Bike tour reviews with boat/barge Normandie 31 to 60 of 93

 

 Boat/Barge: Normandie • REMOVE  About Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Lynn F. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Our trip was along the Danube to Vienna. It was a wonderful trip, the scenery was lovely, and we were lucky with the weather... it only drizzled one afternoon! The little towns we went through were really cute & charming. We felt the tour guide could have done a better job by telling us the distances between start and finish in terms of time & kilometers. We managed quite well, but it would have been nice to know. Otherwise, the whole trip was fantastic!

    Boat: Normandie

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Barbara H. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The most memorable part of our trip was getting on our bikes daily and biking next to the river with lovely towns and countryside. Quite free!
    Our meals were just wonderful! We requested vegan meals and were delighted with each and every meal! This whole trip was special!

    Boat: Normandie

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Beverly K. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Excellent trip, experience, food, accommodations, etc.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Robert L. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We loved this trip! The best way to experience Europe’s beautiful rivers and countryside is over the handlebars!

    Boat: Normandie

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Karen K. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part: The last day of our trip we cycled through small towns and vineyards. Stopped at a beautiful small church and were able to hear the choir practicing. We (6 of us) will never forget that part of the trip.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Ceri B. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The barge was wonderful and the staff most helpful and professional. I wouldn’t hesitate to go on another biking trip. Thank you for a job well done.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Colin M. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Every aspect of this trip exceeded our expectations. The boat staff could not have been more friendly and accommodating. The rooms and food were excellent. The bicycles were in top condition, and the cycling director was a wealth of information about each day's itinerary. Our friends are tired of hearing us rave about how wonderful the trip was.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Doug N. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    It was a great trip. We traveled with another couple and they also very much enjoyed the trip. Room on the boat was comfortable, food was good, bikes were good. A nice combination of fresh air, exercise and comfort. Have already recommended to others.

    Boat: Normandie

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Patricia M. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The staff were wonderful and attentive and the biking equipment was excellent. It was tremendously satisfying to enjoy this beautiful part of the world on bike and then return to the comfort of the boat each evening. Looking forward to the next trip!!

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Diane F. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Our bike barge trip along the Danube in October 2017 was a great experience. Biking was fabulous, the paths we're all very good for the most part. The scenery was beautiful. We were very pleased with the friendliness of the staff and all the accommodations made for us. The food was all nicely presented and abundant. Our group of eight friends definitely would like to do another trip! Great scenery, great exercise, and an overall wonderful experience!

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Sue H. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I really enjoyed the first and last days a lot which were in the beautiful countryside along the Danube. It was good to see the cities but the visits too short to really visit anything in depth.
    I recommend the Mozart concert which I really enjoyed.
    I loved meeting people from other countries and wish we could have had meal seating change every couple of days to mix with other people who also were interested in meeting others.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Beverly K. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    It was great from beginning to end. The only thing I might suggest would be perhaps a better map on a couple of the days for our biking excursion. We found our way, but got a little confused in a couple of spots. Staff was excellent, tour guide bent over backwards for us, food was delicious, etc. Working with Susanna prior to our trip was so easy and she answered all my questions. I would do it again!

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by John J. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part? The people I met on board - staff and guests - and the scenery.

    Boat: Normandie

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Mary Lyn H. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Loved the itinerary and biking routes!
    Barge suggestions:
    Dinner seat assignments-- still place with others of the same language, but not necessarily from the same country.
    The upper outdoor covered lounge allowed smoking which meant the entire area could be filled with smoke! This type of trip is for active, healthy lifestyle people...smoking should be confined to a small area in front of the pilot house (or not at all).

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Colin M. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The most memorable part of the trip? Everything: the boat, staff, accommodations, food, cycling director, bicycles were far better than I expected. The daily orientations by the cycling director were very informative, not only about cycling conditions, but also about refreshment stops and sightseeing. This trip could not have been better.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Barbara H. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Fabulous bike/barge adventure in Germany/Austria! We'll be back! The cycling was on beautiful paths along the Danube. The food and service onboard were extraordinary.

    Boat: Normandie

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Karen L. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The most memorable part of the trip were the people I had the opportunity to meet including the staff who were extremely courteous.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Jeanne S. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The boat its self is quaint. The cycling was scenic, beautiful and had a variation of easy to moderately challenging rides for an average cyclist, pretty doable for anyone. My only suggestion is to provide more water and provide it daily weather if cycling or not. In saying that, do bring yourselves 4 to 6 large bottles of water.
    Packing -nothing too heavy do plan on layers, it was warmer than expected .
    If you bring alcohol on to the boat you can only drink in your room.
    Crew were great as was the guide and the food prepared by the Cook!!!

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Neil M. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Cycling along the Danube of course was the highlight for sure.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Vitali B. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I am very glad that I did this trip: the boat, cabin, food, bike, everything was very good. But there were some challenges, which I would like to mention.
    1. The tour guide (Jan, his first name) was not rude, but more like indifferent to your problems. Very often his answer was ""It's up to you. You want this, go this way, you want that, go that way."" Hr didn't try to understand your problem and to find the best solution for your situation.
    2. Bike path pavement sometimes was bad and poorly marked. For people with not good vision (like myself) it was a big problem. European bikers are more aggressive speed wise and more comfortable in the crowded environment. It was a problem to have pedestrians and bikers in both directions at the same time. So, for me it was easy to complete 50-60 kilometers physically, but it was stressful psychologically to be in such crowded place.
    3. Unguided tour is a challenge: you can get lost, something Read more… can happen to you, your bike, and no help is available. One person locked a bike and lost a key. I even do not know how he came back on the boat. I am writing all these problems to give future fellow travelers more real picture before making a decision to take this trip, and moreover how to prepare yourself for the trip. My mistake was that I was thinking that if I can do 40 miles on the bike, I am ready for the trip. Physical part is not enough. You should be ready physically, but also you should be able to function in the crowded city environment at low speed, be able to repair your bike, if needed, to read a map, and not to expect that all people in the world like Americans. Sorry for being so long, but I really wanted to give the most truthful picture of my experience.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Mari H. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The new friends we made! We absolutely enjoyed the other travelers we ate with every meal! They became great friends despite language differences. It was a fantastic trip. We blogged our trip!

    Boat: Normandie

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Kimberly W. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The MS Normandie took us on a fabulous adventure down the Danube from Passau to Vienna. The last day of biking was the most memorable as we rode thru some gently rolling hillsides and were enveloped by vineyards and orchards. The quiet and the beauty of the scenery was breathtaking!
    Because it was all so beautiful we would on a daily basis become distracted and veer off the designated route (or maybe we were lacking in the map-reading skills). Therefore, after the second day we decided to each rent an e-bike so that it wouldn't be a huge deal if we got off the beaten path and put on extra miles. Best decision we made all week! Our new equipment helped us to keep up with some new found(older) friends who were rocking the routes every day.
    The evenings were mostly composed of a nice slow 4-course meal (stellar offerings) and catching up with friends and family via the sketchy internet service. I would suggest you bring along a game or two and some books.
    Read more… >Couldn't have imagined a more complete and perfect vacation. We just had to get ourselves to and from the launch and dock sites and the staff of the MS Normandie took care of the rest!

    Boat: Normandie

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Patricia L. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The majority of the Danube cycling routes are truly beautiful. We were worried about the bikes only having 7 speeds, however it was only an issue when we made the climb to the Mauthausen Concentration Camp. Otherwise, they were fine. The staff on the Normandie were fabulous, as was the food. I esp. want to thank Ani and Mikki who were a huge help to us prior to the trip. We had lots of questions and they always answered them quickly and thoroughly. I plan on continuing to book my trips with Tripsite. What a great company!

    Boat: Normandie

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Robert W. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The entire trip was memorable for me. I took lots of video and still shots. My plan is to create some YouTube videos to share the experience. I have wanted to do the ride along the Danube for several years and I finally got my chance. It was everything I expected and more. I am now looking at the choices for my next cycling adventure in Europe.

    Boat: Normandie

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Margaret M. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Walking and biking around Vienna. It is a beautifully restored city with so many historic buildings and places to take your breath away. Our bike guide Bernd added to the experience by translating for us all the history and important information as we were the only English speakers on the trip.

    Boat: Normandie

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Jim and Margaret Molineux 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We have just returned from our boat/bike adventure and enjoyed it immensely. Being the only English speaking passengers on the trip, we were in the care of the multilingual SE bike tour guides; Bernd, Andreas and Wolfgang. And look after us they did. With all the tours and information in German, we would have missed so much if it hadn't been for Bernd showing up everywhere to translate for us. The staff on board were helpful, courteous and efficient. Food was gourmet and even with cool and often wet weather, tours were interesting and biking was exhilarating. Bikes were brand new, maps were clear and information given beforehand made navigating easy. Ebikes are the way to go if climbing hills is difficult; although it is mostly flat.
    We would absolutely do this again with Trip Site or SE Tours.

    Boat: Normandie

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Ross M. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Sometimes we were unsure if we were on the route or not. Maybe could have had some additional signage along route.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Pat L. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The most memorable part was Day 6 Rossatz - Pochlarn was the most scenic part of the trail. Magical small villages - wish the whole route could have been like this. Most of the trail was uneventful, some of the trail was in poor shape and rough riding.
    Unfortunately, there was a language barrier between the Americans and the tour guide, so instructions were not always clear, and we needed to fend for ourselves most of the time. Certain sections of map were confusing and trail was not well marked. We made it though, and enjoyed the adventure!
    Beautiful cities and villages to visit - wish we would have had more time to explore! All in all very good trail ride and good trip!

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by M. Linwood 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We found the boat comfortable and the staff really helpful and friendly. The trip was most relaxing and a good insight into the Danube countryside.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by L. Schmidlin 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Was a great trip. Boat and tour guide were outstanding. Some of the staff were a bit stand-offish, but within reason. Just didn't make you feel 100% welcomed all the time (made you feel more of a guest than family) but again, well within reason. Got lost a few times so perhaps the maps could be a bit more directed, but again, not bad. Overall, it was a great experience and I would highly recommend it. Thanks - Larry

    Boat: Normandie

PWPC