Bike tour reviews with boat/barge Merlijn 91 to 120 of 130

 

 Boat/Barge: Merlijn • REMOVE  About Merlijn

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by R. Wood 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The Merlijn is a very special barge full of character and charm, beautifully appointed and owned and operated by the delightful Jantine and Henk. They along with their crew spoiled us rotten with great food and hospitality. Our bike ride was thru beautiful countryside and expertly guided and interpreted by a delightful Dutch couple, Jack and Marianne. They gave us great local insight. We thoroughly recommend the Merlijn and can't wait to return.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 8 day
    by C. Martin 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    I really enjoyed this trip. The barge was very spacious and the food was excellent. The staff were friendly and the atmosphere was very relaxing. The biking was just right and our bike guide was wonderful. Felix was knowledgeable and very helpful to all. I will certainly recommend this trip to others and can hardly wait to do another bike and barge trip.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 7 day
    by N. Tucker 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    We had a blast on this trip! My first Bike and Barge through Tripsite. Our captains, Hank and Yantine, made us feel like part of the family. The boat was very clean and we loved the table designs at each sitting! Our guide, Francine, made us feel very welcome and really went out of her way to provide us friendly travel tips as we continued on our journey! Thanks for such an awesome time!

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 8 day
    by S. Carlson 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Some of the other people that came on the trip were not prepared to ride a bike 20-25 miles per day. They said that they had not ridden a bicycle since they were a youth. Consequently, this significantly held up the entire group. I would recommend emphasizing the importance of being in good riding condition for the bike/barge trips. Thank you.
    The staff of the Merlijn absolutely made the entire trip a pure delight! We would definitely sail with them again in the future!

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - Bruges to Amsterdam - 8 day
    by S. Kraushaar 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Second time on the Merjlin. We would definitely book a third. Bike/Barge trips are so much fun!

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Tulip Tour - Bruges to Amsterdam - 8 day
    by T. Hottentot 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    It was a wonderful trip. The hostess is exceptional, the food fabulous, the guide very good and all the passengers were nice to be with.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 8 day
    by L. Chandler 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    I loved this trip. The Merlijn was well-above my expectations. Very clean and well setup. Everything on the boat was perfect. Now if only we had had better weather. :)

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 7 day
    by J. Geall 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    We had a super time. My only suggestion is have a snack for post bike ride and pre dinner. We arrived starving so that would be great. Otherwise this was just an amazing way to see Europe.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 7 day
    by T. & C. Tucker 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    We had a total of six people who we traveled with. All had a positive option of he barge and the bikes. The owners, Hank and his wife gone over the top to make sure everyone had a good time and responded to any issues or problems. Our bike tour guide was outstanding and explained many of the sites. Great value.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 7 day
    by J. Ruetz 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The only comment I have is "I want to do another bike and barge trip."

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 7 day
    by C. Wells 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    I had a wonderful time and will recommending the trip to others!

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 7 day
    by Marilyn Mendelson 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Ode From An Enthusiastic Tripsite User

    I had never worked with Tripsite before.
    Their competent planning received a high score.
    All details were covered, everything was first rate.
    They delivered what they promised, now isn't THAT great?!!
    I'll remember this fab trip my whole life through.
    Listen up, fellow travelers, Tripsite's for you.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Berlin to Malchin and Malchin to Berlin
    by Joyce Thompson 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    We had a great time; the bike guide (Tom) did a super job. Hope we have this same great experience on our next trip.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany, Poland

  • Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 8 day
    by Mary Barchiesi 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    We loved our trip so much that I just chartered another boat for 36 people in Croatia for September 2016 with another company. Better working deal than tripsite. The boat owners were rigid and probably not as congenial as they could have been. It was their boat, not our trip. I organized a group of 12 and were not demanding at all. The tour guide was over the top just amazing!!!! All in all a wonderful experience!

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 8 day
    by Elizabeth Yates 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Yes, I have recommended this trip to several people and will continue to do so. So many people have never heard of such a trip. One of my friends has already booked on our same barge (Merlijn) for next year! The staff, the rooms, the food and scenery were absolutely wonderful.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Howard Shuster 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Great trip. The owners of the Merlijn were =Spectacular! We hope to find a time to travel with them again. The Barge was amazing for such a compact vessel. The rooms were surprisingly large as was the bathroom. The Barge was immaculate at all times. What a fun trip!!

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Christine Dear 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    This was my second trip on the Merlijn. Brought a group with me both times. Everything was fabulous. Jentien did an excellent job as chef and Henk, as the captain, was great. Our guides were excellent and most capable in emergencies. The towns we visited we interesting and our guides were able to fill us in on the history of the area. The bikes were in excellent shape. No flats! Will definitely travel with them again.

    My experience for our group with Tripsite was also the best. Have told many about your wonderful service. Thank you!

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Dick Shover 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Our barge hosts were fabulous, as was our food. Guide on the bikes also was truly wonderful. It was a great experience.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bremen to Magdeburg
    by Barbara Shah 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Very good experience generally. However, a slower cyclist was asked to pick up their pace or consider using an e-bike or bike alone - not good! A very different experience from the previous year's trip on Iris - Amsterdam to Bruges - where everyone was welcomed no matter what skill level.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by James Green 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Barge was exceptionally good. The bike tour had some very good portions and a couple of sections that were not very enjoyable. Overall it was a great trip.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bremen to Magdeburg
    by Sharon Brunhuber 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    I've taken a few trips over the years - always on the Merlijn. Top notch vessel and crew. Guides have always been great. Tripsite is a pleasure to book through and always very helpful.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany

  • Tulip Tour - 7 day
    by Melinda Johnson 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    I have booked a couple trips through tripsite.com and frequently recommend them to my friends. What separates Tripsite from the pack is their service, value and expertise. I am looking forward to working with them on my next adventure!

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Mainz to Metz
    by James Gibson 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Only the good, no bad. This was our second bike/barge experience and we will do more. On our last trip we brought 12 family and friends with us. They all loved it.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany, France

  • Mainz to Metz
    by Barbara Berling 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Loved the trip and the Merlijn. Hoping to do another tour in 2017.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany, France

  • Tulip Tour - 7 day
    by Debby Repensky 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Loved the trip!!

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 7 day
    by Liz and Bill Chudoba 5 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Highly recommend Trip Site for our bicycling vacations. We, family and friends booked the Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Amsterdam. Had a fantastic time again on the MERLIJN. Knew one week was not enough, after our 1st tour in 2011 in Germany, we had to book the following week also - Amsterdam to Brugge. The highlight of course were all the flowers in the Keukenhof. This is a must see for all flower lovers. Trip Site employees in PA were very easy to work with and will book all our tours for us. In fact we will return to the MERLIJN on September 27 to October 4th 2014 for wine country.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 7 day
    by Susan Cumming 5 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    This is a great way to travel in Europe. The flowers were beautiful at Keukenhof and the Merlijn provides wonderful accommodations! This was our second trip through Tripsite and we are going again.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Bamberg to Mainz (no longer available)
    by Chris Dear 6 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Our bike group of 11 cycled with the Merlijn on August 17,2013. This was a 10++. Everything was spectacular. Henk, the captain, and Jentien did everything possible to make this the very best. Our rooms, the food, the bikes, our guide-Klaus-, the crew, the ship were great. We are so spoiled. Everyone on board was like family. We sang, did kareoke, danced and of course went biking. The Main trail was all paved and easy. Klaus made it interesting for us by going over car bridges, rail bridges and little ferries. We were introduced to the "cornering" system, which we found very helpful. Do not think twice about booking a tour on the ship Merlijn. Thank you Tripsite for helping arrange this for our group. Our pre and post barge trip to Wurzburg and Berlin was alo lots of fun.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany

  • Tulip Tour - 7 day
    by CONSUELO PAGANI VIEIRA MACHADO 6 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Amei o passeio!! Tudo foi maravilhoso, desde a recepção calorosa na chegada, o barco todo decorado de flores e tulipas, aconchegante, a turma que fez o passeio conosco, os jantares maravilhosos feitos pela chef de cozinha simpatissíssima (que é dona do barco), o guia Sietsen que é super 10, as paisagens maravilhosas que apreciávamos nas pedaladas - plantações de tulipas de todas as cores, cisnes nadando próximos de nós, patinhos e aves coloridas, almoço em frente aos moinhos, as lindas vilazinhas e as cidades bucólicas do interior da Holanda, tudo muito lindo, e mto bem organizado. À noite, ainda tinha a roda de viola que o colega Eric tocava divinamente! E todos nós cantando juntos! A turma toda calorosa, que parecia que nos conhecíamos há anos... só deu vontade de voltar. Ano que vem, quero fazer outro roteiro e já estou convidando as pessoas no Brasil. VALE A PENA, MARAVILHA, Parabéns pessoal da Tripsite, Daniella Pontes, muito atenciosa, que nos atende muito bem! Grande abraço a todos vocês! CONSUELO e JANUZA - BRASIL 2013. (Vitória - ES).

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 8 day
    by Mary & Bill Perkins 6 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The tour was packed with history, beauty & a real feel of how the people live there lives - thanks to Lia our guide. Food, decor & Jantien's hospitality aboard the Merlijn was second to none. The crew went out of there way to make this truly a memorable cycling vacation.

    Thank you!

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

PWPC