South Holland Tour Tour Reviews — 31 to 57 of 57

4.8 out of 5

 


Christa V.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The combination of beautiful bike routes and coming back to amazing meals each evening made for a vacation I would consider doing again.

Pak Ching A.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Most memorable part: Getting to know many friends from different countries.

Sian W.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The biking was wonderful with a great variety of landscapes and villages to see.

Thelma K.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

I learned and saw things from the Netherlands that I had never seen before. I loved the cycling through the dunes.

Daniel A.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

This tour was the perfect way to see the Netherlands.The biking and scenery was wonderful. The staff was nice, the food was adequate, the boat could use a style update but it was clean with basic small cabins.

Azam E.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Boat and bike trip was our first experience. It was really amazing and well- organized one :)) we just wish to have more options for healthy food on board and choose our table at dinner time to socialize with more people than having assigned seats every night. -Thank you

Connie V.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Loved all the windmills, museum's, and bike routes. The food was delicious. Staff were excellent. I recommend to do the long routes as you get to see more.

Mike S.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The overall experience was excellent. We enjoyed the intimacy of a relatively small group on the boat. It allowed us to meet a number of people over the course of the week. We will definitely be returning in the future.

If I had one suggestion it would be to limit the number of days where there was a deadline to meet the boat in the late afternoon as these deadlines sometimes creates pressure to complete the route quicker than I would have otherwise chosen.

Lauren F.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The most memorable parts were the wonderful roads to ride on in The Netherlands, the food was delicious, the staff members were accommodating and friendly .
We loved this barge experience so much we signed up to do Northern Holland.

Kathleen L.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The most memorable part was riding through the windmill countryside.

Sya C.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The most memorable part was the wonderful hospitality we experienced on the Zwaantje. The captain and staff were great and I could recommend them to anyone. It was a fantastic way to enjoy a siblings reunion.

John O.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The crew on the barge were fantastic. The trip exceeded our already high expectations.

Cornelis S.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

We were very pleased with the bike/barge tour on the Swaantje. Being a slightly smaller boat, it took us right into the heart of the towns. Boat staff most friendly and accommodating. Our bike guide Felix was a gem. Great sense of humour and understanding of everyone's concerns.

Helen M.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The scenery was beautiful and the barge was lovely. The most memorable part of the trip was the people - the Dutch are friendly and helpful, and the Angela Esmee crew was exceptional!

Maggie C.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Wonderful standard of accommodation - meals quality and cabin comfort were excellent. Cheese tasting on board every evening was an unexpected bonus. The bikes are operated by a pedal break which was a new experience for our group of 7 but we adapted over the course of the trip. The cycle routes were excellent, not too strenuous and were long enough so that you really felt that you had a good day's exercise and yet there was just enough time to stop off in some of the lovely towns and villages for museum and cafe visits.

W. Flink
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

This is our third bike and barge trip and we would come back to do another. We had a great time! The boat, the Liza Marleen, was very nice, the crew very friendly, and our bike guide informative, interesting, and a lot of fun. It was very nice going on a small size boat and the crew created a family-like atmosphere which made the trip very enjoyable. One one particularly warm and longer day, the crew handed out delicious popsicles as we climbed back aboard at the end of the day. We appreciated the all the small details like this. We tell many friends that they should do one of these Bike and Barge trips. We'll be back.

M. Gaherty
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Trip was outstanding however a comment. Upon our arrival on the boat, the first thing they tried to do was sell us bike insurance. We showed them the paperwork that we had paid 15 Euros. They countered that their ins was only 10 Euro and that it would be easier to settle a claim because we would not have to get reimbursed by you. We did not buy their ins but this turned us off immediately. Also, why are we paying 15 when they charge 10? This option should have been explained to us. Now the good news: boat was beautiful and we had a great room. Food was absolutely outstanding! I thought it was exceptional on Theodor Kormer but Anna Maria Agnes had them beat by a hair! And our guide, Niko, what a doll! Wish I could have taken him home with me! Prior to our trip my friends and I spent a few days in Amsterdam. While visiting museums, I lost my new jacket, new Galaxy S-7 phone and my digital camera! We retraced our steps, went to police station. I came to the conclusion that I might Read More

P. Watson
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Due to the length of the cycling routes, there should have been better quality bikes. All gears should have been in working order.

V. Silberstein
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

This was a fabulous trip! The best way to see the Netherlands is by boat and barge. This cruise far exceeded my expectations. The barge was homey and warm, the crew was so special. They took care of our every need, and did it in a friendly and caring manner. The chef was phenomenal! The value for your money was great. I would do this again in a heartbeat!

N. Miles
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

There was initially a question with the insurance we had purchased from you. We had to purchase again on board. After it was reported to you, things were quickly resolved. We had another glorious trip with you and appreciate your help.

Lynda Vera
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Excellent trip, guide & staff. Thoroughly enjoyed it. Only downside was the cabin or perhaps the pillow was a bit musty - had allergic symptoms/ loss of sleep during the night but was fine during the day.

Jeffrey Douglas
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The trip is excellent and we are now booked for our third time. However, and I know this is out of control of anyone, but our last trip was affected because of the crane accident near Gouda. This caused a rerouting of half the trip and because of that, we missed half of the sites that we wanted to see. On another note, the country should really make it illegal to dump raw sewage from the boats. This is disgusting and makes the waterways unclean. One would think that the government should do something about this and set up pumping stations. Otherwise, we really enjoy the bike/barge rides and will continue to go on them in the future.

Doug Dowell
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The food was spectacular on both tours. The crew and guides were excellent on both tours. In particular, having guides with expertise in the history and art of the area is much more important than expertise in cycling. We have been recommending these tours to friends and family all summer long. Thank you.

Bruce Carter
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The route presentations by the guide were difficult to follow because they did not use a Powerpoint type presentation with a screen. This left the guest fumbling through paperwork which made the presentation difficult to understand and increased the risk of getting lost along the way.

Jean Louis Bergeron
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

On some days, we could have biked more. Very pleasant walks in the evenings.
Very small window in our room.

Ron Neesham
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

We have just returned from our holiday on the Anna Marie Agnes which we thoroughly enjoyed. The whole voyage and cycle riding was well planned and, Ida, the guide could not have been better.

We were allocated a dining table with a total of eight English speakers who all gelled from the first meal and we sometimes met at path side cafes.

Alison Stilwell
9 years ago

Verified Reviewer

It has been about 5 years since I did the Southern Tour. I have wonderful memories and have been thinking about booking another bike/barge tour for the past few years. Maybe 2012 will be the year! Never having completed a bike tour, I was happily surprised by the quality of the bikes and was always able to easily keep up with the group.