5 Star De Holland boat/barge tour reviews — 1 to 13 of 13

4.5 out of 5

 


Maryann B.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  De Holland North Holland Tour
Netherlands

This was a wonderful trip, highly recommended to both cyclists and non-cyclists! The staff went out of their way to make sure all the guests were well looked after.

Stephen T.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  De Holland North Holland Tour
Netherlands

The North Holland barge and bike is a fantastic experience and a great opportunity for a family to share a unique adventure together. The scenery is spectacular, the villages immaculate, the people friendly, the barge comfortable, the food good, the bikes new and the staff accommodating. To improve the experience, breakfast could be better and the lunch selections more varied. Early risers generally helped themselves to all of the pastries before others cold enjoy them. Seating could be unassigned so that more people could meet and enjoy different parts of the dining room. Otherwise they have this trip wired.

Katie H.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  De Holland South Holland Tour
Netherlands

This was a very positive experience. Bikers of all abilities can participate in this tour. The navigation can be a bit tricky. I would definitely recommend using the navigation app in addition to the maps & briefings. However, there was usually a friendly local or another member of the group not too far away to help get you back on the route. The barge was very nice. We had an upgraded room. Plenty of storage space. The guides were excellent. The staff on the barge couldn’t have been nicer. The food was very good. The tour itself exceeded my expectations. Holland is beautiful. The route took us through a variety of geography. Lots of quintessential Dutch experiences, windmills, cheese, delft, etc.. The de Amsterdam is a larger boat than most so you have a large group. Neither here nor there, just a note if you prefer a more intimate group.

Sarah D.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  De Holland South Holland Tour
Netherlands

There were 3 of us from the USA traveling together. They told us to lock our bikes and take the key with us when we went into a store or restaurant. Toward the end of the trip we ( all 3 of us ) went into a store and did not luck our bikes. When we came out of the store one of the bikes was GONE. We took one of our other phones and called the USA to have the spouse lock the missing phone and track the bike on the GPS. The missing bike was 6 miles away at a big store. The shop owner called the police- the police went to the store- closed the store down for 45 minutes and locked all the 4 doors to the store. The police walked into the store looking for the red and black bike bag- saw it- walked up to the man , who was using the stolen phone and arrested him. He had stolen bikes before. They were so happy to catch him this time. The police never found the helmet and the man took $100, US dollars. They found the bike in the front of the store, as we knew the bike's # Read More

Azam E.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  De Holland South Holland Tour
Netherlands

Boat and bike trip was our first experience. It was really amazing and well- organized one :)) we just wish to have more options for healthy food on board and choose our table at dinner time to socialize with more people than having assigned seats every night. -Thank you

D. Dray
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  De Holland North Holland Tour
Netherlands

We have been on seven self-guided bike trips (two of them with boats) and this was truly one of the best! The accommodations on our Prague ship, the MS Florentina were nicer (larger lounges, expansive deck, etc) than the Angela Esmee to be frank, but the Angela's superb crew, the charming towns as ports of call, and along the route, and our tour leader, Margaret, more than made up for it. I highly recommend this tour!

Mike S.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  De Holland South Holland Tour
Netherlands

The overall experience was excellent. We enjoyed the intimacy of a relatively small group on the boat. It allowed us to meet a number of people over the course of the week. We will definitely be returning in the future.

If I had one suggestion it would be to limit the number of days where there was a deadline to meet the boat in the late afternoon as these deadlines sometimes creates pressure to complete the route quicker than I would have otherwise chosen.

Helen M.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  De Holland South Holland Tour
Netherlands

The scenery was beautiful and the barge was lovely. The most memorable part of the trip was the people - the Dutch are friendly and helpful, and the Angela Esmee crew was exceptional!

Cathy G.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  De Holland North Holland Tour
Netherlands

I already have recommended this trip to several people. By far this trip was the best trip I have ever been on. Thank you.

Kim E.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  De Holland North Holland Tour
Netherlands

Complete day from start to finish! Staff were super friendly and efficient! Breathtaking views of countryside and timeless villages! Supper dining was plentiful, varied and delicious! Basic rooms were always tidy and clean. Wow...what an incredible adventure.

L. Scrutton
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  De Holland North Holland Tour
Netherlands

I would have liked was some variety in the lunch fruit. Apples every day but one ...... got a bit boring. I would also have liked to have a condiment (mustard or mayonnaise) to add to the meat/cheese sandwiches as they were a bit dry. All in all, a great trip! Too bad the weather wasn't a bit better, but nothing could be done about that.

Thomas Reid
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  De Holland North Holland Tour
Netherlands

Marcel is a great guide/tour leader.

Bob Rodney
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  De Holland North Holland Tour
Netherlands

Marcel was a very good guide-Johnan helped keep our bikes in very good order.