Portugal Bike Tour Reviews 61 to 90 of 95

 

 Country: Portugal • REMOVE

  • Algarve
    by Ed N. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    As you know from our past two trips, Romantic Road Austria/Germany and Provence, France, we thoroughly enjoyed both of them, both for similar and different reasons. We do enjoy the self guided component on these trips. In France, we found the e-bike addition to be worth the cost. All in all, both trips were great, including the very rideable off road trails and paths.
    That brings us to the recent Algarve trip. First of all, the bikes were, by far, the best quality that we have experienced and the staff at Portugal Trails were all very friendly and helpful. Also, the gps addition was great! However, the off road trails were almost unrideable and dangerous with a thick layer of large particle gravel on at least 75% of their length and many deep erosion created gullies. On our two previous trips, as I mentioned above, the trails were in very good condition. The Algarve off road trails were not at all, in our opinion, suited for hybrid bikes, maybe mountain bikes, but not hybrids. In Read more… fact, we missed most of the scenery along the way because we had to concentrate on the surface so we didn't slide on a piece of gravel, especially downhill.
    On a positive note, all but 2 of the hotels were very enjoyable, especially Herdade da Corte Tavira. We loved the personality of the people and the culture of Portugal very much. One final disappointment was that all of our luggage was not delivered to the final hotel until 7:30 PM after we had to call to point out that we were missing 2 suitcases, causing us to miss touring Sagres.

    Countries: Portugal

    • Algarve
      by Carla 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Staff

      Hi Ed,
      Thanks so much for your feedback. We've taken a good look at the tour, and although the on-road itinerary has always been offered as an option, that will be the primary route for 2018. It will also be possible to explore the off-road route where we feel there is much to discover.
      We sincerely apologize about the luggage transfer mix-up and hope you enjoyed the dinner on us!
      We hope to help you plan your next cycling adventure.

      Countries: Portugal

  • Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour
    by Mike Tansey 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I have taken many Tripsite bike/barge tours but this was my first van-supported tour. Sergio and Enrique, did a fantastic job of guiding our group of 9 along the route. The hybrid bikes provided were sturdy and in good condition. As others have noted, the coastal portions are relatively easy and flat - on beach promenades and boardwalks - but, once inland, the difficulty level increases drastically. The 20%+ grades on narrow lanes were a challenge but fun. Well, they were more fun going down than up :) You will ride on every type of surface - good pavement, wooden boardwalks, cobblestones, loose sand, rocks, gravel dirt tracks, forest trails, city streets, dodging traffic in the many roundabouts ... The daily distances are not that long but you are guaranteed to be tired at the end of the day! I would highly recommend this trip to any experienced and fit cyclist! The accommodations and food were first rate all the way. And the fact that we were riding the Camino de Santiago, the same Read more… route as the pilgrims walk, make the trip extra special.

    Countries: Portugal, Spain

  • Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour
    by Jacalyn C. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The self-guided cycling tour of the Camino in Portugal and Spain was a great way to experience the Camino with our own small group.

    Countries: Portugal, Spain

  • Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour
    by Kelly . 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    My friend and I rode the Camino de Santiago from Porto the coastal route. Scenery was wonderful!
    We did the self-guided tour using the Garmin gps. Once we got familiar with reading the gps the route was fairly easy to follow. We started with only 1 Garmin, but got a second gps on the second day of our tour. I highly recommend having 2! We found it very helpful double checking the route between the two of us.
    The accommodations were outstanding! And each hotel had such a nice breakfast each morning!
    Everyone we had contact with was helpful and friendly.
    The description of the route "easy to moderate" would be accurate for persons who are physically active on a regular basis. Portions of the route could be very difficult for some.
    I would suggest more emphasis on long days riding than the mileage. The bikes were very comfortable, but heavy in comparison to the bikes we are accustomed to riding. And the route conditions vary so much along the Read more… way that it is slow bicycling.
    This was my first cycling trip and I loved it! Would highly recommend it!

    Countries: Portugal, Spain

  • Silver Coast of Portugal
    by Andy Foster 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    A wonderful time. A hands off unguided tour down that beautiful coast just my friend and I. Thanks to Sergio and the gang for excellent guidance and suggestions, and his GPS, we never got lost and were able to stay on bike paths most of the way. All hotels were waiting for us, our bags already pre arrived. Thanks again Sergio! Highly recommended.

    Countries: Portugal

  • Portugal’s Wild Coast
    by Henry F. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The Portugal scenery was amazing. But the best part of the trip was the care we received from the local service, Portugal Nature Trails. One of our party fell and broke a rib on the trip, and Sofia at Portugal Nature Trails was all over it. She arranged a trip to the hospital, for many additional taxis, and checked in with us regularly.
    Not memorable: the hotel in Comporta. This hotel was not up to the standards of the other hotels, and the breakfast was extremely skimpy. So much so that we had to stop for another breakfast about an hour into our ride that morning. You should not use that hotel again.

    Countries: Portugal

  • Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour
    by Luis Crouch 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This trip was, like others organized by Tripsite, fantastic. The duration was perfect, the rating easy-moderate was correct. Note that there are a few places where you have to dismount and walk your bike. The local partner in Porto was great. My brother's chain snapped, and they organized a repair in the next town before we even got to it, and my brother's bike was fixed within hours.
    The local operator clearly care about cycling a lot. They were very organized and friendly and gave us a walking tour of Porto the day before we set out.
    The scenery is fantastic, the food is great, take advantage and eat a lot of cod! I wish we had stayed a little longer in Santiago, as it is a wonderful city. The bikes we were provided were excellent. In short, one of the best adventures of my life. I'd recommend it to anyone.

    Countries: Portugal, Spain

  • My first experience on an electric bike
    by Karen M 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I used an e-bike on our trip from Amsterdam to Bruges. Most of the time I rode without assist, but on an occasional hill or riding into a hearty wind, it made a HUGE difference. Instead of getting frustrated or exhausted, I was able to enjoy the scenery whilst everyone on the standard bikes had their heads bowed in concentration!

    Countries: Portugal

  • Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour
    by Ivette S. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The road from Caminha to Baiona was the most memorable part of trip. The hotel in Caldas dos Reis was beautiful!!
    Our guides Pedro and Tiago were very good.

    Countries: Portugal, Spain

  • Portugal, Land of Contrasts
    by Phyllis T. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Matt Butler and Paul Nesti of Adventure Bug were stellar. Enjoyed meeting them and riding with them very much. They did a spectacular job ensuring a wonderful and safe trip. Five stars!

    Countries: Portugal

    • Portugal, Land of Contrasts
      by Matt Butler 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply    

      Thanks so much Phyllis for your positive rating of our Tripsite Portugal Tour! Paul and I had a wonderful time guiding your diverse group In 2016. We understand that many of you are returning to Tripsite again for more cycling in 2017 - keep the spirit alive and enjoy your next vacation!

      Countries: Portugal

  • Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour
    by Bruce S. 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Sergio did an excellent job. He provided transfers from the airport and even though flights got seriously delayed, he was there to meet everyone. His bikes were in top condition, he provided the most complete selection of tools and spares that we have ever had, he was very accessible, his restaurant suggestions were very good, and his GPS routing worked flawlessly. When we finished one trip, he made sure the bikes were cleaned up and tuned up before we started the next leg.

    The trip notes were very brief but what was provided was accurate and the GPS made up for any gaps. This was an incredible trip provided by an a very well run provider.

    Countries: Portugal, Spain

  • Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour
    by Lorne M. 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I have been on several Tripsite trips over the last few years, and this was one of the best. There were several reasons: The food and wine was fantastic and inexpensive; the scenery was incredible; the hotels were great, and I loved having the route on a GPS. One of the highlights was our walking tour in Porto - Joanna was absolutely terrific - her knowledge and guidance made for one of the best days of the trip. Sergio was great - he looked after us well on the first day, making sure the bikes were properly adjusted and we were all comfortable and he followed up with us via email during both weeks. He also came out to our hotel after the first week and cleaned and serviced the bikes!! The "bonus" was Sergio's restaurant recommendations - each one served authentic local cuisine and were not "touristy". I have already recommended this trip to several friends.

    Countries: Portugal, Spain

  • Paradise in Portugal
    by j michael Cunningham 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    My wife, I and two friends took this trip in September. The farmhouse was a wonderful place to stay and rooms and common areas are very comfortable. Pool and grounds are lovely. The farm's owner has a classic car collection that is an added bonus if you are able to see it. Breakfasts are excellent. The staff we dealt with --Maria, Manuela and Johanna--were beyond great. They consistently went out of their way to make sure we had the best trip possible. Bikes were well maintained and appropriate for the terrain. I have been on three self-guided bike trips in Europe and the daily directions here were excellent--the best I have seen. The only caveat I have about the trip is that the difficulty level should be moderate and not easy. Daily trips were challenging beyond an easy category. In fact, four of the five days riding instructions listed the route as a medium bike ride. Other than that a great trip and good value. I gave the trip four stars rather than five due to Read more… the difficulty level.

    Countries: Portugal

    • Paradise in Portugal
      by Jehiel 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Staff

      Thank you for submitting this feedback. Based on your detailed feedback, we have changed the difficulty level to easy-moderate. With this tour being a based tour, there are many possible cycling routes to chose from and with varying degrees of difficulty.
      Thanks again for your input. We hope to help you plan your next trip!

      Countries: Portugal

  • Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour
    by Marci Cincotta 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Inspirational ride along the Portuguese and Spanish coastline! This trip is truly outstanding. The trip operator's personalized customer service was above and beyond! Though we did a self-guided tour, we felt very supported throughout our entire stay. The package included a walking tour of the city of Porto. Definitely take advantage of this. We had a personalized four hour tour which was rich with information and recommendations for the rest of our stay. Sergio, the owner of the tour operator checked in with us daily and even picked us up at the end to drive us back to the Porto train station to catch an early train to Lisbon. The biking route takes you along beachside boardwalks, many cobblestone roads, some mountain biking as well as some paved roads. You will ride through beaches, forests and vineyards and weave through tiny villages. The route is very well marked, especially in Spain, but the terrain can be challenging at times. While I found this a little Read more… difficult to adjust to in the beginning, I wound up enjoying the adventure and appreciating the sense of accomplishment that came at the end of each day. The stopping points each night were amazing. Each town had its own character and was filled with local charm. The hotel accommodations were outstanding. We stayed in castles and inns that were truly unique. Throughout the trip, but particularly the last few days, we encountered many people walking the camino and it was awesome to stop and chat with them at coffee stops and wish each other the typical "buen camino" along the way. We were given an accreditation booklet where were collected stamps from our various stops along the camino. At the end, we received a certificate in Santiago for completing the camino. Though we did not take this route for religious reasons, the trip proved to be very spiritual and inspirational. I would do it again!

    Countries: Portugal, Spain

  • Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour
    by Barbara petersen 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Loved the trip and especially our guides, the hotels, the food., the scenery..The Way was interesting and challenging (some gravel, some sand, beach boardwalks, etc; walked a bit but not because it was too hilly. We actually biked theough vineyards and even under trellises of grapes!! ) If you have a choice don't start the cycling portion on a weekend during beach season. (Dodging beach goers disturbs the scenery and calm). Porto is lovely and interesting too. A great opportunity to slow down and enjoy the countryside. None of us needed to ride in the van!!!

    Countries: Portugal, Spain

  • Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour
    by D. Blank 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The trip was really terrific. Super accommodations (especially Torre de Rio), abundant, delicious food ( and a real bonus that it was included in the trip price), varied and interesting scenery. However we feel that the Ebike was most useful (fantastic, really!!!) when there were no rocks or gravel. Fortunately our guides were kind enough to push the very heavy bike up some of the steeper rocky paths when the bike had traction problems. In general, the "moderate" designation for the trip should be explained in more detail, as beginning cyclists think that word means hills - when in fact, for this trip, it means surface. As Pedro said, "this is not a road trip." This is not a good trip for an inexperienced rider (which I'm not, but first time Ebike). Since we've been on many road trips, we didn't quite have the vision of what we were signing up for...although in looking back at the reviews, I now see that others did mention the road conditions but Read more… they should be described more clearly in the promotional materials.

    The guides and the bike shop owners were extremely caring and knowledgeable, and well organized and accommodating. Our contentment was clearly a priority as was safety. Dealing with the U.S. Office was very efficient and pleasant. We actually used their after hours contact phone for a flight pickup change and they were very responsive.

    This was our second Tripsite tour and we are highly impressed with quality and value!

    Countries: Portugal, Spain

  • Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour
    by Rycharde Farah 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Fizemos, eu e minha esposa, em maio/junho de 2016, o Caminho Português da Costa a Santiago de Compostela. Foi fantástico, excelente organização! Recomendo.

    Countries: Portugal, Spain

  • Alentejo Vineyards
    by J. Sheldrick 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The accommodation was excellent! (although we weren't very please with the location of our room in Evora at the Pousada Convento dos Loios as we were right next to the eating area which was occupied by diners from 7 am for breakfast and up to 10 pm for dinner)

    However, there are two things something that could easily have made the trip more enjoyable: putting kick stands on the bikes and improving the maps and written directions.
    It was incredibly annoying not to be able to stand the bikes up as we stopped frequently for pictures and most of the time, there wasn't anything to lean the bikes against. Having to lay them down on the ground sometimes resulted in the rear pannier getting knocked off centre which then meant readjusting it.

    Even though a gps was provided and was invaluable, we found the maps to be very poor most of the time, one time even the local tourist office couldn't help us! It would be very helpful if simple written directions were Read more… included on how to best leave the hotel and / or town to start the day's journey.

    We were impressed with the care and attention given to the safety aspect with the tools and equipment provided including a phone. We very much appreciated being picked up by Francisco at the train station in Pinhal Novo and also by Sofia who drove us from Evora to our hotel in Sintra. Thanks again!

    Countries: Portugal

  • Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour
    by Sue Wise 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    In a word - FANTASTIC!

    The entire trip was incredible. The route is extremely varied and beautiful. Starting in Porto and riding through seaside villages along the coast, then crossing into Spain and continuing along the coast, the riding is mostly flat and the views of the ocean just breathtaking. There are parts where you ride on bike paths, roads, boardwalks, cobblestone farming paths, and even a little single-track mountain biking type trail (which leads to a secluded beach area!). Later, the route takes you directly onto the Way of St. James (Camino de Santiago) and the riding is more hills and dirt paths, but also through small villages and historic areas. You follow this exclusively for the last 2 and a half days. You'll see many walkers making the pilgrimage - be sure to wish all a "buen camino"!

    We opted for the self-guided version, using the GPS. This was perfect for us. We could linger in areas for photos, rest when we wanted to and ride at Read more… our own speed. The GPS was easy to follow and also included interesting waypoints, such as waterfalls and old churches and monasteries. This really added to the trip.

    The hotel accommodations were awesome! In particular, views from the Parador in Baiona and the quiet, rustic beauty of the Hotel Torre do Rio were very memorable. The towns where we stayed were lovely and interesting to walk around after a day of riding. Don't miss some of the recommended restaurants - we tried a few and they were excellent.

    Ending in Santiago de Compostela, we visited the beautiful cathedral and lovely old town center. This is a terrific ending to the trip. Don't forget to get your "Compostela" to commemorate your travels.

    Sergio did a fantastic job with everything - the bikes were great, the pre-trip instructions clear, the accompanying trip notes good, the GPS easy to follow. He checked in with us a couple times just to make sure everything was going well. He's put a terrific trip together!

    This will be a trip we remember and talk about for years to come. Highly recommended!

    Traveled - early May 2016.

    Countries: Portugal, Spain

  • Portugal’s Wild Coast
    by mary 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Staff

    Hi everyone! This is Mary from Tripsite. I biked this tour in the fall of 2014 to check it out for all of you. The tour as written is 8% off road and I was challenged but rewarded with incredible cliff top views of the sea. (The tour can be adjusted for more on road riding if you prefer). One of my favorite memories: tackling a steep downhill, off road, I could hear this soft clanging of sorts that got louder and louder the closer I got to the base of the mountain. As I followed the path, I crossed a farmer's backyard, turned a corner, and there was a herd of sheep. The clanging sound were the sheep bells! It was an awesome moment I will never forget. I have to tell you that Portugal is now one of my favorite places! The people are unassuming and genuinely friendly. When I would bike into a town, I would wonder where the "touristy" cafes were...you know the places that overcharge for a coffee. What I found were real cafes and the locals sitting and sipping coffee Read more… or a beer. As far as the services, bikes were awesome, biking with a GPS is the way to go, scenery, spectacular!

    Countries: Portugal

  • Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour
    by Margie Hovan 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Spain & Portugal were delightful but the guides worked so hard at keeping us safe & happy that they made the trip an exceptional experience. I will definitely tell friends that this was a wonderful trip.

    Countries: Portugal, Spain

  • Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour
    by Mary Burkhard 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I wish I could say more about the route, but unfortunately, because of a biking accident, I was only able to ride the first day. The ebike seemed to be a really good one, but the combination of wet, slippery roads, the boost of power from the ebike, and the urging to use a higher boost mode on the bike was not a good combination. I know it's why I fell.

    Countries: Portugal, Spain

  • Portugal Atlantic Route
    by Marvin R. 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Terrific time, everything came off without a hitch. Can hardly wait to do another.

    Countries: Portugal

  • Jewels of Portugal
    by Becky Layton 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We had a great time on our 2 week cycling tour of Portugal and have recommended the tour to all of our friends!

    Countries: Portugal

  • Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour
    by Donna DeLeo 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The scenery was spectacular, the challenge was invigorating, the people were interesting, the guides were ever helpful and informative. Loved everything.

    Countries: Portugal, Spain

  • Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour
    by Lynn Conrad 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The trip included wonderful biking-many bike paths, trails and traffic-free lanes. It was made special -even inspiring- by following the route of St James--the Camino -- a historic pilgrimage route.
    Having tour guides made the trip stress-free thus more enjoyable. Their knowledge covered all aspects of the trip: best routes,history of the area, the best places to eat, out-of-the way special sites, translation and more.

    Countries: Portugal, Spain

  • Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour
    by Mary Daly 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I felt this was more of a moderate to difficult ride not easy to moderate the tour guides treated us like family.

    Countries: Portugal, Spain

PWPC