5 Star Metz to Cochem Tour Reviews — 1 to 30 of 42

4.9 out of 5

 


Ross M.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

This is the best kept secret for those of us that enjoy intimate, caring, luxurious adventure with people that will care and spoil you along the way. Quo Vadis will always be our first choice if available and the standard by what we measure all of our other trips.

Patti S.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The beautiful scenery along the Mosel River is the star of this Bike and Barge trip! The vineyard along the steep mountain face for miles and miles, the gorgeous river meandering , the church steeple in every village, and the ancient castles on the mountain top! I could not believe I was there in the midst of this! Would not hesitate to recommend this trip to anyone and I have!

Camille B.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

My favourite parts of the trip were spending time in Cochem, the happy hour the entire group would spend “debriefing” at the end of the day on the deck of the boat, both vineyards that we visited and the incredible gardens we saw as we rode along the Moselle river.

My suggestions:

Clear instructions about the day we board the boat. Everyone was confused about whether we simply drop off our luggage, stay on the boat, is there dinner on the boat?? Etc.

It would have been nice to have some background music on the boat during breakfast, happy hour, dinner or the evening. I heard a number of people mention this.

A few planned activities on the boat would have been a lot of fun. A theme dinner, trivia night, learn to make the local cocktail, a local historian gives a presentation, a quick and simple local language lesson, etc. People also commented on this and would have gladly paid another 100 Euros for a few little “extras” like these.

Ceira S.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Gorgeous Mosel with quaint towns cycling and being on a gem of a boat! Surrounded by great people and a great crew!
Thank you for wonderful memories!

Carol M.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

I have been traveling for many years and have had many amazing adventures. I can honestly say that this is one the the best holidays I have taken. I loved being active and after a day of exploring to come back to the boat for a cocktail, wonderful dinner and conversation with the other guests. The crew made us feel at home. I cannot recommend this trip enough! We are already planning the next holiday. Thanks for a great experience.

Marge H.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The views along the Mosel River were fantastic and of course, the wines.

Paul M.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The whole trip from start to finish was excellent. Boat staff were exceptionally helpful and always ready to assist as needed. Food was varied and tasty too. Will be booking another bike and barge trop on the future.

Paul M.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Further to my previous review I wanted to add the service, courteousness and responsiveness of the Tripsite Representatives in answering multiple questions and following up on the many details of our group was much appreciated. A customer focused company which is a novelty today.

Carol M.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

This was one of the best holidays I have ever taken - being active, seeing history and meeting new friends. Highly recommend.

I have already booked another trip!

Janice C.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Wow, so hard to pinpoint to one memorable experience; there were so many. Our first impression of the boat and crew was wonderful. The boat was very clean, perfectly maintained and very comfortable. All the crew members were welcoming, kind, fun and efficient. The Captain, RJ, was one on the crew, always on, active, involved and always with a smile. I loved that by the end of the trip, all 24 of us knew each other well after eating, biking and watching out for each other after the 8 days. Bike riding along the Moselle River in the fall with the colors changing was breathtaking. Every turn was equally as beautiful and everyday the colors became more vibrant. We broke off into 2 groups of 12 every morning; each group having one of the two guides. I was very happy to see there were two guides. We came across another bike/barge tour in one of the towns and there was only 1 guide for a group of 24. I think that was pushing it a bit. The villages, towns, castles, history, wineries Read More

Luis
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

I took this trip on Oct 6, 2019. It was my 6th trip with Tripsite. the ship was the Zwaan. The landscape is stunning. The staff was super friendly without beig intrusibe. The distances are doable. The ship is excellent and the programmed group size is great, only 12 to 14 people. I have recommended these tours to dozens of people. And they continue to be one of the most fun things I have done in my life. Go!

Suzanne F.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The scenery was beautiful with the steep vineyards on either side of the Moselle River. We loved the Quo Vadis boat and the staff were all so professional, yet friendly and fun. Cabins were nicely appointed and the food was delicious. It was also great to have the option to try out an e-bike for the day, even if you hadn't reserved one for the week. A memorable day was finishing off the cycle part to attend a wine tasting night at Leo Schwab's winery...very entertaining. I feel totally comfortable recommending this particular cycle trip to anyone who is interested. Thanks so much for this wonderful experience.

Jennifer S.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The scenery was perhaps the star of this trip with gorgeous views of vineyards and quaint villages all along the Mosel River. But also we had a wonderful group of staff on the Quo Vadis who were lots of fun and thought of every detail. Meals were amazing. This made this trip probably our favourite trip ever. We travel with a group of friends and have done several other barge and bike trips.
The daily biking was longer than some other trips but most enjoyable with stops for points of history or picnics, coffee etc.
It will be hard to improve on our Metz to Cochem experience.

Nancy B.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The whole trip was really wonderful. Being from North America, we don't have paved bicycle paths on both sides of our rivers, especially out in the coutnry side. As a result, I was just amazed at the fact of being able to ride beside the Mosel River through the vineyards and be able to soak in the atmosphere without having to worry about traffic or rough roads. The Quo Vadis was a treat. The cabins were a decent size, the crew was friendly, knowledgeable and lots of fun and the food, prepared in the relatively small galley, was fabulous. All that were highlights for me.

Janet Zimmerman
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Our week on the Quo Vadis was fantastic. The Captain,crew and cycling guides were all wonderful. The served up tasty, beautifully presented, filling and nutritious meals. Our cycling routes were interesting and fun. I’d do another trip on the Quo Vadis

Peter B.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Easy riding in a beautiful settling with a great group spirit. The boat was very comfortable and clean and the staff made every effort to ensure we had everything we needed. Would recommend to anyone to have a look at this trip to see if it will suit them, all the information on the site was reliable and the experience was really enjoyable.

Libby Stupak
11 months ago

Verified Reviewer

I did the Cochem to Metz boat bike tour on the Quo Vadis August 3-10, 2019. The boat itself exceeded my expectation, as did the captain (owner of the boat), his family and the crew. Out bike guides, Ferry and John, were exceptional and so personal. Their knowledge of the area was great. I'm an avid biker for both recreation and commuting so the bike provided took a little getting used to. Also I'm quite short so could have used a bit smaller bike, but it worked out. Daily mileage was perfect which allowed us to see the sites and make stops. The food was fantastic, the scenery along the Mosel so beautiful. The stops we made each day were perfect and the time we were able to spend in Saarburg, Trier and Metz was great. I felt the attention paid to our having a great trip was exceptional. I booked my trip through Eurosail, and there were many blips in that process with that company, but in the end it all seemed to work out OK.

Donna Martin
11 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The staff on the Quo Vadis could not have been more accommodating,
Helpful, or fun. Our two bicycling guides, Ferry and John, were excellent and went out of their way to make this trip enjoyable for all. I wholeheartedly recommend this boat
and this trip.

Angie
11 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The crew on the Quo Vadis welcomed us with open arms. The food was outstanding, gourmet at every meal. Our guides John and Ferry made the biking part magical, both were so knowledgeable about the sites we stopped to see. The scenery was just breathtaking, the castles and vineyards and cathedrals. The rooms were very comfortable, especially the beds. Great showers and air conditioning! Would do this tour on this barge again in a heartbeat!

Elizabeth S.
11 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Best part? Stopping along the bike route to have a coffee or beer and seeing some of the historic and memorable sites in the quaint villages along the way!

Have an ice coffee at one of the lovely little cafes!

Dean S.
11 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The crew was second to none. Everyone took great pride in their work, especially the cook, who prepared meals to die for. We wanted to take her home with us. The guides went out of their way to make everyone happy. We really appreciated the guided tours in town each evening after dinner.

This trip was great for a wide range of abilities. Folks who were not as strong of bikers used e-bikes which were great equalizers.

My wife and I agree that this was one of the top vacations we've ever taken. We can't wait to go again.

Joseph (Joe) S.
11 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The crew of the Iris were all very knowledgeable and welcoming. By the end of the week I felt as though I knew each one personally and would welcome them all to my home should they travel my way. They made the trip more than worthwhile, especially when we had to ride in 100 plus degree weather. If I am to do another bike and barge trip it is this group of people that I would want as the crew.

Brain F.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Most Memorable Part: The scenery, the people, the food, and the cycling.

Leo R.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Most Memorable Part? Excellent group that interacted very well from the onset.

JoAn R.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Most Memorable Parts: Biking, local information, meals.

Rita J.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Most Memorable Part: The knowledge of our guide, Wouter, and the beautiful vineyards along the river. I loved how we were riding on a flat, easy and beautiful path, but could see and appreciate the steep mountain vineyards! This is our third Tripsite adventure and we have enjoyed each one. In fact, as we were driving home from the airport my husband was booking our next trip - Northern Holland!

Art R.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

We were on a river cruise from Amsterdam to Budapest last year, and we noticed that the rivers we were on had beautiful paved and much-used bike trails, often on both banks. Then our friends from Chicago, a couple our age, learned about a barge biking trip in Europe and went on it last fall. They invited us to join them this year on a similar trip on the Moselle River, from Metz, France to Cochem, Germany. Here's the concept: at Metz, we arrived at the Iris, a small ship fitted out for 24 passengers and five crewmembers. Besides the passenger cabins, the ship had a dining room, a lounge, and an outside deck- not all the other things you associate with a cruise ship. Each day at around nine or 10 o'clock in the morning, we would get off the ship with bikes provided by the outfitter, and bicycle about 30 miles along the bike path on the river. We were led each day by Wouter, our guide, who was a history major as well as a very competent tour guide. He and the other four Read More

Rita J.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Most memorable part: The incredible scenery and the knowledge of our guide.

Jim M.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The most memorable parts was the Saar River part of the ride, biking above the River with our guide and riding thru the vineyards. The little towns and the Roman History. Had no idea about the Roman history in this region before this trip. The Levees on the river. Just the general beauty of the area. The grapes growing on the sides of the mountains. Both our barge crew and all the people on the trip. FUN! FUN! FUN!

Leo R.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The total crew got involved in the trip and were always available to assist us with any problems or questions. It helped to break the ice with other bikers and soon we were one cohesive and fun group.