5 Star South Holland Tour Tour Reviews — 1 to 30 of 58

Gouda, South Holland, the Netherlands.
Discounted Summer departures

South Holland Tour

8 days from €813

4.6 out of 5

South Holland Tour

Easy Bike + Boat Tour in Netherlands

This bike tour in Southern Holland takes you along beautiful paths through Holland's most scenic rural region … This tour also visits the prestigious and historic towns of Haarlem, Leiden…

 Stars:  5     
4.6 out of 5

 


Leonard D.
3 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

It was well organized. Ari was excellent as were the rest of the staff. We really enjoyed cycling in the outskirts of cities and stopping for coffee in small villages

Cindy H.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

In spite of rain and hail storms and being drenched most days while biking, it was FANTASTIC. The bike tours/itineraries were great (the app had some glitches but we figured it out). I didn't love the timeline to have to be back by 5 for briefing. I would have enjoyed longer days (aside from when the ship had to sail, that I understand). The other issue, and from what I heard from staff having other complaints as such, is the lack of water, coffee and tea not being available most of the day. If we didn't make it back in time for the afternoon snack, they pulled everything, then there was nothing hot to warm up with (especially being soaking wet), then you had to wait until 4 for the bar to open and then you had to pay for coffee/water. Does not seem unreasonable to have a pot of coffee and hot water readily available all day. Not sure if it's a common occurrence, the the lower decks hallways smelled horribly of sewer. I know they had a plumbing issue the day we boarded, so maybe it was related to that.

Bernard W.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Organization of the trip and the quality of crew and colleagues south holland is terrific cycling the bikes were of high standard

thomas c.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Riding an E-Bike for the first time was super comfortable. Easy to operate and the 'Ride with GPS' made it simple and slick to cruise the Holland countryside. Also very much enjoyed the boat rides through the canals...

Donna I.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

The crew, the lodgings, and the bikes were fabulous. Breakfasts were good… dinners took two hours every evening ~ which was a bit long. The food was… interesting. Soup really bad a couple times, and seemed rather understaffed as far as getting beverages. Also the wording of the afternoon beverages misleading. It sounded as though coffee and tea would be available all day until 4:00, but that is incorrect. Coffee and tea were available free from approximately 3:00-4:00 only. After that, everything costs. All in all a very enjoyable experience. Nico in particular was great, arranging the rides. Weren’t able to dock at the two northern towns of Haarlem or Zaandam because of engine trouble, but made the best of it, staying in Amsterdam and riding out of there instead.

Lynn A.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Although my South Holland Tour was canceled and rerouted to North Holland, it was lovely. The tour guides, captain & staff were terrific and despite weather related complications, made the trip memorable. I will definitely be doing another - hopefully the Southern route...

Lisa S.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The beautiful scenery, wonderful camaraderie, and helpful guides made this a remarkable and enjoyable experience. For those not comfortable cycling who might be traveling with an experienced cycling partner, I highly recommend an e-bike. It took all of the stress away for both is us!

Caroline Ann B.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Well organized boat and cycle tour through South Holland. The Poseidon was a super boat with great staff and great food. The tours were well organized by Ingrid. Ingrid is excellent, well informed and very helpful. She provided some assistance and guidelines for our self guided tour. The E bikes were very good. Highly recommend.

Douglas G.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Most Memorable Part: The many and varied biking routes on the tour. Our guide Ingrid van de Grint was fantastic.

Teresa L.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Bikes were top quality and the tour instructions were excellent. It was an excellent route. Food on the Normandie was good and the accommodations very comfortable.

Juliëtte S.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Finding out that using an E-bike is WONDERFUL (this was our first trip) and allowed us to bike must further and faster than we thought we were capable of. The daily tours were well set up - took us along the unbeaten (bike) paths and allowed us enjoy time with friends.

Mary Elizabeth H.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

I loved the first day biking through Bruekelyn, the day in Gouda, and the day we biked the dunes and tulip fields. Tinaka, the gulf was awesome. The food was mediocre but we went into town every night and had great dinners.

C Kevin Armstrong
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

It was so nice to once again be able to travel. We joined a wonderful group of cyclists mostly from Germany on de Amsterdam. The boat was very nice with a great crew. Our guide gave excellent briefings every evening to prepare us for the next day and was helpful the whole week out on the course. The rest of the crew was equally prepared and helpful the whole tour from amazing meals to top-notch drink service to keeping the boat clean. While we were used to the smaller barges it worked out to the best because there were fewer than normal on this tour. It allowed us to get to know all of the fellow cyclists and to share a good beer and a stroopwafel with them. Making so many new friends is absolutely the best part of the trip. We look forward to our next adventure!

Judith R.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Very nice boat. We had a mildew smell problem with our room, and the boat crew acknowledged it and when they were unable to fix the problem they upgraded us to a nicer room. The crew was terrific, and the boat was very comfortable.

Gilberto M.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Unforgetable trip becouse this country is amazing! The boat crew and bike guide were also very nice! Thank you!

Pamela R.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Sailing on the barge through Rotterdam harbour. This bike and barge tour was amazing. The barge was so comfortable,the crew were wonderful,food was absolutely first class.Our guide did a fabulous job,and was so nice.We would urge anyone thinking about travelling in Holland to consider doing a bike and barge tour with this company.We are in the upper age group,and had no trouble keeping up.

Tracy v.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

This was a retirement celebration for my husband. We were a total of 8 family members. The Liza Marleen was a great boat- food was marvelous and our tour guide superb. Out 16 mo old grandson was accommodated for and I must say our fellow passengers were the kindest bunch we could have hoped for. It’s hard traveling with babies-but we could not imagine the vacation without him

Abraham V.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

An amazing physical experience with 68 fellow bikers from Germany and the US. Dutch hospitality warmly visible on multiple beautiful biking paths. Well organized tour. Tour leader Magreet Klijn deserves kudos for leadership role.

James G.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Most excellent trip! Beautiful country, people, art, and delicious food and drink! I was most surprised by the amazing churches and the cycling culture! Our crew, captain, chef, staff and guide were very helpful and informative. Everything was on time! Even made time for swimming! The route map provided and GPS Tracks were great. I was the only person aware of the GPS tracks on the trip, not sure if others missed this or if their agents didn't provide -Thanks Tripsite. Also, Tripsite Support Agents via LiveChat were very helpful prior to the trip! The only thing I would do different is bring my own bike seat, just used to it I guess...

Jackie L.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

My wife and I had never done a bike trip before, let alone a boat and bike one. Our South Holland Tour turned out be fabulous that way exceeded expectations. The Dutch landscape was beautiful. Our boat, Sailing Home, was charming and immaculate. A daily highlight was getting to know our fellow shipmates over dinner. And what dinners! They were of varying cuisines lovingly prepared by Eline, our Cordon Bleu-trained chef. Some random thoughts: 1) we brought our own helmets, but it was unnecessary as the boat had helmets of varying sizes, 2) I was anxious about the quality of the bicycles on board which turned out to be needless worry; our 24-speed bikes were in great condition, 3) we had no idea who our fellow travelers might be, and strangers became friends who shared email addresses at trip’s end. We’ve had multiple vacations in Asia and Europe; our South Holland Tour was one of the memorable.

John S.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Great trip, beautiful scenery, terrific bike paths, good food, fine accommodations, no complaints! I would highly recommend this itinerary!

Kathie W.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Southern Holland Tulip Tour on the Anna Antal- small group, smaller barge, excellent guide/cook/staff, relaxed setting, comfortable room, clean, clear directions and guidance. Very affordable plus arrival city for us was Amsterdam so accessible from the get go. Perfect weather which is out of anyone’s control but it made the biking extraordinary. Highly recommend this trip.

Wilf C.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

In short, the South Holland boat-bike trip exceeded all my expectations. The routes, scenery and attractions were unbeatable. The boat cabins were small (akin to a university dorm room) but were extremely functional and comfortable. All of the staff did their utmost to satisfy our needs. We experienced windy days, a rainy day and lots of sun - the biking was always good. I'm typically a trip planner, so having all the logistics taken care of by the tour company made this an exceptional cycling vacation. I have already recommended the tour to many of my cycling friends.

Daniella from Tripsite
6 years ago

Tripsite Staff

This tour is incredible. It is all in one: beaches, dunes, historic towns, beautiful scenery, taste richness. Idyllic rides crossing the countryside passing by dreamy little towns while enjoying the caring of a dedicate and welcoming boat crew which felt like family. Getting up in the morning was a blessing. Every pedal took us to a new horizon of beauty, iconic landscapes and charming quarters which involved us in a good state of mind and body. Your whole self responds to this amazing atmosphere of enjoyment. History and culture just embraces you for the whole time. Meals are delicious; trying the local cheese, fruits, street food, or just finding a picturesque corner for a coffee is priceless. Getting back to our boat (Liza Marleen) was like arriving at home after an exciting and rewarding adventure. The captain and her crew knew exactly what we needed to replenish our energy while making every meal a pleasure. We were also lucky to get warm and long days, so as an extra, we got to Read More

Donald B.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

South Holland trip was beyond what we were expecting in terms of scenery, trails and dedication by the Holland tour operators.

Rachel F.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

It was the trip of a lifetime!!! This was a trip on my bucket list and could not have asked for better!! Thank you!

Katie H.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

This was a very positive experience. Bikers of all abilities can participate in this tour. The navigation can be a bit tricky. I would definitely recommend using the navigation app in addition to the maps & briefings. However, there was usually a friendly local or another member of the group not too far away to help get you back on the route. The barge was very nice. We had an upgraded room. Plenty of storage space. The guides were excellent. The staff on the barge couldn’t have been nicer. The food was very good. The tour itself exceeded my expectations. Holland is beautiful. The route took us through a variety of geography. Lots of quintessential Dutch experiences, windmills, cheese, delft, etc.. The de Amsterdam is a larger boat than most so you have a large group. Neither here nor there, just a note if you prefer a more intimate group.

Scott P.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Our trip through south Holland was a history lesson with activity all in one. We had the day to enjoy countryside, beautiful gardens, canals and the old brick homes and cities along the way. Each morning we had fresh local baking to start our day and pack a lunch. We enjoyed a wonderful three course supper every evening experiencing different cuisines and fresh local produce. Many evenings a history walk was included after supper, finishing the day with some information on the city we were near. The week went by too quickly. ( I would recommend bringing earplugs to help sleep as some of the mooring places were noisier than where we live.) All in all a very wonderful holiday, we would do it again.

Sarah D.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

There were 3 of us from the USA traveling together. They told us to lock our bikes and take the key with us when we went into a store or restaurant. Toward the end of the trip we ( all 3 of us ) went into a store and did not luck our bikes. When we came out of the store one of the bikes was GONE. We took one of our other phones and called the USA to have the spouse lock the missing phone and track the bike on the GPS. The missing bike was 6 miles away at a big store. The shop owner called the police- the police went to the store- closed the store down for 45 minutes and locked all the 4 doors to the store. The police walked into the store looking for the red and black bike bag- saw it- walked up to the man , who was using the stolen phone and arrested him. He had stolen bikes before. They were so happy to catch him this time. The police never found the helmet and the man took $100, US dollars. They found the bike in the front of the store, as we knew the bike's # Read More

Martha B.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Scenery was excellent, dinners on the boat were superb, and the guide (Peter) was friendly, helpful, and competent. Suggestion--let there be hot water for tea or coffee available any time--not just till 6PM. Also, supply plastic bags for packing lunches--or advise people to bring their own.