Bike tour reviews with boat/barge Normandie 61 to 90 of 93

 

 Boat/Barge: Normandie • REMOVE  About Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by A. Roebelen 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The bike path signs were sometimes hard to follow and we got off course a few times.
    The staff of the boat, The Normandie, was fabulous. The food was better than we expected and they were very accommodating with our lunches. The wifi was very disappointing.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by H. Hausch 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Really liked our trip director Andreas. The Theodor Koerner excellent boat with superb staff.

    Boat: Normandie

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by J. Wagemakers 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This adventure was more than we expected. The boat was very well equipped, and our cabin was comfortable and larger than we expected. The staff was very friendly and dealt with all of our needs, and the meals were fabulous. Our bikes were well maintained and were well suited for the route we rode. The scenery was amazing and we come home with a collection of pictures and memories.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by R. Hennigan 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Our Normandie trip from Passau to Budapest was spectacular! The weather, the boat, the food, the fellow bikers, the countryside and the bikes were all a delight. We were also pleased to learn that our guide rode each day. He was very knowledgeable; however, under stress was verbally contentious and short with guests. It became almost comical and so we learned to stay out of his way during certain times of the day. Nevertheless, the trip was a dream and we thank-you!!

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by E. Heide 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We would have like more written details of the areas we were seeing. We also would have liked a stronger wifi connection. Food and service was excellent.

    Boat: Normandie

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by E. Correll 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Bicycling Passau to Vienna with the MS Normandie was a great experience. The bicycle route was mostly flat and in top condition. The views along the way were scenic and enjoyable. The small villages were charming and the larger cities were very beautiful. Our accommodations and meals on the boat were wonderful. One of my favorite experiences of the week was the optional trip to the opera house in Vienna. I am especially glad I didn't miss it. This was my third Tripsite tour and overall this adventure was everything and more that I had hoped for. I would highly recommend it to anyone that loves cycling. I think it is suitable for all skill levels. I will say that on this tour the guides daily instructions were minimal. His input was very basic and quite a disappointment compared to past guides. No photo slide show with instructions such as, "when you see this landmark or sign be sure to turn here." The guide books with maps that were provided were of great assistance, Read more… however, and we were able to compensate for the most part by carefully following these written instructions. There was also a small tourist guide book in each room from which you could read about points of interest in each city and village along the way. As I said, overall this was a fantastic week and my friend and I loved every minute!

    Boat: Normandie

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by J Lillis 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Wonderful trip. Our room smelled really bad when we arrived. Mentioned it to the cleaning staff and they said it was the air conditioner. They were on the problem immediately and made sure we had no further problem. Bit of confusion with bike insurance, but on contacting Tripsite on our return this was dealt with immediately (thank you!). Might want to consider having a basic first aid kit onboard I fell in Vienna and badly sprained my ankle - no breaks fortunately. Had to get ice from he bar as there was nothing else available they couldn't give me much as it was needed for the drinks.

    Boat: Normandie

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Susan Dawood 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Never brought it up to the bike staff, but gears on my bike were difficult to manage. I attributed it to my having small hands, but I also thought the gears should be replaced soon, for the next "small handed" guest.

    It was a wonderful experience and we were fortunate to have beautiful weather the entire week.

    Boat: Normandie

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by David Pomfret 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We had a fantastic time it was a highlight of the trip; can't say about the bikes as we had our own.

    Boat: Normandie

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Bill Fleshman 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This is the 3rd travel group I've put together through tripsite and each was very enjoyable. My groups ranged in size from 3 to 12. The first was a land bike trip in Provence, France and the next two were bike and boat trips on the Mozel and the Danube. I am not associated with a tour company but found working with Tripsite personnel, Mary, Carla and others, to be easy even for a novice like me to put together such trips. I have worked with other agencies but have found Tripsite to be more "reachable" and available at any time I had questions. I will continue to use them for future group and individual trips.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Steve Slinkard 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Guides should have provided a little more detail (distance between turns, landmarks, areas to pay extra attention, etc)

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Gail Black 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I enjoyed staying put at night better than the barge moving at night. We have done both and I enjoy walking around in the evening.I also would not have so many ferry crossings in the next trip. Puts a time factor in the ride.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Kathryn Smith 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The tour guide, Jan (not sure of the spelling) was amazing! He was funny, helpful and friendly. All the logistics with the bike stuff worked very smoothly.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Brent McLean 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Would be nice to sit with other people at meals. Everyone was great and it felt like we were on a camping trip.

    Boat: Normandie

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Hong Gao 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    It was a great trip, thank you.

    Boat: Normandie

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Lois Farmer 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    At times the trip leading gave incomplete information regarding routes, detours and conditions although the German speaking people received better information - he should use a specific outline when giving such information to be sure it is complete.

    The food was great except for the Wiener Schnitzel which was not interesting at all. A real disappointment in fact. (I have traveled to Austria often and know a less than impressive meal when I receive it.)

    I had booked an extra night in Passau but could not use it due to airline delays. I called Tripsite which could not reimburse me, which I understand. However, I have twice requested a statement from them that I cannot be reimbursed so that I can use it for my trip insurance - I still have not received it.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Kimberley McEwan 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We loved the Along the Danube cycling trip. The entire tour was very well organized and we really had no complaints. It was a great way to travel and sightsee several countries and the Fall was a great time of year. We are planning our next cycling trip already.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Sharon Cratsenberg 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Perfect weather, gorgeous scenery, wonderful riding--loved every minute of the trip.

    Boat: Normandie

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Corinne Bauer 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Fabulous guides, wonderful scenery, food, very helpful Tripsite staff. Will be taking another trip as soon as I can!

    Boat: Normandie

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by John Bowyer 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Wonderful trip along the Danube. If you are biker you will find the bikes lacking. My wife with her spinal cord injury used an electric assist which worked very well.

    Boat: Normandie

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Susan Knight 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Amazing scenery, great company, delicious food, kind staff and somewhere comfy to sleep - with no unpacking! However,the crux of these trips stems from the quality of the guides. Our first trip, to Vienna, Had a guide that knew the route well, but smoked at every stop, and wanted to always eat dinner at somewhere he could buy alcohol; we preferred to eat our rolls in the fresh air, which sometimes was tricky. He tended to ride off without checking we were all ready, leaving riders behind until someone caught him. Our second trip (Merzig to Koblenz) had a lady guide who was not at all familiar with the area, but used her GPS to locate landmarks and routes (sometimes taking the shortest, not the most scenic). She didn't give an initial safety talk, she changed the route from the easy one offered to a more scenic but quite difficult one, causing one older, inexperienced lady to fall (end of trip for her and her husband,, hospitalisation for almost a fortnight, skingraft). Our Read more… replacement guide tried hard, but couldn't seem to match the route to the one we'd booked, so we missed seeing things we'd looked forward to. So our last trip, Koblenz to Amsterdam, was not one we would recommend unless they sorted the route out. Apart from the above, we'd recommend this mode of travel.

    Boat: Normandie

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Beverly Rudeen 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    With 100 passengers & half German speaking/half English speaking I would recommend 2 guides instead of one. At times our guide seemed overwhelmed with questions, assistance, etc....

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Kimberley McEwan 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The Bike and Barge cycling trip was a great way to experience new countries. The cycling paths along the Danube are excellent and the riding was very enjoyable. We will be looking at other bike and barge options through Tripsite.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Janet Humphrey 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    They need to provide better maps or route sheets. Manager of the boat (Peter) was very unfriendly and sometimes rude.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Margaret Knode 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Staff was incredible. Only change I would make is in the dining room. To be allocated to a table with the same people for every meal was restrictive. We go on trips to meet people from different countries and to make new friends. On speaking with other travellers they mentioned that open seating would have made the whole experience that much more enjoyable. We thoroughly enjoyed our dining companions, but what if you didn't you were stuck all week.

    Can't say enough about how accommodating the staff were, especially in the dining room. Many thanks! Want to do the trip again next year add bring my siblings.

    Boat: Normandie

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Brenda Alberico 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Would be helpful if bikes had water cages

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Brett McGillivray 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Besides information on the bike routes, I enjoyed the information on side trips.

    Boat: Normandie

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Howard Christie 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Trip maps were difficult to decipher in some cases and needed more explanation. There were too many questions of ""which way do we go?, we must have missed our turn, where's the ferry?

    Why couldn't we get a cup of coffee or tea before 7am or 4pm? Why couldn't we get a beer in the lounge right after returning from ride? Why couldn't we drop off our panniers before 4 on Friday when the man in charge was sitting at his desk doing nothing? The crew for the most part was accommodating but the Teutonic influence was in evidence too often, and I am 50% German. My grandfather having served for Germany in the First World War.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Tess Tholstrup 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    What I didn't like was the fact that the ships organisers would have known that the Water levels in the Danube would not be sufficient for the boat to moor in Budapest long before they told us. I feel that we weren't told as it would have put in jeopardy people attending the trip.

    Otherwise everything else exceeded my expectations. The only staff member who could have done better was the guy in charge of the bike courses.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Harvey & Sharon Rishe 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Although we are seasoned travelers and fairly fit cyclists, we were new to bike & boat touring, and as a result we probably drove TripSite's Carla crazy! But her patience never faltered; she was generous and gracious with answers to our interminable questions and we arrived in Passau well informed and ready to have a great time.

    Our expectations were met and exceeded. Not only had Carla prepared us well, but Rad & Reisen proved to be a world class organization. The accommodations were lovely, the gourmet meals splendid, the route information excellent, the professionalism and friendliness of the crew impeccable, and the camaraderie among fellow travelers delightful. Not to mention the gorgeous Danube scenery, the interesting villages, and beautiful Vienna!

    We were so happy with TripSite and Rad & Reisen that we are already researching our next bike and boat trip with them! Thank you for a lifetime of wonderful memories.

    Harvey & Sharon Read more… Rishe
    Salt Lake City, Utah

    Boat: Normandie

    Countries: Austria, Germany

PWPC