5 Star Magnifique IV boat/barge tour reviews — 1 to 24 of 24

4.8 out of 5

 


Allison S.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique IV Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

This was one of the best vacations I’ve ever had! The Magnifique IV is gorgeous and comfortable, and every single staff member was super helpful and just absolutely lovely! Our cycling guides, Hans and Wilfred, we’re wonderful - fun, knowledgeable, well-organized. Seeing bigger towns and cities, and all the countryside and ‘regular’ towns in between by bicycle is such a good way to explore. I highly recommend this trip!

Sonya V.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique IV Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

The team (captain Paul, chef Michael, sailor Albert, Hostesses Annika & Ingeborg and tour guides Hans & Wilfred) on Magnifique IV is amazing. They are always cheerful and are so hardworking. Every meal was exquisite and the warm and delicious snacks offered after a long (wet) bike ride were so appreciated. The barge is beautiful. It is clean and well appointed. We appreciated the 2 usb ports to charge our phones in our large suite. We were conservative with water so had lots for a hot shower after a day of cycling. The scenery was gorgeous. If we had stopped at every place for a beautiful picture, we would still be in Gent! Our tour guides were very knowledgeable about the area. They easily answered our questions with enthusiasm and humour. Our daily route was tweaked according to the groups' abilities, interests and, of course, the weather.

Tips
Pack light. We avoided long lineups at every airport because we had only carry-on luggage.
Don't Read More

craig C.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique IV Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

Our staff. Hans and Wilfred were exceptional.

George R.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique IV Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

The dinners were fantastic.

Elizabeth A.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique IV Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

Loved riding through the farmlands leading to Gent at the beginning of the trip. Beautiful scenery and so peaceful! Our boat tour up the canal was magical.

I would rate this trip excellent and well beyond my expectations. The staff were always cheerful and accommodating. Guides were informative and all of the days were well paced and eventful.

Stephen R.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique IV Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

The Magnifique IV was a lovely barge, we’ll set out and nicely appointed. Meals were delicious, the suite was spacious and the bathroom was the equal or better of many we experience in quality hotels. The staff including the guides were excellent and contributed to a delightful week of seeing the Netherlands and Belgium.

Diane D.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique IV Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

Great staff and fun traveling and experiencing this with a large group of friends! Scenery was spectacular and we had great weather.

Alison M.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique IV Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

The bike rides through small towns and villages, beautiful scenery were the highlight of the trip. On one day our guide also stopped at an unscheduled attraction at our request - this willingness to be flexible was much appreciated.
The guided rides are great, but try to take advantage of the self-guided rides as well on some days - the biking staff provide thorough directions and the app so that it is pretty hard to go off-track.
The food on the barge was outstanding, and the snacks provided for lunches were great.

Cynthia W.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique IV Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

We loved the bike tour from Brugges to Amsterdam! The biking was excellent and we loved using the e-bikes! The tour guides and ship crew were helpful and very responsive! They made the trip fun and memorable. The cities were truly amazing! Bike and barge is such a fun way to see beautiful cities and lovely views!

Harvey L.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique IV Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

This trip was the most memorable we've ever been on. The boat was fantastic - clean and in pristine condition. The food was equal to anything we've had in any fine restaurant - tasty and served with elegance. The crew members were energetic and fun and always had time to answer any and all questions. The biking part of the trip was perfect - equal parts cycling and resting, with coffee and pastries! It was the best way to see another country - on your bike - so much time to take in the pristine beauty of Holland and Belgium. The accommodations were comfy and cosy and inviting. The hot tub was delightful after a day of cycling.
We would do this trip again without hesitation.
Harvey and Martha

Paul F.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique IV Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

Most memorable part: Boat staff bikes food and dancing all fantastic, we had a great time

Russell H.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique IV Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

I organized the bike/barge trip aboard the Magnifique IV for eight couples and all of us would agree it exceeded our expectations. Bert and Hans are brilliant tour leaders, Mieke and John wonderful hosts, and Gerard a fine chef. Accommodations were first class, the boat was immaculate, the food great, and our fellow passengers were well traveled like-minded folks whom we had great time getting to know. The bike itinerary works nicely for both experienced or inexperienced riders, I strongly recommend an e-bike for the latter group. All in all, Walter the captain and boat owner runs a classy operation and offers terrific value for the price.

Robert R.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique IV Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

The Captain, crew, and tour guides were wonderful; and the beer was delicious!

John L.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique IV Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

Best way to experience the local cultures and idyllic country sides and charming villages of Holland and Belgium.

Gregory A.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique IV Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

Having been home not even one full week, I am STILL at a loss of words to fully describe our tour- it was however, definitely a 'masterpiece' of a trip (if a trip can be so described!). Over the 52 years of our marriage, we have been exceedingly fortunate to have been able to travel not only all over the U.S., but to numerous other countries and places both on our own as a couple and with my husband's career. Late in life we have both discovered bicycling and had often thought we'd love to take a biking vacation. Unfortunately 3 years ago, having discovered he had Afib and needed open heart surgery resulting in a double by pass, we thought that dream would not materialize. Fortunately health improved, miles were logged in practice, and a trip optimistically booked with Tripsite. As we anticipated the trip we were apprehensive about whether Covid would sidetrack our dream, but fortunately we were able to go. The trip was everything and much more than we had Read More

Barbara G.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique IV Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

Biking through the gorgeous country side - stopping at the cheese shoppe - the attentiveness of the staff and the camaraderie of the fellow bike riders!

Tips - do as many activities as you can - yet if that doesn't work for you - spend a lovely day on the barge- reading , writing or simply enjoying the gorgeous scenery.

Really loved the trip - biking was flat, fabulous and scenic!

Achal J.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique IV Tulip Tour - 5 day
Netherlands

The bicycle ride along the canals and fields of endless tulips! The staff and service was excellent. We highly recommend this trip to everyone.

Mark N.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique IV Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

There were too many memorable moments to really list. What I think was most memorable of the trip was the kindness of all the passengers. It seemed like we all had been friends forever. The other was the professionalism of the entire staff. They were all so KIND, COURTEOUS and POLITE. The entire staff was nothing short of true professionals. They really went above and beyond to make us feel very comfortable. Actually, so comfortable I didn't want to leave. CHEERS to the crew of the Magnifique IV.

bradley T.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique IV Tulip Tour - 5 day
Netherlands

Biking through fields of flowers was amazing. Don’t miss the flower market!

Julia J.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique IV Tulip Tour - 5 day
Netherlands

The whole tour was fabulous. I especially loved our time at the Keukenhof flower park on April 18, where the tulips were in full bloom and the sun shone brightly. Riding past tulip farms on the way, was a great preview to the flower park.

I highly recommend the Magnifique IV barge. It offered multiple decks for passengers to enjoy. The rooms were comfortable and clean. For novice cyclists, reserve an eBike. They are easy and fun to use and take the pressure off of riding about 80 miles in three days.

Take advantage of the packing list provided by Tripsite. I would add a bar of soap to the list, as I prefer that over the shower gel provided. Additionally, arrive a couple of days early so that you can adjust to the time change and enjoy some museums and walking tours.

Natalie P.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique IV Tulip Tour - 5 day
Netherlands

We absolutely loved biking through the countryside in Holland. Our tour guides were amazing and knowledgeable, and it was an unforgettable experience!

Douglas S.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique IV Tulip Tour - 5 day
Netherlands

Weather . It was so windy. But we still made the best of it . Last day of riding only 11 made it with 3 guides. 17 miles in 50+ winds

Janet M.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique IV Tulip Tour - 5 day
Netherlands

Cycling on easy cycle paths through different landscapes - most enjoyable and interesting. Food on boat was fabulous - excellent chef. Tour guides very helpful.

Jan C.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique IV Tulip Tour - 5 day
Netherlands

Seeing tulips in the spring in Holland has been on my bucket list and they did not disappoint! Being on such a beautiful boat with outstanding crew (especially the chef!) was a definite bonus.