4 Star Spain Tour Reviews — 1 to 20 of 20

4.8 out of 5

 


Michelle T.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Valencia, Color and Contrasts
Spain

This was my first bike tour. I’m 47 and exercise regularly with a focus on cycling/spin. I travelled with a friend and we had an amazing experience. We did the tour a few weeks after the major storm and had great maps and GPS which included a personal sit down with Javier (Lazypedals) to explain the tour and bike fittings. (This did not happen on the next tour we took and were greatful we had this one first). I’m 5’11 and found the bikes to be very ergonomic. Be prepared for extra weight in the panniers for tools and bike locks. Bikes also included a light that we did not need but can see it how it could be necessary depending on your activities.
We loved the varied routes but found there to be quite a bit of hill climbing for the rating easy to moderate. In end we felt very accomplished!
The sights and smells of the countryside were amazing. i can not emphasize this enough. We had outstanding (above avg temps early oct) weather, amazing accommodation for Read More

John B.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Mallorca
Spain

This was our 6th European cycle trip and it was one of our favourites. Communication with Tripsite was excellent. The hotels we stayed in were very good ( a couple were exceptional!) They all served a really great breakfast ( above normal European standards).
Bike transfer between hotels was perfectly done. For the most part the bike route took us on some of the nicest bike paths we have ever experienced in Europe. Occasionally however we found ourselves on some very busy roads. For these brief times we ended up walking our bikes as we did not feel safe.
For the first time in our lives (we are in our sixties) we rented e-bikes.For most of this trip we just used to he regular gears supplied on the bikes .Occasionally however we encountered some fairly steep inclines and we were so happy we could engage the e-bikes!
Our biggest issue on this trip was the written directions provided. Many times we found them to be quite confusing. We got lost and disoriented on numerous occasions.
In fairness there were road closures due to construction. There were signs that had been knocked down.
Providing a GPS unit would have been quite helpful.

Jan & Jim Roy
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour
Portugal, Spain

My wife and I did the self-guided Camino tour. It did not start well, as promised reception at airport did not appear, definitely the fault of Trip Site staff, who were barely apologetic. Level of difficulty was billed “easy” to “moderate,” but for this weekend biker it was more like “moderate” to “difficult.” Nonetheless, it was a really gratifying experience. Our e-bikes were top notch, and with GPS we were able to navigate pretty well along the route, some of which was definitely “off the beaten track.” When the description of route says "hard surfaces," implying smooth going, what they often mean are hard-on-the-butt cobblestones Cannot say enough about Sergio and his team in Oporto. Maybe it was because we were older and didn’t look like Tour de France candidates, but he made it a point to check in with us 3 or 4 times during the week to make certain we were ok. If anything had gone wrong, we knew Read More

Cindy D.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

La Rioja - Land of Wine
Spain

Every bike should come with a FPS or Harmon with the route loaded in it. Pulling out a piece of paper at every turn is not an option

Torben T.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Girona Spa Experience
Spain

Tripsite is a great idea, my experience was that it need to mature. We did not receive the hotel listed. We did not get a SPA experience either. Surprises is not a positive thing when you are on vacation. Spain and Girona is great places to visit.

Karen G.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Green Coast of Spain
Spain

Scenery was great, our main problem would be that the advertising did not really give enough information as to the degree of difficulty as while we are both middle level riders some of the many up’s and downs were a lot more than the advertising suggested. The close gearing of the bikes did not help with that either.

Michael & Claudia G.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Basque Country to Asturias
Spain

We loved the scenery, the historic towns and the lovely hotels. It was much more challenging than we expected. We followed your guidelines and felt prepared but this is not an "easy" ride. It is, however, a beautiful ride with breathtaking views.

Alana B.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Basque Country to Asturias
Spain

The vistas on this trip were the most spectacular we've seen. Coming down a hill and seeing the cliffs along the coastline and the roaring ocean, the picturesque villages and green fields dotted with cows was unforgettable. Hearing the clanging cowbells only added to the experience! The accommodations were top notch and including breakfast was the way to go. However, anyone taking this trip should be prepared to climb many hills. Not sure this is "easy to moderate" until the last day!

Phil S.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Mallorca
Spain

A wonderful self-guided bike trip. Perfect weather in early October. Map & instructions occasionally confusing, but adequate.
Hotels & food very good at all stops. A few climbs, but not really challenging for an experienced rider. Highly recommend!

Greg and Susan H.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Andalusia - Seville to Granada
Spain

In relation to overall satisfaction for the trip we felt the breaks for coffee and lunch were a bit long and being in November daylight at the end of the day was an issue so in our opinion the breaks needed to be shorter.
In relation to hotel food overall the breakfasts provided were superb except for the hotel in Alcala La Real (Hotel Terrepalma) where the breakfast was both meagre and unhealthy. If the hotel can't accommodate the breakfast requirements perhaps another location for breakfast could be found for a group of hungry bikers.
In relation to the route descriptions that were written for the bikers to carry they were, at times, difficult to follow and somewhat confusing. For the most part the guide was able to offset the confusion.
The time of the year impacted the scenery as most fields were plowed under and there was a lot of smoke from fall burning making the views hazy however we did have fantastic weather which certainly added to the scenic Read More

Bob S.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Andalusia - Seville to Granada
Spain

The written notes for the trail description were poorly written and not accurate. Our guide made up for this with proper verbal description for each segment.
The hotels were all superb with the the one exception ( Hotel Torre Palma) where the breakfast was lacking, just some pastries, bread, coffee and juice and no fruit, cheese, meat or yogurt.
Overall the trip was excellent and we surely enjoyed our extra knowledgeable guide Jeff.

Tom W.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Extremadura: Spanish Land of Conquistadors
Spain

We would be happy to take longer detours to avoid main roads.

H. Devine
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Andalusia - Seville to Granada
Spain

We requested electric bikes, but the guide and company was not very familiar with them, and the bikes provided were outdated and clunky compared to newer bikes that are available, and were not sized properly for the taller riders. E-bikes are a growing trend - they allow people to take bike trips that they otherwise would not have, and the company should get competitive with promoting them.

Our guide Jeff got off to a rough start by being late and because he was alone trying to resolve faulty bikes, was not able to provide several walking tours that were discussed in the itinerary. He wasn't a ""people"" person and didn't respond well to equipment problems and various requests by the guests. Toward the end of the trip, he really tried to redeem himself though, and knocked himself out to be helpful. Jeff is a wonderful person and I enjoyed his company and expertise very much. I think it was a little much to have 10 guests with only one guide to Read More

B. Carrigan
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Andalusia - Seville to Granada
Spain

We were looked after by our guide and the route was good. Spanish drivers were very considerate.

mary
4 years ago

Tripsite Staff

Costa Brava - Dali’s Country
Spain

Mary from Tripsite, here! I biked this tour about four years ago, shortly after we began to offer it. I had lived in Spain during my college years and it was wonderful to return! I will not rate this tour 5 star because I found the welcome meeting to me inconvenient for me. I was combining two days into one and wanted to get on the road but the pickup location for the bikes is an actual bike shop which happen to be busy and I did not get started until much later than I would have preferred. There was also a point on the Greenways where I became very confused and ended up off track by several kilometers. This tour now includes GPS devices and tracks and I think that is the way to go. Bikes are very good, accommodations are lovely and unique....overall, a great tour.

Mary Burkhard
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour
Portugal, Spain

I wish I could say more about the route, but unfortunately, because of a biking accident, I was only able to ride the first day. The ebike seemed to be a really good one, but the combination of wet, slippery roads, the boost of power from the ebike, and the urging to use a higher boost mode on the bike was not a good combination. I know it's why I fell.

Michelle Oelsner
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Mallorca
Spain

Great trip. Should have upgraded on the bike to a road bike!

Donna DeLeo
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour
Portugal, Spain

The scenery was spectacular, the challenge was invigorating, the people were interesting, the guides were ever helpful and informative. Loved everything.

David Sampel
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Mallorca
Spain

Fabulous trip. Pre trip instructions a bit confusing. Once we started everything went well.

Harvey Brody
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Atlantis Balearic Islands
Spain

Overall great but cabins too small. Advertise air conditioning. There was none. the staff were great. The cabins were hot, no porthole.