Belgium Bike Tour Reviews 361 to 390 of 690

 

 Country: Belgium • REMOVE

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Joanne R. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We were thrilled with our Bike & Barge from Amsterdam to Brugge! Everything was 5 star! Highly recommend

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Linda M. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The tour guide was great. He took us to wonderful little locations for coffee & lunch breaks while biking. He clearly had built relationships with people at the stops. He took us for walks into town in the evening and knew history of buildings &/or towns.
    The bikes were in great condition.
    The captain (& his dog) were great, circulating and getting to know the passengers.
    The food was very good and the young crew worked very hard.
    I would go again with this barge, captain & tour guide in a heartbeat.

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Nancy S. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Hard to pick the most memorable part, I continued to be awed every single day! The food was amazing kudos to the chef for sure! The staff on the Fluvius were so hard working and made sure everything from our rooms to our social times were perfect. absolutely amazing!
    The tour guides were so helpful, patience and lots of fun, to say the least!
    Tripsite made every step from the booking to the beginning of the adventure so easy, keeping us informed, answering all the questions etc., etc. (And we had many!)
    Can’t thank you all enough!
    Looking forward to my next trip with Tripsite.

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Bruce H. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I enjoyed the bonding that occurred with our fellow travellers over our shared biking experiences. The pathways and route were amazing. Tips for others: Be prepared to have a great time.

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Paris
    by Delia D. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The food was great and loved the coffee machine. Would like dinner at 7:00 pm rather than 6:30 pm to give us more time to relax and enjoy the day. No one ever eats in France before 7:30 pm and I felt like we were being treated as young campers. The Fleur needs new towels. The existing are rough and not vey absorbent. It was a very happy and congenial crew. Bert, Petra, Ellen and Aga. Thomas was most accommodating... Bike trails were good. We had the unusual situation where the majority ie 12 out of 20 bikers were of Olympian caliper. Their preferred speed was 30 to 35 kms an hour and the rest would have liked between 15 and 20 kms. and hour. We all coped but it meant you couldn't relax and enjoy the scenery. Two guides would have been the solution as promised.

    Boat: Fleur

    Countries: Belgium, France

    • Bruges to Paris
      by Jehiel 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Staff

      Hi Delia!
      Thanks for sharing this feedback. I want to clarify that under what's included for the Fleur it mentions "Tour guide (in 2018, there will be two guides)". This will allow for two groups, different cycling speeds, and will fix this issue.
      As far as dinner is concerned, the eating time is based on the logistics of the ship (routing, cooking, cleaning) and is not meant to make you feel like a young campers.
      Despite this issues, I'm glad you had a great time!

      Countries: Belgium, France

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Suki G. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Book from Brugge to Amsterdam to avoid headwinds. Expect riding in country with nothing special to see.

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Bruges to Paris
    by Eldon W. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The excellent staff and guide combined with the great mix of rural and forest countryside and the history in the cities and towns along the way.
    Tripsite should do a better job of editing the text on their website. There were several incorrect descriptions.

    Boat: Fleur

    Countries: Belgium, France

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Debra G. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Staff was fantastic! Amazing overall experience.

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Paris
    by Michelle H. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The bike & barge trip from Paris to Brugge on the Feniks was an amazing experience. The crew was exceptional, the scenery beautiful and the price was terrific. I highly recommend this trip.

    Boat: Feniks

    Countries: Belgium, France

  • Bruges to Paris
    by Paula Clair S. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The scenery was a photograph almost each moment. Incredibly knowledgeable guide made every day a new adventure. Plus a very doable ride for all skill level.

    Boat: Feniks

    Countries: Belgium, France

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Kathi T. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The entire trip was fantastic. I personally could have benefited with a few less km per day but that is my fault for not training as much as I should have. The chef and the guide, Leroy and Alfonse were amazing. The boat was comfortable and elegant. First rate all around!

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Cheryl T. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Absolutely fabulous trip, even though we didn't see much sun. It seemed the rain always held off until we were sheltered. The clouds added to the beauty of the gorgeous countryside. Our guide, Mike, did not coddle us, so we were able to cycle in our individual comfort zones. The "Dutch Mountains" (head winds) challenged us on a few days, but only added to the flavour of the trip. Mike introduced us to some lovely spots for our coffee/lunch breaks to re-energise.
    Staff on board the Lisa Marleen were delightful & helpful too. Many good memories, but the one that stands out was in the last day when we had, more then usual, rain squalls & intermittent sunshine. This, of course, resulted in rainbows. At least 4! We deemed it "rainbow day". It was a Rainbow of a trip.

    Boat: Liza Marleen

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

    • Bruges to Amsterdam
      by Lorrie Gilbert 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply    

      I was just reading through reviews as I think about another bike/barge trip for 2018 and saw this one from Cheryl--a trip mate--who writes about our amazing tour in Oct. 2017 on the Liza Marleen. We had a fabulous time aboard this barge. It is cozy, comfortable, clean, and perfect in every way for a small, compact typical Dutch barge. Our crew were kind, generous, inclusive, and organized. Mike Visser, our bike guide is knowledgeable about the terrain and routes, and in a change of weather or route could get us to a great cafe or castle if we so desired. Chef Markus: all I can say is wow! Every meal was a joy and a visual feast. Myrte was an awesome member of the crew, and Jeroen captained our boat with skill and humor. The biking was easy, but the winds made each day a fun challenge. We biked through farmlands, expanses of fields and crops, cattle, canals, windmills, small lovely towns, and great cities. My husband used an e-bike and loved it and felt accomplished at the Read more… end of the trip. That e-bike made it possible for him to do this trip. I can't say enough about how much fun it was! And we were a lucky in that a random group of strangers hit it off so well and laughed, relaxed, danced and toured together--even with the crew. No hierarchy here--just crew and guests working and playing together. Thank you for a great experience! And thank you, Markus, for acknowledging not one but three--mine included-- birthdays uniquely! And yes, lots of rainbows.

      Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Peter W. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The trip wasn't exactly as I understood it would be. The staff were absolutely great, couldn't be any better. The guide was also very good, knowledgeable and patient. However, it seems to me that the objective of each day's ride was to get from point A to point B; we didn't stop enough to enjoy & explore the sites along the way. Also, I wonder about riding thru farmers' fields. Perhaps that was the only way to reach certain destinations. We needed better introductions in the first meeting. We should have introduced ourselves at that meeting. We were 32 strangers together for 8 days, let's start with introductions.
    The food was pretty average. Breakfast was fine; once in a while there was hot food served but you had to be aggressive to get any, there wasn't enough to go around. Food available for lunch was fine, no complaints. Dinners were disappointing. We didn't need gourmet dinners, we needed substantial meals. The best meal was the Read more… BBQ, there was enough food. Other meals were inadequate. Dinner on the last night was abysmal and the dessert was a joke, 1/2 a glass of liquid. I would like to see bar prices posted and a statement produced on the last day. I have no idea if I was charged the correct amount or not; not that I don't trust the staff, as I said they were great. In spite of sounding like a chronic complainer, my wife and I are talking about doing another Bike & Barge trip, we really enjoyed this one. Don't take my comments as negative criticism, take them as suggestions for improvement, no one is perfect.

    Boat: Magnifique (Princesse Royal)

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

    • Amsterdam to Bruges
      by Jehiel 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Staff

      Hi Peter!
      Thanks for submitting such thorough feedback. I am sorry the trip wasn't exactly as you expected but I'm glad you still had a great time. We will use your comments to improve this tour and better educate travelers.
      Just to clear, you can always request a receipt for your bar tab. In the future, if you have any questions regarding the food, bar, or logistics pertaining to the trip, our knowledgable staff is here to help.
      Be sure to let us know your preferences before you book your next trip and we will do our very best to help you find a tour that fits your needs.
      Thanks again!

      Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Andy K. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part: Riding through beautiful villages and countryside! We stopped in beautiful places to eat lunch, rest and take pictures. Our guide Alfonse was amazing! Our last night, we took a private boat cruise on the canals in Amsterdam, arranged by our guide! AWESOME TRIP!

    Boat: Magnifique (Princesse Royal)

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Kathleen H. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I loved every minute of it! :) Thank you so much for a great adventure!

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Andrea R. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part: Riding through area of windmills.
    We were frustrated by the slow pace of our group.

    Boat: Tijdgeest

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Diane B. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Every part of this excursion exceeded my expectations. The Magnifique II is a fabulous boat, with very comfortable accommodations. The staff was excellent, all worked very hard and the teamwork was amazing. Cycling routes were fabulous and Thomas was absolutely an excellent guide. The food was first rate, LeRoy did a great job. It was a fabulous trip.

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Amsterdam to Bruges Bike Tour
    by Jeanine C. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Our booking and trip experience were excellent. The Tripsite team were very responsive to all inquiries and questions. The trip information provide was accurate, provided information to provide to family members at home and was received in a timely manner.
    Excellent trip, staff and overall experience!

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

    • Amsterdam to Bruges Bike Tour
      by Maria 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply    

      can you say more about your riding experiences - what were the bikes like, were you able to stop along the way...are you experienced cyclists?
      thank you.

      Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

      • Amsterdam to Bruges Bike Tour
        by Jeanine 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply    

        The bikes were what I would say are typical bikes of The Netherlands - sit up straight, heavy and sturdy, pedal easily. Overall, the bikes were perfect. They came equipped with a pannier in the back and a bag on the handlebars.

        We were given a gps and the packet received upon checkin at the first hotel contained very useful maps. I wish we had received the maps ahead of the trip to better plan for our stops during each days ride.

        I am an experienced rider. I ride a road bike multiple times a week with a Bike club.

        This trip does not require a great deal of experience, just a level of comfort in riding a basic bike.

        Good luck. We enjoyed the trip immensely.

        One suggestion, if time allows you to break up the ride between Amsterdam and Gouda I would recommend it. Otherwise it is a long day, and it minimizes your time in Gouda.

        Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Susan H. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Everything about the trip exceeded my expectations. In particular, the dinners were truly gourmet. Keep that chef (Leroy)!

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Bruges to Merzig
    by Mona W. 2 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part: The people on our tour were great. A bunch of fun people.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Marcia B. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Highlights: Seeing these countries via bike paths. Going through small towns and villages with an excellent guide to highlight the history and out of the way places.
    Tip: get in shape! You will enjoy it more if you are fit to bike these distances.

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Kurt W. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This was our first bike and barge trip, and we loved every aspect of it. Yes, the weather was a challenge, but even that was rewarding in retrospect. The guide and crew were great, the food was wonderful, and the boat was very comfortable (and a good size). We got to know all our fellow passengers and that was the icing on the cake. Now I'm spending way too much time, probably, reading about where to take our next trip!

    Boat: Tijdgeest

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Bruges to Merzig
    by Dave C. 3 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    Passenger/participant/staff group dynamics were excellent.
    Barge had no laundry service, so go prepared with the necessaries to look after it yourself.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

  • Bruges to Merzig
    by Gordon W. 3 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    Biking through wine country in Germany and going into the fields themselves. Take this trip!

    Boat: Quo Vadis

  • Bruges to Merzig
    by Kristine & Joe S. 3 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    This trip exceeded our expectations on every level. We'd never done a bike and barge excursion and decided to jump in with both feet on this trip. To say that we were thrilled is an understatement. The incredibly comfortable boat, the friendly and hardworking crew, the delicious meals, the fantastic guide, the varied and beautiful route... it was all more than we imagined. I can't tell you what a pleasure it was to experience three countries and their cultures with the intimacy that a bike tour allows.

    We're experienced travelers and think through our options carefully. The combination of activity, education, relaxation and total immersion was so appealing... and this excursion did not disappoint. To top it off, given everything that is included, this trip is a tremendous value. We can't wait for our next adventure with Tripsite!

    Boat: Quo Vadis

  • Bruges to Merzig
    by Gail C. 3 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    The trip started out with high winds and rain but it didn't dampen the spirit of the group. We were always going downhill with the wind on our back! The comfort of the barge and delicious meals were outstanding. The Mosel valley was probably the highlight for scenery and seeing the grape harvest in full swing. Our wine tasting evening was one of the best we have ever experienced. The Captain wanted us to have a real experience and we did.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

  • Bruges to Merzig
    by Leanne S. 3 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    Especially enjoyed the days cycling through the vineyards along the Mosel River.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

PWPC