of the group did not get to attend. I didn't feel the problem was addressed well.

Deirdre R.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Most Memorable Part? The biking, totally. It’s ok if your friend chooses not to ride, there are others en route who make it pleasant. The staff were overly attentive! So helpful