Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova Bike Tour Reviews 61 to 90 of 134

 

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Doreen C. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The most memorable part was the guides and crew of the ship - the customer service was OUTSTANDING!!!!!

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Anne H. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I would absolutely recommend this trip. We felt we were very lucky to have Hein as our guide. His insight was wonderful.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Marianne L. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The scenery on this trip,while biking, was not memorable or especially unusual which was to be expected given the flatland of our itinerary. I was hoping it would be more dramatic but not surprised that it wasn't. Still I loved being there and next time will consider a more challenging terrain which ought to improve the views. ( ps lunch stop venues need more thought- in general unattractive.)
    Memorable: the towns of Mantova and Ferrara were lovely and I enjoyed having time to spend in them , instead of merely riding through. The food was glorious and I felt the staff went the extra mile for us with a few perks and personal attention if needed. Clearly they like their jobs and it showed.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Patricia E. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The entire staff was impeccable. They aimed to please and all had wonderful personalities. My only regret was wifi being shut down at 11pm. This was the best time for me to talk to loved ones. Other than that, it was great. Feedback from my group was positive.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Nancy M. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Everything was memorable from the wonderful cabin to the great gourmet food to the wonderful leader Hein and fabulous staff. The route is scenic and we made stops at interesting places like the Rides Museum, Grano Padana, and the non-bird sanctuary! Loved it and have highly recommended it to friends.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Kristy M. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The staff on the Ave Maria was fantastic. They made sure we got everything we needed. I liked the way even the captain of the boat helped serve and clean up. They really worked as a team and worked very hard! The food was awesome and I really enjoyed the stops we made and the tours we had.
    Great trip!

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Karen K. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Bike guides (Michaela & Ronnie) and boat staff ( Erica, Juliano, Enrico and Luciano) were all exceptional. Their care, expertise and concern throughout the trip was what made it exceptional.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Nancy H. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The Tour Leader Hein was amazing and showed us a wonderful experience. The cycling was spectacular and the food so exciting and very innovative. The bikes were heavier than I am used to but they were appropriate for the terrain. Everyone was helpful -- fabulous staff. I've already recommended it to my friends. I would do it again, but only if Hein were the Leader.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Diane D. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Everything was great. I really enjoyed our guides, Tammy and Ronnie. The staff on the boat were great. Our bikes were top notch. The tour and countryside were scenic. I loved biking on the sea wall. I thought the other bikers were friendly and easy to get along with.

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Kathleen W. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The most awesome trip and staff! The barge was clean and well equipped. The staff was stellar, the meals great, the guided bike rides the best. No room for improvement and I hope to do another Bike and Barge on the Merlin. I especially enjoyed the bike routes, touring small villages along the way, and the guide Lia who was well informed about the area and Germany in general.

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Blaine N. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The boat, staff and food were all exceptional. A quality operation for sure. Having the owner Pierpaulo stop in for a visit and having dinner together was a nice touch.
    We booked this trip for a group of riders with a wide range of abilities and it worked very well for all.

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Joanne B. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    It was all enjoyable. Food was amazing. Staff were very accommodating. Rooms were spacious and clean.
    Only negative was it said it was a 7-day bike trip and only rode bikes 5 of the 7 days. Falsely advertised.

    Countries: Italy

    • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
      by Jehiel 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Staff

      Hello Joanne!
      Glad you had a great time! The tour is 8-days in length and in the Day-to-day itinerary you will notice five days of biking. We try to make this very clear discussing the riding as well as listing the daily mileage.

      Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Glenn P. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The whole experience was very memorable. The changing scenery, the background info provided etc. was great. The quality of the barge added to the overall enjoyment. One of the highlights was watching how well the crew worked together and genuinely seemed to be having fun. It was a very unique experience that surpassed my expectations. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this trip to anyone.

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Judi H. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This is my first bike and barge experience and will definitely not be my last. Although others in reviews said the Vita Pugna was "tired". I saw it as wonderfull vintage barge, with a crew that loved it and showed their care for it in their care for us. The food was outstanding and any hopes I had of losing weight on the trip were quickly dashed with each evenings meal.
    We joined a large group of Kiwis onboard, with 2 Brits and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.
    One thing that would have made the trip even better would be a different pillow; the one I had was too high and too hard for my taste and left me with a stiff neck in the morning.

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Earl D. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I loved the small villages. The international mixture of the group made for excellent discussion among the group. Food on the barge was excellent!

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by D. Green 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This was a fabulous trip all around! The group was friendly, and guides were helpful and knowledgeable! Dinners were delicious and varied, stronger than expected for this type of trip. We really enjoyed being able to purchase wine on board the ship, also. The riding was varied, and we really appreciated that our guides made sure to schedule a mid-morning break for coffee/water/toilet. What a great way to get a sense of this part of Italy - from small villages and farm fields to Venice - just spectacular!
    One suggestion for improvement: for riding in really hot weather, it would be great if there could be a little more flexibility. We rode during a heat spell (40 degrees Centigrade one day). It was difficult to shift schedules or shorten our rides due to logistics, and this created some health issues.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

    • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
      by Jehiel 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Staff

      Thank you so much for your feedback. Due to the route of the boat, it is difficult to shorten the biking portion and still meet back up with the boat. However, you are always welcome to stay aboard the boat if you you find the weather unsatisfactory. Glad you had a great trip despite the hot weather!

      Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by A. Harris 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    A fabulous experience. We will seriously consider further barge/bike holidays with you.

    Boat: Vita Pugna

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by E. Lowell 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    It was a wonderful trip! I liked that we got to be on the barge when it moved (one time at the end of the day and another in the morning). The food was outstanding and I liked that the chefs described dinner and suggested wine pairings. The barge was very comfortable - even with 3 in a cabin.

    Our son (22 years old) was outnumbered by the over 50 crowd but Hein made him feel welcome. Only suggestion - mirrors on the bikes (although I realize that makes them difficult to store and move) and a brief intro on riding in groups.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by V. Miller 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This trip gets a +10!! The staff (Tamy, Ilena, Luciano, Enrico, Guilio & Alberto) were amazing - fun, personable, knowledgable, friendly and engaging. They were truly a team and clearly enjoyed each other which ripples out to the experience of the guests. I loved that they gave a 'brief' the night before to let us know what to expect the next day. The food was creative, fresh and lovingly prepared. The accommodations on the AveMarie were great -- the cabins were well thought out with lots of storage so that the room felt spacious. The dining room was lovely with plenty of space to relax. The price of wine/beer was very reasonable and loved that we could keep a tab and pay it at the end, so easy.

    Oh yea the bikes --- a good ride and comfy enough for the distances ridden. The routes were well planned, even the few times we had to ride in traffic. The trip leaders were excellent at managing the group and making it fun, no matter what we were doing.

    For Read more… the whole week I felt well cared for :)
    I am already dreaming of my next trip.
    Kindly -- Victoria

    P.S. The bad and the ugly -- honestly I don't have anything to contribute for improvement.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by J. Scott 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The crew were AMAZing! Every single one of them. Tami is an amazing guide - super friendly and helpful. All of the crew helpful and a delight. I would definitely go on this type of trip again because of my experience on this trip.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by L. Chambers 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This was my first bike & barge. The bar has been set very high!

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by L. Bockelmann 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The entire bike-barge trip on the Ave Maria far exceeded our expectations. I would highly recommend this trip.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by JoAnn Grand 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The biking was not as scenic as other trips I have been on. However the food, staff and guide were excellent.

    Boat: Vita Pugna

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Terrence Kinal 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Crew and guides were friendly and extremely helpful. Meals and snacks were great! Good sense of comradery due to the small number of passengers. Good bikes, rides were interesting and manageable.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Alfred Lilly 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Understanding the trip was planned for little difficulty, expected that the terrain would be flat, but was hoping for more scenery and countryside to take in while biking. Perhaps if there was an option of having a sag vehicle for those who couldn't/didn't want more difficult terrain so the option was available for those who could do more ... and see more. Overall great experience, friendly crew and excellent food!

    Boat: Vita Pugna

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Lois Benson 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The crew aboard the Ave Maria was cheerful and helpful, especially Michaela, who went above and beyond in helping with departure plans. The food was wonderful.
    A group of 30 is a lot of work for the cycling guides, but I would have liked a few more rest breaks along the way, especially on the day to Ferrara.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by James & Kimberly Engel 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We have decided that this is the only way we now want to see other countries, up close and personal! What a wonderful experience!
    Loved getting exercise every day while viewing the beautiful countryside. Even better was ending our ride with wine, a delicious dinner and new friends!

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Brian J Craig 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Our Guide, Rosita was excellent, friendly, pleasant and very knowledgeable. Would recommend her anytime.

    Boat: Vita Pugna

    Countries: Italy

PWPC