Tulip Tour - 8 day Tour Reviews — 1 to 30 of 189

Biking in south Holland. ©TO

Tulip Tour - 8 day

8 days from €1314

4.9 out of 5

Tulip Tour - 8 day

Easy Bike + Boat Tour in Netherlands

One of our most popular, this bike and boat tour in Holland during tulip season, featuring the north and south provinces, is bursting with colors and scents. When the Dutch spring dawns, millions of…

4.9 out of 5

 


Donald K.
2 days ago

Verified Reviewer

The staff on the Iris were excellent. They went out of their way to make us feel comfortable. The passenger capacity of the Iris (24 people) was just right. It afforded us the opportunity to get to know the other travelers. Although the cabins were small, they were well laid out; comfortable; and quiet. We thoroughly enjoyed cycling throughout the Netherlands with the exceptional guides on the Iris.
We would've preferred more time allocated to exploring the towns where the Iris moored daily. Most of our exploration time was limited to after dinner walks in some towns.

Debra W.
3 days ago

Verified Reviewer

The week on the Feniks was great! I really think the barge was undersold!. The wifi worked for all of our party of 4. The daily laundry was such a great thing. And the staff- the skipper, the first mate, the cook, the guide were so, so much fun! Really happy we took this tour.

Brian C.
4 days ago

Verified Reviewer

This was our second bike and barge on this boat through tripsite. This time we brought friends, who said “one of my favorite vacations of all time”. We agree!
Cycling through rural north Holland was magical and we were fortunate to have great weather - not always guaranteed.
E-bikes were comfortable and safe, our guides Brian and Marianne were fun, knowledgeable and engaging.
Keukenhoff was packed with visitors, but we visited the smaller Hortis Bulborum and learned more about the beautiful tulips there.
Being in a small group on bikes allowed us to visit less-touristed sites, for example a working windmill Schermerhorn, Van Veen family cheese-making farm, and artist studio in Bilderdam.
The new Magnifique I was spacious, we had one of the new larger rooms. Food was varied, delicious, nutritious and plentiful.
Staff onboard led by Captain Walter became like family, helpful and responsive to everyone’s needs, including when Read More

Thomas J.
5 days ago

Verified Reviewer

I really enjoyed the trip, especially being able to ride a bike throughout Holland and see all the flowers and small towns.

Linda R.
5 days ago

Verified Reviewer

This was my first bike and barge trip. Honestly, I haven't rode a bike in 25 years! Shame on me. I travel extensively, however I have never been on a trip like this previously. I would recommend this experience to anyone! Specifically, I believe Tripsite accounted for most of the pleasure. From the boat to the staff to the chef to the guides....everything was perfect and I can't wait to book my next trip with them. Tripsite took the STRESS out of planning and the caliber of accommodations were perfect. Thank you to everyone that made this memory possible!

Katia L.
5 days ago

Verified Reviewer

The whole trip was a beautiful experience full of memorable biking moments, new friendships and an attentive and talented staff. The best part of the trip was the attentiveness of the staff who met our various needs throughout the trip. I can't say enough about our tour guides and barge staff who always took the time to hear our concerns and or special needs and do their best to meet them. By the end of the trip, The Iris was our home and it always felt good to return back to our barge after a successfull and beautiful day of biking throughout the countryside. So with that being said, the trip is beautiful, but the staff made it special.

Cheryl S.
6 days ago

Verified Reviewer

The beauty of the countryside and beautiful homes along the canals. I especially loved learning about heirloom tulips and the interesting facts about the Dutch people and their country. I loved all beautiful the cycling but only wish we had a little more time at the end of the day to explore the little towns while the shops were still open.

Bonita S.
6 days ago

Verified Reviewer

The best part of our trip was Francien, our guide. She’s was very knowledgeable and has great leadership skills. The whole crew of the Sarah was very welcoming. We are experienced riders and this was our 4th Tripsite booking. Having said that, be prepared for all types of weather: we had warm sunny days and cold rainy days. I would also highly recommend Ebikes, as the wind can be brutal. I would rank this an intermediate bike trip. The Keukenhof Gardens will be one of your most beautiful experiences ever! The flower market was very interesting as well as learning about the windmills and all history of the Netherlands.

Donna H.
1 week ago

Verified Reviewer

Beautiful country and biking was great unfortunately we didn't have great weather. Can’t forget the beautiful tuplips.

Lisa S.
1 week ago

Verified Reviewer

The most memorable part of the trip was being in Amsterdam during Kings Day. So fun to celebrate with all the people of the country. Also, enjoyed riding the bike through all the beautiful towns.. it was a wonderful experience.

Maureen K.
2 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

The guides were very good. Felix and Hetty made every bit of the trip fondly memorable. The Iris offered very nice accommodations—featuring lots of room between the beds, plenty of space to store clothing, and a lovely shower and toilet room. The other staff of the Iris were very good, too, and we enjoyed excellent meals and everything went smoothly. I went on this trip to see the tulips, and they were gorgeous—not just at the Keukenhof, but also at the visit to the bulb garden and along the way just looking at private farms.

Skeeter C.
2 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

Experiencing the Dutch countryside via bike. Loved cycling through the quaint villages. The landscape was breathtaking. This trip certainly exceeded my expectations. The crew of the Allure was awesome.

Ann M.
2 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

All the staff on the barge were excellent...especially the chef! We were well fed with lots of good food! The support staff on the barge were wonderful and graciously responded to any and all requests. The guides were the bestl but their technology left something to be desired...lots of U turns ! The bike paths and trip stops were perfect! We will have to order better weather next time!

Nancy H.
2 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

The trip was fantastic. Just the right amount of cycling traveling through the beautiful Netherlands. It was great to have 2 guides to split up our group of 24. Both guides were knowledgeable and fun. The captain, crew and chef were excellent. The Isis was a comfortable boat and I would definitely sail on it again. I highly recommend this trip to others.

Rosemary T.
2 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

Every aspect of the trip was memorable, from biking through quaint towns and beautiful countryside to an outstanding staff and five star cuisine. Be prepared to be amazed.

Gillian F.
2 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

Despite chilly and wet weather it was a terrific trip. The Allure was very comfortable with good heating in the cabins. Food, service, crew and guide were all excellent. Friendly and efficient. The biking - distances and routes were great. Our guide was very knowledgeable and pleasant.
Highly recommend.

Carline M.
2 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

The staff/crew was amazing. The food was also amazing. The barge was a very clean but tired. There was condensation on the bedroom walls (exterior) and it would run down and make the sheets wet.

Susan L.
2 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

It was a wonderful Trip. We rode the bikes evern though it was rainy and windy. It is amazing that you would do in that kind of weather, but we did, dressed warm and we loved it. We also had good weather days, when we saw the tulips and the gardens. It is amazing how many bikes are in the area. The roads are divided into one lane for the cars and a bike lane on each side of the road. Usually we biked on a paved path all the way. It was a great trip!!!!!

Rebecca R.
2 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

Loved the cycling through the smaller towns and the countryside. Absolutely beautiful.

LISA C.
2 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

This trip had a great staff. Ana went out of her way to prepare food to fit My dietary needs. The ship is going to be repaired better. Out tour guide , first mate and captain was great. A good time was had by all. No one had control of the weather. ( a little cold windy and wet some days). Loved the Tulips! The country side and flower market were real high lights.

Lori S.
2 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

We had a group of 16 and had a great time with the other passengers! Fabulous guides & service. The only suggestion we can make would be to have some better swag or bike jerseys/T shirts/Sweatshirts to purchase. They only had a black & White T shirt & a grey sweatshirt, not very feminine either.

Debbie D.
2 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

A beautiful way to see Holland. Make sure to bring rain gear.

Penelope K.
2 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

Experiencing the unique geography and history of the Netherlands and getting to sample a tange of small towns and then Amsterdam. We also enjoyed the excellent range of art and historical museums and then of course since this was the tulip tour we really appreciated biking by miles of tulip beds and seeing Keukenhof garden, truly a national treasure. Tips for others biking and in April: Bring waterproof cycling gloves, a warm layer, and rain gear. We found the electric bikes were very in dealing with headwinds which of course can be strong by the sea.

ROBERT R.
2 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

The beautiful countryside and the staff of the Magnifique III. The ship was well equipped, comfortable and relaxing, and the staff were super friendly and helpful. The tour itself, despite the rain, took us thru some wonderful areas of Tulip fields and farmland. Best tip .. be prepared for all kinds of weather this time of year.

Mary W.
2 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

This trip included a fabulously appointed ship with delicious meals, great guides that took us through a comprehensive tour of Holland, and passengers and crew that became like family. I’d do a trip like this again in a heartbeat.

Corinne P.
2 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

Great trip. Accommodates were the best, weather was the worst like cold rain and wind BUT we made the most of it and it was a great time with biking O cycling they call it in Holland. Great family time and enjoying the extra guest. Cook was the best with authentic Holland dishes, Did not lose any weight on this trip. Everything was wonderful ! I may even do it for a 4th time!,, thank you Cara for putting us together!! Bikes especially E-bikes were not the best !! Come snow ski Breckenridge Feb. to April and meet me. My treat for dinner!!!! Peace!! Corky Patton in South Bend, IN

Johanna Maria V.
2 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

Nelleke’s cooking was super and really memorable.
What was also memorable but far from super was our guide.
Maybe I was spoilt by my 3 previous Tripsite Barge/Bike trips with really excellent guides.
The guide lacked any passion about his job. Many felt we were not looked after properly. Cycled up front and hardly ever looked back if we were behind. Half the party would be delayed at red traffic light and guide just carried on. Sometimes lost him as we could not see where he had turned off. Information always minimal and very sketchy.

Mary Monahan G.
3 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

This tour was very good. The crew and bike leaders were wonderful. The boat was comfortable.. The food was outstanding. I would recommend this tour.

Gail C.
3 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

Weather! Gale force winds, rain/hail and cold. Bring warm clothes and rain gear. Tulip fields were amazing.

andrew h.
3 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

Tulips. Would have been good to have had more time with tulips than an afternoon at Keukenoff. Maybe a visit to a tulip processor, or other gardens. After all, this was the "tulip" tour and we really only had one day of tulips.

You should alert your clients to the possibility of cold and rainy weather. Our guides did a good job of working around it, and I did have clothing to protect me, but it is an issue. Next to last day, we got into Zaandam too late to adequately visit the nearby attractions. Should have gotten there about two hours earlier.

Other than that, I think that all of the staff did an excellent job. Great food from Ellen; guides provided information and leadership. Boat was clean, spacious and comfortable.