4 star rated Spain Bike Tour Reviews 1 to 18 of 18

 

 Country: Spain • REMOVE

  • Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour
    by Jan & Jim Roy 6 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    My wife and I did the self-guided Camino tour. It did not start well, as promised reception at airport did not appear, definitely the fault of Trip Site staff, who were barely apologetic. Level of difficulty was billed “easy” to “moderate,” but for this weekend biker it was more like “moderate” to “difficult.” Nonetheless, it was a really gratifying experience. Our e-bikes were top notch, and with GPS we were able to navigate pretty well along the route, some of which was definitely “off the beaten track.” When the description of route says "hard surfaces," implying smooth going, what they often mean are hard-on-the-butt cobblestones Cannot say enough about Sergio and his team in Oporto. Maybe it was because we were older and didn’t look like Tour de France candidates, but he made it a point to check in with us 3 or 4 times during the week to make certain we were ok. If anything had gone wrong, we knew Read more… he’d be there in a flash. The accommodations were excellent, and the gratification of making it into the cathedral square at Santiago de Compostela was profound. If your purpose in taking on this challenge is at all spiritual, highly recommend.

    Countries: Portugal, Spain

  • La Rioja - Land of Wine
    by Cindy D. 11 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Every bike should come with a FPS or Harmon with the route loaded in it. Pulling out a piece of paper at every turn is not an option

    Countries: Spain

  • Girona Spa Experience
    by Torben T. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Tripsite is a great idea, my experience was that it need to mature. We did not receive the hotel listed. We did not get a SPA experience either. Surprises is not a positive thing when you are on vacation. Spain and Girona is great places to visit.

    Countries: Spain

  • Green Coast of Spain
    by Karen G. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Scenery was great, our main problem would be that the advertising did not really give enough information as to the degree of difficulty as while we are both middle level riders some of the many up’s and downs were a lot more than the advertising suggested. The close gearing of the bikes did not help with that either.

    Countries: Spain

  • Basque Country to Asturias
    by Michael & Claudia G. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We loved the scenery, the historic towns and the lovely hotels. It was much more challenging than we expected. We followed your guidelines and felt prepared but this is not an "easy" ride. It is, however, a beautiful ride with breathtaking views.

    Countries: Spain

  • Basque Country to Asturias
    by Alana B. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The vistas on this trip were the most spectacular we've seen. Coming down a hill and seeing the cliffs along the coastline and the roaring ocean, the picturesque villages and green fields dotted with cows was unforgettable. Hearing the clanging cowbells only added to the experience! The accommodations were top notch and including breakfast was the way to go. However, anyone taking this trip should be prepared to climb many hills. Not sure this is "easy to moderate" until the last day!

    Countries: Spain

  • Mallorca
    by Phil S. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    A wonderful self-guided bike trip. Perfect weather in early October. Map & instructions occasionally confusing, but adequate.
    Hotels & food very good at all stops. A few climbs, but not really challenging for an experienced rider. Highly recommend!

    Countries: Spain

  • Andalusia - Seville to Granada
    by Greg and Susan H. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    In relation to overall satisfaction for the trip we felt the breaks for coffee and lunch were a bit long and being in November daylight at the end of the day was an issue so in our opinion the breaks needed to be shorter.
    In relation to hotel food overall the breakfasts provided were superb except for the hotel in Alcala La Real (Hotel Terrepalma) where the breakfast was both meagre and unhealthy. If the hotel can't accommodate the breakfast requirements perhaps another location for breakfast could be found for a group of hungry bikers.
    In relation to the route descriptions that were written for the bikers to carry they were, at times, difficult to follow and somewhat confusing. For the most part the guide was able to offset the confusion.
    The time of the year impacted the scenery as most fields were plowed under and there was a lot of smoke from fall burning making the views hazy however we did have fantastic weather which certainly added to the scenic Read more… experience.
    Our guide, Jeff Lacey, was amazing! He was knowledgeable and attentive, great with people, excellent bike technician, fluent in both Spanish and English, he was encouraging and overall having him as a guide truly added excellence to this trip.
    Thank you Tripsite for all your support prior to this trip. Your support and organization before the trip were truly appreciated, prompt and well executed.
    What was the most memorable part of our trip? The variety in the terrain including the scenery!

    Countries: Spain

  • Andalusia - Seville to Granada
    by Bob S. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The written notes for the trail description were poorly written and not accurate. Our guide made up for this with proper verbal description for each segment.
    The hotels were all superb with the the one exception ( Hotel Torre Palma) where the breakfast was lacking, just some pastries, bread, coffee and juice and no fruit, cheese, meat or yogurt.
    Overall the trip was excellent and we surely enjoyed our extra knowledgeable guide Jeff.

    Countries: Spain

  • Extremadura: Spanish Land of Conquistadors
    by Tom W. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We would be happy to take longer detours to avoid main roads.

    Countries: Spain

  • Andalusia - Seville to Granada
    by H. Devine 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We requested electric bikes, but the guide and company was not very familiar with them, and the bikes provided were outdated and clunky compared to newer bikes that are available, and were not sized properly for the taller riders. E-bikes are a growing trend - they allow people to take bike trips that they otherwise would not have, and the company should get competitive with promoting them.

    Our guide Jeff got off to a rough start by being late and because he was alone trying to resolve faulty bikes, was not able to provide several walking tours that were discussed in the itinerary. He wasn't a ""people"" person and didn't respond well to equipment problems and various requests by the guests. Toward the end of the trip, he really tried to redeem himself though, and knocked himself out to be helpful. Jeff is a wonderful person and I enjoyed his company and expertise very much. I think it was a little much to have 10 guests with only one guide to Read more… handle everything.

    The hotels were fine, some a bit dated, but acceptable. I would have been willing to pay a little more for slightly better accommodations in Seville and Granada.

    Breakfasts at the hotels were all very good, but the group dinners provided in Seville and especially Alcala a Real were seriously awful. Definitely needs to be rethought and the restaurants upgraded. We would have preferred to dine on our own.

    The approach to Granada was a big buzz-kill. We had been riding for days in bucolic serenity, and to navigate the busy traffic circles and congested streets, trying to follow the guide's van was frightening, dangerous and a big let-down. Just as we took a local bus from Seville to our bike point in Carmona, the same should have been done with our ending. I would recommend that taxis be called at the last lunch stop outside of Granada to take guests and their bags directly to the hotel, with the bikes finally put away in the van at that point. Much better than the guide trying to transition everything on a busy sidewalk in front of the hotel after a harrowing ride. There was simply no reason to continue the bike course into the heart of Granada.

    Other than Granada, the bike course overall was outstanding -- I can only say wonderful things about the beauty, friendliness and road quality, including the Via Verde, what a treat. The rest day in Zuheros was actually our favorite day, with a lovely hotel and pool to enjoy.

    My negative comments are only meant to be constructive and to improve upon what was a fantastic vacation for us. We only want to do bike vacations from now on, and can't wait to plan the next one. Congrats to Tripsite for having such a great site and ability to find unique tours and operators all over the world. "

    Countries: Spain

  • Andalusia - Seville to Granada
    by B. Carrigan 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We were looked after by our guide and the route was good. Spanish drivers were very considerate.

    Countries: Spain

  • Costa Brava - Dali’s Country
    by mary 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Staff

    Mary from Tripsite, here! I biked this tour about four years ago, shortly after we began to offer it. I had lived in Spain during my college years and it was wonderful to return! I will not rate this tour 5 star because I found the welcome meeting to me inconvenient for me. I was combining two days into one and wanted to get on the road but the pickup location for the bikes is an actual bike shop which happen to be busy and I did not get started until much later than I would have preferred. There was also a point on the Greenways where I became very confused and ended up off track by several kilometers. This tour now includes GPS devices and tracks and I think that is the way to go. Bikes are very good, accommodations are lovely and unique....overall, a great tour.

    Countries: Spain

  • Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour
    by Mary Burkhard 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I wish I could say more about the route, but unfortunately, because of a biking accident, I was only able to ride the first day. The ebike seemed to be a really good one, but the combination of wet, slippery roads, the boost of power from the ebike, and the urging to use a higher boost mode on the bike was not a good combination. I know it's why I fell.

    Countries: Portugal, Spain

  • Mallorca
    by Michelle Oelsner 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Great trip. Should have upgraded on the bike to a road bike!

    Countries: Spain

  • Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour
    by Donna DeLeo 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The scenery was spectacular, the challenge was invigorating, the people were interesting, the guides were ever helpful and informative. Loved everything.

    Countries: Portugal, Spain

  • Mallorca
    by David Sampel 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Fabulous trip. Pre trip instructions a bit confusing. Once we started everything went well.

    Countries: Spain

  • Balearic Islands
    by Harvey Brody 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Overall great but cabins too small. Advertise air conditioning. There was none. the staff were great. The cabins were hot, no porthole.

    Boat: Atlantis

    Countries: Spain

PWPC