Belgium Bike Tour Reviews 211 to 240 of 597

 

 Country: Belgium • REMOVE

  • Connie W. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer

    The best part of the trip was the congenial atmosphere on the barge, the camaraderie amongst the guests, and the excellent guided biking experience.

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Shari Lukens 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer

    Incredible! Amazing! Living the dream! There are no words to describe how exceptional this trip was. It was like "living the dream" really!. The beautiful, ever changing countryside of Holland was gorgeous. Every turn and corner brought a new landscape. From the moment I was chatting with Carla and Anna from Tripsite, to our home for 10 days on the Zwaantje was exactly what I expected and hosts Martijn and Marjorie were amazing. So caring for your every need and ensuring your trip is everything you wanted it to be. Frank the chef - well, let's just say the gourmet meals were impressive and delicious, and Fred our cycling guide was above and beyond. I'll be back! Thank you from the bottom of my heart for such an incredible experience. Simply amazing.

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Lorrie Gilbert 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer

    I was just reading through reviews as I think about another bike/barge trip for 2018 and saw this one from Cheryl--a trip mate--who writes about our amazing tour in Oct. 2017 on the Liza Marleen. We had a fabulous time aboard this barge. It is cozy, comfortable, clean, and perfect in every way for a small, compact typical Dutch barge. Our crew were kind, generous, inclusive, and organized. Mike Visser, our bike guide is knowledgeable about the terrain and routes, and in a change of weather or route could get us to a great cafe or castle if we so desired. Chef Markus: all I can say is wow! Every meal was a joy and a visual feast. Myrte was an awesome member of the crew, and Jeroen captained our boat with skill and humor. The biking was easy, but the winds made each day a fun challenge. We biked through farmlands, expanses of fields and crops, cattle, canals, windmills, small lovely towns, and great cities. My husband used an e-bike and loved it and felt accomplished at the Read more… end of the trip. That e-bike made it possible for him to do this trip. I can't say enough about how much fun it was! And we were a lucky in that a random group of strangers hit it off so well and laughed, relaxed, danced and toured together--even with the crew. No hierarchy here--just crew and guests working and playing together. Thank you for a great experience! And thank you, Markus, for acknowledging not one but three--mine included-- birthdays uniquely! And yes, lots of rainbows.

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Corri & Tom H. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    FOOD & staff aboard the Gandalf were amazing and loved Ghent!!!!

    Boat: Gandalf

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Nancy V. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    I was surprised at how great everything was.

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Margie A. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    The Elodie bike/barge trip was fabulous in terms of scenery, routes, staff, food. However, 2 couples on the barge were not able to keep up with our very leisurely pace. I would advise your company to stress level of fitness for participants, and also to recommend 2 guides for different ability levels.

    Countries: Belgium, France

  • Angela R. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    The whole trip was great. Other passengers on the barge were great, weather was good, one couldn't ask for anything better. The Tripsite staff were extremely helpful and I have always found them to be most professional.

    Boat: Fleur

    Countries: Belgium, France

  • Michael P. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    I enjoyed the whole trip. The pace was perfect, fast enough to be interesting, with constantly changing scenery and a mix of cities, villages, and farmland, and yet slow enough to enjoy and savor the experience. Our travel guide and the staff on the Gandalf were fantastic and looked after us almost like royalty, but still with a casual and friendly approach.

    Boat: Gandalf

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Rebecca K. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    The bike trip, the guide, the staff were all memorable. I'm not easily pleased. The trip was beyond my expectations. Loved riding through the countryside. Our guide was terrific while very responsible he was also fun and made everyone feel at ease. Although I was a solo guest he always made me feel comfortable. They staff was outstanding. Hard working and sooo nice. Again very friendly and just wanted everyone to be happy. Have shared my positive experience with so many friends, etc. I am happily considering another trip this summer. I'm an American and a somewhat simple/picky eater... at times I didn't care for what was served. Suggestion...Possibly more variety for lunch. It was the same everyday. Some type of luncheon meats and cheese.

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Ed W. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Bike , boat, staff and fellow travelers all great fun. Memorable trip for me and still talking about to my mates at home in Australia.

    Boat: Fiep

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Carmen P. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    The barge is beautiful & clean. The food fantastic! I totally enjoy the countryside & the cities we stopped at. I always recommend this trip from Bruges to Amsterdam.

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Jim W. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Beautiful scenery. If you are an experienced cyclist, consider splitting off with a smaller group. The group was too large with varied skills, making the ride less than it could have been.

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Warren S. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Our first bike tour. It was a very enjoyable experience. Friendly, professional staff. Great accommodation, food and customer service by all the staff. Cycling is a great way to leisurely enjoy all that the local countryside has to offer. We’ll be back!

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Mark M. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Our guide on the bike trips (Jack) was friendly, knowledgeable, and went above and beyond our expectations, even taking us on evening walks after dinner.

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Michelle H. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part? The scenery & the crew from the Feniks.

    Boat: Feniks

    Countries: Belgium, France

  • Amy M. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part: We went outside at sunset and saw a flock of geese heading overhead as the sun turned the sky to pinks and blues and cotton candy clouds.

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Sandy W. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Everything about the trip was fantastic....5*.
    It was over and above our expectations.
    First, we were totally surprised with the beautiful barge.
    The staff was incredible, meeting our every need.
    The chef never ceased to amaze us with delicious food.
    Definitely will do bike and barge again.
    We have recommended it to many people and actually some are already booked for May.
    Keep up the good work.

    Boat: Magnifique

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Jean P. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    We really enjoyed the smaller group and felt that everything was tailored to the individuals. This tour was well thought out and professional. It sure seems like the best way to travel and sightsee At a slow pace. The hot apple strudel at a sidewalk café ranks among my top memories!

    Boat: Quo Vadis

  • Laurie P. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    There was so much about the trip, starting with the wonderful food, great staff and our tour guide, along with the wonderful sights along the way!

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Marianne B. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Best trip I have been on to date and we typically take three vacations per year for the last thirty years!

    Boat: Magnifique

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Debbie S. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Our guide Tom was amazing, he guided during the day and walked around towns and visited places in the evening. fantastic trip, we are doing it again next May in Provence.

    Boat: Magnifique

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Paul W. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Have forwarded the link to your website to a number of our friends as we describe the fabulous experience on our tulip tour. Most memorable was being our timing in seeing the tulips in full bloom in the fields. But, every day was memorable!

    Boat: Clair de Lune

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Sandra B. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    This was our second Bike &Barge trip through Tripsite. Although both trips were different, both were amazing! Accommodations, food, staff, bike routes, guides....all top notch! Even the guests were terrific - a mix from several continents. Tripsite's online reps are knowledgeable, friendly, and personable. These trips offer an opportunity to experience the true flavor of other countries and cultures, without depending on bus tours or renting a car. Pedaling through villages, dining at back-roads cafes, chatting with locals at pubs... you're mingling with the locals, escaping from the crowded tourist spots.
    Planning a 3rd trip. Can't wait!

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Jehiel from Tripsite 2 years ago     Staff

    Hi Freddie,
    We are sorry to hear about your fall but are happy you still enjoyed the rest of your trip. We do our very best to prepare our clients for the daily biking distances by listing them on the the tour page in the "Skill Level" and "Day to Day Itinerary" sections. We also recommend taking the bike for a short ride when being fitted so that the bike hand can make adjustments if needed. A properly fitted bike is very important!
    Glad you are ok and we hope to help you plan another trip soon!

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Freddie O. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    I actually crashed my bike at the end of the first day, tried riding an ebike the next day but found it too painful. Therefore I spent the remainder of the trip on the barge, totally loved it. My suggestion for others would be to make sure to train, most of the people on our trip felt that they were being pushed and that the distance biked each day was too far. Also, for myself I felt that the bike was just too big for me and that contributed to my accident. Our guide (Fred) was delightful as were the crew of the Gandalf and the meals were fabulous. So, overall a great experience in spite of the spill.

    Boat: Gandalf

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Joanne R. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Cycling through Belgium and Holland was fabulous. Looking forward to Paris to Bruges trip in future.

    Boat: Magnifique

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • David R. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Hotel Fervery and Bruges were incredible. A great trip.

    Countries: Belgium

  • Kim F. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Cannot recommend this trip highly enough. What a perfect way to discover a new place. The staff and the food were outstanding!!

    Boat: Elodie

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Robert R. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part: The stops along the way in the small German towns.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Lisa G. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    This was our first trip and we weren't sure what to expect. We had a phenomenal time. It was just the right level of difficulty in riding and a perfect amount of time to explore the area. The barge was a good, clean place to stay and the staff did an excellent job keeping it clean and keeping us well fed. We would highly recommend to our friends.

    Boat: Sailing Home

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

PWPC