4 star rated Provence - Wilderness of Camargue Bike Tour Reviews 1 to 13 of 13

 

  • Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
    by Catherine Ann H. 2 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Cycling through historic monuments and the Camargue wilderness was magnificent!

    Boat: Caprice

    Countries: France

  • Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
    by Prosper 5 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This was my 5th bike/barge Tripsite tour and it was just as amazing as my first. The guide was knowledgeable and the group was an interesting blend of former and present U.S. Air Force personnel as well as Italians, Americans, French and Flemish. The weather in mid April was the biggest challenge with hailstorms and thunder, which made the trip all the more memorable.
    The bull fights (humane but sad), the aqueducts, and the food, oh the food! As always a nice cross section of people who are like minded in their zest for life and the enjoyment of experiencing Provence at 11 mph at sea level. (Oh, and they do warn you about the hills and the wind, which I glossed over BEFORE we went). The reason I rated this a 4 Star is I'm reserving the top prize for something that knocks my socks off!

    Countries: France

  • Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
    by Cheryl M. 9 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Amazing staff and great guide

    Boat: Caprice

    Countries: France

  • Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
    by Clive P. 11 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    My main disappointment was that we did not go to Chateauneuf du Pape, that was one off the considerations in picking this tour. I understand the reasoning for the change in itinerary but it should be removed from the description if it is not being included. The gearing on the bikes could be better, higher top gear, lower bottom gear, for this tour. I hope this doesn't sound too negative as we did enjoy the tour. Most memorable sites were Les Beux/Les Carrieres de Lumieres and Pont-du-Gare.

    Boat: Caprice

    Countries: France

  • Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
    by Peggy S. 11 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    It's hard to choose a most memorable part of the trip. Aigues Mortes was a big surprise -- the history, the walls and the tower, and the special celebration -- the bull games -- taking place while we were there. The Camargue was amazing, with the waterways and the vineyards, the distinct breeds of horses and the bulls. Provence was beautiful with the olive groves and apple orchards, and of course more vineyards. It was exciting to visit the sites where Van Gogh had painted in Arles, and Hugo's commentary was superb. Singing Starry Starry night on deck under the starry night was lovely. The visit to Les Baux, with the spectacular scenery and Les Carrieres des Lumieres in the quarry were fabulous. We enjoyed visiting the Pont du Gard and singing Sur Le Pont d'Avignon as we cruised passed the bridge itself.

    Now the areas for improvement: The bikes were not good enough for the Provence segment. We understood that we would be provided with 27 gear bikes, but Read more… had an infinite gearing system instead, and the lowest gear wasn't enough for the hills we encountered. Those with electric bikes were happier. Also, through some poor communication between Tripsite and the tour operator, Girolibero, a part of the trip route that our group had been particularly interested in -- a visit to Chateau Neuf du Pape -- was no longer included. Hugo did his best, with a vote (which came out even) to see whether we should go to Chateau Neuf du Pape or take the shorter route that had been promised to the others on the trip. Then he flipped a coin. We accepted the decision as appropriate, but were disappointed that we had not got what was advertised through Tripsite.

    Boat: Caprice

    Countries: France

  • Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
    by Debbie S. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The Italian barge staff and guide Carlos made the group feel like family. We laughed so much every day. It was sad to leave at the end of the week. Cycling, scenery was all very nice.

    Boat: Caprice

    Countries: France

  • Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
    by J. Farina 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The trip was great! Mostly all positive. Tom and I would like to have the pace a bit faster....that was the only negative.

    Boat: Soleo

    Countries: France

  • Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
    by Ross Densky 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This is the second barge and bike trip we took with Tripsite and I would have to say we liked the scenery more on the Taste of Burgundy than we did with Provence. Riding the in the Camargue got a little boring. Other than that we enjoyed the overall trip.

    Boat: Soleo

    Countries: France

  • Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
    by Rebecca Posante 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    My main concern about this particular trip is that we did not know ahead of time that staying on the barge and not biking was not an option unless one was sick. The winds were pretty bad (25-50 miles per hour) so that some of us did not feel up to the rides. On the particularly difficult day, it would have been nice to just remain with the boat.

    Boat: Soleo

    Countries: France

  • Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
    by Robert Burt 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The Soleo was a disappointment in all respects.

    Boat: Soleo

    Countries: France

  • Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
    by George Bibeau 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    More time in certain areas would have been nice. There were instances where it felt like we were being pushed along, and I appreciate that we had 22 people of varying age, skill experience and physical ability, and that we have to get back to the boat. Our guide was very good, but you needed to try and understand his manner, which could be short at times. He was knowledgeable, insightful and caring, but his manner did not necessarily reflect that. Meals were good but thought it would reflect more French cuisine of the Provence area, not a complaint, just an observation.
    Staff was excellent and I continue to recommend this bike trip and company to friends."

    Boat: Soleo

    Countries: France

  • Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
    by Pam Crespi 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This was our 4th trip with Tripsite - very reliable and good value.

    Boat: Soleo

    Countries: France

  • Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
    by Christel Mikelic 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The bike part was more challenging than in the discription. You have to be a strong biker used to hills. There are many hills and one very challenging hill. So I would not consider this an easy tour as in the description. However it was well worth the effort if you are well trained. Our guide Wiro was awesome and kept us together and on time which was very much appreciated. I would recommends this trip in spring or early summer. By the time we went end of August the vegetation was all dried up and there were no flowers because they had such a hot dry summer. I prefer a comfort plus boat as you have more space in your cabin. These cabins were very small. However all in all it was a beautiful, historic and worth while tr which I would recommend to avid cyclists.

    Boat: Soleo

    Countries: France

PWPC