Italy Bike Tour Reviews 271 to 300 of 339

 

 Country: Italy • REMOVE

  • Amalfi Coast - Tyrrhenian Sea - Bike & Boat
    by Frank McDowell 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    "The ""recommend this trip (Tyhrennian Sea)"" question is a difficult question to answer. Scenery is great. Pompeii great. Guide good. Some passengers had issues with the Capt. At the end of our third day out we were secured to our sister boat in such a way that we had to walk across the railings (not on deck) to transfer to our vessel. It was unsafe, and honestly, uncomfortable for the women. When a few of our female passengers shared their opinion with the Capt he dismissed their concerns. In fairness, he had slipped and broken several ribs while handling bikes and was probably not in the best mood. When we finished biking on this same day (very hot) the crew/guide made all of us wait while they loaded the bikes. We all thought that was odd. They did not offer an explanation. The scenery was very good, guide was a nice guy and very knowledgeable. The crew was mixed. Cook & first mate great. Barista not so much. Capt....I don't know. After his Read more… accident he left to recover. Forgot about our second night. The harbor was unprotected from the prevailing wind direction and we rocked on 2-3 waves all night. No one slept-crew included. I told Marilyn if we encounter another night like that I was getting a room. It was miserable. The rest of the anchorages were fine. After writing this I changed my survey answer from Yes to No. I would send them to Metz if they want easy biking and Croatia for difficult.

    On the plus side...The Metz (Merlijn 2013) & So Dalmatia tours (San Snova 2015) was excellent in every way. Crew, boat, scenery, guides. We'll return to Europe but events in Paris probably have many of us thinking about different options.

    Boat: Deriya Deniz

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Cheri Emahiser 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We were self-guided for 3 days. The road guides given us were written for bike riders using a GPS. No GPS was provided. Thus, the guides were a bit confusing. We didn't notice the odometers (and they were not pointed out to us during our orientation) on our bikes until it was too late. We should have attempted to track our mileage against the miles listed from point to point in the guide book. Instead, we followed the advice we were given during orientation, which was to just follow the green arrows. We got very lost one day. We followed the arrows in the wrong direction! We should have paid more attention to the road guide. It might be good to update the guides if GPS's are not going to be provided.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Biran Hobbs 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Personally I would have preferred another day of biking and a day less in Venice - If people wanted to see Venice they could stay an extra day or so after.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Lynne and Dave Taylor 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I'm filling this out as we booked with you twice--Burges to Amsterdam in 2012 and Venice to Mantova in 2014. both were bike and barge. We are about to book with you for the spring of this year--we are looking at 2 in Germany and the northern Netherlands We have yet to make up our minds on which one. We have had a great experience with your company and looking forward to another.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Tuscany - Montecatini to Florence
    by Jennifer Clarkson 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I loved the trip, I would go again in a heart beat!

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Wendy Bainbridge 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Our trip to Venice on the Ave Maria was our best cycling trip ever. Meals were fantastic, bikes excellent, Helmut a great guide. Loved the barge conversion to accommodation. Have recommended the trip to many Canadian friends. Hope to do another tour with you next year.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Tripsite Traveler: Barbara Wahlbrink
    by Millie Forrey 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Great description of your wonderful adventure. Enjoyed reading all about it.

    Countries: Italy

  • Tripsite Traveler: Barbara Wahlbrink
    by Peggy Mercier 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Enjoyed your great adventure and and the beautiful scenery!

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Patricia Trivette 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Depending on the potential participants: Even though we had read the pre-trip information several times, we were still surprised that the biking days were of pretty similar length ... we had thought there would be longer days mixed in with medium and shorter length days. Overall we were very happy with the trip and most impressed with the people who took care of us: guides and boat crew. The Ave Maria seems perfect for its job. We will be looking at other trips with you.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Nancy Cuono 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Scenery would have been a bit better if we'd gone two weeks earlier. Mid October was a bit late.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Clara Fleischhauer 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We enjoyed this trip very much. This was our first bike and barge trip and we would do it again. The entire staff was great and the guides were super. I did not hear one complaint about anything from any of the guests on board. That is testimony to a job well done in seeing to the comfort of the passengers and the enjoyability of the bike ride.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Jackie Shepherd 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Aside from all the other wonderful parts of the experience, I cannot say enough about our guides and vessel staff. My good experience began with the Tripsite contacts well before the trip was ever made.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Ruth Hoffmann 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This was a fun, easy ride. Our 2 guides made the trip into a party, even when it was raining. This was the first time I had a really good bed to sleep in - just like at home. The rooms were a good size as were the showers. The crew was fun and we made pasta for our dinner one night. The food was fresh and excellent, and there was plenty of it. These are also the best bikes I have had on my trips. Super, easy and fun trip.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Bolzano to Verona
    by Emily Peh 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Providing maps with a larger scale would be very useful especially when going onto roads. Road names would help too as sometimes we can't tell if we're lost based on looking at the map because there are no road names. Without my phone's GPS I would be completely lost. There are also some Eurobike signs which point in opposite directions which is sometimes a bit confusing.

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Claudia Abdinoor 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Our group had the misfortune of 25mph+ headwinds for 4 consecutive days through barren landscape. My hesitation to recommend this trip is not however based on the weather but rather the lack of interesting terrain. I liken this biking to a trip thru Nebraska. Our stops in the villages were poorly timed, shops were closed and our short stop precluded investigating any historical attraction. The charming aspects of European villages, exploring the local cuisine were non existent. Every day we were advised to bring a sandwich. In complete contrast, the bike/barge trip in France visited medieval villages and provided enough time to enjoy a meal in a bistro. Understandably this trip along the Po might be selected by those not willing to bike the hills but biking for hours on an elevated levee and looking at clods of freshly tilled earth is hardly a huge endorsement for this option.

    Boat: Vita Pugna

    Countries: Italy

  • Tuscany - Montecatini to Florence
    by M.C. Radcliffe 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Everything surpassed my expectations. I would be happily do it again! Thank you for your good services!
    I want to know where I can find a bike seat like the one I used on your tour . . . it was the most comfortable bike seat I've had the pleasure to sit on! ;-)

    Countries: Italy

  • Venice to Poreč
    by Magdalena Cheung 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I found the trip operator a bit disorganized. Nobody told us that the tour guides & map etc were put in our room, and we did not know until the briefing time. During the briefing we went through the material kit, but we were not offered any additional info. The options re the accessories with the bike were not chosen by us, but the operator insisted we chose it and refused to exchange reading board for bike bag.
    The map and guide do not always match. We expected bike route would be traffic free and for bike only, but apparently 90% of the time it was not the case. The bike was a bit heavy for me, especially I am only slightly over 100lbs.

    Countries: Italy, Slovenia, Croatia

  • Green Hills of Abruzzo
    by Greg Thomas 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The Green Hills of Abruzzo was great. The guides were wonderful and the accommodations were were perfect (some better than others but all good). The difficulty listed on the Tripsite Guide lists the trip as Moderate but I think it would be more fair to categorize the routes as Moderate to Difficult (based on the elevation changes). We recommend the trip highly.

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Alexandra Lapko 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Our first bike and barge experience made unforgettable by creative, delicious and healthy meals, an outstanding guide with a great sense of humour, extensive knowledge of the areas we cycled through, and much patience and warmth. We arrived as nervous neophytes and left feeling we were part of the family....and cycling athletes to boot!

    Boat: Vita Pugna

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Annette Scully 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Best trip ever.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Oscar Martinez 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The whole experience was awesome! Mantova is a great little place to visit. Lots of history, architecture, fine people, good restaurants. The barge was comfortable, spacious, clean. Food excellent. Staff extremely courteous, helpful, upbeat. Bikes were adequate for the terrain, sturdy, in excellent condition. Some of the trails were uneven, even rocky, but I personally had no issues. Some of the less experienced riders felt a little uneasy on them. The city of Venice was a disappointment (crowded, polluted and dirty) but Venice is Venice... The whole bike 'barge adventure was, plain and simple, unforgettable. Highly recommended. Thanks to everyone for making it so special!!!

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Ann Peloqui 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Barge part of it was excellent, riding for 2 of the days got to be long and monotonous, scenery always the same, but staff did great job. I'm probably critical a bit because I did a Holland bike ride that was so scenic.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Jim Sapp 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Guide stopped to much for cappuccino, kept us bunched up, which was unsafe, had a sick person that should of been hospitalized. Want more milage not museums.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Venice to Poreč
    by Al E. 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This was our 13th Tripsite Tour and as always, it was exceptional. The bike route was well marked, the bikes were new and well serviced and the Hotels were excellent. It was a very interesting ride. Thanks to Hennie and Carla for recommending the Tour.
    Al and Sue

    Countries: Italy, Slovenia, Croatia

  • Dolomites to Venice
    by Barbara Wahlbrink 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    What a delight! A unique itinerary that was wonderfully planned. Cozy hotels, great food, good support and awesome scenery of course - an experience we will never forget. Thanks, Tripsite! We are already dreaming about our next cycling adventure!

    Countries: Italy

  • Venice to Florence - old version
    by Donna Buck 5 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    Tripsite personnel...Just wanted say that "the girls" had a "blast" on this trip. This was the first one for 2 of the riders and the second one for another rider. Venice was great fun and the water taxi at night was beautiful. Taking the ferries and riding along the water was wonderful. Even the rain a few days did not dampen our spirits. Every little town along the way was a gift to us as we peddled through or visited the sites in the evening. The hill up to the tuscan views was a leg burner and had to be walked but well worth the effort as we rode down into Florence. Thanks from all of us for coordinating a bucket list item for Deb and a great memory for all!

    Countries: Italy

  • Amalfi Coast - Tyrrhenian Sea - Bike & Boat
    by Brian 5 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    As Jana said, Riccardo from Verde-Natura was the first bike guide we've had and he made things so much easier and enjoyable. He was constantly checking on all the riders and never seemed to mind going back downhill to check on slower riders. Everyone on the Deriya Deniz went to great pains to make sure each of us had what was needed - even supplying food for our picnic lunches. The last evening, we all got a wonderful surprise that was so much fun...but I'll not divulge their secret! The crew really was remarkable. For instance, we had an early morning flight from Naples to Palermo on the last morning of the trip. In order to get to the airport at the proper time, we had to wake at 4:30 am. Every single crew member plus Riccardo got up to see us off at 5:00 am making sure once again, we had what we needed or desired. I cannot imagine a better experience in this singularly beautiful location and highly recommend this trip!

    Boat: Deriya Deniz

    Countries: Italy

  • Amalfi Coast - Tyrrhenian Sea - Bike & Boat
    by Jana 5 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Incredible! This was our sixth bike trip and our first guided bike and boat trip, and it wins the prize. Our Italian guide, Riccardo, was informative, kind, patient and always looking out for our safety, (He also knew the best places for gelato, gratina, pizza and of course, beautiful off the beaten path trails, parks and picnic spots.). The boat was gorgeous (immaculately clean) and our cabin much roomier than I anticipated. The captain was awesome (the epitome of the leader of the vessel, but also with a sense of humor); first mate truly did everything from helping unload bikes to driving us on the dinghy to shore; the chef prepared marvelous dinners, and Olga did everything else to ensure a great trip. Then, there is the biking! Wow! I have never had such exhilarating rides as on the Amalfi Coast. Words and photos simply cannot convey the majesty and overwhelming beauty. The other islands visited were also lovely. And, even though the water was cold, swimming off the boat Read more… while anchored at the Isle of Capri is a memory I will never forget. Our fellow travelers were from Switzerland, Germany, Phillipines and Canada and we so enjoyed their company. Thank you to our wonderful boat crew, Riccardo, our guide from VerdeNatura, and Mary from Tripsite for providing an adventure of a lifetime!

    Boat: Deriya Deniz

    Countries: Italy

  • Amalfi Coast - Tyrrhenian Sea - Bike & Boat
    by Lindsay (from Canada) 5 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    My dad and I did this trip together in May 2014 - we both love cycling and being outdoors! The views were breathtaking.. breakfasts on board were superb with tons of espresso. The extra uphill biking in Ischia with the guide - totally worth the views at the end! Plus we got to relax at the top with an ice cold bottle of peroni. Boat is the best way to travel, by far, but bring some earplug in case it's noisy at night!! Every night I fell asleep as soon as my head hit the pillow, from long days of biking and exploring. The crew on board was helpful and courteous - our guide was amazing and very knowledgeable (a Quebec native who now resides in Italy). We used TripAdvisor for tips on a good hotel to stay at to fly in & out of Naples (Napoli). It was an amazing experience, and I fell in love with the culture of Italy. I loved the country so much, we extended our trip and went to Rome and Florence on our own after the bike tour was done! I can't wait to do another bike Read more… tour.

    Boat: Deriya Deniz

    Countries: Italy

  • Heel of Italy
    by Ruyter Aquino 5 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Gostaria de salientar o quanto foi positivo nosso passeio, desde a bike, hospedagem, transporte de bagagem e roteiro. A Tripsite e a Girolibero estão de parabéns pela parceria. Ano que vem acredito ter mais viagem pela Tripsite. Obrigado

    Countries: Italy

PWPC