4 Star South Holland Tour Tour Reviews — 1 to 15 of 15

Gouda, South Holland, the Netherlands.
Discounted Summer departures

South Holland Tour

8 days from €813

4.6 out of 5

South Holland Tour

Easy Bike + Boat Tour in Netherlands

This bike tour in Southern Holland takes you along beautiful paths through Holland's most scenic rural region … This tour also visits the prestigious and historic towns of Haarlem, Leiden…

 Stars:  4     
4.6 out of 5

 


Jennifer D.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The scenery was lovely! We enjoyed our active vacation - we self guided our biking days & between the maps, app, & instructions from our guide beforehand we didn’t get too lost. The staff of the Normandie was amazing!

Warren H.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Great trip the tour could use a rundown on the operation of the e-bikes. Bikes were great but a rundown on removal and locking the bike needed to be done. Seat adjustment needs to be covered as well. Crew was great just more time for the operation of e-bikes is needed

Marilyn M.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

As our trip leader was well aware, I preferred the scenic countryside to the hectic intersections of the bigger cities. Though I was glad to see Leiden, Haarlem and Delft, it is a consideration when picking a tour. Crew was great and the meals surpassed expectations!

We were dissatisfied with the fit of the bikes. Care was not taken to size the bike to the rider and several of our members dealt with bikes too big for them - a safety issue! Also, my nephew had to trade seats with me to make my ride much more comfortable - that left him with a less desirable seat - those options should be the responsibility of the tour company and back up equipment should be available on site.

William H.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

The dinners and the beautiful countryside.

Lori M.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

The scenery was beautiful. I was disappointed that I had to miss the last two days of the biking tour because the ship had engine trouble and had to go back to Amsterdam for repairs.

Lynda S.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Although we enjoyed the trip, there is no one thing that stands out as the most memorable. However, there are some things that need improvement:
- The food. This was a top-rated boat but some of the food was sub-par. For instance, you do not serve vegetables from a can!
- Having electric bikes and regular bikes in the same guided groups is a mistake. The regular bikes do not have a chance and the pace keeps getting quicker and quicker, pushing the ordinary bikes aside. There should be separate guides for the two types of bikes.
- Riding through the cities was terrifying, particularly in The Netherlands where everyone rides bikes. We have been on another boat/bike tour down the Danube (with RadReisen) and our tours of the cities were by bus with riding only on the fringes. It was much safer and you saw and learned about so much more.

Lori V.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Incredible countryside! The boat was very clean and the staff was great. The evening food was a bit disappointing but the overall experience was fantastic and a great value!

Diane O.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Riding through such beautiful countryside...make sure to include a planned trip to Keukenhof when it's tulip season

Colleen S.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

I very much enjoyed the beauty of the Netherlands countryside. Amazed by the extent to which the country is so bicycle friendly!

Ronerto R.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Exciting bike and barge tour throughout Southern Holland. Definitely proclaiming a successful trip in a beautiful Holland. Safe and crew were very attentive and courteous.
Felt mislead by bike insurance offerer by Tripsite. Later found out bike staff on the barge that if the bike was damaged I would have to pay upfront the amount of damage that I caused to the bike staff and then I can put a claim to the insurance by Tripsite which I would be reimbursed at that time This was a minor snafu and I was very disappointed about the misrepresentation when I was told the insurance would cover everything upon needing the coverage for bike damages.

Doyle S.
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Most Memorable Part: The trip to kinderdijk was fantastic.

Sian W.
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The biking was wonderful with a great variety of landscapes and villages to see.

P. Watson
8 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Due to the length of the cycling routes, there should have been better quality bikes. All gears should have been in working order.

Jeffrey Douglas
9 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The trip is excellent and we are now booked for our third time. However, and I know this is out of control of anyone, but our last trip was affected because of the crane accident near Gouda. This caused a rerouting of half the trip and because of that, we missed half of the sites that we wanted to see. On another note, the country should really make it illegal to dump raw sewage from the boats. This is disgusting and makes the waterways unclean. One would think that the government should do something about this and set up pumping stations. Otherwise, we really enjoy the bike/barge rides and will continue to go on them in the future.

Jean Louis Bergeron
9 years ago

Verified Reviewer

On some days, we could have biked more. Very pleasant walks in the evenings.
Very small window in our room.