Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova Bike Tour Reviews 91 to 120 of 136

 

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by James & Kimberly Engel 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We have decided that this is the only way we now want to see other countries, up close and personal! What a wonderful experience!
    Loved getting exercise every day while viewing the beautiful countryside. Even better was ending our ride with wine, a delicious dinner and new friends!

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Brian J Craig 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Our Guide, Rosita was excellent, friendly, pleasant and very knowledgeable. Would recommend her anytime.

    Boat: Vita Pugna

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Mike Tansey 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Recommended for novice cyclists only. Not challenging enough for experienced cyclists.

    Boat: Vita Pugna

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Bodil Nielsen 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Sometimes it would have been nice to stop for pictures of the scenery, but did not want to go to the back of the pack or be left behind. Helmut was an excellent guide and made sure everybody was safe. Food on board was the best I had in Italy. Staff very friendly and went the extra mile for our friends birthday.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Patricia Leigh Trivette 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We should have trained more for endurance. The guides were wonderful and took such good care of us. The bicycles were amazingly comfortable. Beautiful dinners nightly. Thank you all.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Mia Moran 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This was our second Tripsite trip, last year Germany, this year Italy. I have highly recommended your trip to all my friends. We hope to have the opportunity to take another bike and barge.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Ian Hamelin 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We've experienced three Bike and Boat Tour in the past 15 months, and have already booked another for 2016. We absolutely love this mode of travel and the fact that it offers an active holiday, and the best of both site-seeing and exploring the countryside in a way that most other tours simply can not. We love sharing our experience with like-minded international travelers, and find we are extremely well treated by boat staff and guides.Together with the Tripsite staff, the website is a fabulous tool for selecting a holiday in that it allows us to compare boats, distances and routes. As a secondary benefit we find the Bike and Boat Tours offered by Tripsite to be excellent "value for money". We have recommended Tripsite to several friends and acquaintances, some of whom will be joining us on our next tour as "first-timers".

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by David Zimmer 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The trip was great but the route was less than expected. The route was too much bike trails away from villages. We will definitely recommend Tripsite but not this trip. We look forward to our next trip with you guys.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Jennifer Scott 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Great guides made the trip for us. Allowing 2 bike groups with different strengths was the best way.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Lynn Yetman 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We have done 8 trips with Tripsite. All trips were great.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Norma Trinchero 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Ave Maria, as well as 3 previous trips on the Merljin, superb. Some guides on Merjijn were mediocre, but Hein is incredible guide/person. Friends have recently taken B/B Red Hat?, bad experience. The above 4 trips speak highly of your program. Looking forward to next trip, F2017.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Katherine Graves 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We loved this trip! It was so fun for our family of four. Our two boys, ages 11 & 14, enjoyed biking and stopping off to swim in the ocean, trying new delicious food, and learning from our wonderful guide, Fabio. The boat was very nice and the crew were lovely.

    We had record setting beat the week we were there and yet still had a fantastic trip. The rooms stayed reasonably cool with the AC-- that was a life saver to have available.

    If I had to change anything, I'd probably like to have the boat docked closer to Venice proper so it would be more accessible on arrival and through the first couple days. We made it work-- all a good adventure. The scenery on the bike route was relaxing-- not terribly dramatic, but really nice for small town explorers, birders, and those who enjoy farmland/pastoral scenery.
    Pros: delicious food, easy cycling terrain, excellent City/town tours, comfortable rooms, great value, easy logistics when you don't have to move Read more… your stuff each day, meeting nice people from all over the world.
    Cons: weather was exceedingly hot in July (but would do it again anyway!)

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Richard Hoffmann 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We had a fantastic time on the Ave Maria and we're lucky to have Hein as our guide.....great guy!

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Oscar Martinez 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We have been on seven or eight bike and barge trips in the past and this one was, by far, the best. From the greeting upon arriving, to the spacious and comfortable accommodations and exquisite food. The guide was pleasant and very informative ( great sense of humor, too ) Our hotel reservations in Venice were cancelled at the last minute, but he was able to get us a room. The Ave Maria is a beautiful boat with everything you need. We can't say enough about every crew member. Part of the scenery was not as nice as on other trips, but that couldn't be helped. People at Tripsite were always very helpful and quick to respond. We had a wonderful time. We will highly recommend this Tripsite adventure!

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Gail Whitty 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I love our leader Michaela and we want to do another trip with her. I have recommended the Pugna boat Mantova-Venice trip to many people.

    Boat: Vita Pugna

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by James Varah 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Our tour guide Marco was ok, but not outstanding. His commentary was adequate, but we got more from the notes provided.

    Boat: Vita Pugna

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Sandra Ware 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Tedious farm land, 30 mile an hour winds. Our guide and staff were fabulous! Put them on a little more picturesque route and I would say yes. Marco was absolutely wonderful!

    Boat: Vita Pugna

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Cheri Emahiser 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We were self-guided for 3 days. The road guides given us were written for bike riders using a GPS. No GPS was provided. Thus, the guides were a bit confusing. We didn't notice the odometers (and they were not pointed out to us during our orientation) on our bikes until it was too late. We should have attempted to track our mileage against the miles listed from point to point in the guide book. Instead, we followed the advice we were given during orientation, which was to just follow the green arrows. We got very lost one day. We followed the arrows in the wrong direction! We should have paid more attention to the road guide. It might be good to update the guides if GPS's are not going to be provided.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Biran Hobbs 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Personally I would have preferred another day of biking and a day less in Venice - If people wanted to see Venice they could stay an extra day or so after.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Lynne and Dave Taylor 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I'm filling this out as we booked with you twice--Burges to Amsterdam in 2012 and Venice to Mantova in 2014. both were bike and barge. We are about to book with you for the spring of this year--we are looking at 2 in Germany and the northern Netherlands We have yet to make up our minds on which one. We have had a great experience with your company and looking forward to another.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Wendy Bainbridge 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Our trip to Venice on the Ave Maria was our best cycling trip ever. Meals were fantastic, bikes excellent, Helmut a great guide. Loved the barge conversion to accommodation. Have recommended the trip to many Canadian friends. Hope to do another tour with you next year.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Patricia Trivette 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Depending on the potential participants: Even though we had read the pre-trip information several times, we were still surprised that the biking days were of pretty similar length ... we had thought there would be longer days mixed in with medium and shorter length days. Overall we were very happy with the trip and most impressed with the people who took care of us: guides and boat crew. The Ave Maria seems perfect for its job. We will be looking at other trips with you.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Nancy Cuono 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Scenery would have been a bit better if we'd gone two weeks earlier. Mid October was a bit late.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Clara Fleischhauer 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We enjoyed this trip very much. This was our first bike and barge trip and we would do it again. The entire staff was great and the guides were super. I did not hear one complaint about anything from any of the guests on board. That is testimony to a job well done in seeing to the comfort of the passengers and the enjoyability of the bike ride.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Jackie Shepherd 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Aside from all the other wonderful parts of the experience, I cannot say enough about our guides and vessel staff. My good experience began with the Tripsite contacts well before the trip was ever made.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Ruth Hoffmann 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This was a fun, easy ride. Our 2 guides made the trip into a party, even when it was raining. This was the first time I had a really good bed to sleep in - just like at home. The rooms were a good size as were the showers. The crew was fun and we made pasta for our dinner one night. The food was fresh and excellent, and there was plenty of it. These are also the best bikes I have had on my trips. Super, easy and fun trip.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Claudia Abdinoor 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Our group had the misfortune of 25mph+ headwinds for 4 consecutive days through barren landscape. My hesitation to recommend this trip is not however based on the weather but rather the lack of interesting terrain. I liken this biking to a trip thru Nebraska. Our stops in the villages were poorly timed, shops were closed and our short stop precluded investigating any historical attraction. The charming aspects of European villages, exploring the local cuisine were non existent. Every day we were advised to bring a sandwich. In complete contrast, the bike/barge trip in France visited medieval villages and provided enough time to enjoy a meal in a bistro. Understandably this trip along the Po might be selected by those not willing to bike the hills but biking for hours on an elevated levee and looking at clods of freshly tilled earth is hardly a huge endorsement for this option.

    Boat: Vita Pugna

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Alexandra Lapko 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Our first bike and barge experience made unforgettable by creative, delicious and healthy meals, an outstanding guide with a great sense of humour, extensive knowledge of the areas we cycled through, and much patience and warmth. We arrived as nervous neophytes and left feeling we were part of the family....and cycling athletes to boot!

    Boat: Vita Pugna

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Annette Scully 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Best trip ever.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Oscar Martinez 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The whole experience was awesome! Mantova is a great little place to visit. Lots of history, architecture, fine people, good restaurants. The barge was comfortable, spacious, clean. Food excellent. Staff extremely courteous, helpful, upbeat. Bikes were adequate for the terrain, sturdy, in excellent condition. Some of the trails were uneven, even rocky, but I personally had no issues. Some of the less experienced riders felt a little uneasy on them. The city of Venice was a disappointment (crowded, polluted and dirty) but Venice is Venice... The whole bike 'barge adventure was, plain and simple, unforgettable. Highly recommended. Thanks to everyone for making it so special!!!

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

PWPC