Italy Tour Reviews — 301 to 330 of 408

4.7 out of 5

 


J Murphy
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Heel of Italy
Italy

The maps and route details were hard to follow at points, but the trip was very good: the ride, hotels and fellow cyclists.

mary
7 years ago

Tripsite Staff

Tuscany - Florence, Siena, and the Chianti
Italy

This is Mary from Tripsite and this was my very first Tripsite tour back in 2010, I believe. I was traveling alone and self guided so flexibility was required, not to mention that my first cycling day was the coldest on record for years! ( I was cycling in early April.) I did get turned around a few times as I learned to read the route descriptions and follow the maps but each Tuscan hilltop was a reward in and of itself. From this tour I learned that when cycling self guided do expect: 1. To get turned around at least once or twice 2. That the Italians will always tell you to go straight 3. That the ancient streets many times do not have their names clearly visible 4. That most of the towns are located on a hill. 5. That Tuscany is simply stunning! Highlight: seeing Florence from afar from a hilltop and then cycling down and into the ancient city itself. I also learned that some of the best experiences happen when you least expect it! I am giving this a four star because personally I felt the bike was very heavy (but thankfully geared low enough for the hills!)

Joel Angiolillo
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Green Hills of Abruzzo
Italy

Excellent trip. High quality, bikes, guides, lodging. No complaints. Very well organized. (except for the weather. :-).

Joanne White
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Bolzano-Mantova-Venice
Italy

This Bike and Barge tour was amazing, best holiday ever!

Julia Haschke
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Bolzano to Venice
Italy

It seemed the first hotels during the trip were very nice, and declined as the week went. Might've been a coincidence but it was a bit disappointing. The guides were amazing, as was the route in northern Italy. Was very happy with the experience, and was very organized and went very smoothly.

Claire Radcliffe
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Tuscany - Montecatini to Florence
Italy

We loved our Tripsite journey! We would love to do another ride one day, maybe next year! It was better than what we expected! Challenging and scenically! We trained hard beforehand and we're thankful that we did! I would recommend a Tripsite journey for anyone who is considering its! Thank you!

JoAnn Grand
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vita Pugna Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

The biking was not as scenic as other trips I have been on. However the food, staff and guide were excellent.

Terrence Kinal
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

Crew and guides were friendly and extremely helpful. Meals and snacks were great! Good sense of comradery due to the small number of passengers. Good bikes, rides were interesting and manageable.

Alfred Lilly
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vita Pugna Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

Understanding the trip was planned for little difficulty, expected that the terrain would be flat, but was hoping for more scenery and countryside to take in while biking. Perhaps if there was an option of having a sag vehicle for those who couldn't/didn't want more difficult terrain so the option was available for those who could do more ... and see more. Overall great experience, friendly crew and excellent food!

Lois Benson
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

The crew aboard the Ave Maria was cheerful and helpful, especially Michaela, who went above and beyond in helping with departure plans. The food was wonderful.
A group of 30 is a lot of work for the cycling guides, but I would have liked a few more rest breaks along the way, especially on the day to Ferrara.

James & Kimberly Engel
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

We have decided that this is the only way we now want to see other countries, up close and personal! What a wonderful experience!
Loved getting exercise every day while viewing the beautiful countryside. Even better was ending our ride with wine, a delicious dinner and new friends!

William Adams
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Green Hills of Abruzzo
Italy

Beautiful area, great accommodations and bikes. The first agriturisimo had the best food we have ever had in Italy. The biking was much more challenging than we were expecting. It would have been more accurate to describe it as moderate/difficult, but not as easy/moderate as it was listed in the trip description. We would have enjoyed the biking more if we had been better prepared. The guides were great.

Brian J Craig
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vita Pugna Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

Our Guide, Rosita was excellent, friendly, pleasant and very knowledgeable. Would recommend her anytime.

Mike Tansey
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vita Pugna Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

Recommended for novice cyclists only. Not challenging enough for experienced cyclists.

Bodil Nielsen
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

Sometimes it would have been nice to stop for pictures of the scenery, but did not want to go to the back of the pack or be left behind. Helmut was an excellent guide and made sure everybody was safe. Food on board was the best I had in Italy. Staff very friendly and went the extra mile for our friends birthday.

Patricia Leigh Trivette
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

We should have trained more for endurance. The guides were wonderful and took such good care of us. The bicycles were amazingly comfortable. Beautiful dinners nightly. Thank you all.

Mia Moran
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

This was our second Tripsite trip, last year Germany, this year Italy. I have highly recommended your trip to all my friends. We hope to have the opportunity to take another bike and barge.

Jane Boyers
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Deriya Deniz Amalfi Coast - Tyrrhenian Sea
Italy

Our trip was for very good/strong bikers unless you got the electric bike which was great! The scenery was spectacular along the Amalfi coast!

Elizabeth Goodall
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Lake Garda & the Adige River
Italy

Fourth trip with tripsite, all good and we keep coming back! Map books and directions have been the only things needing improvement, nothing we couldn't figure out but some confusion arose, eg getting out of Munich, some directions on the Resiapass Bolzano routes, to name two, otherwise no complaints.

Greg and Sue Thomas
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Green Hills of Abruzzo
Italy

Green Hills of Abruzzo should probably be listed as moderate rather than easy to moderate.

Ian Hamelin
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

We've experienced three Bike and Boat Tour in the past 15 months, and have already booked another for 2016. We absolutely love this mode of travel and the fact that it offers an active holiday, and the best of both site-seeing and exploring the countryside in a way that most other tours simply can not. We love sharing our experience with like-minded international travelers, and find we are extremely well treated by boat staff and guides.Together with the Tripsite staff, the website is a fabulous tool for selecting a holiday in that it allows us to compare boats, distances and routes. As a secondary benefit we find the Bike and Boat Tours offered by Tripsite to be excellent "value for money". We have recommended Tripsite to several friends and acquaintances, some of whom will be joining us on our next tour as "first-timers".

Kristine Johnson
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Venice to Poreč
Italy, Slovenia, Croatia

Traveling from Venice through northeast Italy and Trieste into Slovenia and Croatia was beautiful and culturally rich.

David Zimmer
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

The trip was great but the route was less than expected. The route was too much bike trails away from villages. We will definitely recommend Tripsite but not this trip. We look forward to our next trip with you guys.

Jennifer Scott
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

Great guides made the trip for us. Allowing 2 bike groups with different strengths was the best way.

Lynn Yetman
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

We have done 8 trips with Tripsite. All trips were great.

Norma Trinchero
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

Ave Maria, as well as 3 previous trips on the Merljin, superb. Some guides on Merjijn were mediocre, but Hein is incredible guide/person. Friends have recently taken B/B Red Hat?, bad experience. The above 4 trips speak highly of your program. Looking forward to next trip, F2017.

Katherine Graves
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

We loved this trip! It was so fun for our family of four. Our two boys, ages 11 & 14, enjoyed biking and stopping off to swim in the ocean, trying new delicious food, and learning from our wonderful guide, Fabio. The boat was very nice and the crew were lovely.

We had record setting beat the week we were there and yet still had a fantastic trip. The rooms stayed reasonably cool with the AC-- that was a life saver to have available.

If I had to change anything, I'd probably like to have the boat docked closer to Venice proper so it would be more accessible on arrival and through the first couple days. We made it work-- all a good adventure. The scenery on the bike route was relaxing-- not terribly dramatic, but really nice for small town explorers, birders, and those who enjoy farmland/pastoral scenery.
Pros: delicious food, easy cycling terrain, excellent City/town tours, comfortable rooms, great value, easy logistics when you don't have to move your stuff each day, meeting nice people from all over the world.
Cons: weather was exceedingly hot in July (but would do it again anyway!)

Richard Hoffmann
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

We had a fantastic time on the Ave Maria and we're lucky to have Hein as our guide.....great guy!

Julie Richardson
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Lake Garda
Italy

Garda Bike Hotel was terrific. The staff could not have been more friendly and accommodating. The rooms are quite nice and the hotel is very well maintained. The food at the hotel is prepared with athletes in mind: healthy, low sodium, and quite good. Not only would I recommend this trip, I am an evangelist of it.

Jeff & Barbara Wahlbrink
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Dolomites to Venice
Italy

A charming trip. Loved the experience. Hope to do more bike touring with Tripsite. My blog submission offers lots more positives. Thanks for publishing it! ; )

Now, if you really want some constructive criticism to share with Girolibero, here it is: Cue sheets were not up to date in a number of areas, which caused confusion and back-tracking. One of the days included a long stretch on a major highway, which was not too pleasant. The hotel in Belluno required that we haul our bikes up a long flight of stairs for overnight storage, and there was no elevator big enough or any staff available to help. ; The tandem bike provided was bigger/heavier than what we have at home, or what we expected. We are experienced cyclists, and we wished that there was an option for pedal cages or clips to give us some leverage on the hills. The gears on the tandem slipped regularly during climbs and the chain got stuck a few times. The brakes failed one day on a steep downhill, but Read More