Italy Bike Tour Reviews 241 to 270 of 321

 

 Country: Italy • REMOVE

  • Dolomites to Venice
    by Jeff & Barbara Wahlbrink 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    A charming trip. Loved the experience. Hope to do more bike touring with Tripsite. My blog submission offers lots more positives. Thanks for publishing it! ; )

    Now, if you really want some constructive criticism to share with Girolibero, here it is: Cue sheets were not up to date in a number of areas, which caused confusion and back-tracking. One of the days included a long stretch on a major highway, which was not too pleasant. The hotel in Belluno required that we haul our bikes up a long flight of stairs for overnight storage, and there was no elevator big enough or any staff available to help. ; { The tandem bike provided was bigger/heavier than what we have at home, or what we expected. We are experienced cyclists, and we wished that there was an option for pedal cages or clips to give us some leverage on the hills. The gears on the tandem slipped regularly during climbs and the chain got stuck a few times. The brakes failed one day on a steep downhill, but Read more… thankfully we were able to pull into an uphill driveway to avoid disaster! It took awhile to reach anyone about that, but when we did a mechanic was sent to the next hotel to fix the brakes on the evening of that failure so that was helpful. Overall, it was a wonderful experience, but these are just some ways it could have been a little better. Thanks for asking!

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Oscar Martinez 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We have been on seven or eight bike and barge trips in the past and this one was, by far, the best. From the greeting upon arriving, to the spacious and comfortable accommodations and exquisite food. The guide was pleasant and very informative ( great sense of humor, too ) Our hotel reservations in Venice were cancelled at the last minute, but he was able to get us a room. The Ave Maria is a beautiful boat with everything you need. We can't say enough about every crew member. Part of the scenery was not as nice as on other trips, but that couldn't be helped. People at Tripsite were always very helpful and quick to respond. We had a wonderful time. We will highly recommend this Tripsite adventure!

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Lake Garda and the Adige River
    by Adrian Maciejewski 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    During my trip I didn't obtain the maps and associated documents which made parts of my trip extremely frustrating.

    Countries: Italy

  • Riccione
    by Jean-Jacques Tremblay 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    My last trip cycling experience with the Dory Hotel in Riccioni Italy was splendid and one of the best ever!!

    Countries: Italy

  • Bolzano - Mantova - Venice
    by Christopher Manning 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Route guides(arrows)could in some areas(particularly in the Bolzano to barge section when riders on their own) be more clearly marked and better positioned.
    Steph,our guide,and the boat crew combined to make this a special experience.

    Boat: Vita Pugna

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Gail Whitty 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I love our leader Michaela and we want to do another trip with her. I have recommended the Pugna boat Mantova-Venice trip to many people.

    Boat: Vita Pugna

    Countries: Italy

  • Lake Garda and the Adige River
    by Marcia Macdonald 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We enjoyed the trip and we're pleased it was geared to our level of ability. We have recommended it to many friends. We will likely organize a group to go on one of your trip in the future.

    Countries: Italy

  • Amalfi Coast - Tyrrhenian Sea - Bike & Boat
    by Lee Beamish 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Alex was amazing. She was so informative, hard-working and enjoyable to be around. The staff on our boat were excellent as well.

    Boat: Deriya Deniz

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by James Varah 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Our tour guide Marco was ok, but not outstanding. His commentary was adequate, but we got more from the notes provided.

    Boat: Vita Pugna

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Sandra Ware 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Tedious farm land, 30 mile an hour winds. Our guide and staff were fabulous! Put them on a little more picturesque route and I would say yes. Marco was absolutely wonderful!

    Boat: Vita Pugna

    Countries: Italy

  • Tuscany Road Bike Tour
    by Michelle Henseleit 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The hotel in Volterra was just OK but the location made up for it! The food at the hotel was terrible! We loved our stay in Montecatini and Sienna and the food was as good as we had hoped for.

    Countries: Italy

  • Amalfi Coast - Tyrrhenian Sea - Bike & Boat
    by Marilyn McDowell 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The Amalfi coast section of biking was along the main roads driven by large local buses and the other tourist traffic was very heavy - although the drivers were not mean or aggressive, it was very unnerving to be biking on such busy roads. The guide seemed to be surprised that the traffic was still so heavy the 2nd week of September.

    The boat anchored in Amalfi on the 3rd night, in an unprotected harbor - the boat rocked and banged all night long, no one including the crew was able to sleep, and apparently this was not an uncommon experience when in the Amalfi harbor.

    On day 4, after an extremely hot day of biking we reached the boat in Cetara. For some reason, the boat was anchored along side the sister boat, not next to the pier. The crew made us wait in the hot sun until the bikes were hoisted on to the sister boat, then situated the bikes on our boat before allowing us to get on our boat to shower or get something to drink. AND since we were not next to the Read more… pier, to get from the sister boat to our boat the crew had us step up on the railing of the sister boat then step on the railing of our boat then down to the deck. Although they were assisting us, it was definitely an accident waiting to happen and totally unnecessary. On our Croatian trip in the Dalmation Islands, this type of parallel boat anchoring was common, but the boats utilized the openings in the railings to allow us to walk through the boats...

    The captain fell and injured himself during this bike hoisting situation, and was certainly in pain when we finally got on the boat, but he was very rude to another passenger who commented about the inappropriateness of loading the bikes first and the ""rail balancing"" access to the boat.

    Capri was a crowded disappointment, not worth the stop. Naples was also not worth the stop, large, dirty, crowded, the walking tour was not very interesting. On the positive side the Amalfi coast was absolutely beautiful and we really enjoyed the islands of Ischia and Procida with their quiet roads and small peaceful little towns.

    Boat: Deriya Deniz

    Countries: Italy

  • Amalfi Coast - Tyrrhenian Sea - Bike & Boat
    by Frank McDowell 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    "The ""recommend this trip (Tyhrennian Sea)"" question is a difficult question to answer. Scenery is great. Pompeii great. Guide good. Some passengers had issues with the Capt. At the end of our third day out we were secured to our sister boat in such a way that we had to walk across the railings (not on deck) to transfer to our vessel. It was unsafe, and honestly, uncomfortable for the women. When a few of our female passengers shared their opinion with the Capt he dismissed their concerns. In fairness, he had slipped and broken several ribs while handling bikes and was probably not in the best mood. When we finished biking on this same day (very hot) the crew/guide made all of us wait while they loaded the bikes. We all thought that was odd. They did not offer an explanation. The scenery was very good, guide was a nice guy and very knowledgeable. The crew was mixed. Cook & first mate great. Barista not so much. Capt....I don't know. After his Read more… accident he left to recover. Forgot about our second night. The harbor was unprotected from the prevailing wind direction and we rocked on 2-3 waves all night. No one slept-crew included. I told Marilyn if we encounter another night like that I was getting a room. It was miserable. The rest of the anchorages were fine. After writing this I changed my survey answer from Yes to No. I would send them to Metz if they want easy biking and Croatia for difficult.

    On the plus side...The Metz (Merlijn 2013) & So Dalmatia tours (San Snova 2015) was excellent in every way. Crew, boat, scenery, guides. We'll return to Europe but events in Paris probably have many of us thinking about different options.

    Boat: Deriya Deniz

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Cheri Emahiser 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We were self-guided for 3 days. The road guides given us were written for bike riders using a GPS. No GPS was provided. Thus, the guides were a bit confusing. We didn't notice the odometers (and they were not pointed out to us during our orientation) on our bikes until it was too late. We should have attempted to track our mileage against the miles listed from point to point in the guide book. Instead, we followed the advice we were given during orientation, which was to just follow the green arrows. We got very lost one day. We followed the arrows in the wrong direction! We should have paid more attention to the road guide. It might be good to update the guides if GPS's are not going to be provided.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Biran Hobbs 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Personally I would have preferred another day of biking and a day less in Venice - If people wanted to see Venice they could stay an extra day or so after.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Lynne and Dave Taylor 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I'm filling this out as we booked with you twice--Burges to Amsterdam in 2012 and Venice to Mantova in 2014. both were bike and barge. We are about to book with you for the spring of this year--we are looking at 2 in Germany and the northern Netherlands We have yet to make up our minds on which one. We have had a great experience with your company and looking forward to another.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Tuscany - Montecatini to Florence
    by Jennifer Clarkson 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I loved the trip, I would go again in a heart beat!

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Wendy Bainbridge 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Our trip to Venice on the Ave Maria was our best cycling trip ever. Meals were fantastic, bikes excellent, Helmut a great guide. Loved the barge conversion to accommodation. Have recommended the trip to many Canadian friends. Hope to do another tour with you next year.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Tripsite Traveler: Barbara Wahlbrink
    by Millie Forrey 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Great description of your wonderful adventure. Enjoyed reading all about it.

    Countries: Italy

  • Tripsite Traveler: Barbara Wahlbrink
    by Peggy Mercier 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Enjoyed your great adventure and and the beautiful scenery!

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Patricia Trivette 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Depending on the potential participants: Even though we had read the pre-trip information several times, we were still surprised that the biking days were of pretty similar length ... we had thought there would be longer days mixed in with medium and shorter length days. Overall we were very happy with the trip and most impressed with the people who took care of us: guides and boat crew. The Ave Maria seems perfect for its job. We will be looking at other trips with you.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Nancy Cuono 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Scenery would have been a bit better if we'd gone two weeks earlier. Mid October was a bit late.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Clara Fleischhauer 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We enjoyed this trip very much. This was our first bike and barge trip and we would do it again. The entire staff was great and the guides were super. I did not hear one complaint about anything from any of the guests on board. That is testimony to a job well done in seeing to the comfort of the passengers and the enjoyability of the bike ride.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Jackie Shepherd 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Aside from all the other wonderful parts of the experience, I cannot say enough about our guides and vessel staff. My good experience began with the Tripsite contacts well before the trip was ever made.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Ruth Hoffmann 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This was a fun, easy ride. Our 2 guides made the trip into a party, even when it was raining. This was the first time I had a really good bed to sleep in - just like at home. The rooms were a good size as were the showers. The crew was fun and we made pasta for our dinner one night. The food was fresh and excellent, and there was plenty of it. These are also the best bikes I have had on my trips. Super, easy and fun trip.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Bolzano to Verona
    by Emily Peh 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Providing maps with a larger scale would be very useful especially when going onto roads. Road names would help too as sometimes we can't tell if we're lost based on looking at the map because there are no road names. Without my phone's GPS I would be completely lost. There are also some Eurobike signs which point in opposite directions which is sometimes a bit confusing.

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Claudia Abdinoor 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Our group had the misfortune of 25mph+ headwinds for 4 consecutive days through barren landscape. My hesitation to recommend this trip is not however based on the weather but rather the lack of interesting terrain. I liken this biking to a trip thru Nebraska. Our stops in the villages were poorly timed, shops were closed and our short stop precluded investigating any historical attraction. The charming aspects of European villages, exploring the local cuisine were non existent. Every day we were advised to bring a sandwich. In complete contrast, the bike/barge trip in France visited medieval villages and provided enough time to enjoy a meal in a bistro. Understandably this trip along the Po might be selected by those not willing to bike the hills but biking for hours on an elevated levee and looking at clods of freshly tilled earth is hardly a huge endorsement for this option.

    Boat: Vita Pugna

    Countries: Italy

  • Tuscany - Montecatini to Florence
    by M.C. Radcliffe 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Everything surpassed my expectations. I would be happily do it again! Thank you for your good services!
    I want to know where I can find a bike seat like the one I used on your tour . . . it was the most comfortable bike seat I've had the pleasure to sit on! ;-)

    Countries: Italy

  • Venice to Poreč
    by Magdalena Cheung 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I found the trip operator a bit disorganized. Nobody told us that the tour guides & map etc were put in our room, and we did not know until the briefing time. During the briefing we went through the material kit, but we were not offered any additional info. The options re the accessories with the bike were not chosen by us, but the operator insisted we chose it and refused to exchange reading board for bike bag.
    The map and guide do not always match. We expected bike route would be traffic free and for bike only, but apparently 90% of the time it was not the case. The bike was a bit heavy for me, especially I am only slightly over 100lbs.

    Countries: Italy, Slovenia, Croatia

  • Green Hills of Abruzzo
    by Greg Thomas 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The Green Hills of Abruzzo was great. The guides were wonderful and the accommodations were were perfect (some better than others but all good). The difficulty listed on the Tripsite Guide lists the trip as Moderate but I think it would be more fair to categorize the routes as Moderate to Difficult (based on the elevation changes). We recommend the trip highly.

    Countries: Italy

PWPC