Portugal Tour Reviews — 61 to 88 of 88

4.9 out of 5

 


Kelly .
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour
Portugal, Spain

My friend and I rode the Camino de Santiago from Porto the coastal route. Scenery was wonderful!
We did the self-guided tour using the Garmin gps. Once we got familiar with reading the gps the route was fairly easy to follow. We started with only 1 Garmin, but got a second gps on the second day of our tour. I highly recommend having 2! We found it very helpful double checking the route between the two of us.
The accommodations were outstanding! And each hotel had such a nice breakfast each morning!
Everyone we had contact with was helpful and friendly.
The description of the route "easy to moderate" would be accurate for persons who are physically active on a regular basis. Portions of the route could be very difficult for some.
I would suggest more emphasis on long days riding than the mileage. The bikes were very comfortable, but heavy in comparison to the bikes we are accustomed to riding. And the route conditions vary so much along the way that it is slow bicycling.
This was my first cycling trip and I loved it! Would highly recommend it!

Andy Foster
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Silver Coast of Portugal
Portugal

A wonderful time. A hands off unguided tour down that beautiful coast just my friend and I. Thanks to Sergio and the gang for excellent guidance and suggestions, and his GPS, we never got lost and were able to stay on bike paths most of the way. All hotels were waiting for us, our bags already pre arrived. Thanks again Sergio! Highly recommended.

Henry F.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Portugal’s Wild Coast
Portugal

The Portugal scenery was amazing. But the best part of the trip was the care we received from the local service, Portugal Nature Trails. One of our party fell and broke a rib on the trip, and Sofia at Portugal Nature Trails was all over it. She arranged a trip to the hospital, for many additional taxis, and checked in with us regularly.
Not memorable: the hotel in Comporta. This hotel was not up to the standards of the other hotels, and the breakfast was extremely skimpy. So much so that we had to stop for another breakfast about an hour into our ride that morning. You should not use that hotel again.

Luis Crouch
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour
Portugal, Spain

This trip was, like others organized by Tripsite, fantastic. The duration was perfect, the rating easy-moderate was correct. Note that there are a few places where you have to dismount and walk your bike. The local partner in Porto was great. My brother's chain snapped, and they organized a repair in the next town before we even got to it, and my brother's bike was fixed within hours.
The local operator clearly care about cycling a lot. They were very organized and friendly and gave us a walking tour of Porto the day before we set out.
The scenery is fantastic, the food is great, take advantage and eat a lot of cod! I wish we had stayed a little longer in Santiago, as it is a wonderful city. The bikes we were provided were excellent. In short, one of the best adventures of my life. I'd recommend it to anyone.

Ivette S.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour
Portugal, Spain

The road from Caminha to Baiona was the most memorable part of trip. The hotel in Caldas dos Reis was beautiful!!
Our guides Pedro and Tiago were very good.

Phyllis T.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Portugal, Land of Contrasts
Portugal

Matt Butler and Paul Nesti of Adventure Bug were stellar. Enjoyed meeting them and riding with them very much. They did a spectacular job ensuring a wonderful and safe trip. Five stars!

Bruce S.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour
Portugal, Spain

Sergio did an excellent job. He provided transfers from the airport and even though flights got seriously delayed, he was there to meet everyone. His bikes were in top condition, he provided the most complete selection of tools and spares that we have ever had, he was very accessible, his restaurant suggestions were very good, and his GPS routing worked flawlessly. When we finished one trip, he made sure the bikes were cleaned up and tuned up before we started the next leg.

The trip notes were very brief but what was provided was accurate and the GPS made up for any gaps. This was an incredible trip provided by an a very well run provider.

Lorne M.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour
Portugal, Spain

I have been on several Tripsite trips over the last few years, and this was one of the best. There were several reasons: The food and wine was fantastic and inexpensive; the scenery was incredible; the hotels were great, and I loved having the route on a GPS. One of the highlights was our walking tour in Porto - Joanna was absolutely terrific - her knowledge and guidance made for one of the best days of the trip. Sergio was great - he looked after us well on the first day, making sure the bikes were properly adjusted and we were all comfortable and he followed up with us via email during both weeks. He also came out to our hotel after the first week and cleaned and serviced the bikes!! The "bonus" was Sergio's restaurant recommendations - each one served authentic local cuisine and were not "touristy". I have already recommended this trip to several friends.

j michael Cunningham
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Paradise in Portugal
Portugal

My wife, I and two friends took this trip in September. The farmhouse was a wonderful place to stay and rooms and common areas are very comfortable. Pool and grounds are lovely. The farm's owner has a classic car collection that is an added bonus if you are able to see it. Breakfasts are excellent. The staff we dealt with --Maria, Manuela and Johanna--were beyond great. They consistently went out of their way to make sure we had the best trip possible. Bikes were well maintained and appropriate for the terrain. I have been on three self-guided bike trips in Europe and the daily directions here were excellent--the best I have seen. The only caveat I have about the trip is that the difficulty level should be moderate and not easy. Daily trips were challenging beyond an easy category. In fact, four of the five days riding instructions listed the route as a medium bike ride. Other than that a great trip and good value. I gave the trip four stars rather than five due to the difficulty level.

Marci Cincotta
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour
Portugal, Spain

Inspirational ride along the Portuguese and Spanish coastline! This trip is truly outstanding. The trip operator's personalized customer service was above and beyond! Though we did a self-guided tour, we felt very supported throughout our entire stay. The package included a walking tour of the city of Porto. Definitely take advantage of this. We had a personalized four hour tour which was rich with information and recommendations for the rest of our stay. Sergio, the owner of the tour operator checked in with us daily and even picked us up at the end to drive us back to the Porto train station to catch an early train to Lisbon. The biking route takes you along beachside boardwalks, many cobblestone roads, some mountain biking as well as some paved roads. You will ride through beaches, forests and vineyards and weave through tiny villages. The route is very well marked, especially in Spain, but the terrain can be challenging at times. While I found this a little Read More

Barbara petersen
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour
Portugal, Spain

Loved the trip and especially our guides, the hotels, the food., the scenery..The Way was interesting and challenging (some gravel, some sand, beach boardwalks, etc; walked a bit but not because it was too hilly. We actually biked theough vineyards and even under trellises of grapes!! ) If you have a choice don't start the cycling portion on a weekend during beach season. (Dodging beach goers disturbs the scenery and calm). Porto is lovely and interesting too. A great opportunity to slow down and enjoy the countryside. None of us needed to ride in the van!!!

D. Blank
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour
Portugal, Spain

The trip was really terrific. Super accommodations (especially Torre de Rio), abundant, delicious food ( and a real bonus that it was included in the trip price), varied and interesting scenery. However we feel that the Ebike was most useful (fantastic, really!!!) when there were no rocks or gravel. Fortunately our guides were kind enough to push the very heavy bike up some of the steeper rocky paths when the bike had traction problems. In general, the "moderate" designation for the trip should be explained in more detail, as beginning cyclists think that word means hills - when in fact, for this trip, it means surface. As Pedro said, "this is not a road trip." This is not a good trip for an inexperienced rider (which I'm not, but first time Ebike). Since we've been on many road trips, we didn't quite have the vision of what we were signing up for...although in looking back at the reviews, I now see that others did mention the road conditions but Read More

Rycharde Farah
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour
Portugal, Spain

Fizemos, eu e minha esposa, em maio/junho de 2016, o Caminho Português da Costa a Santiago de Compostela. Foi fantástico, excelente organização! Recomendo.

J. Sheldrick
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Alentejo Vineyards
Portugal

The accommodation was excellent! (although we weren't very please with the location of our room in Evora at the Pousada Convento dos Loios as we were right next to the eating area which was occupied by diners from 7 am for breakfast and up to 10 pm for dinner)

However, there are two things something that could easily have made the trip more enjoyable: putting kick stands on the bikes and improving the maps and written directions.
It was incredibly annoying not to be able to stand the bikes up as we stopped frequently for pictures and most of the time, there wasn't anything to lean the bikes against. Having to lay them down on the ground sometimes resulted in the rear pannier getting knocked off centre which then meant readjusting it.

Even though a gps was provided and was invaluable, we found the maps to be very poor most of the time, one time even the local tourist office couldn't help us! It would be very helpful if simple written directions were Read More

Sue Wise
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour
Portugal, Spain

In a word - FANTASTIC!

The entire trip was incredible. The route is extremely varied and beautiful. Starting in Porto and riding through seaside villages along the coast, then crossing into Spain and continuing along the coast, the riding is mostly flat and the views of the ocean just breathtaking. There are parts where you ride on bike paths, roads, boardwalks, cobblestone farming paths, and even a little single-track mountain biking type trail (which leads to a secluded beach area!). Later, the route takes you directly onto the Way of St. James (Camino de Santiago) and the riding is more hills and dirt paths, but also through small villages and historic areas. You follow this exclusively for the last 2 and a half days. You'll see many walkers making the pilgrimage - be sure to wish all a "buen camino"!

We opted for the self-guided version, using the GPS. This was perfect for us. We could linger in areas for photos, rest when we wanted to and ride at Read More

mary
4 years ago

Tripsite Staff

Portugal’s Wild Coast
Portugal

Hi everyone! This is Mary from Tripsite. I biked this tour in the fall of 2014 to check it out for all of you. The tour as written is 8% off road and I was challenged but rewarded with incredible cliff top views of the sea. (The tour can be adjusted for more on road riding if you prefer). One of my favorite memories: tackling a steep downhill, off road, I could hear this soft clanging of sorts that got louder and louder the closer I got to the base of the mountain. As I followed the path, I crossed a farmer's backyard, turned a corner, and there was a herd of sheep. The clanging sound were the sheep bells! It was an awesome moment I will never forget. I have to tell you that Portugal is now one of my favorite places! The people are unassuming and genuinely friendly. When I would bike into a town, I would wonder where the "touristy" cafes were...you know the places that overcharge for a coffee. What I found were real cafes and the locals sitting and sipping coffee or a beer. As far as the services, bikes were awesome, biking with a GPS is the way to go, scenery, spectacular!

Margie Hovan
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour
Portugal, Spain

Spain & Portugal were delightful but the guides worked so hard at keeping us safe & happy that they made the trip an exceptional experience. I will definitely tell friends that this was a wonderful trip.

Mary Burkhard
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour
Portugal, Spain

I wish I could say more about the route, but unfortunately, because of a biking accident, I was only able to ride the first day. The ebike seemed to be a really good one, but the combination of wet, slippery roads, the boost of power from the ebike, and the urging to use a higher boost mode on the bike was not a good combination. I know it's why I fell.

Marvin R.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Portugal Atlantic Route
Portugal

Terrific time, everything came off without a hitch. Can hardly wait to do another.

Becky Layton
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Jewels of Portugal
Portugal

We had a great time on our 2 week cycling tour of Portugal and have recommended the tour to all of our friends!

Donna DeLeo
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour
Portugal, Spain

The scenery was spectacular, the challenge was invigorating, the people were interesting, the guides were ever helpful and informative. Loved everything.

Lynn Conrad
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour
Portugal, Spain

The trip included wonderful biking-many bike paths, trails and traffic-free lanes. It was made special -even inspiring- by following the route of St James--the Camino -- a historic pilgrimage route.
Having tour guides made the trip stress-free thus more enjoyable. Their knowledge covered all aspects of the trip: best routes,history of the area, the best places to eat, out-of-the way special sites, translation and more.

Mary Daly
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour
Portugal, Spain

I felt this was more of a moderate to difficult ride not easy to moderate the tour guides treated us like family.

Sally Fischbeck
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour
Portugal, Spain

A wonderful experience! We biked on paths, boardwalks, back roads, through woods, along the beautiful Atlantic coast, beside pilgrims walking to Santiago, through city streets and sidewalks, and more! We opted to stay in 4 star hotels, which I would definitely recommend (converted palaces, monasteries, etc.).

Klazina van Buren
5 years ago

Tripsite Staff

Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour
Portugal, Spain

I never expected this trip to show that much variety in scenery, was awesome.

Hank Robison
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Portugal Atlantic Route
Portugal

Tour operator got us from AP to hotel, fixed us up with two able bikes with all accessories, and provided thorough pre-ride instruction including, most-importantly, how-to operate the provided gps. But there is more: One of our ride days was stricken with particularly bad weather (30 km headwind with gusts to 50 km, dead against us). About 25 km in, exhausted, wind with rain now, tour operator tracks us down with his van and transports us to our next hotel. Great attention to detail, we couldn't be happier with the whole experience.

Tim and Jan
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour
Portugal, Spain

“Self-Guided Bike Tour Porto to Santiago de Compostela - 6 days cycling”

Sergio and his team did themselves proud - congratulations. This is a bike tour with a difference....from the excellent personal service, to the included walking tour of Porto, to the interesting and varied ride, to the high standard of the hotels especially the absolute gem Torre de Rio at the end of day 5.
The ride for the most part follows the Portuguese Caminho way, so is not always smooth and easy, but this is to be expected by its very nature, and adds to the challenge.
My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed the trip and unreservedly recommend it to all enthusiastic cyclists.

Visited June 2015

Sam Brewster
8 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Algarve
Portugal

Affordable and well-managed at both ends, A+ stateside, B for Europe. Don'ts: clip-in pedals, tandem rentals, and Ryan Air. Do bring your own bottle and cage. Above all, to see Portugal up close by bike (and foot) was an exceptional treat.