Normandie boat/barge tour reviews — 31 to 60 of 97

3.9 out of 5

 


Donald V.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Normandie Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The staff on the boat were wonderful. Very helpful, friendly and hard working. The food on the boat was excellent. They consistently turned out perfectly prepared delicious meals. The bicycles were in excellent condition and performed perfectly. I thoroughly enjoyed this trip.

Frank M.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Normandie Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The daily briefing on what to see and do really helped to get the most out of the bike and barge tour.

Charles H.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Normandie Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Wachau valley was my favorite part...small towns, great shops and wine.

Sylvia G.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Normandie Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Everything was well organized and the staff very friendly and helpful. We loved the whole trip . The countryside was beautiful.

Lynn F.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Normandie Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
Austria, Germany

Our trip was along the Danube to Vienna. It was a wonderful trip, the scenery was lovely, and we were lucky with the weather... it only drizzled one afternoon! The little towns we went through were really cute & charming. We felt the tour guide could have done a better job by telling us the distances between start and finish in terms of time & kilometers. We managed quite well, but it would have been nice to know. Otherwise, the whole trip was fantastic!

Barbara H.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Normandie Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
Austria, Germany

The most memorable part of our trip was getting on our bikes daily and biking next to the river with lovely towns and countryside. Quite free!
Our meals were just wonderful! We requested vegan meals and were delighted with each and every meal! This whole trip was special!

Beverly K.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Normandie Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Excellent trip, experience, food, accommodations, etc.

Robert L.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Normandie Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
Austria, Germany

We loved this trip! The best way to experience Europe’s beautiful rivers and countryside is over the handlebars!

Karen K.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Normandie Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Most Memorable Part: The last day of our trip we cycled through small towns and vineyards. Stopped at a beautiful small church and were able to hear the choir practicing. We (6 of us) will never forget that part of the trip.

Ceri B.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Normandie Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The barge was wonderful and the staff most helpful and professional. I wouldn’t hesitate to go on another biking trip. Thank you for a job well done.

Colin M.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Normandie Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Every aspect of this trip exceeded our expectations. The boat staff could not have been more friendly and accommodating. The rooms and food were excellent. The bicycles were in top condition, and the cycling director was a wealth of information about each day's itinerary. Our friends are tired of hearing us rave about how wonderful the trip was.

Doug N.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Normandie Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
Austria, Germany

It was a great trip. We traveled with another couple and they also very much enjoyed the trip. Room on the boat was comfortable, food was good, bikes were good. A nice combination of fresh air, exercise and comfort. Have already recommended to others.

Patricia M.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Normandie Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The staff were wonderful and attentive and the biking equipment was excellent. It was tremendously satisfying to enjoy this beautiful part of the world on bike and then return to the comfort of the boat each evening. Looking forward to the next trip!!

Diane F.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Normandie Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Our bike barge trip along the Danube in October 2017 was a great experience. Biking was fabulous, the paths we're all very good for the most part. The scenery was beautiful. We were very pleased with the friendliness of the staff and all the accommodations made for us. The food was all nicely presented and abundant. Our group of eight friends definitely would like to do another trip! Great scenery, great exercise, and an overall wonderful experience!

Sue H.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Normandie Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

I really enjoyed the first and last days a lot which were in the beautiful countryside along the Danube. It was good to see the cities but the visits too short to really visit anything in depth.
I recommend the Mozart concert which I really enjoyed.
I loved meeting people from other countries and wish we could have had meal seating change every couple of days to mix with other people who also were interested in meeting others.

Beverly K.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Normandie Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

It was great from beginning to end. The only thing I might suggest would be perhaps a better map on a couple of the days for our biking excursion. We found our way, but got a little confused in a couple of spots. Staff was excellent, tour guide bent over backwards for us, food was delicious, etc. Working with Susanna prior to our trip was so easy and she answered all my questions. I would do it again!

John J.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Normandie Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
Austria, Germany

Most Memorable Part? The people I met on board - staff and guests - and the scenery.

Mary Lyn H.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Normandie Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Loved the itinerary and biking routes!
Barge suggestions:
Dinner seat assignments-- still place with others of the same language, but not necessarily from the same country.
The upper outdoor covered lounge allowed smoking which meant the entire area could be filled with smoke! This type of trip is for active, healthy lifestyle people...smoking should be confined to a small area in front of the pilot house (or not at all).

Colin M.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Normandie Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The most memorable part of the trip? Everything: the boat, staff, accommodations, food, cycling director, bicycles were far better than I expected. The daily orientations by the cycling director were very informative, not only about cycling conditions, but also about refreshment stops and sightseeing. This trip could not have been better.

Barbara H.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Normandie Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
Austria, Germany

Fabulous bike/barge adventure in Germany/Austria! We'll be back! The cycling was on beautiful paths along the Danube. The food and service onboard were extraordinary.

Karen L.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Normandie Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The most memorable part of the trip were the people I had the opportunity to meet including the staff who were extremely courteous.

Jeanne S.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Normandie Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The boat its self is quaint. The cycling was scenic, beautiful and had a variation of easy to moderately challenging rides for an average cyclist, pretty doable for anyone. My only suggestion is to provide more water and provide it daily weather if cycling or not. In saying that, do bring yourselves 4 to 6 large bottles of water.
Packing -nothing too heavy do plan on layers, it was warmer than expected .
If you bring alcohol on to the boat you can only drink in your room.
Crew were great as was the guide and the food prepared by the Cook!!!

Neil M.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Normandie Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Cycling along the Danube of course was the highlight for sure.

Vitali B.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Normandie Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

I am very glad that I did this trip: the boat, cabin, food, bike, everything was very good. But there were some challenges, which I would like to mention.
1. The tour guide (Jan, his first name) was not rude, but more like indifferent to your problems. Very often his answer was ""It's up to you. You want this, go this way, you want that, go that way."" Hr didn't try to understand your problem and to find the best solution for your situation.
2. Bike path pavement sometimes was bad and poorly marked. For people with not good vision (like myself) it was a big problem. European bikers are more aggressive speed wise and more comfortable in the crowded environment. It was a problem to have pedestrians and bikers in both directions at the same time. So, for me it was easy to complete 50-60 kilometers physically, but it was stressful psychologically to be in such crowded place.
3. Unguided tour is a challenge: you can get lost, something Read More

Mari H.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Normandie Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
Austria, Germany

The new friends we made! We absolutely enjoyed the other travelers we ate with every meal! They became great friends despite language differences. It was a fantastic trip. We blogged our trip!

Kimberly W.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Normandie Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
Austria, Germany

The MS Normandie took us on a fabulous adventure down the Danube from Passau to Vienna. The last day of biking was the most memorable as we rode thru some gently rolling hillsides and were enveloped by vineyards and orchards. The quiet and the beauty of the scenery was breathtaking!
Because it was all so beautiful we would on a daily basis become distracted and veer off the designated route (or maybe we were lacking in the map-reading skills). Therefore, after the second day we decided to each rent an e-bike so that it wouldn't be a huge deal if we got off the beaten path and put on extra miles. Best decision we made all week! Our new equipment helped us to keep up with some new found(older) friends who were rocking the routes every day.
The evenings were mostly composed of a nice slow 4-course meal (stellar offerings) and catching up with friends and family via the sketchy internet service. I would suggest you bring along a game or two and some books.
Couldn't have imagined a more complete and perfect vacation. We just had to get ourselves to and from the launch and dock sites and the staff of the MS Normandie took care of the rest!

Patricia L.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Normandie Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
Austria, Germany

The majority of the Danube cycling routes are truly beautiful. We were worried about the bikes only having 7 speeds, however it was only an issue when we made the climb to the Mauthausen Concentration Camp. Otherwise, they were fine. The staff on the Normandie were fabulous, as was the food. I esp. want to thank Ani and Mikki who were a huge help to us prior to the trip. We had lots of questions and they always answered them quickly and thoroughly. I plan on continuing to book my trips with Tripsite. What a great company!

Robert W.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Normandie Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
Austria, Germany

The entire trip was memorable for me. I took lots of video and still shots. My plan is to create some YouTube videos to share the experience. I have wanted to do the ride along the Danube for several years and I finally got my chance. It was everything I expected and more. I am now looking at the choices for my next cycling adventure in Europe.

Margaret M.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Normandie Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
Austria, Germany

Walking and biking around Vienna. It is a beautifully restored city with so many historic buildings and places to take your breath away. Our bike guide Bernd added to the experience by translating for us all the history and important information as we were the only English speakers on the trip.

Jim and Margaret Molineux
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Normandie Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
Austria, Germany

We have just returned from our boat/bike adventure and enjoyed it immensely. Being the only English speaking passengers on the trip, we were in the care of the multilingual SE bike tour guides; Bernd, Andreas and Wolfgang. And look after us they did. With all the tours and information in German, we would have missed so much if it hadn't been for Bernd showing up everywhere to translate for us. The staff on board were helpful, courteous and efficient. Food was gourmet and even with cool and often wet weather, tours were interesting and biking was exhilarating. Bikes were brand new, maps were clear and information given beforehand made navigating easy. Ebikes are the way to go if climbing hills is difficult; although it is mostly flat.
We would absolutely do this again with Trip Site or SE Tours.