5 Star Merlijn boat/barge tour reviews — 31 to 60 of 119

4.8 out of 5

 


Bruce & Dianna Reynolds
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Mainz to Bamberg
Germany

We just completed this tour and had a great time. Jantien prepared some amazing meals for all of us and went out of her way to help any guest who may have a question,a problem, a dietary concern or any other matter. At night after all her chores were done she would sit down with us and join in with a glass of wine to talk about the days bike tour. Henk, our captain, crew Klara and Ahmed always had a smile on their face , kept the boat spotless, ready with a glass of wine or beer after a day of biking and just nice people. Finally our guide Lia, she was one of us. Whether it was talking about a certain Benedictine Abbey, sampling barley at a brewery or adjusting a bike seat she was special.

Pat C.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Merzig to Mainz
Germany

This is a must trip for anyone who embraces the Bike and Barge experience with a small group. The Merlijn is an extremely well managed boat with the owners attending to every detail in a friendly and caring manor. This trip checks off all the boxes, good food and drink, comfortable accommodation and arguably some of the most beautiful scenery in Europe. My only suggest is to book it early as it fills up quickly and in particular on this boat.

Kathryn H.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Berlin to Malchin
Germany, Poland

One of my favorite parts of the trip was jumping off the boat into the canal. It was the end of a long, fun day of bike riding. The canal was clear and perfect for jumping. Everyone jumped off and everyone did fun tricks. The funniest was when Paul fell off and I never could keep a straight face around him again (Paul didn't get hurt except his pride btw). Captain Henk even put down a ladder to make climbing to the dock easier.

Darlene D.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Bremen to Magdeburg
Germany

The Merlijn and it's crew are extraordinary! Jantien and Henk treat guests like family. We had a great time riding in central Germany. Lots of agriculture, forests, small villages and history. Our guide, Ilsa, is extremely knowledgeable and makes the rides fun and interesting. Thank you for a wonderful and memorable trip!

Judy J.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Bremen to Magdeburg
Germany

The crew of the Merlijn were fantastic and very concerned with guests comfort. It was a great combination of leisure and biking, a well seasoned and flexible guide, and great food beautifully presented.

Theresa G.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Authentic Holland
Netherlands

We were a family of 6 adults (aged 22-62) who did our first bike/barge trip and we are so fortunate that we booked the Merlijn and did the Amsterdam trip. It couldn't have been a better trip. Everything was perfect from the accommodations to the food to the bike ride itself. Most of all though it was the crew on the Merlijn that made it so fun for all of us. Henk & Jantien are so friendly and accommodating and their staff, Gisbert (sp) who led the daily bike tours & Jaqui & Clara who do a little of everything were all so kind and awesome with everything they did. The bikes are very new and ride great. The E-bikes are a whole lot of FUN. If you feel too guilty about using an E-bike you can turn it off and pedal like a regular bike. Jantien even went out of her way to get a birthday cake for our daughter-in-law. Henk leads an excellent Karaoke night which should not be missed. It was truly a great family vacation had by all. Thank you crew of Merlijn.

Sandra B.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Authentic Holland
Netherlands

This was my third time on this particular barge the Merlijn. I love everything about the experience and will for sure do it again

Sandra V.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Tulip Tour - Bruges to Amsterdam - 8 day
Netherlands, Belgium

The Merlijn was definitely a "comfort plus" barge. Rooms and beds very comfortable; staff couldn't have been friendlier or more accommodating; Captain Henk was a genius at docking and piloting the barge; our guide Lea, was professional, knowledgeable, and fun; Jantien, the jack of all trades, did everything from ministering to ill or injured to cooking gourmet meals. This was my second trip on the Merlijn. We booked the entire barge. There were two fantastic upgrades from two years ago--new bikes and helmets and better internet. Obviously, I cannot say enough positive about this experience. Highly recommend it.

John S.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 8 day
Belgium, Netherlands

This was our first bike and barge trip. It is a great way to travel. There is time to see the area and not have to worry about finding lodging. The crew of the Merlijn was first rate. I will sign up for another trip with them. Jantien was like your mom welcoming you on your trip home.

Lynda A.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Tulip Tour - 7 day
Netherlands

Most Memorable Part? Cycling in the warm spring weather seeing the fields of spring bulbs in bloom with windmills almost always in view.

Eileen S.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Tulip Tour - 7 day
Netherlands

Exceeded my expectations. Best value for great experience.

Mary A.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Tulip Tour - 7 day
Netherlands

Our boat, the Merlijn, and its crew were fabulous! A huge thank you to Jantien and Henk for an amazing weeklong experience! This is the way to see The Netherlands! We rode bikes from one port to another, exploring the countryside, meeting local families, enjoying the beautiful fields of tulips, daffodils and hyacinths, purples, reds, yellows flowing across the land. Our hosts fed us 3 wonderful meals a day, and gave us opportunities to explore each city in the evenings with our knowledgeable and dedicated guide, Ferry. We stayed a few extra days to learn all about Amsterdam as well, which was definitely worth it. So much to see and learn about. Tripsite did a great job of organizing this trip, from efficient email contacts, timely billing reminders, and tips for preparing for a unique trip such as a Bike and Barge in Amsterdam. Absolutely we recommend Tripsite, and the Merlijn in particular!

Suzanne F.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Frankfurt to Ludwigsburg
Germany

Our boat staff were very friendly and competent and really made the effort to make sure that you were enjoying yourself. Jantien, our boat den mother and chef always made you feel so welcome and cared for. And Jacques, our guide was so knowledgeable and passionate about all the history and scenery. Absolutely a memorable experience all around. Thank you.

Noel J.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Mainz to Metz
Germany, France

Jantien and Henk, our hosts on the Merlijn, were the daily highlight. Amazingly gracious, spirited, knowledgeable people.

Wayne M.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Koblenz to Merzig
Germany

It was such a wonderful trip right from the minute we boarded the barge. The people we met, the sights, the bike paths, the weather were all wonderful.

Gwendolyn H.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Frankfurt to Bamberg or Bamberg to Frankfurt
Germany

Most Memorable Part: Spending vacation time with my biking pals and meeting new riders on the barge. Loved Jantien and Henk! The scenery was amazing, picture book amazing.

Kerry C.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Berlin to Malchin
Germany, Poland

The entire trip was memorable. We had dinner at a restaurant on the dock one night and celebrated a birthday. The live band was excellent and it was a great opportunity to get to know our fellow travelers.
We booked the trip as we knew that East Germany and Poland was somewhere we would probably not travel to. We were amazed at how vast, undeveloped and beautiful the countryside is. The biking and barging was great!

Kathy W.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Frankfurt to Bamberg or Bamberg to Frankfurt
Germany

Most Memorable Part? The bike touring led by Lia. She is awesome!

Robert R.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

Most Memorable Part: The stops along the way in the small German towns.

Sandra V.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Frankfurt to Bamberg or Bamberg to Frankfurt
Germany

Most Memorable Part: Visiting small towns and enjoying the culture.

Rob & Anne H.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

Toured with Merlijn on the Nekar and Rhine Rivers to Koblenz. I'd have to say that peddling thru the beautiful forest then entering the awesome vineyards had to of been the best memories of the trip! We were up to speed on the bicycling requirements, I'd suggest that the requirements and maybe a suggestion for pre training be spelled out in better detail for people planning a trip. We enjoyed the trip enough to book our third trip!

Karen W.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Mainz to Ludwigsburg
Germany

We cycled on the Merlijn from Mainz to Ludwigsburg. The staff, scenery, guide and accommodations were some of the best that we have experienced on our 10 bike and barge trips. Friendly, warm and caring describe Jantien and her husband.
Hard working and most professional.

Roger S.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Ludwigsburg to Koblenz
Germany

Most Memorable Part: A return with friends for a second trip and working on next year. We had a great guide very informative and fun to be with. Enjoy the riding and barging

George S.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Mainz to Ludwigsburg
Germany

One of our best vacations ever! Met some great people. The owners and staff of the boat provided exceptional service. We're making plans to travel with them again.

Jocelyn M.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Merzig to Mainz
Germany

The calmness and organization of the bike and barge event was refreshing. Barge was excellent, owners outstanding, timing and biking routes very pleasurable.

Penelope R.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Merzig to Mainz
Germany

The scenery along the Mosel River was breathtaking, and the staff and guide on the barge and bike tours were top notch. Very quality focused and very pleasant to be with during the entire week. This is a special experience for all.

Carol T.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Merzig to Mainz
Germany

Our bike guide was outstanding.

Gina & Pat G.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Merzig to Mainz
Germany

Everything was perfect! I cannot pinpoint one specific part but can say that we felt welcomed from the moment we stepped on the barge, all needs were met, including some that we had not thought of ourselves! It was the details to make this trip relaxing, stress free, comfortable, fun, full of laughter, memorable! I really like sweet wine and Jantien went out of her way to get the best sweet wine. Jantien, Henk and the rest of the staff as well as our guide were always one step ahead for all our needs: waterproof caps for the helmets on a drizzly day, drying our shoes and jackets when we returned, helping a passenger find a dentist when they lost a cap, the beautiful fresh flowers and special table decor for all our meals, impeccable service, the cleanliness of the ship, stamps and mail service to send our postcards, making dinner reservations, arranging taxis, laundry service, sharing the cultural differences both for education and comedy, and being social with the entire group and Read More

Nicola F.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Koblenz to Merzig
Germany

Highlights: The Mosel and Saar rivers/the Barge Merlijn

Ruth B.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Koblenz to Merzig
Germany

Loved cycling through wine country & hiking twice on side trip.