5 star rated Bike tour reviews with boat/barge Merlijn 31 to 60 of 109

 

 Boat/Barge: Merlijn • REMOVE  About Merlijn

  • Tulip Tour - 7 day
    by Eileen S. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Exceeded my expectations. Best value for great experience.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 7 day
    by Mary A. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Our boat, the Merlijn, and its crew were fabulous! A huge thank you to Jantien and Henk for an amazing weeklong experience! This is the way to see The Netherlands! We rode bikes from one port to another, exploring the countryside, meeting local families, enjoying the beautiful fields of tulips, daffodils and hyacinths, purples, reds, yellows flowing across the land. Our hosts fed us 3 wonderful meals a day, and gave us opportunities to explore each city in the evenings with our knowledgeable and dedicated guide, Ferry. We stayed a few extra days to learn all about Amsterdam as well, which was definitely worth it. So much to see and learn about. Tripsite did a great job of organizing this trip, from efficient email contacts, timely billing reminders, and tips for preparing for a unique trip such as a Bike and Barge in Amsterdam. Absolutely we recommend Tripsite, and the Merlijn in particular!

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Frankfurt to Ludwigsburg
    by Suzanne F. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Our boat staff were very friendly and competent and really made the effort to make sure that you were enjoying yourself. Jantien, our boat den mother and chef always made you feel so welcome and cared for. And Jacques, our guide was so knowledgeable and passionate about all the history and scenery. Absolutely a memorable experience all around. Thank you.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany

  • Mainz to Metz
    by Noel J. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Jantien and Henk, our hosts on the Merlijn, were the daily highlight. Amazingly gracious, spirited, knowledgeable people.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany, France

  • Koblenz to Merzig
    by Wayne M. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    It was such a wonderful trip right from the minute we boarded the barge. The people we met, the sights, the bike paths, the weather were all wonderful.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany

  • Frankfurt to Bamberg or Bamberg to Frankfurt
    by Gwendolyn H. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Most Memorable Part: Spending vacation time with my biking pals and meeting new riders on the barge. Loved Jantien and Henk! The scenery was amazing, picture book amazing.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany

  • Berlin to Malchin and Malchin to Berlin
    by Kerry C. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The entire trip was memorable. We had dinner at a restaurant on the dock one night and celebrated a birthday. The live band was excellent and it was a great opportunity to get to know our fellow travelers.
    We booked the trip as we knew that East Germany and Poland was somewhere we would probably not travel to. We were amazed at how vast, undeveloped and beautiful the countryside is. The biking and barging was great!

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany, Poland

  • Frankfurt to Bamberg or Bamberg to Frankfurt
    by Kathy W. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Most Memorable Part? The bike touring led by Lia. She is awesome!

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Robert R. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Most Memorable Part: The stops along the way in the small German towns.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Frankfurt to Bamberg or Bamberg to Frankfurt
    by Sandra V. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Most Memorable Part: Visiting small towns and enjoying the culture.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Rob & Anne H. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Toured with Merlijn on the Nekar and Rhine Rivers to Koblenz. I'd have to say that peddling thru the beautiful forest then entering the awesome vineyards had to of been the best memories of the trip! We were up to speed on the bicycling requirements, I'd suggest that the requirements and maybe a suggestion for pre training be spelled out in better detail for people planning a trip. We enjoyed the trip enough to book our third trip!

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Mainz to Ludwigsburg
    by Karen W. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    We cycled on the Merlijn from Mainz to Ludwigsburg. The staff, scenery, guide and accommodations were some of the best that we have experienced on our 10 bike and barge trips. Friendly, warm and caring describe Jantien and her husband.
    Hard working and most professional.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany

  • Ludwigsburg to Koblenz
    by Roger S. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Most Memorable Part: A return with friends for a second trip and working on next year. We had a great guide very informative and fun to be with. Enjoy the riding and barging

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany

  • Mainz to Ludwigsburg
    by George S. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    One of our best vacations ever! Met some great people. The owners and staff of the boat provided exceptional service. We're making plans to travel with them again.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany

  • Mainz to Merzig
    by Jocelyn M. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The calmness and organization of the bike and barge event was refreshing. Barge was excellent, owners outstanding, timing and biking routes very pleasurable.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany

  • Mainz to Merzig
    by Penelope R. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The scenery along the Mosel River was breathtaking, and the staff and guide on the barge and bike tours were top notch. Very quality focused and very pleasant to be with during the entire week. This is a special experience for all.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany

  • Mainz to Merzig
    by Carol T. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Our bike guide was outstanding.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany

  • Mainz to Merzig
    by Gina & Pat G. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Everything was perfect! I cannot pinpoint one specific part but can say that we felt welcomed from the moment we stepped on the barge, all needs were met, including some that we had not thought of ourselves! It was the details to make this trip relaxing, stress free, comfortable, fun, full of laughter, memorable! I really like sweet wine and Jantien went out of her way to get the best sweet wine. Jantien, Henk and the rest of the staff as well as our guide were always one step ahead for all our needs: waterproof caps for the helmets on a drizzly day, drying our shoes and jackets when we returned, helping a passenger find a dentist when they lost a cap, the beautiful fresh flowers and special table decor for all our meals, impeccable service, the cleanliness of the ship, stamps and mail service to send our postcards, making dinner reservations, arranging taxis, laundry service, sharing the cultural differences both for education and comedy, and being social with the entire group and not just as boat owners. We thoroughly enjoyed them accompanying us on a few outings, offering fun surprises like a staff member playing the part of the Loreley as we passed the statue on the shoreline. We have never felt so relaxed, laughed so much, and felt so pampered!! Jantien, Henk, Lia, Miele and the rest hold special places in our hearts and we look forward to seeing them again in the future! Thank you, thank you, thank you!!!

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany

  • Koblenz to Merzig
    by Nicola F. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Highlights: The Mosel and Saar rivers/the Barge Merlijn

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany

  • Koblenz to Merzig
    by Ruth B. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Loved cycling through wine country & hiking twice on side trip.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany

  • Koblenz to Merzig
    by Cindy K. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Most Memorable Part: Scenery along the Mosel and Saar

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany

  • Frankfurt to Ludwigsburg
    by Patricia M. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    It was magical from start to finish, the personalized service for our group of 22 was amazing , we loved it!

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany

  • Frankfurt to Bamberg or Bamberg to Frankfurt
    by Marianne R. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Most memorable part: the intense beauty of the Bavarian countryside.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany

  • Frankfurt to Ludwigsburg
    by Ian & Janis M. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Jantien was amazing! She was always available, ready to help in anyway, answer questions, run a tidy and very clean ship... in short, do anything to make our stay pleasant and stress free. It was obvious she was genuinely concerned for the happiness of her, as she called us, "Dear Guests". We looked forward every day to her well thought out and wonderfully prepared evening meals. The staff were all highly focused on the same things, a testament to Jantien's leadership. We have no hesitation in recommending Jantien and the Merlijn.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany

  • Frankfurt to Ludwigsburg
    by Heather L. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Jantien & Henz were supreme hosts and their barge Merlijn delightful. As for tips just sit back, relax & enjoy the marvelous holiday that they provide.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany

  • Frankfurt to Bamberg or Bamberg to Frankfurt
    by Rick F. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    I am not a bike rider and was very concerned about how difficult it really would be. Well, it wasn't that difficult and was very enjoyable. The bike trails are amazing and stunning. This was the first Bike Barge experience and it was fantastic. There is no better way to experience Germany. The staff on the Merlijn are amazing. The food was delicious and plentiful. The experience on a smaller vessel was as good or even better than on a cruise ship and I have been on over 25 cruises all over the world. I highly recommend this adventure.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany

  • Frankfurt to Bamberg or Bamberg to Frankfurt
    by Gwen H. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Enjoyed the trip immensely. Scenery was fantastic. Ship and staff were excellent. Food was accommodating for vegetarians, non fish eaters and was plentiful. Would like to see an additional excursion included with the tour. Beer tasting night and castle tour were excellent.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany

  • Mainz to Metz
    by Jenny S. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Highlights: Our daily biking trips, having a varied ride each day with different kms, visits and scenery, plus even a hike to a castle as well. My only suggestion is to keep this spontaneity as each day is an adventure with the known luxury of the barge awaiting us at the end of each ride.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany, France

  • Mainz to Metz
    by Gina F. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Most Memorable Part? That is so hard to answer because there were so many of them. I do plan to enter your contest very soon. As for tips or suggestions for others...By all means considered a Tripsite bike trip for your next vacation. It has so much to offer. And don't let your fear of being able to complete the daily bike rides stop you. We had in our group of 21: an 80-year-old, a person with a "boot" on his foot due to an injury, a person with a sore back, and several people who don't bike regularly. All of them were able to not only complete our daily rides, they did so with no struggles and enjoyed themselves. E-bikes can be used by those who have trouble with longer or more challenging rides. There is something about riding in a group that bonds cyclists together. You go slow enough to have conversations and see all the details you could miss when going by bus or car, yet fast enough to cover miles of interesting terrain.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany, France

  • Mainz to Metz
    by Paul R. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Most memorable part: Discovering new and very interesting places with good friends.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany, France

PWPC