5 star rated South Holland Tour Bike Tour Reviews 1 to 30 of 40

 

  • James G. 4 days ago     Verified Reviewer

    Most excellent trip! Beautiful country, people, art, and delicious food and drink! I was most surprised by the amazing churches and the cycling culture! Our crew, captain, chef, staff and guide were very helpful and informative. Everything was on time! Even made time for swimming! The route map provided and GPS Tracks were great. I was the only person aware of the GPS tracks on the trip, not sure if others missed this or if their agents didn't provide -Thanks Tripsite. Also, Tripsite Support Agents via LiveChat were very helpful prior to the trip! The only thing I would do different is bring my own bike seat, just used to it I guess...

    Boat: Wending

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Jackie L. 2 months ago     Verified Reviewer

    My wife and I had never done a bike trip before, let alone a boat and bike one. Our South Holland Tour turned out be fabulous that way exceeded expectations. The Dutch landscape was beautiful. Our boat, Sailing Home, was charming and immaculate. A daily highlight was getting to know our fellow shipmates over dinner. And what dinners! They were of varying cuisines lovingly prepared by Eline, our Cordon Bleu-trained chef. Some random thoughts: 1) we brought our own helmets, but it was unnecessary as the boat had helmets of varying sizes, 2) I was anxious about the quality of the bicycles on board which turned out to be needless worry; our 24-speed bikes were in great condition, 3) we had no idea who our fellow travelers might be, and strangers became friends who shared email addresses at trip’s end. We’ve had multiple vacations in Asia and Europe; our South Holland Tour was one of the memorable.

    Boat: Sailing Home

    Countries: Netherlands

  • John S. 2 months ago     Verified Reviewer

    Great trip, beautiful scenery, terrific bike paths, good food, fine accommodations, no complaints! I would highly recommend this itinerary!

    Boat: De Amsterdam

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Kathie W. 2 months ago     Verified Reviewer

    Southern Holland Tulip Tour on the Anna Antal- small group, smaller barge, excellent guide/cook/staff, relaxed setting, comfortable room, clean, clear directions and guidance. Very affordable plus arrival city for us was Amsterdam so accessible from the get go. Perfect weather which is out of anyone’s control but it made the biking extraordinary. Highly recommend this trip.

    Boat: Anna Antal

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Wilf C. 9 months ago     Verified Reviewer

    In short, the South Holland boat-bike trip exceeded all my expectations. The routes, scenery and attractions were unbeatable. The boat cabins were small (akin to a university dorm room) but were extremely functional and comfortable. All of the staff did their utmost to satisfy our needs. We experienced windy days, a rainy day and lots of sun - the biking was always good. I'm typically a trip planner, so having all the logistics taken care of by the tour company made this an exceptional cycling vacation. I have already recommended the tour to many of my cycling friends.

    Boat: De Amsterdam

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Daniella from Tripsite 10 months ago     Staff

    This tour is incredible. It is all in one: beaches, dunes, historic towns, beautiful scenery, taste richness. Idyllic rides crossing the countryside passing by dreamy little towns while enjoying the caring of a dedicate and welcoming boat crew which felt like family. Getting up in the morning was a blessing. Every pedal took us to a new horizon of beauty, iconic landscapes and charming quarters which involved us in a good state of mind and body. Your whole self responds to this amazing atmosphere of enjoyment. History and culture just embraces you for the whole time. Meals are delicious; trying the local cheese, fruits, street food, or just finding a picturesque corner for a coffee is priceless. Getting back to our boat (Liza Marleen) was like arriving at home after an exciting and rewarding adventure. The captain and her crew knew exactly what we needed to replenish our energy while making every meal a pleasure. We were also lucky to get warm and long days, so as an extra, we got to Read more… jump into the inviting waters to extend a little more the incredible experience of each day. Our 7 years old daughter loved everything, even the cultural aspects of it is an invitation to all ages and tastes. I recommend this tour to every and anyone. It is definitely a bucket list top item.

    Boat: Liza Marleen

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Donald B. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer

    South Holland trip was beyond what we were expecting in terms of scenery, trails and dedication by the Holland tour operators.

    Boat: De Amsterdam

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Rachel F. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer

    It was the trip of a lifetime!!! This was a trip on my bucket list and could not have asked for better!! Thank you!

    Boat: De Amsterdam

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Katie H. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer

    This was a very positive experience. Bikers of all abilities can participate in this tour. The navigation can be a bit tricky. I would definitely recommend using the navigation app in addition to the maps & briefings. However, there was usually a friendly local or another member of the group not too far away to help get you back on the route. The barge was very nice. We had an upgraded room. Plenty of storage space. The guides were excellent. The staff on the barge couldn’t have been nicer. The food was very good. The tour itself exceeded my expectations. Holland is beautiful. The route took us through a variety of geography. Lots of quintessential Dutch experiences, windmills, cheese, delft, etc.. The de Amsterdam is a larger boat than most so you have a large group. Neither here nor there, just a note if you prefer a more intimate group.

    Boat: De Holland

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Scott P. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer

    Our trip through south Holland was a history lesson with activity all in one. We had the day to enjoy countryside, beautiful gardens, canals and the old brick homes and cities along the way. Each morning we had fresh local baking to start our day and pack a lunch. We enjoyed a wonderful three course supper every evening experiencing different cuisines and fresh local produce. Many evenings a history walk was included after supper, finishing the day with some information on the city we were near. The week went by too quickly. ( I would recommend bringing earplugs to help sleep as some of the mooring places were noisier than where we live.) All in all a very wonderful holiday, we would do it again.

    Boat: Wending

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Sarah D. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer

    There were 3 of us from the USA traveling together. They told us to lock our bikes and take the key with us when we went into a store or restaurant. Toward the end of the trip we ( all 3 of us ) went into a store and did not luck our bikes. When we came out of the store one of the bikes was GONE. We took one of our other phones and called the USA to have the spouse lock the missing phone and track the bike on the GPS. The missing bike was 6 miles away at a big store. The shop owner called the police- the police went to the store- closed the store down for 45 minutes and locked all the 4 doors to the store. The police walked into the store looking for the red and black bike bag- saw it- walked up to the man , who was using the stolen phone and arrested him. He had stolen bikes before. They were so happy to catch him this time. The police never found the helmet and the man took $100, US dollars. They found the bike in the front of the store, as we knew the bike's # Read more… and brand. The phone was recovered. The thief was put in jail for 2 nights- we were told. The bike was returned to the barge. The victim was returned to the barge by the police. Lesson learned- NEVER LEAVE YOUR BIKE UNLOCKED and TAKE the KEY! On a lighter note- the wildflowers and wildlife a long the canals, were unbelievable! Would do it again, but lock our bikes.

    Boat: De Holland

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Martha B. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer

    Scenery was excellent, dinners on the boat were superb, and the guide (Peter) was friendly, helpful, and competent. Suggestion--let there be hot water for tea or coffee available any time--not just till 6PM. Also, supply plastic bags for packing lunches--or advise people to bring their own.

    Boat: De Amsterdam

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Pam W. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer

    This trip exceeded all my expectations. It is a wonderful way to see the country. The accommodations were very comfortable. We will be back. And recommend it to our friends.

    Boat: De Amsterdam

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Dave C. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer

    The De Amsterdam is more like a cruise ship than a barge, very nice cabin, very nice dining room.

    Boat: De Amsterdam

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Norma B. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    This trip has been on my bucket list for several years. I did it, just turned 70 years old. We had a lot of rain so felt we were constantly rushing or dodging the rain....no fault of yours of course. This was our first time using the bike trails so were somewhat confused but we did it. One suggestion would be to inform riders which direction to head, left or right, off the ramp. Loved it.

    Boat: Anna Maria Agnes

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Adrianus S. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    My wife and I were part of a custom tour charter excursion as sibling/spouse reunion. The cycling portion of the trip was wonderful and accommodations on board were wonderfully. Great captain, hosts, and cooks did a wonderful job. We would love to do it again!

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: Netherlands

  • John B. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Cycling gave us a good look at south Holland. Wonderful variety. Passed through peaceful farm land and enjoyed the many small towns we passed through. Getting lost from time to time forced us to interact with locals and many of those occasions turned into highlights. Found the Dutch people to be most helpful.

    Boat: Anna Maria Agnes

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Gaye S. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    It was quite an adventure! Best way to see the real country and people of Holland.

    Boat: Anna Maria Agnes

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Eileen C. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    The Southern Tour from Amsterdam in the Netherlands is a wonderful trip. It was my first time on a cycling tour and I felt that I received all the information that I needed in order to prepare and to make a wonderful experience. The route had nice a diversity between cycling and stopping in Dutch cities. The crew was very helpful and friendly, and the food was great. My bicycle couldn't have been more comfortable. I highly recommend this trip.

    Boat: Liza Marleen

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Walter V. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    A wonderful way to see the Netherlands and experience different parts of the country. Food on the barge was excellent. I do recommend you practice a lot before the trip to prevent saddle sores. Proper biking pants helps a lot.

    Boat: Anna Maria Agnes

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Christa V. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    The combination of beautiful bike routes and coming back to amazing meals each evening made for a vacation I would consider doing again.

    Boat: Anna Maria Agnes

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Pak Ching A. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Most memorable part: Getting to know many friends from different countries.

    Boat: Anna Maria Agnes

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Daniel A. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    This tour was the perfect way to see the Netherlands.The biking and scenery was wonderful. The staff was nice, the food was adequate, the boat could use a style update but it was clean with basic small cabins.

    Boat: Anna Maria Agnes

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Azam E. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Boat and bike trip was our first experience. It was really amazing and well- organized one :)) we just wish to have more options for healthy food on board and choose our table at dinner time to socialize with more people than having assigned seats every night. -Thank you

    Boat: De Holland

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Connie V. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Loved all the windmills, museum's, and bike routes. The food was delicious. Staff were excellent. I recommend to do the long routes as you get to see more.

    Boat: Anna Maria Agnes

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Mike S. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    The overall experience was excellent. We enjoyed the intimacy of a relatively small group on the boat. It allowed us to meet a number of people over the course of the week. We will definitely be returning in the future.

    If I had one suggestion it would be to limit the number of days where there was a deadline to meet the boat in the late afternoon as these deadlines sometimes creates pressure to complete the route quicker than I would have otherwise chosen.

    Boat: De Holland

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Lauren F. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    The most memorable parts were the wonderful roads to ride on in The Netherlands, the food was delicious, the staff members were accommodating and friendly .
    We loved this barge experience so much we signed up to do Northern Holland.

    Boat: Anna Maria Agnes

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Kathleen L. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    The most memorable part was riding through the windmill countryside.

    Boat: Anna Maria Agnes

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Sya C. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    The most memorable part was the wonderful hospitality we experienced on the Zwaantje. The captain and staff were great and I could recommend them to anyone. It was a fantastic way to enjoy a siblings reunion.

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: Netherlands

  • John O. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    The crew on the barge were fantastic. The trip exceeded our already high expectations.

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: Netherlands

PWPC