5 star rated Provence - Wilderness of Camargue Bike Tour Reviews 1 to 27 of 27

 

  • Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
    by Janet L. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I loved the day that we visited Les Baux de Provence and went to Carrieres Lumineres. We also visited the asylum in St. Remy where Van Gogh spent a year and produced many paintings. We rode through so many beautiful landscapes and villages in Provence and many times it felt like we were part of a Van Gogh painting. My other favorite part of this trip were the meals with everyone on our boat. It was so nice to have wonderful food and wine and sit and talk to people from all over the world. This was my first bike and barge experience and I thoroughly enjoyed myself. All of the guides and staff on the boat were great as well!

    Boat: L’Estello

    Countries: France

  • Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
    by Pat C. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Provence is a great area to cycle in and with the exceptional guide we had it made it even more enjoyable. The crew worked well together and could not of been more accommodating. This was our 6th trip with Tripsite and that in itself should be a solid endorsement for this company! A must do!

    Countries: France

  • Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
    by Marc L. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The mutual congeniality among the group was especially memorable and was facilitated by every element of the trip! Antonella, our cycling guide from Avignon to Aigues-Mortes, was the glue which brought us all together - she was a delight! The accommodations, with several locations for socializing in comfort, encouraged us to relate to each other in multiple group configurations. Finally, the variety of daily itineraries gave us many options to enjoy beautiful scenery and cultural highlights.

    Boat: Caprice

    Countries: France

  • Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
    by Rick C. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The scenery on the Provence trip was amazing.

    Boat: L’Estello

    Countries: France

  • Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
    by Susan F. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The Avignon to Aigues-Mortes bike-barge trip was terrific. Our guide, Antonella, was knowledgeable about the area as well as about the route. She did an amazing job of ensuring our safety and making it a really fun ride. We would have loved to stop at a winery or two!

    Boat: Caprice

    Countries: France

  • Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
    by Margaret H. 9 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The whole crew on our barge was wonderful, helpful and contributed greatly to the enjoyment of the week. The food was excellent, plentiful and culturally relevant. Our tour guide was knowledgeable, capable, experienced and fun ... great assets!

    Boat: Caprice

    Countries: France

  • Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
    by Shanna N. 9 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Loved every thing about my Bike and Barge trip. Can't wait to travel with you again!

    Countries: France

  • Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
    by George F. 10 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I thoroughly enjoyed every part of the trip, but it was particularly interesting to tour Aigues Mortes and to learn how and why it came about.

    Boat: L’Estello

    Countries: France

  • Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
    by Scott & Liz P. 10 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Having never done a “biking” vacation before, this was our first experience and I will say that we both felt that this would be something that we would definitely want to do again.
    The equipment was in great condition and was properly geared for the terrain that we encountered. The guide on our tour was part historian, part musician, part artist and part entertainer. He made our trip come alive with insightful facts and was always encouraging with all of the clients on the tour. We constantly felt special in the opportunities we had to gain access to sites that we toured.
    The crew on the boat was exceptional as well. We were always made to feel at home and quickly realized how much effort they all placed on us enjoying ourselves.
    The meals served on board were exceptional as well. Our chef Sara, provided seasonal, and local dishes that enhanced our journey through Provence.
    Lastly, we would have to say that biking through Provence was by far, the Read more… best was to tour Provence. We often felt more like citizens of the country than tourists. We will never forget the wonderful times we had, especially with the Dropbox videos and photos that our tour guide send us upon our return home.
    This was undoubtedly one of the best vacation experiences that we have ever had.

    Boat: Caprice

    Countries: France

  • Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
    by Patrick S. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The most memorable part for me was the camaraderie formed within the group. Mainly because our guide, Helmut, was so personable and caring. Also, Tripsite did a great job filling our time with memorable adventures. I'm so glad I chose to use an e-bike.

    Boat: L’Estello

    Countries: France

  • Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
    by Jenny D. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The trip was amazing!! From pink Lakes, to Pink Flamingos, White Sandy Beaches, to the Punta Du Gard, Castles, Sunsets, Fields of Lavender, and Van Gough. This trip was a feast for the senses. What a fun trip. I've already booked my next one. This was excellent!!

    Boat: L’Estello

    Countries: France

  • Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
    by Judith K. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The bike tour was terrific and exactly what our group was looking for. Biking along quiet country lanes and through vineyards. Our Italian cabin crew was fabulous.

    Boat: Caprice

    Countries: France

  • Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
    by Gilles P. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Loved the "flag" system. Excellent guide (Antonella) that made it possible to stop and discover the sites. Adored stopping in bistros and similar. Great suppers.
    I would recommend splitting a group of 21 in two or even three smaller parts when on public roads; the flag system assures you that you will not get lost from your group.
    OK, when do we leave?
    Gilles XX

    Boat: L’Estello

    Countries: France

  • Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
    by Janet A. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Wonderful experience

    Boat: L’Estello

    Countries: France

  • Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
    by Beverly P. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Amazing scenery - good guide, manageable route, fantastic food. Only thing that could have been improved was wifi on the boat. If more than two or three people were using it, it was impossible to connect and always very slow.

    Boat: Caprice

    Countries: France

  • Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
    by Michelle S. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We really enjoyed our trip. It was nice to have our own group on the boat. Everyone had a great time, the crew was great, the food was awesome and you can't beat the places we visited. Thank you for a great trip!

    Countries: France

  • Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
    by Gloria P. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The routes of this trip were fantastic, even though the Lavender was not in bloom the fragrances hung in the air as we rode by the harvested fields. We rode to some of France's National Monuments which was special in of itself. I thought the routes and itineraries were great. I always looked forward to what they had planned for us next. Our guide and all the staff on the barge were all wonderful and so happy to share this journey with us! The food was excellent - who knew there would be such fine dining on the barge! This is an adventure not to be missed!

    Boat: Caprice

    Countries: France

  • Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
    by Gail F. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Ah...The trip was memorable for so many reasons, the people, the sites. Bikes were amazing to ride. Loved the infinity gears. We loved the Soleo, however it sunk due to some submerged metal. The staff did their level best to help the passengers continue vacation, get to their embassy to get new passports, medications, and put us up in hotels. The Estello was brought up to continue our trip. There were some circulation/moisture issues on the Estello so we didn't enjoy that boat as much. One suggestion would be to do a short first day clinic to ensure riders understand basic group riding etiquette. Rounding the city round about would have been better/safer had we all gathered and taken the lane to go as a group rather than single file around in such an extended line. Then resume to single file along country/city roads. The sites were amazing but there were some areas that must have required more city riding. Loved the Carmarge horses, fields of poppies, flamingos, roman stadium and Read more… aquaduct. Loved the group of people and the crew. Peter and Sheena did a great job despite their loss of the boat. Marco was awesome, he was our single contact after the barge sunk he helped organize us and processed us thru what had to be done. Arie also was a huge help during this process.. (the owner of the boat was in and out, he didn't even recognize any of the passengers try to apologize for the situation or see how we were doing.. not a fan of the owner of the boat) Oh the folks at Tripsite who I contacted did try to see what they can do. We have separate insurance as suggested but I'm not sure if Tripsite will try to make any reparations for our interrupted trip.. we missed 2 days of cycling.. I wouldn't mind a discount on a future trip.

    Boat: Soleo

    Countries: France

  • Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
    by Lynn L. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I really enjoyed the off-road trails and quiet back roads near Aigues Mortes.

    Countries: France

  • Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
    by N. Foley 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    My travel advisor (Carla) is already aware that, although we registered as two vegans and sent a reminder a week or so before we left for Europe, the information had not been transferred to the chef. So we ate as vegetarians (eggs and dairy) for the trip rather than eschewing all animal products as is our preference.

    Our trip leader was not experienced on the route, having only travelled it once before in the opposite direction, and this meant a few wrong turns to be corrected... But Ronnie was as pleasant, friendly, encouraging, and multilingual as you could ask for! The only problem I encountered with the bikes was the lack of suspension -- which meant for a bruised tail bone after the first day when we travelled a very bumpy, broken pavement back road on the return from Chateauneuf de Pape ;-)

    Boat: Soleo

    Countries: France

  • Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
    by C. Slater 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Nothing bad or ugly. Scenery got better as we moved north. Group on our trip (both crew and guests) were great. Enjoyed the Soleo.

    Boat: Soleo

    Countries: France

  • Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
    by Charles Hancock 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I was greatly appreciated to allow us to drink and enjoy the wine we purchased without any extra charge.

    Boat: Soleo

    Countries: France

  • Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
    by Margot Horan 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Barge/cycling trips are a fantastic way to explore the countryside and towns - you see so much more when you are cycling. One vivid memory of a cycling trip through northern France was stopping to look at poppies growing along the side of the road. I love the fact that you do not have to pack up each day - it is a very relaxing experience. The diversity of people who do these trips also adds to the experience. The trips that I have done in the last three years had fantastic staff who were very friendly and knowledgeable. I have done two barge/bike trips and look forward to doing more in the future.

    Boat: L’Estello

    Countries: France

  • Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
    by Peter Monahan 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The trip exceeded my expectations. My wife and I especially enjoyed the company of the other travelers, and we all got along very well.

    Boat: L’Estello

    Countries: France

  • Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
    by Joan Farina 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I recommended it to Dave Ford who is joining you in September 2016 with his large gang. Do I get a free shirt?

    Boat: Soleo

    Countries: France

  • Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
    by Howard Jay 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Our guide was awesome!

    Boat: Soleo

    Countries: France

  • Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
    by Suzanne Triplett 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Everything about the trip was as described, well planned and executed.

    Boat: Soleo

    Countries: France

PWPC