4 star rated Hungary Bike Tour Reviews 1 to 30 of 81

 

 Country: Hungary • REMOVE

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Ann R. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The scenery was wonderful and the biking very enjoyable. It was a nice balance between biking and being about to see the sights. Especially loved the day in Vienna. It was all lovely.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Peggy O. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Great biking and lovely boat.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Simone C. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I loved the trip. The crew was very attentive, the itinerary was beautiful, the meals positively surprised me, the room was well equipped and spacious. I recommend the tour.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Carol M. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The food was fabulous! 5 star for sure.
    I would suggest either doing a cycling tour or sightseeing tour but not combining them.We had to rush to get back to the boat from cycling sometimes.
    Not enough small towns/villages when we cycled on this tour. The tour guide was extremely bad.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube-Iron Gates
    by R Lynn B. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Wonderful trip through 7 countries with breathtaking scenery. Biking most days about 25-30 miles on mostly excellent bike paths.Fun day stops in Vienna and Budapest. Most excursions for dinner or entertainment well worth it!
    Be sure to ride prior to going otherwise get the electric assisted but also need to ride and have cycling shorts/gear.
    Great trip!!

    Boat: Theodor Körner

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Marie R. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The staff was fantastic, food was great, bikes were good. Met great folks there at the dinner table. Enjoyed being able to have walking tours in Vienna and Budapest, broke the week up nicely.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Danube Bike Path - Vienna to Budapest
    by Ed D. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Each city or town visited was a treasure. Lot's to explore. The hotels were good, many in excellent locations. Breakfast was large. The bike riding was pleasant.

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Louise E. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Beautiful countries, great bikes and fun tour. Flexible dining seating would be preferred.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Darlene L. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The Beauty of the Surroundings, intimate boat, fantastic food, met new great friends!
    Instructions for biking could have been better.. with mileage.. to better time management for return to boat. Cruise Director too pompous for me... had better.. but think his last tour with you

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Kerrie G. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Loved the opportunity to cycle along the Danube and see more of the countryside and visit the small towns. Could have done without the wind though! Need to be prepared for all kinds of weather in October. Each day was different - Vienna and Budapest were amazing to visit (once again!).

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Peggy B. 6 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I really loved the last day of the bicycling - we rode through the beautiful Wachau valley’s vineyards. The towns were quaint and the landscape was breathtaking! Also, we had a sunset while on the barge that was unforgettable.
    Tips: *Be ready to adapt and roll with things. If you want a boring, unexciting trip, take a bus! *You will be in close contact with lots of other people. If that makes you uncomfortable, maybe this is not the trip for you. *Bring some salty snacks and other electrolyte-replacers, especially if biking in warm weather, as these are not available on the ship.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Deirdre E. 6 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part: Visiting wonderful towns and cities.
    We found that the bikes provided were very heavy, making them a bit tough to ride. We were there at the end of the season and the brakes on the bikes were worn out. The bike maintenance was not ideal

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Mary Joanne T. 6 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The efficiency of collecting and dropping off the bike at the beginning and the end of the day could not have gone smoother. The guidebooks were very helpful though it would have been nice to have more information on sights along the way. The bikes were extremely comfortable and we had no issues. We are already planning on our next tour!

  • Danube Bike Path - Passau to Budapest
    by Phil C. 6 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    My trip from Passau to Budapest was what I hoped it would be. The original information and directions were excellent. However there was almost no communication with Rad+Riesen once the trip started. This was not really a problem except for one day when my hotel was changed without notifying me until I arrived at the wrong hotel. Luggage transfer was smooth and breakfasts were good. Generally a very positive experience with a bit of adventure. The trip from Passau to Vienna was smoother than from Vienna to Budapest in all aspects, but both were memorable and enjoyable.

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Glenn M. 6 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We really enjoyed the biking. Most the trails were very nice and the scenery was beautiful.The most memorable part was probably the Wachau Valley. The bikes were very good. The rooms on the boat were good and the food was also plentiful and tasty.We enjoyed the entertainment put on by the crew.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube-Iron Gates
    by kirk g. 6 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Best Parts: cruising, dining, kitchen, bar, admin, cleaning staff - wonderful, friendly, helpful. couldn't be better
    food - very good variety and quality. lunches especially good
    cycling and tour director and staff - excellent every day with information, quality equipment, attention to questions
    ship public facilities - quite adequate quality and quantity. updating on decor is needed
    hotel staff - very nice, accommodating and efficient
    hotel - needs cleaning, air conditioning was not working every day, which was a problem. air quality was not great. updated decor is needed.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Adrienne N. 6 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Best Part? Biking along the Danube the first day in the beautiful countryside. Spectacular!!

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Cathy K. 6 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The biking was absolutely wonderful; so incredibly beautiful especially through the vineyards and orchards. The ride around Bratislava was not marked well at all and 90% of the riders got lost going in all different directions, thank God for smart phones. The food on board was well prepared, always hot and nutritional. Where this trip fell short was the crew abroad the Normandie. Unlike the other TWO Bike and Barge Trips I experienced, this crew was a bit unwelcoming, rude, and times condescending and scolding. Not everyone but it certainly was the feel on the boat and many were talking about it. I know the crew work long hours and they all have to help with most tasks on the boat; however, there would be nothing to do if WE weren't there. I absolutely love this way of travel and will do another one again very soon. This was NOT a Tripsite issue but am hopeful this information will be passed to the appropriate people. Tripsite has been excellent in providing information Read more… and always seems to offer a great deal.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Danube Bike Path - Vienna to Budapest
    by Patrice W. 6 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I loved the convenience of all the planning and coordinating by Tripsite which allowed my party to really enjoy the biking, hotels and experience of the trip. I was pleasantly surprised with the quality and care of the bikes which could make or break of this trip. Working with Tripsite was easy and pleasant.

  • Along the Danube-Iron Gates
    by Scott S. 7 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The Cycling and travel along the Danube River. Still more markings on the Bike routes.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

  • Along the Danube-Iron Gates
    by Roger P. 7 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part: Food & last day of riding + Vienna

    Boat: Theodor Körner

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Sarah H. 7 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We really enjoyed Wachau. Definitely stop for the wine tour, and enjoy the biking through the vineyards. It was absolutely beautiful.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Scott A. 8 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Riding in the foothills/vinyards in Austria. Stopping for a beer and a slice of homemade cake at a hotel on the trail.
    The boat was too slow traveling upstream against heavy current. This meant we were late in docking for our next ride. Yes, the current was heavy but this is likely to happen every spring.

    Boat: Arlene II

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Michael H. 9 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Best Part? The nice people on the boat

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Lorne H. 9 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Earlier this year (May), my wife and I did the 4 country bike - barge tour, on the Danube. First I have to remark that everything "Tripsite" advertised was delivered at what we thought to be a reasonable price. In spite of unusually cold (damp) weather, our first experience (s) in Passau, Bratislava, Budapest and Vienna were very memorable highlights. However, aboard the "Normandie" we did have some concerns with the overall tour management. There were some particularly disappointing moments with an apparent strategy to keep the English speaking guests, and non-english speaking guests (mostly German) separated? For our part, we were keen to mingle - assimilate with all the guests aboard. That should not reflect our overall impression of the boat crew, who were very courteous and helpful.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Patricia C. 9 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Sailing down the Danube at night under the full moon we witnessed the beautiful lighted bridges and magnificent buildings of Vienna. It was magical!

    Boat: Primadonna

  • Along the Danube-Iron Gates
    by Alex Zucosky 9 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This was a great experience. Andreas was a wonderful tour director/leader. 2 weeks aloud us to have a great experience. As this was the ship's first cruise of the year we did experience a problem with our room but Andreas resolved the problem promptly and provided some compensation for our troubles. The crew provided excellent service. The meals were better than expected( I am not a gourmet but enjoyed every meal). the bike routes were very interesting. Our only issue was with the a/c but as this was an older ship some things are not always up to modern standards. Great value.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

  • Along the Danube-Iron Gates
    by Gayle D. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Simple the thrill of cycling through Europe along the Danube River.

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Ken S. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We really enjoyed the Abbey in Melk, Tulln Gardens and the short walk about tour in Bratislavia

    Boat: Primadonna

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Mary B. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The most memorable part of the trip was sitting on the top deck in the evening, wrapped in a blanket, watching the clouds sail past the moon as the barge moved on to our next city on the Danube.
    Ensure you respond to the call to choose a table for meals on the barge if you wish to sit with or close to friends.
    Stay an extra night in Passau if you have the time...there is a lot to see and do.
    If possible, do some cycling before your trip to prepare you for the daily tours.
    If you would prefer to cycle with a guide let your agent know and they may be able to arrange it. It may be an option and worth an extra cost if it would make your trip more enjoyable.

    Boat: Primadonna

PWPC