Portugal Tour Reviews — 31 to 60 of 88

4.9 out of 5

 


Kedar
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

Portugal’s Vicentine Coast and Algarve
Portugal

We just completed this trip in last week of May 2019 & had so much fun that I’m ready for one more right away. The process to book this trip was so easy & quick with excellent communication at all times. Once we landed in Lisbon Sergio picked us up at the airport & gave me a ride to the hotel which was excellent. The bikes they provided were really in good
Condition. Before we began our trip they gave us GPS route info & guidance which helped us tremendously in ensuring our trip was safe, enjoyable & exciting. I highly recommend this. Have fun.

Ann and Patrice
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

Silver Coast of Portugal
Portugal

We loved our bike trip and will definitely go back to Portugal. We would love to do another bike trip supported by Sergio and his team - we highly recommend them!
Our trip was in April 2019 and from the moment we arrived we were warmly welcomed - with an airport pick up. We were given the best walking tour we have had which was done in conversation style allowing us to both learn about the rich history of Porto and to ask questions vs. being "talked at". A port tasting and tour was also included and was equally well done. Sergio and his staff treated us with incredible care all along the trip even though we were self guided. The bikes and Garmin GPS were top! The suggested restaurants along the way provided delicious food (that says a lot because we live in France and we are quite selective). Hotels were very comfortable some with spa facilities which were appreciated after being in the saddle. The route was varied - mostly coastal yet some forests. We enjoyed the Read More

Richard J.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

Portugal Atlantic Route
Portugal

My wife and I really enjoyed this bike tour; everything from the hotel in Porto, to the gps guide, luggage transfer and our final transfer to Lisbon was excellent. Carlos briefed us about the tour, introduced us to our bikes and our gps "tour guide"; actually made us do it before he left us. Since we had an extra day in Porto we practiced using the gps by doing its walking tour of Porto. Appreciate the Emergancy phone provided, even tho we did not use it. Weather was perfect. The only downside is the tour goes thru areas that were burned a couple years ago; very sad; made us really appreciate the beautiful unburned forests we rode thru. The tour booklet provided a good overview of each day's ride; there are some sections where finding food & water at mid day may be a challenge. A good tour

Leigh & Pat
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

Silver Coast of Portugal
Portugal

Just completed this tour - May, 2019. We were a group of 12 (Canadians) and were looking for a reasonably easy bike journey. The terrain was - as advertised - very flat and never strayed very far from the beautiful shorelines of Portugal. (one significant hill - character builder) Early to mid-May worked well and we could only imagine how crowded the beaches and communities would be if the trip were taken in high summer months. Many of the small towns we passed through were almost dormant - very little life or activity, and many shops seemed closed . If you take the trip - be aware of Sunday closings and fewer selections of restaurants in Portugal. Sergio, the organizer and supporter, was helpful in every way with the organization of the trip, gps devices and bikes. He was available at all times if needed. We did not require that sort of support - and we were non-guided. The actual surfaces of land that we biked upon were variable - ranging from excellent bike paths Read More

Gary M.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour
Portugal, Spain

Our self-guided bike ride along the Camino from Porto to Santiago de Compostela was a bit tough along the walking trail sections; but, the overall experience was fantastic. The high quality accommodation was exceptional - just what we needed at the end of each day! Recommend to anyone with a reasonable level of fitness.

Marci C.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour
Portugal, Spain

The entire trip was incredible! So glad we chose the upgraded accommodations as we stayed at some remarkably unique properties. Two were old castles and one we referred to as the garden of Eden. The scenery was incredible throughout the route and the food was delicious! The best part of the trip was the people we met along the camino. So many bikers and hikers were there from around the world on personal journeys and were incredibly interesting to talk to along the route and whenever we stopped. I would definitely recommend this trip and will absolutely do it again. Tripsite was amazing recommending this trip at the last minute and for connecting us with the fabulous local company who took care of us while we were there.

Michael O.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Paradise in Portugal
Portugal

The farmstay outside Evora was fantastic. The food sensational. The riding was great. (If you are after big climbs then not for you). We had an excellent holiday.

Joseph White
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Alentejo Vineyards
Portugal

We had a fantastic trip with some of the best vistas and sites. Roads were quiet one your got off the cobble stone and marble streets of the towns. Hotels were exceptional and a great part of the trip.
The hills are longer than we had expected but it was not a problem. Error on the side of using electric if in doubt
All around great trip with new GPS and Kickstands.

Jane S.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour
Portugal, Spain

So much of this biking trip was on trails or roads with views of the Atlantic Ocean almost the entire way. It was a gorgeous ride which gave us the opportunity to experience so much of the beauty of the Portuguese and Spanish coastline. The trail we rode was for the most part the same one being used by the pilgrims on the spiritual journey to Santiago de Compostela, Spain which is where our trip also ended. That in itself was so inspiring, seeing the many folks from all over the world making that trek.
If I had one suggestion it would be to find an alternative to biking through the city of Vigo and its metropolitan area. That was the most stressful part of the trip and unfortunately where we got lost the most.

Thomas W.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Atlantic West Coast & Sintra
Portugal

Our bicycle trip through Portugal (Atlantic West Coast Sinatra) was a trip that will not be forgotten soon. Starting with Bernardo who picked us up at Lisbon airport, then bicycling through the small villages, the countryside, the seaside and ending up in Caicais, words alone cannot describe what an absolutely marvelous time we had. Almost the entire bicycle trip was ridden on bicycle paths or roads with limited automobile traffic, the only exception was Sintra where the traffic was higher, but was tolerable. Our hotels exceeded our expectations as did the bicycle ride itself. Being able to choose where we wanted to eat, from the small restaurant in Sao Pedro Moel where the restaurant owner was our waiter and chef, and the fish was out of this world good, to having picnics along the way, we always had an excellent meal. We cannot recommend this trip more highly and want to say thanks to Tripsite for helping us find a great, enjoyable and challenging bicycle ride through Portugal. We will have to bring our friends on this trip in the future.

Carlos da Mata
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour
Portugal, Spain

Olá,
Gostaria de saber se você fazem somente o aluguel da bike e quanto seria para um período de 7 dia saindo de Porto e indo para Santiago pela Costa.

Grato
Carlos da Mata

Tom H.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour
Portugal, Spain

I did the Camino de Santiago Bike Tour in October of 2018 and it was an experience of a lifetime. I began my trip in Porto, Portugal and completed my journey in Santiago, Spain. My trip began with a guided tour of Porto, Portugal with Diego. Diego was extremely informative throughout my tour and he provided insight and information into the beautiful city of Porto. The next day I was met by my tour host, Sergio and he provided my bike, an explanation of the GPS system and safe passage out of Porto. The sights I enjoyed over the next several days were breathtaking. For the first 3 days of my trip I had the Atlantic Ocean over our left shoulder and it was warm, beautiful and inviting. After I left the sea coast I was greeted by vineyards, forests, small rural areas and eventually larger busy cities. Upon arriving in Santiago I ended my route at the Cathedral and was filled with emotion and tears. This trip gave me the opportunity to pray, reflect on my life and give thanks for the many blessing I have been given. Thank you Tripsite for providing an opportunity of a lifetime!

Allen W.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Atlantic West Coast & Sintra
Portugal

My girlfriend and I took this trip down the coast in early October. The whole experience was excellent. We were picked up at the airport on time with bikes ready. The scenery and destinations were outstanding. The accommodations were very good. We really enjoyed the whole trip. We would recommend Tripsite and their partners to everyone.

David C.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour
Portugal, Spain

This was a trip of a lifetime. There were plenty of climbs and equal downs. The small towns and seasides were magical. Some tough riding on stone streets in Portugal and some other challenges with fire damaged roads. Overall, the natives were supportive and friendly. Food and wine made the trip!

Manuel Cordeiro
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour
Portugal, Spain

My wife and I flew all the way from South Africa to do the self guided tour from Porto to Santiago. This was a way to celebrate our 28th wedding anniversary and what a treat. Sergio, Tiago and Diego were totally professional and made sure we got the right sized bicycles for our trip. The route was amazing, the hotel accommodation was spectacular. Especially in Bayona and Caldes dos Reis. We would recommend this ride to anyone who wants to do the Camino de Santiago over a six or seven day period. We will be back with Sergio and his team soon.

Marjorie S.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Silver Coast of Portugal
Portugal

We loved this trip. The route was scenic and easily navigated, the bikes were well maintained and the customer service was impeccable. It was an easy trip with the exception of one leg at the end, but electric bikes made it doable. Absolutely recommended. The only point of confusion was occasionally the GPS would point us in 2 different directions. One was the main route and the other was an optional side trip. At times it was confusing as to which way to go. Otherwise, things were exceptionally well planned. See this wonderful part of Portugal while it’s still less visited by tourists.

Gloria
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Silver Coast of Portugal
Portugal

Did a self-guided tour with a group of 5 women - had a blast. Flat terrain, beautiful scenery. Glad we built in time to explore Porto and Coimbra, both fabulous cities. Sergio was a pleasure to work with, highly recommend this trip.

Valerie K.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour
Portugal, Spain

Overall the trip was excellent. Sergio and his crew could not have been more accommodating. They went above and beyond to provide a great experience. Although I realize that it is difficult to grade the level of cycling difficulty for people of different ages and abilities, the trip was more difficult that I was expecting from the description.

Christine T.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour
Portugal, Spain

The accommodations each night were such a treat! The guides and the care they took was excellent!

Jeanette A.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Portugal Atlantic Route
Portugal

Wonderful bike tour along the coast of Portugal which included biking through forests and small towns. Having a pre-set GPS made it so much easier when traveling without a guide. Hotels (and breakfasts) were' top notch' and our luggage was always waiting when we arrived. Could easily do his trip all over again but more likely will consider a second one in Portugal (starting in Lisbon and heading south this time). Not only is Portugal an incredibly beautiful country, but the people are friendly and radiate the relaxed atmosphere that makes touring even better.

Katharine S.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour
Portugal, Spain

The most memorable part of the trip was arriving at the Cathedral in Santiago de Compostela. After 6 days of cycling over varied and often challenging surfaces it was a thrill to reach our ultimate destination. What a way to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary!
Other highlights include turning in our Pilgrim's Passport to receive our certificates of completion, attending Mass in the Cathedral, as well as the magnificent coastal scenery along the way.
Sergio and his team - Tiago, José and Pédro - are real pros. Safety is their number one concern and they are extremely attentive to the needs of their riders. The bicycles were well-maintained and adjusted as required.The support van was a much appreciated added feature.
Our accommodations were top-notch, in fact one place was the nicest in which we have ever stayed. The breakfast selections at every stop were plentiful and varied.
It was enjoyable speaking to the walking pilgrims and finding Read More

Martha
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Silver Coast of Portugal
Portugal

Very nice bike tour - great scenery and nice hotels. Everyone was very nice and helpful. Sergio is wonderful to work with and very responsive to our questions and requests. Wonderful trip!

Jill P.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Portugal Atlantic Route
Portugal

We were unfortunate to do this tour when the weather was unseasonably bad. It would be a much better experience with good weather and tail winds! However, the tour providers kept in touch and made the tour as good as it could be under the circumstances.

Jacalyn C.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour
Portugal, Spain

Cycling on the camino in Portugal and Spain was beautiful at every turn but the most memorable part was the wonderful people we encountered, both those walking or cycling and those who lived along the way.

Michael J.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour
Portugal, Spain

All trips with Hennie are always the best experience possible while on 2 wheels!
Thank you very much for all of your hard work in providing the best tours possible!

Carol R.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Algarve
Portugal

Very well organized! Guides very helpful and approachable. I would definitely recommend Tripsite!

Janine B.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour
Portugal, Spain

I loved this trip, even tho it rained two days we were riding the Camino. Our guide was very knowledgeable and so patient and kind. My only concern was the bicycle was too large for me and there was no other option in the shop. I am 5' 1" tall and was on the same bike as my husband who is 5' 11". I needed a smaller bicycle. But I managed. It also did a Bike and Barge with Tripsite three years ago and was very pleased.

Ed N.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Algarve
Portugal

As you know from our past two trips, Romantic Road Austria/Germany and Provence, France, we thoroughly enjoyed both of them, both for similar and different reasons. We do enjoy the self guided component on these trips. In France, we found the e-bike addition to be worth the cost. All in all, both trips were great, including the very rideable off road trails and paths.
That brings us to the recent Algarve trip. First of all, the bikes were, by far, the best quality that we have experienced and the staff at Portugal Trails were all very friendly and helpful. Also, the gps addition was great! However, the off road trails were almost unrideable and dangerous with a thick layer of large particle gravel on at least 75% of their length and many deep erosion created gullies. On our two previous trips, as I mentioned above, the trails were in very good condition. The Algarve off road trails were not at all, in our opinion, suited for hybrid bikes, maybe mountain bikes, but not hybrids. In Read More

Mike Tansey
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour
Portugal, Spain

I have taken many Tripsite bike/barge tours but this was my first van-supported tour. Sergio and Enrique, did a fantastic job of guiding our group of 9 along the route. The hybrid bikes provided were sturdy and in good condition. As others have noted, the coastal portions are relatively easy and flat - on beach promenades and boardwalks - but, once inland, the difficulty level increases drastically. The 20%+ grades on narrow lanes were a challenge but fun. Well, they were more fun going down than up :) You will ride on every type of surface - good pavement, wooden boardwalks, cobblestones, loose sand, rocks, gravel dirt tracks, forest trails, city streets, dodging traffic in the many roundabouts ... The daily distances are not that long but you are guaranteed to be tired at the end of the day! I would highly recommend this trip to any experienced and fit cyclist! The accommodations and food were first rate all the way. And the fact that we were riding the Camino de Santiago, the same route as the pilgrims walk, make the trip extra special.

Jacalyn C.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour
Portugal, Spain

The self-guided cycling tour of the Camino in Portugal and Spain was a great way to experience the Camino with our own small group.