Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz Bike Tour Reviews 31 to 43 of 43

 

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by D. Fish 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The trip was enjoyable. Only drawback was that follow along Moselle River, some of the scenery of the vineyards became boring after a while. On previous trips we traveled more inland, seeing sights and then meeting up with barge at next destination.

    Boat: Iris

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by C. Morrison 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Had a wonderful time. The staff was very accommodating in making modifications due to the previous heavy rains and high water. The last day bike tour of Metz was disappointing in that it is a very difficult city to navigate on bikes with a number of people.

    Boat: Iris

    • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
      by Jehiel 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Staff

      Hi C. Morrison,
      Im sorry that you were disappointed with the last day of riding. I can assure you that your safety is one of our top priorities and we try our best to ensure routes are safe and easy to navigate. In spite of the rain, I hope your overall experience was positive!

      Boat: Iris

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by Richard Oliver 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We sailed on the Iris, from Cochem to Metz, 18-25 June. It was a most delightful and joyful experience. Even with initial high water from unseasonal flooding and occasional detour from the bike paths, it was an incredibly memorable experience -- the crew, the tour guides, the food were all top notch, and the camaraderie among the other bikers was phenomenal. Special thanks to our two bike leaders and guides, Roelie and Wouter, who were fantastic in making the rides safe and mostly easy, and with an in-depth knowledge of historical sites. A special treat was having the ship's owner on board, Lenny was very engaging and most pleasant. Aline, the chef, served delicious meals, especially the final banquet was a true feast! Again, our thanks to Lenny and the entire Iris crew.

    Boat: Iris

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by Arthur Armstrong 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The trip was one of the best I have taken.

    Boat: Iris

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by Sydney Cullis 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    superb all round -organisation, food, scenery , amusing but booking proceedure not very efficient

    Boat: Iris

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by Terry Benson 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Had a wonderful time. Only problem was the weather, very very cold.

    Boat: Iris

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by Lois Requist 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The guides are young and very athletic. People who sign up for this level of bicycling aren't usually top bikers, unless they are doing it to be with friends or spouse. I think a bit more thought could be put into the introductory ride the first day, bridge crossings, sudden merging into traffic, sudden turns to go steeply uphill. I've done much longer bike rides, but at this age, I didn't want that much challenge.

    Boat: Iris

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by Vic Lumby 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    One of the best holidays we have ever experienced. Great cycling along the Moselle with excellent and knowledgeable guides and then returning tired but exhilarated to an most welcoming environment on the barge - the IRIS. Meals were excellent and entire crew and owner went out of their way to ensure we enjoyed the total experience. Would recommend this trip to anyone. We will be back for more.

    Boat: Iris

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by Margaret Munro 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Even for a novice biker I was looked after and given the opportunity to cycle shorter legs and enjoy the sailing on the boat. Bikes - we had a couple of bikes that had gear problems, otherwise they were fine.

    Boat: Iris

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by Steve Moorhouse 7 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Absolutely loved the trip on board the Merlijn. Wonderful staff and amenities on board, met a great like minded group of travelling companions. As a coeliac, the crew were very attentive and ensured all my dietary needs were met. Nothing was too much trouble.

    As for the cycling and the scenery....what can I say? It was magic cycling along quiet bikeways through the vineyards and small villages, at all times in sight of the wonderful Moselle River.

    Last but not least...the wine selection and quality on board the Merlijn was the best (and very well priced).

    Already thinking about our next bike and barge tour...with the great help from Tripsite (of course).

    Boat: Iris

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by Ann Vess 7 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    If you picked a tour aboard the Merlijn for your next vacation, you made the perfect choice. It is not just a barge, it is a luxury barge. The ride through the Mosel Valley is stunning with the vineyards and quaint towns. But, beyond that it is the specialness of your hosts, Jantien and Henk that make this an outstanding experience. Jantien's warmth, humor and attention to detail is amazing along with the delicious meals she prepares. When you come away from the trip, you are left with wonderful memories and you feel like you were entertained in the home of a close friend.

    Boat: Iris

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by Diane Reck 7 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This trip is all and more. There is a good balance of seeing nature at it's most beautiful as you follow the Mosel River and you go through many villages and see historic sites, and taste wine. You take many stops and the miles are spread out through the day so it isn't a hard, tiring bike ride either. This is a trip of a lifetime and great staff and people. The food on the boat is out of this world and the dinner table is set so beautifully! The barge is the way to go!

    Boat: Iris

PWPC