Normandie boat/barge tour reviews — 61 to 90 of 97

3.9 out of 5

 


Ross M.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Normandie Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Sometimes we were unsure if we were on the route or not. Maybe could have had some additional signage along route.

Pat L.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Normandie Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The most memorable part was Day 6 Rossatz - Pochlarn was the most scenic part of the trail. Magical small villages - wish the whole route could have been like this. Most of the trail was uneventful, some of the trail was in poor shape and rough riding.
Unfortunately, there was a language barrier between the Americans and the tour guide, so instructions were not always clear, and we needed to fend for ourselves most of the time. Certain sections of map were confusing and trail was not well marked. We made it though, and enjoyed the adventure!
Beautiful cities and villages to visit - wish we would have had more time to explore! All in all very good trail ride and good trip!

M. Linwood
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Normandie Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

We found the boat comfortable and the staff really helpful and friendly. The trip was most relaxing and a good insight into the Danube countryside.

L. Schmidlin
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Normandie Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Was a great trip. Boat and tour guide were outstanding. Some of the staff were a bit stand-offish, but within reason. Just didn't make you feel 100% welcomed all the time (made you feel more of a guest than family) but again, well within reason. Got lost a few times so perhaps the maps could be a bit more directed, but again, not bad. Overall, it was a great experience and I would highly recommend it. Thanks - Larry

A. Roebelen
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Normandie Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The bike path signs were sometimes hard to follow and we got off course a few times.
The staff of the boat, The Normandie, was fabulous. The food was better than we expected and they were very accommodating with our lunches. The wifi was very disappointing.

H. Hausch
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Normandie Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
Austria, Germany

Really liked our trip director Andreas. The Theodor Koerner excellent boat with superb staff.

J. Wagemakers
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Normandie Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

This adventure was more than we expected. The boat was very well equipped, and our cabin was comfortable and larger than we expected. The staff was very friendly and dealt with all of our needs, and the meals were fabulous. Our bikes were well maintained and were well suited for the route we rode. The scenery was amazing and we come home with a collection of pictures and memories.

R. Hennigan
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Normandie Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Our Normandie trip from Passau to Budapest was spectacular! The weather, the boat, the food, the fellow bikers, the countryside and the bikes were all a delight. We were also pleased to learn that our guide rode each day. He was very knowledgeable; however, under stress was verbally contentious and short with guests. It became almost comical and so we learned to stay out of his way during certain times of the day. Nevertheless, the trip was a dream and we thank-you!!

E. Heide
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Normandie Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
Austria, Germany

We would have like more written details of the areas we were seeing. We also would have liked a stronger wifi connection. Food and service was excellent.

E. Correll
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Normandie Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
Austria, Germany

Bicycling Passau to Vienna with the MS Normandie was a great experience. The bicycle route was mostly flat and in top condition. The views along the way were scenic and enjoyable. The small villages were charming and the larger cities were very beautiful. Our accommodations and meals on the boat were wonderful. One of my favorite experiences of the week was the optional trip to the opera house in Vienna. I am especially glad I didn't miss it. This was my third Tripsite tour and overall this adventure was everything and more that I had hoped for. I would highly recommend it to anyone that loves cycling. I think it is suitable for all skill levels. I will say that on this tour the guides daily instructions were minimal. His input was very basic and quite a disappointment compared to past guides. No photo slide show with instructions such as, "when you see this landmark or sign be sure to turn here." The guide books with maps that were provided were of great assistance, Read More

J Lillis
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Normandie Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
Austria, Germany

Wonderful trip. Our room smelled really bad when we arrived. Mentioned it to the cleaning staff and they said it was the air conditioner. They were on the problem immediately and made sure we had no further problem. Bit of confusion with bike insurance, but on contacting Tripsite on our return this was dealt with immediately (thank you!). Might want to consider having a basic first aid kit onboard I fell in Vienna and badly sprained my ankle - no breaks fortunately. Had to get ice from he bar as there was nothing else available they couldn't give me much as it was needed for the drinks.

Susan Dawood
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Normandie Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
Austria, Germany

Never brought it up to the bike staff, but gears on my bike were difficult to manage. I attributed it to my having small hands, but I also thought the gears should be replaced soon, for the next "small handed" guest.

It was a wonderful experience and we were fortunate to have beautiful weather the entire week.

David Pomfret
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Normandie Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
Austria, Germany

We had a fantastic time it was a highlight of the trip; can't say about the bikes as we had our own.

Bill Fleshman
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Normandie Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

This is the 3rd travel group I've put together through tripsite and each was very enjoyable. My groups ranged in size from 3 to 12. The first was a land bike trip in Provence, France and the next two were bike and boat trips on the Mozel and the Danube. I am not associated with a tour company but found working with Tripsite personnel, Mary, Carla and others, to be easy even for a novice like me to put together such trips. I have worked with other agencies but have found Tripsite to be more "reachable" and available at any time I had questions. I will continue to use them for future group and individual trips.

Steve Slinkard
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Normandie Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Guides should have provided a little more detail (distance between turns, landmarks, areas to pay extra attention, etc)

Gail Black
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Normandie Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

I enjoyed staying put at night better than the barge moving at night. We have done both and I enjoy walking around in the evening.I also would not have so many ferry crossings in the next trip. Puts a time factor in the ride.

Kathryn Smith
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Normandie Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The tour guide, Jan (not sure of the spelling) was amazing! He was funny, helpful and friendly. All the logistics with the bike stuff worked very smoothly.

Brent McLean
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Normandie Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
Austria, Germany

Would be nice to sit with other people at meals. Everyone was great and it felt like we were on a camping trip.

Hong Gao
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Normandie Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
Austria, Germany

It was a great trip, thank you.

Lois Farmer
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Normandie Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

At times the trip leading gave incomplete information regarding routes, detours and conditions although the German speaking people received better information - he should use a specific outline when giving such information to be sure it is complete.

The food was great except for the Wiener Schnitzel which was not interesting at all. A real disappointment in fact. (I have traveled to Austria often and know a less than impressive meal when I receive it.)

I had booked an extra night in Passau but could not use it due to airline delays. I called Tripsite which could not reimburse me, which I understand. However, I have twice requested a statement from them that I cannot be reimbursed so that I can use it for my trip insurance - I still have not received it.

Kimberley McEwan
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Normandie Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

We loved the Along the Danube cycling trip. The entire tour was very well organized and we really had no complaints. It was a great way to travel and sightsee several countries and the Fall was a great time of year. We are planning our next cycling trip already.

Sharon Cratsenberg
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Normandie Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
Austria, Germany

Perfect weather, gorgeous scenery, wonderful riding--loved every minute of the trip.

Corinne Bauer
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Normandie Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
Austria, Germany

Fabulous guides, wonderful scenery, food, very helpful Tripsite staff. Will be taking another trip as soon as I can!

John Bowyer
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Normandie Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
Austria, Germany

Wonderful trip along the Danube. If you are biker you will find the bikes lacking. My wife with her spinal cord injury used an electric assist which worked very well.

Susan Knight
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Normandie Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
Austria, Germany

Amazing scenery, great company, delicious food, kind staff and somewhere comfy to sleep - with no unpacking! However,the crux of these trips stems from the quality of the guides. Our first trip, to Vienna, Had a guide that knew the route well, but smoked at every stop, and wanted to always eat dinner at somewhere he could buy alcohol; we preferred to eat our rolls in the fresh air, which sometimes was tricky. He tended to ride off without checking we were all ready, leaving riders behind until someone caught him. Our second trip (Merzig to Koblenz) had a lady guide who was not at all familiar with the area, but used her GPS to locate landmarks and routes (sometimes taking the shortest, not the most scenic). She didn't give an initial safety talk, she changed the route from the easy one offered to a more scenic but quite difficult one, causing one older, inexperienced lady to fall (end of trip for her and her husband,, hospitalisation for almost a fortnight, skingraft). Our Read More

Beverly Rudeen
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Normandie Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

With 100 passengers & half German speaking/half English speaking I would recommend 2 guides instead of one. At times our guide seemed overwhelmed with questions, assistance, etc....

Kimberley McEwan
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Normandie Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The Bike and Barge cycling trip was a great way to experience new countries. The cycling paths along the Danube are excellent and the riding was very enjoyable. We will be looking at other bike and barge options through Tripsite.

Janet Humphrey
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Normandie Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

They need to provide better maps or route sheets. Manager of the boat (Peter) was very unfriendly and sometimes rude.

Margaret Knode
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Normandie Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
Austria, Germany

Staff was incredible. Only change I would make is in the dining room. To be allocated to a table with the same people for every meal was restrictive. We go on trips to meet people from different countries and to make new friends. On speaking with other travellers they mentioned that open seating would have made the whole experience that much more enjoyable. We thoroughly enjoyed our dining companions, but what if you didn't you were stuck all week.

Can't say enough about how accommodating the staff were, especially in the dining room. Many thanks! Want to do the trip again next year add bring my siblings.

Brenda Alberico
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Normandie Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Would be helpful if bikes had water cages