5 Star Merlijn boat/barge tour reviews — 1 to 30 of 119

4.8 out of 5

 


Mary kay C.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Merlijn’s Magical Christmas Cruise in Germany
Germany

Our tour on the Merlijn was a wonderful trip, a great way to get in the Christmas spirit! My favorite part was relaxing on the boat and the delicious meals prepared by our hosts, and visiting all the Christmas markets in the cities along the way.

Ruth B.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Berlin to Malchin
Germany, Poland

Loved the buffet meal in Poland-delicious food, great sitting outside by the water, great band & fun dancing!

Tamra G.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Merlijn’s Magical Christmas Cruise in Germany
Germany

Christmas Tour was a wonderful experience. The boat was beautiful, the beds were super comfortable, the rooms were spotless, the food was the best I have ever had on a barge trip, and the crew were all sweet, helpful and fun. As is typical on a trip like this, all the travelers became friends and we became quite fond of each other in just four days. Sad to leave but made for such a lovely time.
I thought the cadence of the trip was vey nice and I enjoyed the tours. The tour in Dortmund wasn't overly exciting but perhaps there was just not that much to say about the area we were in. I did think it was valuable though because we needed to know where to go to see the markets, etc.
I really liked Munster, I wish we could have had more time there. Maybe plan to arrive earlier and have a few more hours before Captain's dinner?
Our captain took very good care of us, we felt safe and in good hands.

Kathy D.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Berlin to Malchin
Germany, Poland

The hosts and tour guides were wonderful. The cabins were superb. The air beds were a treat. Everything was clean.

Renee R.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

Make sure you buy trip insurance. My father died unexpectedly and it reimbursed me to go home from the embarkment site before I even got on the barge.

Edward R.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Berlin to Malchin
Germany, Poland

The trip was great! The food was prepared by the wife of the captain and it was delicious. The tours were well planned and excellent. We rode 170 miles in 6-days and this is the first time I actually lost weight on a vacation trip. They preferred the tips for the crew to be paid in cash (Euros). Would definitely do another bike and barge again. The attitude, experience and knowledge of the captain and crew of the bike and barge definitely makes or breaks a vacation like this one, but the captain and crew of the Merlin were excellent!

Lynda A.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Merzig to Cochem
Germany

Relaxing cycling through vineyards, watching the grapes being harvested and visiting the villages and castles aling the way

Ravi M.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Merzig to Cochem
Germany

The entire trip was memorable , all 6 days of it , right from the moment we boarded till we disembarked everything was perfect, absolutely no complaints.
The Barge Merlijn, the owners, Coen and Christina and their entire team were par excellence ! Our guide , Lia was fantastic, with great sense of Humour and was prompt in taking care of any bike related issues . The food was exquisite, the most delectable vegetarian food we ate lovingly prepared by Christina. The bike paths thru the Vineyards and the varied landscapes were perfect along the river Saar and Mosel. It was in reality doing a leisurely tour on a bike. The hike up the mountain to view the Saar Loop was awesome , a perfect picture postcard scene . will definitely recommend this tour on the merlijn.

Joseph M.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Merzig to Mainz
Germany

The most memorable part of the trip was spending time with my family. Eight of the eleven siblings went on the trip. We really enjoyed the Merlijn. The Captain and crew were excellent.

Lorraine B.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Heart of Holland
Netherlands

Most Memorable Part: Cycling the Dutch countryside

Shawn L.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Tulip Tour - Bruges to Amsterdam - 8 day
Netherlands, Belgium

The whole trip was great. The bikes were great 27 speed bikes with disc brakes, the guide showed us things you wouldn't find on your own, the barge was clean and comfortable. But the best thing was the food on the barge, especially the garlic butter. I could eat that with a spoon!

Shirley C.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 8 day
Belgium, Netherlands

I loved the Kuekenhof gardens, I did not do the bike part as I was not able to but enjoyed my time on the barge and the food and service was great.

Molly R.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 8 day
Belgium, Netherlands

Our guide Cornel was great with fun stories and historic information provided throughout our trip. Loved the digestive walks after dinner of the various towns we were docked at. The staff of the Merlijn couldn't have been nicer or more professional and the boat was very clean and comfortable. Food was pretty basic and could be improved, but that was not a high priority to me. Overall great trip and have already recommended it to many people.

Rita R.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 8 day
Belgium, Netherlands

"It is difficult to say what the most memorable part of the trip was as each and every day brought wonderful new sights and experiences. Biking along fields filled with tulips and a stop at the Keukenhof Gardens would certainly rate as one of the highlights of the trip. The staff and bike guide definitely made the trip special as they went above and beyond to ensure we were satisfied. Food was great with a plentiful breakfast buffet and a different menu each night. Our lunches were made and packed each day and boy, theses sandwiches and treats sure tasted great after putting some miles in. The dining/lounge was large and spacious and made for a great place to interact with the other guests. Bedrooms/bathrooms were nor overly spacious but were very clean and the beds were comfortable.
This was our first trip of this kind and also our first trip to Europe and the Crew of the Merlijn made it a wonderful experience we will never forget. Thank you Coen, Cristina, Klara, Luliana, Lili and our tour guide Cornel. Memories to last forever.

Rosemary SZ.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 8 day
Belgium, Netherlands

I highly recommend this trip. We were on the Merlijn. It was a charming barge with a very friendly and helpful staff. I was amazed just how comfortable the beds were and how roomy the bathrooms were.
Our guide was very informative and had a great sense of humor. The guests, even though all so different , became friends. Leaving the barge was bittersweet. I cannot wait to go on another. The only thing I wish was a bit better, was the food. But then I consider myself a bit of a foody and so my expectations might be too high.

Jane J.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 8 day
Belgium, Netherlands

The biking was wonderful, the digestive walks in the evening were great and the camaraderie of the group was fantastic.

Mark R.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 8 day
Belgium, Netherlands

A wonderful way to experience the Netherlands. Our guide Cornell was informed and professional. Captain, mates and staff provided all the conveniences of home.

Todd O.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Tulip Tour - 7 day
Netherlands

Best part: Biking through the Dutch countryside and being exposed to the Dutch people and their wonderful culture, history, and way of life.

James D.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Tulip Tour - 7 day
Netherlands

Merlijn and her crew were outstanding hosts for our Tulip Tour. Our guide, Ilsa, was knowledgeable and full of energy and interesting information everywhere we toured.

Marc V.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Mainz to Metz
Germany, France

Bike / boat trips are such a great way of seeing a lot of the country without the hassle of having to change accommodation venue every night! You meet great interesting people who share a love of an active holiday.

Sara B.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Mainz to Metz
Germany, France

The Merlijn & her staff are amazing. Our trek from Mainz to Metz was gorgeous & fully exceeded our expectations. We would’ve turned right around & done it again if we could!!!

Lynda A.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Tulip Tour - 7 day
Netherlands

Wonderful guide and the owners of the barge were a delight

Vikki Z.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Ludwigsburg to Mainz
Germany

There is a serene, calm beauty when one is slowly boating along the Neckar River in the early fall morning, with mist rising off the water and castles nestled among the trees which are beginning to turn colour. What better way to enjoy an early cup of hot tea before having breakfast and heading out for a day's ride?

Robert F.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Frankfurt to Bamberg or Bamberg to Frankfurt
Germany

Everything about the trip was great. Each day was a new mini adventure. All the members of our group were very friendly and interacted very well together. The whole trip was very well organized.

Michael S.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Tulip Tour - 7 day
Netherlands

Our guide and crew were the best! "The Merlijn Rocks!" Our group was so compatible...It was like traveling with family. The scenery and experiences were so beautiful and to be one with your natural surroundings while on a bike was an added bonus!

Deborah G.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Mainz to Ludwigsburg
Germany

The rides along the Rhine and Neckar rivers were beautiful. My two favorite memories are very different. The first one was riding through the vineyards during harvest. The other special memory was traveling over the bridge into Heidelberg with the castle on the hill to the left and the archway into the old city framing the the entrance to the city beyond. It was something I hope I always remember.

Vikki Z.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Mainz to Ludwigsburg
Germany

Every day our biking adventure was a delight. We especially loved riding along lovely pathways through the vineyards, stopping to watch both mechanical and manual harvesting, with the fabulous aroma of ripened grapes filling our senses. Coupled with beautiful early morning sunrises while on the Neckar River....mists rising off the water, castles nestled into the forested hillsides, this entire trip was a delight.

Randy M.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Mainz to Bamberg
Germany

Best part was picking grapes at the community Arbor along the route. Sharing with the entire group. Our guide led us to many quant and tasty coffee, beer, wine and pastry stops...

Bruce R.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Mainz to Bamberg
Germany

Most Memorable Part? Having a cold dark stout at a hillside restaurant with the whole biking crew while overlooking the Main River and vineyards on the hillside simply beautiful.

Lisa S.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Merzig to Mainz
Germany

We were on the Merlijn from Merzig to Mainz; biking along the Mosell and Rhine Rivers. We biked through vineyards, sunflower fields and picturesque, quaint towns. This was our fifth bike and barge tour booked through Tripsite and we are looking forward to the next.