Belgium Bike Tour Reviews 361 to 390 of 594

 

 Country: Belgium • REMOVE

  • Teresa L. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed this trip. I loved biking through different scenery - quaint villages and towns, beautiful forests, farmland and countryside. It is the perfect way to see parts of Belgium and Holland. You can go at your own pace because the trails are so well marked. The barge is beautiful and the rooms are comfortable. I can't say enough about the staff, they were excellent. I definitely recommend this trip and can't wait to do it again!

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Deborah P. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Needed the second guide as group unwieldy for one. Unlike prior trips, guide gave little info on trip sites/locales, despite being quite personable.

    Boat: Fleur

    Countries: Belgium, France

  • Bob T. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    This is a great way to see Europe.

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Arja L. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    The Magnifique II and staff were more amazing than we expected! The bike routes were absolutely beautiful with very well planned and laid out maps. Overall a very memorable experience that I am highly recommending to every one I talk to.

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Marie-Claude R. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    The most memorable parts were the scenery, the cute villages, the windmills and the dunes with great people and staff.

    Boat: Sailing Home

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Norval G. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Dutch and Belgium rural scenery and bike paths were beautiful, well marked and saw lots of wildlife.

    Boat: Zwaan

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Patricia M. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Loved the trip. GPS wasn't dependable all the time, especially in Amsterdam.

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • John Miller 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    The trip provided both the opportunity to see the countryside in an up-close and invigorating manner, but it also allowed for memorable time to get to know and enjoy our fellow travelers.

    Boat: Fleur

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Cindy M. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Directions were terrible for Amsterdam and the last two days there were not the number routes we needed on the intersections so was confusing. All hotels were good but one was a dive and not nice. Hotel Piccard.

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Karen H. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    The guide and crew were amazing. Great home cooked meals with personal atmosphere.

    Boat: La Belle Fleur

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Marty W. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Marcos , captain and Kim, cook were at the helm of our trip with the Claire de Lune. They did an outstanding job; food excellent, conversation and safety of boat exceptional - we were taken care of very well. Paul, tour bike guide kept us all together on the back streets and roads, never lost and always got us back to the boat in time for relaxation time and dinner. He knew the area, well versed in the country's history and strong bicyclist and took good care of us. This trip is not for the faint at heart or easy bicycle afternoon riders. We road 30 miles almost every day - wind in our face and sometimes lucky with the wind at our backs. The riding was some back roads, some deltas and some cobble stone city riding along with traffic. Not rails to trails and no sag wagon. We saw beautiful country sides, the tulips were full aglow at the tulip fields and the windmill adventure was super. It was a good full week of adventure. The barge crew are to be commended for all that they did Read more… to make our week special.

    Boat: Clair de Lune

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Sandy B. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    It was the best trip. The food was spectacular, our guide was spectacular. I loved the whole trip.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Rick H. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    The most memorable parts were Keukenhof gardens and fellow bikers. Disappointed that a week long "tulip tour" ended up being about 3 hours of tulip tour. Primarily focused on 1953 Delta Plan, interesting but spent too much time...days, on it. Enjoyed seeing Kinderdijk windmills. Would have been nice to see more small towns and tulip fields.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Patricia C. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Three highlights of the trip: glorious sunshine on the palette of colour at the Keukenhof Gardens; exploring the fabulous 'secret' back alleys in the Kieuperspoort district of Middelburg; the helpful, friendly and confident nature of our Dutch hosts. Fantastic holiday!!!

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Julie H. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    The most memorable part was riding through the beautiful countryside.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Betsy A. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    The trip was fun but I don't think the description of the trip was accurate. The trip was about 85% bike riding and 15% site seeing. I would have liked more time to explore the cities we were riding through but most of the time it was too late or placed were closed. Not sure if I would do another tour like this. The riding was beautiful but I really expected more site seeing according to the trip description.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Lai C. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    The most memorable part was fellow cyclists and our very helpful and knowledgeable guide.

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Carol F. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Bruges was an amazingly beautiful city and the accommodations were wonderful.

    Countries: Belgium

  • Mary Lees 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Route descriptions need significant updating and elaboration. There were many detours that are not indicated in the guide - took us off track, added many km and much confusion to the ride. Became VERY frustrating. Bikes need much better maintenance - friend had a broken chain day 2 . Arranging the repair was difficult - they lost a day of cycling. Very poor communication around the repair, no one seemed to know what they were doing. Really took away from the trip. Would have been much worse had we been in a more remote area when the break happened - would have been stranded for hours. The most helpful person was a local tow truck driver - he saved the day. Never saw a representative from the company in person for the whole trip. What??? Should, at the very least, have one at the beginning to review procedures, answer questions. Liked the biking, but some routes along canals got boring. We ended up going off route - saw much more. Hotel, luggage transfers were smooth. With Read more… the exception of the hotel in Bornem, hotels were nice. Overall, quite pleasant when things were going well, but did not feel that we got good personal support or service for the money we paid. Emergency support services need a LOT of improvement.

    Countries: Belgium

  • Carla 3 years ago     Staff

    Hi Lynda,
    Thanks so much for your feedback.
    I'm sorry you had a hard time with the bikes aboard the Fluvius.
    Regarding the tour guide, we encourage all of our guests to speak up when something is not going right so we can do our best to remedy the situation immediately. We agree, during your tour that the guide was not on his best behavior and have since had to consider a replacement for him.
    There has been some confusion aboard the Fluvius about the role of your tour guide. Because there are 30+ bikers aboard the Fluvius, he cannot be counted on to lead and look after all riders at all times. The guide's role is not to lead the group, but to be sure all riders get from point A to point B safely. If one rider has a flat tire or another becomes lost, it is the guide's job to "rescue" the rider.
    For most boats under 30 passengers, the guide will lead and look after the bikers for the day's route. But for some bigger boats, Read more… i.e. 30+ passengers, the guide's role is a bit different. You can read on the "What's Included / What's Not Included" section of the tour page the difference between the guide's role.

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Carla 3 years ago     Staff

    Nancy - I'm so glad you hear you had a great experience on your first bike tour.
    We're SO sorry you could not find the boat upon arrival. We always give an emergency phone number in these kinds of situations so don't be afraid to call us right away, the next time around! :-)

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Jim M. 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    This was our 2nd trip this year. We signed up for a 3rd already. Barge and bike is wonderful.

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Gerald R. 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    A great trip. The area was great loved the villages we rode through.

    Boat: Magnifique

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Robert E. 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Most memorable was the friendliness, patience and helpfullness of the staff!

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Spencer H. 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    The barge crew were exceptional. The cook treated each guest as a friend. Accommodated our request for a birthday cake. He even baked it on his own time. The scenery was exactly as anticipated.

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Henry S. 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Our guide, Arie, was terrific! The chef, Chris (I think), was fantastic! The whole bike/barge week was a 5 out of 5 experience

    Boat: Magnifique

    Countries: Belgium

  • Bruce Reynolds 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Just got off the Magnifique II a couple of weeks ago and my wife and I along with three other couples in our group had a fabulous time. Captain Paul, first mate Kevin, Chef Leroy, and Tesa went up and beyond duty helping and serving all of us. With temperatures above normal and the lost of one additional crew member they never missed a beat. The meals were excellent,Tesa always had a smile on her face while pouring us a glass of wine,Kevin could be found helping dock the boat, getting a beer for someone,adjusting the height of a bike seat and many,many more duties. Capt. Paul not only guided the ship throughout our trip,but jumped right in to clear dinner dishes ,tend bar and always willing to answer questions we might have about the Netherlands and Belgium. Marcel our guide did just that,telling us about certain structures we passed by, folklore and tours on foot through some of the towns we stayed in at night. A great trip

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Claudette S. 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    The food was exceptional! The Chef put a lot of effort to please.
    Presentation was amazing.

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Margeret M. 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    I cannot say enough about the whole trip. The Barge accommodations were perfect for all my needs, the food aboard the MS Fluvius was way beyond what I expected - such a variety and the quality and quantity were superb. The staff on board could not have been more obliging - so eager to help so much fun. Our Guide was just simply the best (Jack/Jacques) knowledgeable and helpful, concerned always for our safety and our enjoyment. All our stops for coffee breaks and lunch breaks were also well planned. Would I recommend this trip to my friends? You Bet!! Look forward to going again - Thanks Tripsite

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Trudy D. 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    The bike-friendly paths through magnificent landscapes in Belgium and the Netherlands was outstanding.

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

PWPC